Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Creatures Crypt Haunted House (Bloomington, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ccvolunteer   (Event Visited: 10/31/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find. signs everywhere telling you where to go. it's really only 2 simple turns from veterans.

Wait Entertainment: Line expected but they had actors in costumes going around trying to scare and a great video playing.

Length of Event: about 15 min. great length

Actor Performance: WOW! Actors seemed very professional. Scared me and I'm hard to scare! I don't want to give anything away so I'm just going to leave you with that!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I like the idea of a rope actually. Sure, it takes away from the thrill of getting lost but it is a city requirment. but if you have a good tour guide. they keep the pace well and it gave me something to hold onto. the flow was just right. our tour guide kept us at the right pace and we didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: There was a LOT of time put into the set. Everything looked so real. By far the best to look at.

Costumes / Make-up: WOW. I haven't seen such profeesional scary looking makeup in a long time. they did such a nice job. some were in masks as well and costumes were phenomanal!

Summary: All in all one of my favorite haunted houses. The atmosphere was scary, the actors were professional, the set up was phenomenal, the timing was just right. Definetley worth $11. It was a great scare and I'm sad it is the last year.

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not that bad to find im not from there and had to look a little

Wait Entertainment: 30 min

Length of Event: about 20 min

Actor Performance: very good very professional they all did a very good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: went smoothly had a guide and a rope but was told that was a city requirment

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: lots of really cool scenes some make you think they are two stories high they had a really cool ghost town

Costumes / Make-up: very good enjoyed them all

Summary: i love this haunted house we make sure we go every year there is some crazy fun people in there, from clowns to cowboys drop windows ,dot room and many others make sure you go !

Reviewed by: evil   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not hard to find there was a large sign right in the corner.

Wait Entertainment: not alot going on one guy but he just walked by a couple of times with no real interaction with people.

Length of Event: seems like 15 to 20 minutes a good pace not to fast i didnt like the rope we had to hang on to.

Actor Performance: not good not convincing just popped out screamed and went back some while we were still looking at them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: nice flow not fast at all. we did not run into any other groups that was nice.

Appropriate Ages: five and over

Props / Special FX: some impressive props and very nice sets,would have liked to seen actor in the reaper costume.

Costumes / Make-up: only a few that were really made up alot the rest dindt have much.

Summary: I liked the rooms and the length of event.props were nice. would be so much better with actors that really scared you. no line really nice parking attendents. nice haunt if only had actors hope they stay and work on it!

Reviewed by: binky   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Been there before so it was easy to find, but if you weren't familiar with the area I could see why it would be hard to find!

Wait Entertainment: The decorations in the waiting area were well done, but I kept waiting for someone in costume to work the line, but it never happened. They did have a TV playing movie trailers.

Length of Event: We were in a group of 5 and it took us a little over 10 minutes to go through!

Actor Performance: It is hard to rate this because it seemed to me that there were a lot of young people trying to scare adults and that is hard to do! The kids were trying hard!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group, but that was due to the fact that we held onto a rope and had a guide.

Appropriate Ages: I think that this haunt is more for children.

Props / Special FX: This haunt had excellent props, but you could see how they were being run, the cords, etc. were visible. This haunt was lit up way too much and you knew what to expect.

Costumes / Make-up: They were pretty good. Nothing exceptional, but they used them in appropriate scenes.

Summary: I think that this haunt has good "eye candy", but it would have been better if as much effort was put into the scares that were put into the decorations!

Reviewed by: frankenbaird   (Event Visited: 10/22/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Warehouse along a main Rd. There were signs along the road

Wait Entertainment: They had a big screen playing videos and some costumed characters scaring the customers.

Length of Event: About 15min

Actor Performance: Well done.. Every actor seemed to be energetic. Some of the "talking" actors were especially good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The use tour guides so we never ran into another group. The tour pacing was just right.

Appropriate Ages: 8 & up

Props / Special FX: Outstanding job in this category. Creature Crypt always has some of the best sets and effects

Costumes / Make-up: Great job here too.. They have variety of different costumed actors. One of my favorites was the actor in the "Moss" suit.

Summary: Creatures Crypt has always been one of favorite Haunted Houses. I've been bringing my daughters to this for the past 5 years and each year they seem to get better. We also get their combo pass w/ the Clinton Haunted House (another good Haunted House).

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/18/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well, I used mapquest and it did not help me find this place. I tried to follow the directions given, but still had to ask directions at a gas station how to get there. This is the only haunted house I have had a problem finding this year.

Wait Entertainment: I went there on a dead night, so wait entertainment was minimal. There was a TV playing trailers for movies about to come out.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: There was a decent number of actors, but many were middle school or grade schoolers. Child actors are typically not scary, and they were not in this case. The adult actors had a mediocre energy level. Seemed like the biggest scare tactic was to scream in your ear right when you walk by. My ringing ears did not find that to be scary, but annoying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Considering you and your group are forced to hang onto the guide's rope the entire time, there's no chance that you will run ahead into another group. The guide keeps it at the right pace. Unfortunately, the price they pay for decent patron flow, really diminished any scary atmosphere.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and older.

