Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Trail of Screams (Rockford, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: karlina   (Event Visited: 10/30/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Trail of Screams was really easy to find, it had a lit up sign by the road and had signs all the way thru the entrance letting you know which way to go.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting in line was really enjoyable because they had the Halloween movie playing on a big screen and an actor was walking around talking to the people in line. His costume was very elaborate and detailed. It's nice to see people put so much effort into setting this up.

Length of Event: We only waited in line for about 20 minutes but the actually trail was about 40 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors all did very well. My favorite scenes were the bridge with the tall monster who didn't move as you were on the bridge, but once you went a little he was behind you. He scared me so bad I cried. My other favorite scene which was way better than any others was the red clown. He did such a good job, I cried at that one too. My best friend was holding my hand and I almost broke her wrist because i was so scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They spaced out the groups very well. Even if our group had gone a little slower or a little faster we still wouldn't have run into the other groups. Also, you couldn't hear the group in front of you screaming in the buildings.

Appropriate Ages: I believe this event can be appropriate for 13+, although I have a 12 year old sister and I think she might be able to handle it. You should judge if your child can attend based on their age and maturity level.

Props / Special FX: All of the props and the special FX were wonderful. The strobe lights really enhance the bridge and especially the clown scene because they seem like they are running much faster at you and you get even more frightened.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was done very well. The blood on the faces and wounds were all very realistic. It looks as if they start doing the makeup 4 hours in advanced. The costumes were very elaborate and well done.

Summary: Overall, I think the Trail of Screams was well planned and very well executed. I can see this attraction becoming a huge success over the next few years as more people tell their friends and others come from further away. I genuinely got scared to the point of crying but afterwards I still loved it. If I hadn't gone one the next to last day, I would definitely go again. I'm making sure I take a few days off next year to go. This is my very favorite haunted attraction ever.

Reviewed by: eeek83256   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since our group drove from Wisconsin we had a slight problem finding it but when we did there was a light at the camp entrance along with a flashing arrow sign which was visible from the road.

Wait Entertainment: There was this really creepy monster walking around the parking area and scared our group to death. They also had loud music playing at the front entrance. The first building really set the mood for the beginning of the trail.

Length of Event: About 30-35 minutes. After reading the last review I don't understand how this person waited in line for 4 hours when he arrived at 7:00. Our group didn't get there until 8 and we didn't even wait that long.

Actor Performance: The actors were EXCELLENT considering they are probably exhausted from a long season. We truly enjoyed every scene and they displayed alot of energy and a high scare level.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Once again, our wait wasn't that bad and if you plan on coming to an outdoor attraction at the end of October dress warm and be prepared to wait in the cold or stay home! It's not the middle of July. I have been to this event for the last couple of years and I really liked the fact that they didn't have any guides to take you through - it really added to the scare factor. Our group never ran into any other groups along the trail. They were quite busy for a Sunday night but we never WAITED FOR 4 HOURS????

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up like they say.

Props / Special FX: Their scenes were highly detailed from strobes to 3D to dead chickens hanging in the old house. I give them a A++++++!

Costumes / Make-up: KUDOS to whoever does their makeup and costumes...they were GREAT! I liked the clowns and the doctor -he was just downright creepy. The syringes on the crazy patient were a neat touch as well. GOOD JOB!

Summary: Once again, I must comment on the last review. I thought the event was very well put together and our group didn't have one problem with the wait line. I don't understand how this person can say this - I have been to many haunts and I think this one was very organized - especially how busy they were on a Sunday night. Oh well, I guess you can't please everyone. I can't wait to see what they come up with for 2008 - keep up the good work for the last couple of days!

Reviewed by: kevin0715   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunted house has a very dimly lit sign outside with three letters on it: "TOS." If you were coming down the street at even close to the speed limit and did not realize that they abbreviate Trail of Screams as "TOS," you will likely pass it and end up having to turn around and come back.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment. There was one person with a mask on who walked around in the parking lot.

