Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: zombie1   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location: easy to find if you have gps or familiar with location even if your not still pretty easy

Wait Entertainment: long lines but worth the wait

Length of Event: for me 3 hours 45 min but totaly worth it

Actor Performance: good and scary i liked it alot worth going to

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow went pretty fast not to fast but fast enough like i said worth it

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: good lots of animatronics like the big dinosaur it was really good

Costumes / Make-up: good make up average

Summary: some actors acted a little to funny but like i said worth the wait and price my sugestion get the 20 dollar wrist band and do the baloon ride fun!!!!! overall good ps chainsaw guy is the best

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Used mapquest, and kept my eyes pealed for a sign that said Three Sister's Park. Found it, but it could be easy to miss, since when I pulled in, they didn't have a sign lit up or much marking the location from the road. Parking is free!

Wait Entertainment: There were actors working the crowds for all the lines except the hayride line. One Jason had a chainsaw he would use to sneak up behind people and scare them. You could buy drinks or food to snack on while you wait in line.

Length of Event: House: 8 minutes 
Trail: 15 minutes 
Hayride: 15 minutes (but half of it you are riding around by the parking lot areas, with no props or haunted theme).

Actor Performance: House: Lacking actors and mediocre performances. 
Trail: AWESOME actors, and quite a few of them. WOW, A++ for some of the actors on this trail. I had a clown come running and jump over my head almost it seemed. Also, freddy really scared me by touching me with his claws and putting his claw right by my eyeball. He kept me at bay with those claws, I thought he was really gonna poke my eye out. The only actor who did a mediocre job was this one who tried to stare me down, and I said "I think he likes me!" and he broke character and smiled and started giggling.  
Hayride: i saw 2 actors, and they both did a horrible job. One vampire just stood still drinking a water bottle, and didnt even try to scare the wagon.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Unfortunately, spider hill did not do good in this category. They just let people on the trail and in the house without spacing them out very well. I ran into the group ahead of me 1 minute into the haunted trial. In the haunted house, they didn't even have groups, they just kept letting people file in. There was like 15-20 people in a room at any given time. It was the worst patron flow I have ever seen in a haunted house, which is unfortunate considering the scare level would have really been brought up a notch if they spaced groups well.

Appropriate Ages: House: 10 and above 
Trail: 12 and above 
Hayride: Any age

Props / Special FX: THe longest vortex I seen in a haunted house was here. They also had the cool smooshed in walls you have to crawl thru. Nice job with certain elements of the house.  
Not too many props on the trail, but they made up for it with a lot of actors who knew their stuff. They had several unique animatronics here that I have not seen in other places.  
Hayride: I saw speakers on the trees every 15 feet. That appeared to be what they spent their money on because the other props and sfx were not good at all. This is the weakest hayride I have been on, and wow, I been on a lot of weak ones. They could have added a lot to it to make it better. I guess they focused more on the house and the trail. The hayride is good tho because it is appropriate for any age almost. So, great for familes, but not great for fear enthusiasts.

Costumes / Make-up: A wide variety. There were the typical jason and freddy characters. However, there were some awesomely unique costumes I have not seen before. There was a clown that appeared to be walking on his hands, and a 9 foot tall werewolf. Some of the younger actors had simple costumes or makeup which didnt really match some of the older actors too well.

Summary: If you come here, skip the hayride and just visit the house and the trail. These are well worth it. Unfortunately, I feel that I was swindled by false advertisement. The only reason I came was because of the balloon ride everyone was hyping up. However, they said they couldn't do the balloon b/c of the wind? It didn't seem that windy. But, okay, I understand safety reasons. Tell the ticket people not to advertise the balloon ride when the balloon isnt even going to happen. I wouldn't have bought the $20 band if I knew the balloon ride was cancelled. 
Besides that tho, my details on the 3 houses should help you decide if it is your "flavor" or not.

Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Parls sits right on route 29 close to Chillicothe.

Wait Entertainment: Freddy and Texas guys were great in the haunted trail line. Could have used wait entertainment in the haunted house line.

Length of Event: Both haunted attractions were over 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great actors were always on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into a couple of groups but use the 20 sec rule. stop and count to 20.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great use of FX and the props. Scenes were great! Falling wall in the house was awesome and so was the double Vortex tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of costumes and make-up, about half and half.

