Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more ! Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmares Basement Of The Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: iada   (Event Visited: 10/31/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find just across from Hollywood Casino

Wait Entertainment: The best,it is a show of its own.

Length of Event: 25 min

Actor Performance: There timing was great,best actors I have ever seen in a haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into any groups,felt like I was the only one in the basement,really creepy.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: This house has the best props I have ever seen you can tell that they spent alot of time in this area very real.

Costumes / Make-up: A #10 in this area

Summary: I thought that this haunted house was one of the best I have been to,every thing about this place was creepy if you get a chance it a must see you will not belive what you will see in the basement its a pure nightmare for sure its a #10 all the way.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/29/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is located right by the casino, with a hearse and other marked vehicles parked on the street. go down the stairs between the buildings (follow the signs)

Wait Entertainment: I think they always do great in this area--their actors really commit to scaring the patrons. Especially the werewolf (love the beard this year!).

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent, as usual. I don't know where they find their actors, but they are 100% committed to scaring the patrons walking through and they don't resort to the typical scream in your face scares (which only annoys me--not scary). They use some creative diversion techniques

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent again--we couldn't even hear any groups before or after us

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Wonderful. Just by having their haunt in the basement gives it that creepy industrial feel, and all of their props continue to support that theme. They also use light and darkness to keep you disoriented--wonderful job! It really is pitch black through much of the haunt, and when it isn't you find yourself straining to see where you are.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, excellent! I love that all of their costumes and makeup stay with the theme of "Imus and Al". Great mutated looks for all of their actors :)

Summary: I have to say, we've been going to this haunt every year that they have been open and I think they outdo themselves every year! Each year is completely different, so repeat patrons can't predict the scares based on past years. My husband and I are usually hard to startle, and we were caught off guard throughout the house. Great job! My favorite attraction this year, and every year. And I think it may be their best year yet!!!

Reviewed by: thecableguy   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was very easy to get to. Park at the Casino.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about 1 1/2 hours. But well worth the wait. I wish they had a concession stand though. They also need to think about offering a VIP pass.

Length of Event: 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Outstanding!!!!! The clown at the front door is to persistent towards the ladies.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into the group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: Outstanding costumes and the characters remained in their roles throughout the attraction.

Summary: My wife and I come from Iowa every year and hit about 15 haunted houses in a weekend. This one ranks right there at the top that we want to come back to and see next year. Awesome job!!!!

Reviewed by: Jacko   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was east to find and I suggest you park at Hollywood Casino.

Wait Entertainment: Wait was not bad at all, they had 2 great actors the wolf/man and the clown were great. The vampire did not interact with the visitors.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: It was very good and they stayed in the roles

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was great never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: They were great the props looked very real and the scenes were great.

Costumes / Make-up: excellent

Summary: I rate this haunt in the top 2. The event is great and would sugest it to all. They had TV vids playing while in line to get you in the mood and take time to see all the effects they have went to alot of work and it is worth it. Jack

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Only Exclusive Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2014 HauntedIllinois.com
Questions/Comments? Contact the Webmaster
Media / Promotion Inquiries please click here

Like this site? Tell A Friend and Join Our Mailing List.