Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: monster_56   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been going to this haunt for the last 5 years so I knew where it was.Even though it is right in the middle of town,you get a secluded feeling about the place.

Wait Entertainment: They had some monitors set up outside with veiws from inside playing on them -realtime.Real cool. Had some monsters roaming around outside working the crowd.They would pop up out of nowhere and did a good job of entertaining I thought.

Length of Event: 15 - 20 min. They spaced the groups pretty good.

Actor Performance: Overall I thought they did a real good job.Most were excellant,some needed work/instruction but over all, really good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Like I mentioned before they spaced the groups pretty good, but when they let you go through alone,no guide, at your own pace,it is bound to happen that you run into the group ahead of you.That said, I only caught up with the next group once,waited like I was told and never saw them again.

Appropriate Ages: 9-10 & up

Props / Special FX: They have had some very good sets in the past but this year every room seemed to have extra effort put into it and it really showed.The lighting,music,decorating was taken to the next level.I have never been disapointed at this house.

Costumes / Make-up: The costume selection was matched great for whatever room the actors were in accept one, who for some reason was in street clothes and only a mask.The make-up was top notch.The phantom who gave the rules in the first room was great and even the ticket sellers to the security team whom roam around the house-inside and out- were made up like pro's.

Summary: Every year this house just rocks.Haveing helped with other houses in a differant state, I know how much work goes into one of these things and these guys must spend many,many hours thinking up new ways to scare and then weeks and weeks of work to put it all together.I have never ever been disapointed here and WILL go back every year they have one because all the hard work comes through, every time.100% worth the drive to see and the ticket price of $7.50 is a steal.You gotta see one ....

Reviewed by: paladin644   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I thought it was fairly easy to find as I have been to Clinton a number of times. Online directions are a definite help.

Wait Entertainment: It was ok. There were some concessions and outside monitors showing what was going on in couple of locations inside.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes I would guess.

Actor Performance: I thought it was excellent throughout. Everyone did a great job of staying in character. I have read some of the previous reviews of this haunt and have to say there must have been a great improvement overall in the last couple of weeks. This place is great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good. We caught up with the group in front of us briefly after coming through the maze. Wasnt a big deal.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10+...it was pretty scary for some of the younger folks going through.

Props / Special FX: The attention to detail throughout this haunt was just outstanding! Great spooks throughout the entire house. There was obviously a lot of time and effort put into this haunt! Secret passageways, down on hands and knees to get through one space, many spooky twists and turns!

Costumes / Make-up: All very good. A nice combo of makeup and really good masks. That "Phantom of the Opera" giving instructions at the begining was a neat touch!

Summary: This haunt is worth every cent of the price of admission. If you have to travel an hour or more to get there, you will not be disappointed! Best I have seen in a couple of years!

Reviewed by: kourtann82   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was a little hard to find at first just because we weren't familiar with Clinton, online directions helped. When you see the barricades you know you're there. Also, you can park anywhere around there.They don't have a parking lot, but there's one next door and street parking available as well.

Wait Entertainment: Not much. They had some monitors where you could watch people in the house. The music they played while waiting was nice.

Length of Event: I think about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: It was good. There were a few times when we were walking into a scene the actors were talking to each other. Most of the actors were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good. The man in the beginning telling you the rules helps set the pace so you don't run into groups. We never ran into a group which was nice.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They really spent a lot of time on this house. It looks great. There's a lot more to it than most houses. Every detail was thought through and it shows.

Costumes / Make-up: They were good. mostly face paint, but still nicely done.

Summary: This is the best house I've been to so far this year. I highly recommend it. It's so much fun and because you don't have a guide walking you through it adds to the suspense. I think this house should finish in the top 3 of the state this year! It's well worth the drive and reasonably priced compared to other houses in the area.

Reviewed by: hauntmaster2   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I looked online and found the attraction it was very easy to find once you get the directions

Wait Entertainment: there was a monitor that showed from an area inside the house and when ever a person walked by they would honk a car horn i laughed so hard when they scared them

Length of Event: it took me about 30 min. because i wasnt running

Actor Performance: it was great. they all stayed in character except four when they had to escorte a little girl out but i didnt mind

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was great also everytime we started to catch up an acot will stop us

Appropriate Ages: id say 12+

Props / Special FX: they were asome to i liked the scare crow and the zombies they had a cool cemetry and this one was hiding in the corner and you couldnt see them and they popped out once u got close i fell backward

Costumes / Make-up: costumes where very detailed i liked how killers had blood on them and how killies had blood where they had been "stabed or shot"

Summary: this place is awsome it is worth the money to go i came out screaming when the chainsaw guy ran after me it was asome i also think that the managers they had face paint on to so they looked like gouls to it was sooo cool

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Use mapquest and head towards the barricades... can't miss it. However, this is not mentioned online that I saw, but it cost me 3 dollars to park. There was no parking near the building, and some guy drinking a beer in front of his house was charing people 3 dollars to park near the event.

