Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Monticello Haunted House (Monticello, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dkaterhater   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: they have signs saying spookhouse at the intersections. However we had to stop at a gas station for directions.

Wait Entertainment: Worth The Wait! The monsters not only scared, they were funny and entertaining.

Length of Event: 45 minutes including the wait.

Actor Performance: First Class.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: They did some neat things with lighting.

Costumes / Make-up: Great. not a lot of mask, mostly makeup and great characters.

Summary: This was so much fun. When the instructions were over we were handed a piece of paper asking for our help. We would be glad to help. Here you go and good luck!

Reviewed by: lixchik   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have plenty of signs available so you don't miss it!

Wait Entertainment: The monsters were on break when we arrived yet many of them walked to cars to scare and entertain patrons. There was no line after the break but all the characters outside were fun and fantastic!

Length of Event: Well I never want a haunt to end but it was a very good length for $ spent.

Actor Performance: So many great actors! And every one of them seemed to enjoy their work. Beetlejuice's intro was fantastic and much more entertaining than most.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems at all!

Appropriate Ages: 12+ up I guess

Props / Special FX: A little crawling, a little ducking-fun. . . Monticello always has some treats like a vibrating floor or a walk through a coffin doorway.

Costumes / Make-up: I don't remember one that wasn't good

Summary: For their budget and price, this is well worth a visit! A patron can tell that the staff loves their haunt and that, to me, makes all the difference. Congratulations, once again Monticello for a great haunt!!!!

Reviewed by: kakondr   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: May be hard to find for someone who is unfamiliar with the area. As long as you're on the right street, you'll see a sign pointing you in the right direction.

Wait Entertainment: Actors were working the line, scaring the squealing girls in line...they also meet you at the car while you're getting out.

Length of Event: Not sure how long we were in there... 10 minutes?

Actor Performance: Nice job... different performance from different actors - not the same "jump out and scream" from every actor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were able to get through the attraction without finding the people in front of us and without others catching up with us. They also let just two of us go through as a group. This is a huge plus in my book - I hate being put with a group of 4 or 6 other people that I don't even know!

Appropriate Ages: In our 30s

Summary: I've been going to this almost every year since 1997. It's a good small-town haunted house! Every time it's a little different- some years are better than others, but it's always a good show, worth the admission price, and the people are always super-nice!

Reviewed by: sagefan   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy

Wait Entertainment: Hillarious. While we were in line, a radio station was teaching a big hairy monster how to dance.

Length of Event: We were there for well over an hour. Even waiting in line was fun!

Actor Performance: Crazy. The greeter inside pulled a cell phone out of the air.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. you can hear all the screams from people going thru, but we never saw them.

Appropriate Ages: ?

Props / Special FX: ?

Costumes / Make-up: Great.

Summary: Worth the 6 dollars. 
We love the hairy monster. 
The posessed lady was creepy. 
Everyone seemed to be having a good time. The two groups who put this thing on, do a good job. 

Reviewed by: zoesph   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was good but don't be fooled with the cars along the railroad tracks for parking. There is a parking lot right up front, its just hard to see when you pull up.

Wait Entertainment: It was average. There were two guys in costume that were somewhat entertaining. The only negative thing was that they kept saying the same thing over and over again.

Length of Event: Less then five min.

Actor Performance: There was not much enthusiasm, which I feel they should of had more of since they took a 45min break right when we got to the front of the line.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow seemed to run smooth once thing were back in action.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: average

Costumes / Make-up: average

Summary: I think it has more potential then what was shown with a touch more of enthusiasm from the actors . I might be bias since right when we got to the front of the line they took an intermission (they didn't let anyone know this who was standing in line by the way!)Which a little bit more than slightly ticked everyone including myself off. Everyone deserves a break but I do feel they should of made some sort of announcement first. Overall I would give it 2.5 for effort.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at