Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Hall of Horrors (Farmer City, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: nitemare1968   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Farmer City is a very small town. Located on the main road in downtown.

Wait Entertainment: None that we saw except the group of kids hanging out and yelling in front.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Poor. Very short staffed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only one other group in line and they went in before us. We did not run into them.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up.

Props / Special FX: Some were good nothing spectacular.

Costumes / Make-up: Did not see any makeup, all mask for the little number of scarers in the house.

Summary: We usually visit ac ouple of houses but have been so busy this season just decided to stop by on our way home. This house has always got us in the past. Not this year. We were sorely disappointed. Too much for the price, should have charge 50% off since there was not enough actors. Mostly just walking through the house mostly. A couple of scenes stood out that were nicely done but some places looked unfinished.

Reviewed by: Satansangel   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Downtown across from Casey's General Store

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: The couple we saw were weak.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw anyone, but no one was in line.

Appropriate Ages: infants +

Props / Special FX: Some cool rooms, but seems like some were not finished, just empty. Baby room and gorey fridge were a highlight.

Costumes / Make-up: Masks.

Summary: What the heck happened to this Haunted House!!?? This was a favorite of ours in the past. If anyone knows where the scary people went,or if they are at a different Haunted House,let me know. I think that charging $1.00 admission instead of $7.00 would be too much for this house now, I would suggest FREE!!!

Reviewed by: BLCKSABBTH64   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: None except the guy that appeared in a cape.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Lacked alot, seemed like there were little kids working in the haunted house. I visited last year and this house seemed to have adult actors. Seemed like a lot of beginners.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up.

Props / Special FX: Blacklight and fog machines. Might have been a few strobe lights.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: Last years event was tons better. They did make some changes this year. Scenes that were stands outs were a messed up fridge and some kind of doll room. Though they need to have scares in them? There is a big help wanted sign out back, what happened to all the volunteers from the previous year? Is this a new group? Next time I will check out the reviews before I head on down.

Reviewed by: shelbyg84   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good location right on the main street through town.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: aprox 10 to 15 min

Actor Performance: Not very great just a simple boo here and a jump out of the dark

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Never ran into the group ahead of us and the group behind us never caught up to us

Appropriate Ages: all

Summary: Overall the house was not a good as it was last year, but in their defense when you exited the house there was a BIG help wanted sign. There was not much of a line outside the house.

Reviewed by: slickster   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find right across from Casey's. Parking was easy to find as well.

Wait Entertainment: there was no one there in line so no wait. there was six of us and we had to go in three at a time.

Length of Event: prob 15 min.

Actor Performance: not enough actors but there was some good actors. but kept running into the same one three or four times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didn't run into anyone else. there was only six of us and never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: some of the props was good but could have done something with one room.

Costumes / Make-up: most actors had masks on and others had their faces painted.

Summary: overall it was good I jumped more than once. It could have been better in some rooms but they was short staffed so no complaints from me. took some co-workers there and they enjoyed it as well. but i hope next yr will be better.

Reviewed by: happihauntr6   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, across from Casey's.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: What actors? We went almost through the entire house with no one scaring us until the last few rooms. Then there were a couple of adults and about 10 kids.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok

Appropriate Ages: 5 on up.

Props / Special FX: Nothing to write home about.

Costumes / Make-up: Just masks and children.

Summary: I have been to this house the last 3 years. Did someome new take it over? I was very disappointed. My children did not even flinch once. I was almost nausiated at the end because the fumes from the chainsaw were so strong. In the past we have always been scared, running out the back, this year, well it lacked just about everything.

Reviewed by: 217props   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find ....

Wait Entertainment: None at all ....

Length of Event: 10-15 min

Actor Performance: Poor Very Poor seemed as if all they did was scream...and seemed very short staffed

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This is about the only good thing ..we didnt run into anyone ....

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Typical stuff nothing Fancy couple strobes...and some fog that about sums it up

Costumes / Make-up: NO Make up at all that my group seen ...ALL masks ...If they want to "PEP" this haunt up Get some Make up instead of the typical masks....

Summary: This haunt was decent last season and just seemed like it went down hill this year ...It was opening night but that is no excuse.....also they need to teach there actors how to get there scares and use some make up ....just was a poor display from this group from years past....Very Disapointing ......

Reviewed by: spacecadet82   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, there were a ton of kids hanging around outside; rough housing.

Wait Entertainment: None, last year this house was awesome. they had a couple of creatures scaring everyone. I don't know maybe there will be line entertainment next weekend.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Poor, I don't think we got scared once. I was with another girl and usually we jump. But not tonight. A couple of monsters were in a group talking at the back of the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones there in line, and did not run into anyone inside the house.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: Fog, a strobe and some black lights. No wow facter.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone we saw had a mask on.

Summary: This has been a favorite in the past. I don't know what happened but both us felt let down. $7.00 is steep for the price. It was opening weekend, so maybe it will pick up next weekend. It reminded me more of yard decorations then a haunted house.

Reviewed by: 69haunt   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find- ent with other from my school- we all knew where it was at

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: I saw 1 person with their mask off before they tried to scare us

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no onw was in line before us

Appropriate Ages: yes

Costumes / Make-up: none that I saw

Summary: did not seem like they had enough people, only seemed like 10 people - everyone that scared us seemed to be a kid, was not as good as last year, but was opening night

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at