Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
The Halls of Madness (Paris, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: madman   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find right on the highway, look for the white hurst with flashing lights

Wait Entertainment: we did the rush pass so we did not really get to stay outside very long

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: very good they really did a good job of keeping the girls jumping

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: really good some places seemed like we ran past a scare

Appropriate Ages: 10-12

Props / Special FX: all the different types of saws was good, the woods, except for the muddy trail, the clowns was good

Costumes / Make-up: mostly costumes but they were good

Summary: really good place, we like going outside and then back in at first we thought it was over then they started scaring us again good job guys, Thanks Tim for a good time!!

Reviewed by: goblin_bug   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was tricky to find, as this is in the middle of nowhere.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't see any actors interacting with the crowd while I waited. It was a very boring wait-- if I hadn't have driven so far to get here, I would have just left.

Length of Event: 10 minutes tops.

Actor Performance: Actors were very bored, it seemed. Maybe it is because they have been doing the same exact routine for the same month. The only scare tactic I saw was jump out and yell at the front person in line. So, maybe it would be fun if you were the first person in line. Since my group ran into the people ahead of us, we turned into one long group watching the front person get scared, while the actors just looked at us dumbly as we passed by. Also, I walked by actors who were just chillin out talking to each other, and ignoring patrons. Don't they have a break area for that? It totally ruined the atmosphere-- especailly the guy with his mask half off hitting on some other teenager. 
There was also an actor shortage, considering how many dry spots I walked by without any live ghouls.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was terrible. We got shooed in and of course ran right ahead to the group in front of us. a minute later the group behind us ran into us. if people were spaced out better, I might have rated this place a 6.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up I guess

Props / Special FX: *sigh* Well the "halls" are made of cheap plywood that felt like it'd push over if you touched it to hard. Somebody plowed into the wall and I felt the halls caving in. The halls aren't pitch black, there's enough light to see by. THere's no cool special effects that I haven't seen at a decent home haunt.  
The prop they should have sold would be rubber boots for tracking by the mucky dirt path outdoors.

Costumes / Make-up: I think the guy with his mask half off had a cool costume, but I really couldn't tell. some costumes were pretty bad.

Summary: I was very disappointed because I read some of the overinflated reviews for this place and drove almost 2 hours to get here. I think the low rating reviews are a lot more accurate.  
I can't figure out what was supposed to be scary about this place, for it to get 10 ratings. Just about anywhere else is scarier. My 7 year old son kept asking me why it was over so fast. I guess that's his way of asking, why the "bang for the buck" was so low. 
Unless you get scared by the word "boo," this haunt is probably not your style.

Reviewed by: whiplash13   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: way easy to find. they have a lit up sign and a "real" hearse parked out front.

Wait Entertainment: excellent. they had a guy that looked like the crow who was up on the roof which is very high up, he acted as if he was going to jump on top of my group. then, he vanished and was on the ground behind us. that was too freaky.

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes

Actor Performance: all the actors here do a great job. at times i wondered if me and my friends were going to actually get to ever leave there alive again !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: things went well inside. never met up with any other groups, and they allow you to guide yourself thru this haunt. which is the best !

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up.

Props / Special FX: the guy in the trench coat that disappeared from the roof and then was on the ground made us freak out and think of criss angel all at the same time, the girl that follows you in the house is so creepy, the guy that jumps out of the ceiling in the house was really awesome. the music is good everywhere in the haunt. in the woods the chainsaw guys got us big time. one of them has a gas mask on, and the other one is wearing an evil clown mask ! they are complete freaks and we ran from them because we thought they really wanted to keep us there, one of my friends got so scared that she wetted herself hahaha. the clowns were wild, the mirrors were great and the electric chair guy was one of the most real looking animatronics ive ever seen. just getting out of this place was a special effect all in itself.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were well done, and the make-up was good also.

Summary: this haunt is well worth the money and the trip. my friends and i will be going back again next weekend. they are always changing things there so you never know what you are in store for until you are inside ! and we all still want to know how that one guy could be on the roof and then disappear and be beside us on the ground ? i would recomend this haunt to everyone.

Reviewed by: headless   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: drove right to it, just look for the white hurst.

Wait Entertainment: none, the wait was very short

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes

Actor Performance: really good, the people outside was great, good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into one group then we turned around and they were gone

Appropriate Ages: 9 or 10

Props / Special FX: saws, truck and the woods was great

Costumes / Make-up: not much make up but the costumes were good

Summary: we had checked out the reviews and decided to that we needed to visit this place and we were glad that we did. It was worth the drive and well worth the time, keep up the great work guys.

Reviewed by: angelofkarma   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: There wan't any other than a few security workers outside that were quite funny but there wasn't much of a wait they got us into the house in a timely manner.

Length of Event: 30-45min, but felt longer.

Actor Performance: Very Good!!! They stayed in "character" the whole time!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good!! We never ran into a group.

Appropriate Ages: +13 there were children outside crying

Props / Special FX: The outside props were much better but this Haunt focused on good scares and acting as opposed to props and animatronics.

Costumes / Make-up: No make-up was used that I can recollect but the masks were very good and genre related. The costumes were also very good.