Length of Event: Before I comment on this, please understand that I am more than willing to wait in line for my attraction. However, after waiting nearly 4 hours in line at night in very cold weather, it gets old very quickly. The line did not move, AT ALL. The organization at this event was poor at best.

Actor Performance: Actors did not interact with those in the group. This is because the entrance line moved so slowly (due to poor organization). Groups of 10 and more were walking the path at a time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was very slow. The length of the event was approximately 25 minutes as others have said. However, this 25 minutes of much anticipated "fear" amounted to very little after waiting for 4 hours in the freezing cold.

Appropriate Ages: I would recommend little children do not attend since the attraction does not have any sort of place for children to stay warm.

Summary: In summary, I will never go to the Trail of Screams ever again. I feel as if the YMCA who puts on the event has taken advantage of a lot of people - myself included - by charging $10 a person. Many people were turned away from the attraction after waiting for more than 3 hours. This is because they close at midnight regardless of whether anybody is in line or not. The organization from the very beginning was pitiful. There are two lines that meld together as one. After standing in the "wrong" line for half an hour, many people finally realize that there is also a "ticket line" intermingled within the "entrance line." There are no corrals, and as expected many people line-jumped. There was no authoritative figures around to prevent this. Once in line, you were essentially surrounded by hundreds of people, all pushing and plowing their way to try to get to the front of the line. The line was approximately 25 people wide, and as a result you never actually have a "place." in line. Essentially, whoever pushes the most gets in first. 
 
In summary, I will not be back to Trail of Screams ever again. Half of my part lost all their ticket money because they will not offer refunds if they shut and you are not able to get in. They simply tell you - come back tomorrow or next year.

Reviewed by: coopar13   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find as they had a flashing sign pointing it out. It was lit up nicely at the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: It was cool as we left jason was following us to our car it was funny. They had a tv and music at the entrance.

Length of Event: It was about 40mins- to an hour. I thought it was just long enough though i wouldn't of minded it being a bit longer

Actor Performance: It was very good they ignored all attempts of talking to us other then their lines. They all were great. All were very convincing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was nice i never saw a soul outside our own group. Of course i was stuck with a bunch of girls plus my brother so they were rather easily startled.

Appropriate Ages: I think as the site says 13+ as it was rather frighting and dark so could easily scare younger children

Props / Special FX: I loved them it was all very realistic. I hate the strobe lights but like them at the same time They really increase the scare.

Costumes / Make-up: All very good the docter and the patients were excellent

Summary: I liked last years better. I loved having a guide as we knew where to go and my guide then was fun to talk to. It didn't have a history for each place like last year and such so it wasn't as freaky. It was fun though i hate the parts of getting down on my knees. It was overall great. But last years was better.

Reviewed by: kildarea191   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it needs a little more light or bigger letters to see the sign. im form the area so i new where to go. as far as location the place they had was at a camp nad it was surrounded by woods

Wait Entertainment: the guy on stilts rocked he scared the crap out of my group

Length of Event: 25- 30 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors were really good my favorite seen was the one with leather face. i thought i was accually in the movie for a bit. and the guy with the axe scared the piss out of one of my friends. that was the best part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a bit of a wait to get in and the line for tickets are really long which i think was worth it

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up if you make little kids go through this you have problems

Props / Special FX: the props were awesome alot of it look real and the fact that they were in the woods was even more creepy

Costumes / Make-up: the make up was done really good and they look as though they actually had something wrong with them. props to whom ever does the make-up

Summary: i went through the trail of screams last year and the year before and i have to say that this year kicked a@@ (censored) and was far better then the other years i have gone through. there were no guides which made it even more creepy cuz you dont have someone to follow and the fact that we were on are own scared us half to death. we were clinging to each other and pushing each other the whole time. if you did nt go throug hthis haunt you have issues cuz it is so worth it and i think they deserve to be the number 1 haunt in ILLINOIS

Reviewed by: ttazz23   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's pretty easy to find -just look for the flashing sign on N. Main street and follow the winding road

Wait Entertainment: I liked the tall monster on stilts- he was chasing people around the parking lot and alot of them were jumping into their cars. Michael Meyers did a great job too. They had loud music out in front that kept the crowd entertained. They also had pizza, pop and other things to satisfy your hunger.