Props / Special FX: I really did like some of the unique props and decor they used. I think they put a lot of time into their scenary.

Costumes / Make-up: I wasn't too impressed with costumes or makeup. Was a little too basic and common for my tastes. I did not see any unique touches or artistry that wowed me.

Summary: This is supposedly the last year for Creature's Crypt, and that is probably a good thing. I say this because everything was setup almost identical to last year. The same scenes and characters, almost the exact same linear format. And of course, the guide that no one wants, and the rope that no one wants to hang onto. I haven't heard one person who likes having a guide--- part of a haunted house experience is to have it feel like you (and your group) are walking thru a haunted house alone, trying to find your way out. A guide ruins the element of figuring out which way to go, and the surpises that can come out of that. I, and many people, told Creature's Crypt this. However, visitor's suggestions and satisfaction did not alter their guide format. Oh well, guess no one will be going next year anyway.

Reviewed by: zombie1   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location is good makes it a scary looking building

Wait Entertainment: nice line fast moveing overall good

Length of Event: length about 6 min

Actor Performance: some started to laugh during performance overall ok

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fast moveing our tour guide went too fast so we ran into another group and missed a section of the haunted house overall she went too fast

Appropriate Ages: 8-15

Props / Special FX: ok could have been better

Costumes / Make-up: not great but average

Summary: overall ok house worth going to characters ok speed good time short over all 3 stars special effects could have been better characters to easily distracted on character for got to do his line but still worth it

Reviewed by: darstal3c   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its a little hard to find if you don't know the area. They could use more lights of signs on the main road.

Wait Entertainment: Next to no wait entertainment. They had the same video they have had playing the last few years and a few guys in masks. But no one seemed to interact with you like they had done in years past.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was weak. All the actors seemed really young and most just yelled at you or stood there and hit the walls. It was really uninspired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor since there was a rope digging into my side keeping me on pace and we ran into a group and had to stop a few times. It was just hard to pay attention with the rope in the way.

Appropriate Ages: This show is 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: They always have good sets and props at this event. This is the one area they really are great at. Everything looks very nice.

Costumes / Make-up: About half masks half makeup. A lot of guys were yelling at us from behind masks so you couldn't understand them. The people in makeup looked good. They even seemed to interact with the group better. There were just more people in masks yelling than I wanted to see for $11.

Summary: The sets are really nice, the rope is really painful, and the actors just seemed like they wanted to be somewhere else. Most of actors missed the group. Its bad when you can see a guy siting in a chair in a room and he doesn't move until after you go by. It was like that all over the place. On top of that most of the time the rope was digging into my side and keeping me from looking around. If you want to see some really nice looking sets this is the place. It is just not scary and the rope is painful around corners.

Reviewed by: headless   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location was good, same place as last year

Wait Entertainment: some people walking and the rules playing over and over

Length of Event: 22 min inside

Actor Performance: pretty good, some did better than others

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: still using the ropes to pull you

Appropriate Ages: maybe 12 or so

Props / Special FX: most was the same as last year, but still kinda scary

Costumes / Make-up: again most was the same as last year, but done really good

Summary: it was still worth the money and we had a good time but they need to change things up, don't take me wrong it was still a good place to visit if you can't remember things from last year.

Reviewed by: kourtann82   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was a little hard to find, but not too bad. A larger sign on the street corner would have made it easier.

Wait Entertainment: There was a man with a knife and a young boy, but they didn't interact with people in line. They basically just walked up and down the line.

Length of Event: waited in line for about 15-20 minutes which was about what you would expect, actual time in the house was about 15 mintues, maybe a little less.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors did a good job of staying in character, which is good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't like the rope you had to hold onto. There were 3 people that my boyfriend and I were put with. The way you hold onto the rope had it so my bf and i weren't next to each other. Not complaining about that, but the girl in front of me was pulling on the guy behind me and i spent over half of the house being smashed into walls and into the guy. The rope wasn't long enough so you were right up against people and the guy leading us through was dragging us through very quickly. It would be better if they had him follow behind the group to keep people moving and that way you can take a second to actually look at the scenes. I felt really rushed.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: what i actually got to look at, was really nice. they put a lot of time into the sets and there were some neat effects, I just didn't find them scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice job, everyone looked put together.

Summary: If you're looking to be scared, I don't think this is the house for you. I am hard to scare anyways, but usually atleast will jump at something, but i didn't here. I felt it was too rushed to enjoy it, and the rope distracts you from looking around. visually, it is very nice. I was let down considering this house was rated #2 in the state last year. I doubt I'll go back and I doubt I'll give it much word of mouth.

Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Ac couple of creatures. One guy with a head and knife was awesome.

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes

Actor Performance: A lot of teenagers. Could be more effective if they stayed in character longer. I think some missed their cues.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Great use of FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes and make-up.

Summary: Great Haunt! The set design is worth seeing. One thing was a little rough and that was the rope. I understand why the rope is needed but the group I was with kept getting cut off and pushed into walls when they turned the corner. Was hard to hold onto the rope at times. Creatures Crypt always does a super job!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at