Summary: This was the second haunted house that I have been to this season, it was very good, and I was very impressed! Over all this was the best haunted house that I have been to. Was a very good scare, and very entertaining, well worth the drive and money!! (i drove 1.5 hours both ways) Not to give anything a way, but if chainsaw and running machinery in your scares isn't your thing this isn't the "Haunt" for you.

Reviewed by: DigginHaunts   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Down Rt. 16, they had a sign lit up, and a White Hurst by the road. Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very busy night, but the line moved real well, good creepy music playing outside. They had this guy with Long Black Hair out there with a Bat messing the the peoples heads.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were on top of you from the start. There was a little girl that creeped out the people in my group right off the bat.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very smooth, didn't run into any other groups the whole time, spaced well

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up, There were some real young ones that didn't make it pass the enterance.

Props / Special FX: The woods ROCKED! The Clown Mazes with the mirrors freaked out the girls in my group.

Costumes / Make-up: The Scarecrow was good, the the guy in the woods on top of the shed makeup was good.

Summary: I seen haunts like this up in Indy, that this would match up with, with no problem. The price isn't bad, $8.00 for a 20 min Haunt. I feel this is one of the best haunts I've been to for a long time. It was worth waitng in the long line to get this experience. 
Great Job "Halls Of Madness"!!!

Reviewed by: Coming4U   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great...right by the highway.

Wait Entertainment: Little, Could have used more. The Guy in the long black coat was cool!

Length of Event: Approx 25 min

Actor Performance: A LOT better second time through. The first time I went, the actors were a little sparse. I think they have done some recruiting.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good....we did see a group ahead of us so we slowed down. They were really scared.

Appropriate Ages: 8-80

Props / Special FX: Not bad....did miss the cemetery they had last year.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good...loved the guy with the gas mask.

Summary: Definitely worth the visit. I would guess the later in the year, the better they will be. I will be trying them again before the year is up. I want to win the X-BOX!!

Reviewed by: rawmeat   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find had no problems getting there

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was good the first time that i went they had a guy out in the line in a trench coat with a ball bat that stares right thru you it was freaky

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors here did well they dont break character and are truely into what they do most of them were convincing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was good not rushed or delayed

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: lots of strobes they have a real hearse parked out front which kinda makes you wonder how serious they really are about all of this

Costumes / Make-up: make up was good could have been better but was still done well enough

Summary: the halls of madness has been my favorite haunt in this area since it opened 4 years ago i go there at least 4 times or more each year only thing that i think they could really use is more actors because some of the spots left you wanting but all in all it was good still and i will go back before this month is over and yes it worth every cent to get in this place is good

Reviewed by: aceofspades   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: cant miss the place it is well lite up and they have a hearse sitting out front

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was great ! this place had a live band playing out there for you to watch and listen to as you waited to get in and the band was a good one plus they had a few actors that would go thru the line every so often

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: all the actors were good. i liked the girl that followed like the grudge, then the woods was very good and big, and scarey, and the circus part of the place was fun scarey and crazy all at the same time

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was alright, never ran into anyone else

Appropriate Ages: 12 up

Props / Special FX: they had a few good fx and props the electric chair was the best one and the chainsaws got me big time. the stobe lights hallway was good too

Costumes / Make-up: from what i got to see i would say that all the costumes and make-up were good but then again i didnt stick around anyone all that long to examine them because i was on the run

Summary: i would say that this place is worth the money and the drive. i make a 3 hour drive to this haunt each year and i will continue to do so. the only thing that i felt they are lacking this year compared to the previous years are actors. they have really slimmed down on them this year and it did make for some boring moments in the house. the woods and the circus are well done, the house was what needed more people. but otherwise this is a great haunt and i will be back this year because i know that they will keep changing things like normal and i know that it will get more intense as the month goes on.

Reviewed by: infatu8ed   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location for the Halls of Madness is excellent. It is right along side highway 16 and you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: there was some wait entertainment, but not loads of it. but then again I didn't really expect big screen tv's recliners and popcorn while waiting in line.

Length of Event: 25 to 30 minutes

Actor Performance: great ! the actors here do not break their character, at least not from what I saw. so I would give all of these guys two thumbs up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow inside was well paced. Nothing felt rushed and I never caught up to a group ahead of me and no others caught up to me. So it was good.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up

Props / Special FX: lots of nice lighting and the mirrored hallway is really cool

Costumes / Make-up: average, they did not look bad at all but nothing really too shocking

Summary: over-all this haunt is a good haunt to visit. i would recommend it to anyone. the whole place here works hard and you can tell, and it is well worth the money. i will go back this season and definately in the years to come.

Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find. No signs anywhere. I found it by finding Joes Pizza.

Wait Entertainment: There was none.

Length of Event: 15 - 20 minutes depending on if you walk or run through!

Actor Performance: They were pretty good, I liked the person in the shadow room. They made me jump. I also liked the Voodoo guy with his table for heads.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a little hard to navigate. There was no clear path to go. I liked that.

Appropriate Ages: 10 - 14 year olds would be very entertained.

Props / Special FX: I liked the thing that blew air at me as well as someone beating on some cabinets that about defened me!

Costumes / Make-up: They were ok. Nothing I had not seen before except for one unusual mask that had it's tounge hanging out.

Summary: It was ok. Good for the money. I thought that it could be so much more. I liked how the guys inside never got out of character. They gave it their all!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at