Length of Event: It took our group about 25 minutes to get through. It may be longer for some groups since there is no one to lead you this year.

Actor Performance: All the actors were EXCELLENT! They must have had a ton of caffine that night. They never broke character in any scene and displayed a high energy level throughout the entire trail. The clowns in both scenes were awesome. Some of the best and professional acting I have scene in a haunted house in a long time. Great job to all of you!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We really didn't run into any other groups but had a group walk with use because their flash light wasn't working. Even though we had two groups end up at the scenes at one time the actors handled it perfectly. Thank God for no guides - we loved it

Appropriate Ages: Like the warning says not recommended for 13 and under - I AGREE!

Props / Special FX: The detail and props were just amazing. I can't even describe it - you have to check it out!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very professional and complimented every scene. Some scenes had the simplist makeup to the most gruesome detailed makeup I have seen. The doctor's makeup was amazing - I would love to know how they did that!

Summary: Kudos to everyone at TOS this year! You guys really stepped it up about 20 times and really scared the living crap out of us! If you haven't checked out this event it's your loss - it's just amazing. I can't wait to see what they come up with next season.

Reviewed by: biz10   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The sign visibility is ok, if you are paying attention, you shouldn't have a problem seeing the sign. 

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment is the same as last year. The atmosphere really makes up for the lack of "in line" entertainment. The Michael Meyers character does a great job.

Length of Event: It was great. Not too short, not too long to where it gets boring. It took us about 25 minutes to get through the whole trail.

Actor Performance: They did a FANTASTIC job from beginning to end. I really have to give everyone kudos. Even the people on the trail did a great job. Our favorite was the house with the Leather Face character and the 2 dead girls. Leather Face chased our group throughout the house into the back yard which had sheets hung up on the clothes line! Just like the movie. It was great.  
 
The clowns are getting redundant. They've been a part of the TOS the past 3 years (that I can remember). 
 
Overall, everyone did a great job staying in character. The costumes were amazing. The attention to detail is great! A lot of blood, body parts. Not just kids in sweatshirts wearing rubber masks, these guys do it right.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Absolutely perfect. No guides this year (thank goodness). Each group has a a designated leader who takes a flashlight. We never ran into another group...we did hear them screaming though.

Appropriate Ages: We had an 11 year old in our group and she loved it. I'd say at least 11 and up.

Props / Special FX: Amazing again. Like I said, the attention to detail is great.

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome...unlike another area attraction

Summary: 10 out of 10. We loved it. It was definitely better than last year. The attention to detail, monsters on the trail, and no guides made this year a lot of fun. We did pay an extra $5 for the speed pass, we would reccomend it! It saved us a 2 1/2 hour wait.

Reviewed by: randy   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: really good you can see the place there sign really good

Wait Entertainment: i really liked the line monsters

Length of Event: 1hr.

Actor Performance: really good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: really good

Appropriate Ages: 11 +

Props / Special FX: i really liked every thing about this place

Costumes / Make-up: really good

Summary: i will keep going going through over and over because i really liked itand isay for every one to go through if you like to be scared out of your pants it is awesome to go through and you will really like this place

Reviewed by: Evildeadicu2   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Even though we came from an hour away we didn't have any problem finding the camp. They had a flashing sign that you coulid see from a couple of miles.

Wait Entertainment: Since our group arrived at 9:00 they had a LONG line. We were quite a ways in the back of the line but from what we could tell they had a hugh creature on stilts walking around scaring the group and we could hear ALOT of screams.

Length of Event: Once we got in I would say it was about 30 minutes. We were one of the last few groups to go through after waiting about 3 1/2 hours. But it was WORTH IT!

