Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find once we got into Auburn. Lighted sign on the main street through town led us to the house.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment but the interesting thing was that you bought your tickets and was given a number. You did not have to wait in line, in the rain, tents were present and there were 2 fire pits going. When they called you number it was time.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: This is were the house was outstanding. All the actors were amazing and on cue. There was no chance for anyone going through and not jumping or screaming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any groups. Maybe because I was with a group of other adults and it seemed like running and huddling in the corners.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. It got pretty intense in certain areas.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special FX and lighting. Plus some poewer tools- YIKES!

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was excellent. Great use- Props to you nurse and doctor downstairs! The light scame one and I jumped out of my skin!

Summary: I have to admit, after running a haunted house for the last three years, I never get scared in them. This house had me several times. The group I was with knew they were in trouble if I was jumping and yelling because of the scares. The use of rooms and props were A1. This house I would rank number 1 out of the 15 haunted house we visited this year. By the way, I think I am in love with the receptionist in the first room- she was awesome. This is a must see- can't wait to visit next year!

Reviewed by: rachael   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. It's right off of the square

Wait Entertainment: They had a nice fire going, and the tacos in a bag are awesome! I only waited about 15 minutes.

Length of Event: about 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very scary! The actors were all very convincing and didn't step out of character at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other haunted house goers.

Appropriate Ages: No way!

Props / Special FX: Awesome! Everything was very detailed. I would love to go through this with the lights on to appreciate all the detail they've put into it.

Costumes / Make-up: very convincing, very scary. I actually thought some of these people were insane... well in a small town that's not very hard to believe:)

Summary: I work for a television station and they let me film my adventure. Check it out here: Video

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: east to find well lit good parking

Wait Entertainment: not much almost none campfire was nice

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: very good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problem

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: very good

Costumes / Make-up: very good

Summary: haunted house was really good and I would recommend you go see. my wife was diving and flying everywhere she says its a h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) house instead of a haunted house .overall a great haunted house but they need to work hard on the flow problem bad there was alot of mad people in the crowd it took almost three hours for us everyone of our group was really gisgusted with the wait some got in the van and slept.Also when we asked the ticket lady about the long wait she was grouchy rude and short with us she let us know she didnt care .otherwise they would of got a 10

Reviewed by: retone   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Auburn town square .... Easy to get to.

Wait Entertainment: We waited about an hour not too bad with the fire and food

Length of Event: about 10-12 minutes I think

Actor Performance: Great... I was scared pretty bad by a very big guy in a hockey mask and doctors coat in the basement and bodies were hanging from the ceiling. Lots of twists and deadends. my kids were terrified.LOL

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good I think.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over. Although i saw teenagers crying.

Props / Special FX: I was pretty impressed

Costumes / Make-up: A mix of masks and makeup. really good.

Summary: For 6 dollars this was a fantastic haunted house. I think the theme was a mad house or Psych hospital cause of the nurses. Outside there was a bonfire and a concession stand. Everyone was very nice. I will go back next year.

Reviewed by: tekgeek73   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find downtown Auburn. Easy access from interstate 55.

Wait Entertainment: Bonfire, actors mingling, snacks/hot chocolate, Music/PA system.

Length of Event: about 10-12 minutes? I didn't keep track.

Actor Performance: very Good. Convincing crazy characters. *lol*

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing.

Appropriate Ages: I have a 10 year old that I wouldn't think of taking, but I saw some kids about 10-13 coming out yelling that they thought it was AWESOME, and said they were going to go thru again. I'd say 10 and over at least. But you know what your kids can handle. I saw teenagers coming out crying and completely terrified.

Props / Special FX: Most props are quite realistic, good lighting effects thru most of the haunt lend mystery and realism to the props.

Costumes / Make-up: The actors were mostly made up, not alot of masks here, which gives the actors the ability to speak directly to you...can be a bit disturbing. ;-) The make up jobs were great! The costumes went well with the theme.

Summary: This is a not for profit org I think (Masonic Lodge). They have done a great job of putting on a great show. The construction is pretty good, and the story is tied together well. The gore factor isn't quite as high as it was last year, but it's still got a decent gore factor (about 7 on a 10 scale). Some Actors are more convincing than others, but all seem to be having fun. The cost is a very reasonable $6, and the wait time wasn't too bad, about an hour when I was there. They announced our group number over the PA system, so we really didn't have to wait in line. We had the freedom to mingle about and stay warm by the the bonfire until our turn to enter. The scare was great and the overall experience was excellent! Good Job Auburn Haunted House!

Reviewed by: snorris11917   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on the square

Wait Entertainment: Food and hayride

Length of Event: 10min

Actor Performance: very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Summary: The haunted house was very good. This is either the third or fourth year. It is in a new building now. Was very scary, but no one could touch you of course. The wait was not to bad, only about an hour and a half.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at