Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Henry Street Horrors (Pontiac, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: scurry   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Just follow the directions from the website.

Wait Entertainment: Had one guy in a straight jacket that was really good. Never broke out of character.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: Their performance wasn't bad but the rooms are huge so you can see every scare coming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They have a guide so you'll never run into the group in front of you.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Props were decent. Strobe lights for Special FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. They had a good mix of masks and make-up.

Summary: If you go to this event skip the haunted house and do the haunted maze.  
 
The maze takes about 25 min. compared to the haunted house taking 15. They are $5 a piece. The haunted house isn't worth it. The maze is. 
 
Any haunted house that has a guide lacks in my opnion. But this was really lame. My girlfriend only screamed once and that is unusual. I didn't even come close to jumping.  
 
The maze only has 4 or 5 people in it but they do a good job. They move around a lot and scare you more than once.  
 
My advice to the haunted house part is to lose the guide. Don't be afraid to scare people. That's what they come for. We didn't come to stand and talk to the actors in the room. We came to be scared. Shrink the room sizes and you could more than double the rooms and scares.

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: First of all, if you use the map given on this site, it takes you to some place in New Mexico, so obviously that is an error. However, I used the text directions given, and they worked somehow (even though hardly any actual road names are given). The advertisers for this attraction may want to be more careful in giving directions so people can actually FIND the haunt (and not end up in another part of the country!)  
Also, the location is quite horrible and hard to see. Be looking for 4-H park (not a haunted attraction) and that will help you find it. The roads are all sandy and gravely, which made it a giant mud pit. My car lost traction and about got stuck in certain spots, driving around the parking area.

Wait Entertainment: Haunted House: They had an actor in a straight jacket who was pretty good at his job. I hardly saw him broke character. He seemed pretty crazy. He was pretty good at interacting with the crowd. Also, they had rock music and a small tv playing rock videos. 
Maze: No entertainment because I got right in with no wait.

Length of Event: House: 8 minutes 
Maze: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: A mix of actor talent here. Some were really great, like "BAD SANTA" only he was more funny, than scary. I laughed quite a few times in this attraction, and sometimes I wasn't supposed to be laughing. Some actors tried wayyyy too hard and were more laugh-worthy than scare-worthy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since you have a guide in the House, there is no chance of running into antoher group really. Although, having a guide does greatly diminish the scare factor. 
Maze: Very dead and rainy night, so did not run into anyone else (because no one else was there I think).

Appropriate Ages: House: 10 and above 
Maze: any (it's not scary)

Props / Special FX: Props and SPX were quite lacking. Not a lot of eye candy here.

Costumes / Make-up: I'd rate them average. I saw some pretty unique costumes, like the scary gimp with crutches and the straight-jacket guy. Other people looked more like they were dressed up to go to a rock concert. Some guy's costume primarily consisted of a "Punisher" t-shirt. Not that scary... and didn't really fit in with a haunted theme.

Summary: Any haunted house with a guide totally ruins the scariness for me. I am a strong believer in the fact that exploring your way through the house is a great part of the fun. Having a guide might be practical for the house owners, especially if there are expensive props used. However, this place didn't have to worry about expensive props or SPX, so I am not sure why they still used a guide. I believe a part of it is that walls and construction inside was not very sturdy. It would be easy to accidently push over plywood wall or rip a plastic wall/door. I do not think a great deal of care was taken in building it. The maze construction is similar too. I about pushed over walls sometimes because they were so similar to some of the hidden exits in the maze.  
I really did enjoy the maze, it was an actual maze. Not a linear route in the dark. Parts were black, other parts well lit. However, there are multiple ways to get through and dead ends. It was fun. However, not many actors were in the maze. I counted 4. The scare level was low for this place, but at least it was a fun challenge trying to complete the maze. The last hidden exit is pretty sneaky!

Reviewed by: hayd   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the visibility of the location was great. there were signs to guide me right to the haunted house from the main road.

Wait Entertainment: steve the guy in the straight jacket was very good at what he does.

Length of Event: haunted hause about 15 min haunted maze 45 min

Actor Performance: i believe the haunted maze was the best of everything. the was one of the actors in there that would play a game with u. marco pollo. the was awesome. then there was another actor i thing with a glowing head and a chain saw that was the scariest.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: haunted house had excilent flow. in the maze we ended taking the rong door and found our selfs goin threw the maze again. se bumped into a few groups. but it was better like that

Appropriate Ages: 8 and over

Props / Special FX: chain saws in the maze

Costumes / Make-up: in the clown room. the clown nuckles had the best overall costume

Summary: i believe the haunted maze was made our hole entire trip the most enjoyable. all the actors did a great job and i don't understand where someone could come up with those ideas. i hope a lot more people will go to the haunted house .

Reviewed by: missrose81   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Finding the entrance was a little tough since the street is dark.

Wait Entertainment: There were crazy people and mean clowns all over.

Length of Event: Seemed like a long one. The maze took us a while. Lasted a good amount of time.

Actor Performance: Excellent!! We enjoyed them!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They are small groups and we did not run into anyone else. Which works well with the maze and haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up

Props / Special FX: Lots of chainsaws, lights, and no lights...

Costumes / Make-up: They were good. We were in the dark alot during the maze so I couldn't see them well there.

Summary: This was one of the best events I have been to in years. I actually felt like a kid again. It was an excellent experience. I highly recommend going to this event. Especially, the haunted maze.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at