Actor Performance: We had a group of six people and I think at times I was more scared than my girlfirend. All the actors were in-your-face throughout the whole trail. The clown in the strobe light scene was SCARY AS "H**L" He was jumping over the chainlink and almost landed right on us. They had ALOT (I mean alot) of strobe lights and loud heavy metal music. I liked the fact that they made each scene a different feel from creepy to grotesque to downright scary. You really didn't know what to expect. There were even some areas that were dead silence which even added to the creepiness.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups seemed to be moving along with no problem. We almost came upon one group at the hospital but the actors handled the situation without a flaw. Several of us have attended this event in the past and we really liked it this year without the guides that lead you through.

Appropriate Ages: Everyone in our group was older and I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 14

Props / Special FX: OMG -they really went all out this year. Like all the reviews say - the detail is unbelieveable. From the chickens in the old house to the old manor and the 3D effects in the carnival -it was great! We also liked the fact that they utilized multiple scares instead of actors just jumping out and scaring you. (I don't want to say alot)

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very realistic for every scene. Several of the actors along the trail had all balck on which made you not be able to see them at all. A few of them got our group pretty good. I really like the clowns makeup and my girlfriend thought the doctor's makeup was really disgusting.(in a good way)

Summary: If you haven't been to this event I highly recommend checking it out. We were not disappointed in the least (especially after making a long drive). It's well worth the $10.00 we paid to be scared out of our minds. We are planning on checking out TOS II in Stillman Valley before the end of the season. We may even make a trip back to this one. Keep up the good work TOS!

Reviewed by: ghstwhisper   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had no problem finding this attraction. The light up flashing sign made it very visible from the road.

Wait Entertainment: There was a mob of people in line being entertained by a 10' tall creepy monster with long claws and a creey mask. Michael Meyers also appeared on several occassions. "Halloween" was playing on a big screen tv which also added to the atmosphere - very creepy

Length of Event: About 25 minutes if you stay at a good pace.

Actor Performance: EXCELLENT! The actor performance was flawless. Every actor in every scene displayed solid scares from beginning to end. I think our group screamed around every corner. They utilized every dark path with good hiding spaces and good scares. The actors were very intense - especially in the strobe light scene - that was unbelievable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't really run into any other group but we heard many screams coming from the trail. We were told to take a flashlight from...(I don't want to give alot away) and be on our way. The old manor and the coffin scene really set the mood for the entire attraction.

Appropriate Ages: NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 13 YEARS OF AGE.

Props / Special FX: Unbelievable! Our group was amazed at the detail in EVERY scene. The use of props and lighting and even the music tied the entire event together - flawlessly! I liked the fact that between scenes you got to experience total darkness and silence just walking in the woods- really creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very good and the makeup was excellent! Our group was totally freaked out in the clownhouse with all the blacklight and 3D effects - the clowns were flawless and I really loved the entrance and the exit -very creative. The strobe light scene was probably our favorite which displayed very intense acting. The ending scene was very creepy with the famous Leatherface and a few more surprises. Good job!

Summary: This is my second time attending this event (my first was last year) and I can't even compare the two. This year the TOS really stepped up to the plate and proved that they can scare the living crap out of you. I would highly recommend attending this event this halloween season if you are in the area (or not). I have been to several in the Chicago area and nothing tops this event so far! For $10 bucks you WILL GET THE SCARE OF YOUR LIFE! Just a word of warning: if you plan to go on a Saturday night get there early. I am planning on checking out TOS2 in Stillman Valley as well!

Reviewed by: brtljump7   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a huge sign on a pole and a flashing sign directing you into the camp entrance. If you are from the area (or not) it is pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: On the night that our group came there was a HUGE crowd with a tall, creepy monster on stilts scaring the people as well as Michael Meyers (always a crowd favorite). The staff was very curtious and they had a snack stand and a gift shop.

Length of Event: About 30-35 minutes

Actor Performance: All the actors proved that they could scare the crap out of you. They literally had our entire group screaming at the top of our lungs. Even by the time we entered the attraction (after almost 4 hours in line)the actors didn't seem to lose any energy at all or break character. The clowns in the circus were KICK-ASS making you think they were props but then came alive!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only ran into one group which we thought was pretty good considering the massive amount of people that were waiting in line.

