Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Davektaniak   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it is easy to find. they had some signs and lights.

Wait Entertainment: one person was trying to scare people in line and wasn't very convincing. he was actually kinda annoying.He got in trouble with one person for something and they brought the officer outside over there. the actor was telling the officer it's halloween and i can do what i want.

Length of Event: 8 minutes

Actor Performance: the actor performances were not very good and there were way too many mad doctors working in there!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the crowd went through fine.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: the props were ok. the vortex was way too short. there weren't really a whole lot of special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: they could of done so much better.

Summary: It really wasn't worth the $8.00 spent. There was way too much light in there. They really need to darken up the place. It would be so much better because the way they hed it you could see everything. They need to cut out some of the doctotrs in there.

Reviewed by: c4ro   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good

Wait Entertainment: good

Length of Event: good

Actor Performance: great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: sort of gorry. meat locker, chain saws, vortex, sounds

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: This is awesome. Exhilarating. The characters in line were great - witch, clown, etc. Not a long line to get in. Good acting. Heart still pounding ...

Reviewed by: ghoulNghost   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was one big wooden sign.

Wait Entertainment: There were a lot of people in costumes chasing children around, while they were waiting in line.

Length of Event: 8 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were great! The clowns were very scary, they laughed hysterically, honked horns, and really got into character. The doctors were very scary! Also, someone popped out of nowhere with a power tool! In the second to last room, the people were very frightning! Over all, the actors were fantastic!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced out well. No group ran into mine, and i didnt run into anyone else's.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: strobe lights, power tools, plastic creatures/people, plastic weapons, and much more

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was very cool! Everyone with make-up on looked very real! The costumes as well. There was some on dressed up as Freddy Krugar, which was scary!

Summary: This haunted house was FANTASTIC! It is surely worth your money. I would definitly go again! Everyone in the house were very frightning, and gave me a good scare! There was great entertainment when you wait in line! If you want to get scared, or have fun, then this is definitly the haunted house for you!

Reviewed by: cookiez219   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The parking was directly across from the haunted house, so very good location. 
There could have been a few more signs to lead you to the place should you not be from Skokie

Wait Entertainment: The actors did go throughout the crowd intermittently and frighten people so that time passed quickly and it made it fun for the people there on the outside

Length of Event: It ran very fluid from the time we walked in to the time we came out without interruption (except for the time it took me to stop and scream or to hurry and try to get past someone that scared me)

Actor Performance: The majority of actors this year were better than last year...they put themselves into the scene they were in much better this year and timed it so that they scared you prior to your getting to see them first

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Clear in and and for us so no complaints there

Appropriate Ages: Yes it was age appropriate, we did not see any little babies or toddlers around

Props / Special FX: The special effects were pretty cool. We enjoyed the bridge because the outer part circled around you entirely as you crossed it and we liked the timing of the things that were mechanically animated but our favorite was the operating room because it looked so real!

Costumes / Make-up: The operating room was terrific for believability! The guy on the table and his loose body parts were so realistic!

Summary: It was a good variation of things that made it fun and scary. 
Seeing as we went last year we could see the improvement on the actors parts, the increasing of moving mechanisms and the over all spookiness of the event in its entirety

Reviewed by: CreepyCrawly   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a huge sign posted with all the dates and times that the house was open. There was also a huge brightly painted sign before entering the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: There are 4-6 monsters outside scaring the people waiting in line. There are crazy clowns, a masked old guy, Mike Myers, and many other creatures.

Length of Event: The scariest 7-10 minutes of my life!

Actor Performance: The acting was fantastic! Everyone was in their places and everything was timed really well. The actors seemed to really get into their parts, and really gave their all into each performance. The doctors were really scary, Freddy Krugar was crazy, and the dot people were hidden well and scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were guides that led the groups throughout the house, and the group behind me didn't run into us. The pace was well timed.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Strobe lights, glow in the dark decorations, black lights, spinning dot tunnel, realistic rubber corpses and aliens, and animated props.

Costumes / Make-up: The doctors and morgue people were really bloody and scary looking. The people in the dot room weren't noticeable and were hidden well.

Summary: There are about 15 different rooms that you walk through. Most of the rooms have actors in them, and most of them are hidden and jump out at you! It's definitely worth the money! The special effects are really cool, and the monsters that scare you while waiting in line make the whole experience really worth it. It was one of the best 10 minutes of my life!

Reviewed by: DeAd   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was kind of visable they needed more signs and lights or somthing

Wait Entertainment: great they had actors walking through

Length of Event: About 8 mins.

Actor Performance: The actors were not to bad they were a lot better this year then they were last year

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into other groups they had guides

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: they had a lot of anamated props that were pretty cool like the snake and they had a really cool looking body bag room with a lot of severed body parts on these tables. Those docter looking guys were crazy.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were pretty good like the pumpkin one.

Summary: They did a lot better this year cooler looking rooms. Not the scareiest but I had a really good time. If your looking for a little Halloween fun check this house out and it was only 8 dollars.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility off a main street.

Wait Entertainment: There was nobody in line. but there were "monsters" waiting to scare people

Length of Event: 10 minutes,tops.

Actor Performance: POOR! One of the "wait" actors was flirting with the girl selling tickets. Inside the house the actors were NOT acting, and didn't know if I was a customer or a "worker" as a result many were AFRAID to scare me. One actor with his mask off asked me, "are you part of a group." I told hime " I was my own group". He threw his mask back on and tried to get into character, but I had already passed him.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Decent

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: This is a low budget haunt that I visit every year for a "laugh". I don't expect much from it, because it's run by a park district, and employs mostly young teens. The house itslef isn't bad layout wise. The spinning vortex is the first room, and I've never seen that used as an opening scene at any haunt. I thought that was cool. The props and make up are a huge step down from larger haunts, but acceptable. Again, the house itself wasn't bad, but the acting, and timing of props was lousy. Maybe becuase it was their opening night. If your looking for a cheap haunt, or have kids that want to go, then this is the house for you.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at