Wait Entertainment: There was one monitor set up that had a camera from somewhere inside the house. However, a staff member stood in front of the tv monitor, blocking anyone's view, while he chatted to someone else. I heard screams come from the TV now and then.

Length of Event: 7 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors had a very low energy level. Maybe it is because there were a lot of chldren working there (either that or incredibly short people). The children actors sometimes seemed more scared of my group then we were of them. Also, the grand finale chainsaw guys just started their chainsaws up, and didn't even more around. Just looked at you when you went by from their corner in the room. Would have been cooler if they pretended to come get you, or jump out or something... 
Overall, there weren't enough actors in this haunt. I went thru a lot of rooms where no one was working.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Decent in this area. Didn't run into another group. However, I was one of the first groups in so maybe that's why.

Appropriate Ages: ALL. I saw lots of grade schoolers in line. Some kids had to be no older than 5 or 6.

Props / Special FX: Well, there was a spot you crawled thru a tunnel. that was cool. But, no spx or cool animetronics. There were some decent stationary props. However, the environment was not constructed very well. Some parts looked to be a little thrown together.

Costumes / Make-up: Rubber masks and even a Freddy. nothing too unique or thrilling.

Summary: I liked the price for this one a lot. I also liked that there was no guides. Other than that, the bang for the buck was low (even though it was 7.50 to get in). I wished the attraction was longer, maybe a longer maze section? The maze part lasted about 10 feet. This haunted house was definately geared for families, not people looking to run out screaming. It was more like a museum of stationary props, than a haunted house. Get some more actors!

Reviewed by: 5nights   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not that great but we have been there before so it is easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Video monitors from inside the house so you could see the people inside.... Good hot chocolate

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: good, one goul got mad and took of his mask and cried because we thought he was in grade school...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: terrible the group behind us was on our heels the entire way.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: good

Costumes / Make-up: ok, greeter is great

Summary: clinton haunted house is a great haunted house every year. We went on the first night and it wasn't at its best (still good but not great). We may go back to this one another time when they have had a couple of run thoughs. It was also a football game night so there bigger characters may have been at the game. 

Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find. I had to ask around how to get to it.

Wait Entertainment: None at all. At least last year they had a guy trying to scare the high school kids.

Length of Event: 15 - 25 minutes depending on how fast you run.

Actor Performance: For Jr. High and High School Kids they did ok. Several times we caught them out of charater which was a big disappointment.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't feel rushed but we did bump into the group ahead of us on 2 occasions.

Appropriate Ages: 8 - 15 year olds.

Props / Special FX: They had some good props, the same ones I had seen LAST YEAR! What is up with all of the haunts not changing their designs this year? I am going to start asking if haunts change their designs or not. If they don't, I am not going to go from now on. I found it pretty good last year, but I didn't pay to see it twice last year, why would I pay to see it again this year if it was the same!

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing note worthy exept the guy that reads the rules. He was funny! Highlight of the haunt.

Summary: It is the same as last year. What is up with all of the haunts not changing their designs this year? I am going to start asking if haunts change their designs or not. If they don't, I am not going to go from now on. I found it pretty good last year, but I didn't pay to see it twice last year, why would I pay to see it again this year if it was the same! It was not that bad, but it was the whole package that just made me upset. From being the same to actor out of character.

Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Clinton is a small enough town that it wasn't hard to find. We have been there before.

Wait Entertainment: The only wait entertainment were monitors with a night cam watching a scare in the house

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Average. A lot of young kids. We caught a couple out of character, the casket room were not in place. The intro was excellent!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into a group in front, but a group did catch up to us in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: a couple special effects,nothing note worthy, but props were very good. A lot of work was put into the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. The intro dude had great make up.

Summary: Over all pretty good, and actually better than last year. I believe they were short staffed. A lot of rooms were empty and could have had a possible good scare. The music was not loud enough, it would have made the experience more intense.Worth visiting.

Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Have been there every year for the past 5 years!

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great. Even though there were several high school age kids, my group was jumping. Great Job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did see the group behind us but they did wait as they yelled PINEAPPLE.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great special FX. A few surprises which was nice. Could have used a boost of music though.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of masks in the appropriate areas and good use of make-up.

Summary: Love this house for the fact that there are no guides. The scares were on cue and loved the fact of the dark maze where u had to feel your way out. Loved the fact that they actually split your group up in the middle of the haunted house. This is a must see this Halloween season.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at