Summary: This attraction has really stepped it up since visiting about 5 years ago. Massacre Mansion was great. This is a definete must see for the season. There could have been a bigger scare at the end of the haunted trail and the mansion.

Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: roaming Jason and Freddie..well done. Jason joined us at a picnic table as we devoured a hot dog.

Length of Event: 15 minutes on the trail and 12 minutes in the house.

Actor Performance: Overall nice job. Michael Meyers freaked me out coming through the woods..and Kudos little Chucky!! Dump the screaming little girls tho!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did run into groups during both events. Just stopped and counted to 10 and we were fine.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Both the trail and the house had great props and special FX. Notable was the house. I am still sick to my stomach from the spinning tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: Over all pretty darn good.

Summary: This was a great time. We went to two different house/trails this night. Spider hill was not quite as scary, but still a great time and worth the money. Check it out!!

Reviewed by: dover345   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is easy to find, however I was third car in a group so I basically just followed the others.

Wait Entertainment: Could have been better. There is alot of different things going on at this haunt and 4 different lines, so I realize it is alot of ground to cover, however On more than one occasion I saw an actor unmask while walking alongside the line.

Length of Event: As I said before there is alot of things going on out there. We arrived at 8 and were there till midnight. Plan on making a whole night of going to this attraction.

Actor Performance: Varried. In the haunted house most of the actors were very good to great. The trail had decent acting. The hayrack ride's acting was horrible, total lack of enthusiasm.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent, even on the trail we didn't run into any other groups. Could maybe use to make groups a little smaller for the trail but all in all very good.

Props / Special FX: There are some very nice props and special effects throughout. The T-Rex in the hayrack ride is cool. Air cannons in the vortex tunnel is genious. Too many nifty props to mention.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. The sheer volume of actors in makeup is kinda mindblowing. For the most part makeup is white bloody faces but there was some cooler costumes and masks.

Summary: For $20 you get a wristband that lets you in to the hayrack ride, haunted trail, haunted house and hot air baloon ride. I realize hot air baloons are not particularly scary in nature, but seriously how cool is a hot air baloon ride. If you have to miss an event I would miss the hayrack ride as the acting was horrible and ruined some really cool props that someone probably spent alot of time on. I would not miss the haunted house. The house was great, with so many cool things going on I can't mention them all. The alien scene was cool, as was the vortex tunnel among many others. The trail was pretty good also. The guy on his belly in the middle of the trail gets a thumbs up from me for actor dedication. Definately worth a visit.

Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible! they have a giat light in the parking lot that can be seen from a distance.

Wait Entertainment: Very good! I enjoyed clowns and a masked man with a chainsaw spook children and the younger adult rowd.

Length of Event: I'd say the average for thm all was 10 minutes. Each atraction took atleast that amount of time.

Actor Performance: Very good inside the trail! I was impressed! The riding trail was a disappointment. Usually it is interactive with actors jumping onto the moving wagon and things would fall on you from the trees. There was barely any actors, just scenes.It seems they have gone to all electronic figurines on the ride. The hauted house was good. There were a few scenes were the actors laughed and needed to be more serious, but for the most part they did a good job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, but inside the haunted house another group kept catching up to us. It's a smaller rooms house this year meaning 2-3 only per haunt.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: There is a tunnel you walk into, pitch black and the material around you hugs you, you must puch through and then you crawl into a square dark tunnel. You come to an end. I was scared thinking if I didn't move fast enough, an actor would come in. You must break open the tunnel, it was neat. But then you are chaised by a chainsaw! that was the scariest part. They had the tunnel again this year that makes you dizzy. It's a classic but predictable. I just with they woudl beed everythign back up. In all the haunts they feature clowns and cujoe dogs.

Costumes / Make-up: My favorite was a posessed deamon bunny. They had many costumes

Summary: This year they had an extra feature that I loved! The hot air balloon ride. I bought a bracelet and it was well worth the price! I have a fear of heights and the balloon was a neat touch! Thy need to make the hay rack ride more interactive! More monsters and thingd on the trees instead of scenes or mecahnical deamons. The trail was awesome and the haunted house has almost too many of the saem things each year. I want more scenes with actors.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at