Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Sanitarium (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: lildevil708   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You cant miss it there is a huge sign off of lake shore drive...Parking was available at the lincoln park zoo parking lot so it was about a two block walk towards the lake.

Wait Entertainment: Great... It was really cold out when i visited but the waiting area is held in doors with tables, chairs, and scary movies playing... There were also food and drinks served for an additional price... The staff was friendly and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselfs as they waited..

Length of Event: 15 Mins

Actor Performance: VERY GOOD!!! I hate it when the actors think getting all in my face and screaming into it is scary when its really just annoying... But here they followed you talked to you and popped out at you when you least expected it...None of the actors were rude or touched...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: my group was in there and noone was in the front or back it was like we were all alone in there it was awesome...

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: All the rooms were very scary and careful executed to match the theme they were going for...

Costumes / Make-up: beliveable... Nothing looked fake...

Summary: I am a big scary cat but this attraction had just what it took to make me scared but not too scared or uncomfortable... The waiting is fun the haunted house was fun... I am still telling people about all the scary stuff i seen in there... I wont spoil whats inside but trust me you will really like this one... Overall Great...

Reviewed by: colbentson   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very accessible location, with plenty of parking close-by I actually went twice. The search lights on the 12th were a great help in pinpointing the location

Wait Entertainment: the entrance was nicely creepy and the scarey movies were good, but I didn't have to wait very long either time.

Length of Event: The first time the person I was with was scared to death and we went through very quickly. The second time it took about 15 min I think -- too much great stuff to see to watch the clock

Actor Performance: Excellent. Very scarey creepy mosters with a wonderful sense of timing and placement, but not seriously threatening, which was a comfort. A good-natured scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good that they took us in small groups through the actual Haunted Sanatarium. The smaller groups worked well and kept us moving at a good pace, plus it was nice to have other normal companions during the really scarey parts.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't take a child under 12

Props / Special FX: the impaler room was horrific, the sound was excellent-- all encompassing and unnerving. The "birth canal" claustrophobic spaces were primally disturbing.

Costumes / Make-up: The little clowns were totally unsettling in the gruesome surroundings -- and the giant monsters were wonderful, as well as the ghouls who came and went out of the shadows.

Summary: A super well balanced presentation with great timing and enthusiastic actors, the flow from one horror to another was well timed and well motivated. I would recommend it to anyone over 12. A satisfyingly frightening experience

Reviewed by: abandonallho   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in Chicago feet from Lake Michigan on Fullerton Ave and Lake Shore Drive. Housed in what once was a Sanitarium. Parking, especially in Lincoln Park was not hard to find with $6 discounted parking at Lincoln Park Zoo approximately 1 block from the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: Indoor waiting area showing scary movies with a creepy cafe serving assorted refreshments including beer.

Length of Event: Between 12 and 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in characer and were awesome in their timing as well as their aggressive tenacity to leave you scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spacing was excellent throughout. We were able to advance at our own pace without a guide.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older.

Props / Special FX: Several animatronic props. Static props true to life sets and timed perfectly. large puppets throughout.

Costumes / Make-up: All actors were both in make-up and masks. Costumes were appropriate for each scene.

Summary: Having a top rate Haunted Attraction in Chicago is long overdue especially in Lincoln Park minutes from downtown Chicago. Offering $6 discounted parking at Lincoln Park Zoo is unheard of in Chicago. Having an indoor waiting area is also a great addition. Lake Michigan as its backdrop is tremendous especially on a windy night with a full moon. The setting and the entire structure is freaky without anything happening in the space. Vlad the Impaler was my favorite actor and the scene was awesome, never saw anything like it before. Lighting afects were great. Friendly, helpful ancillary staff. A must see and well worth the money. You will truly get your monies worth and will want to return with your friends. This will defenitely be on your list year after year for those who go haunting every Halloween.

Reviewed by: scander   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find if you pay attention to the advertisements & signage along the road. There was street parking and a pay lot both about a block from the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: There was creepy music as soon as you walked in to get your tickets and a large waiting area with concession food and scary movies playing.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: VERY SCARY! Each of the actors fit the theme of the rooms perfectly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The waiting area was great and the timing between groups was excellent.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Every room had different sounds, music, and voices very appropriate to the theme of the rooms

Costumes / Make-up: Very real...actors had both masks and make-up

Summary: VERY GOOD! The actors were very "in your face" and were around every corner. It was creepy to know the building really used to be a sanitarium. I haven't been that scared in years! I definitely plan on going back before Halloween.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at