Appropriate Ages: I think is is definitely not for children under 13 (I might even say 14)

Props / Special FX: The props and detail were unbelievable in the scenes. I have been through this event for the last couple of years and I will honestly say that they went all out this year. Each scene made you feel like you were in a whole different place and each scene was packed with scares from the beginning to the end.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent! All the actors (from what I could see after literally running out of the scenes) were dressed in realistic costumes and very effective makeup. I especially liked the manical doctor in the hospital - his bloody scalp was very creepy. I can't believe the review that states all the actors were wearing jeans,  
t-shirts AND rubber masks????? What haunt did this person attend?

Summary: Like I said, I have attended this haunt for the last couple of years and I think this year it KICKED a@@ (censored) !! They did an awesome job with great actors, detailed scenes and old-school SCARES! Keep up the good work AND THREE THUMBS UP!!!!

Reviewed by: Blckwidow666   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was very easy to fine. The entrance was well lit with a flashing sign and a huge sign on a telephone pole. The drive into the camp was very creepy as you traveled along a winding dark road.

Wait Entertainment: They had this tall creepy monster on stilts that was scaring the crap out of people. The costume was AWESOME! Michael Meyers was also roaming the long line creeping people out. They also had a concession booth with pizza, pop, etc and a gift shop with some spooky items.

Length of Event: About 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: The Actors were GREAT! They all stayed in character from the doctor to the clowns to the actors in the old house. The makeup was VERY creative with alot of special fx and realistic costumes. The actor portrayed a true feeling of realism. You felt like you were really in a old hospital or a old manor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced quite well considering they didn't have the guides to lead you this year. Our group enjoyed the fact that we were handed a flashlight and we were on our own in the dark woods. We truly enjoyed that part.

Appropriate Ages: DEFINITELY 13 AND OLDER

Props / Special FX: This is another area that displayed tremendous detail and props. They had everything from 3D effects, sound, awesome props and unbelievable detail (especially in the bloody kitchen). Considering the long lines we didn't have alot of time to look at everything. We may have to go back for the lights on tour.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and costumes were very well done (i really liked the clowns and the patients in the hospital). Very realistic costumes in the scenes. Alot of actors along the trail were dressed in black so you couldn't see them at all. Our group thought that was very effective.

Summary: Overall I have to give this event two thumbs up!!!! We paid 15.00 for a ticket and we would have easily paid 30.00. I was well worth every $$$$$. Considering the LONG LONG line they had it seemed like things were handled very well. I hope the actors keep the energy level up the rest of the season - they did a AWESOME job. I definitely would recommended checking this haunt out if you haven't already- GOOD WORK TRAIL OF SCREAMS!

Reviewed by: ewc2   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Location was kinda hard to find because the sign that they had was lighted by a dim light. If you don't know what you are looking for then you are not going to see it.

Wait Entertainment: There was wait entertainment, there was Micheal Myers, and this tall guy that was really scarey becasue they were in your face all the time. They really wouldn't leave me and my freinds alone.

Length of Event: It was about 25-30 minutes long.

Actor Performance: They actors were GREAT! They all stayed in character. Even when there was a group that was out of controll. It was like the know what and how to handle anything that was going to come at them. It was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had to wait about 1 1/2 hours in line, but we got there kinda early. It was worth it though.

Appropriate Ages: I would definately say that this attraction is not for any one that is under the age of 14

Props / Special FX: Oh my god, the special Fx was GREAT! There was things that was int here that you would only see in real life, like needles, blood, and wounds. In the circus, the clowns were "props", but they would wait until you get into the scene and then they would come "alive".

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said about the special FX, they were great. I really don't want to say much about the event because I don't want to spoil it for the other people. But the make-up was awsome and VERY creative.

Summary: Over all, it is definately worth the 10 dollars! If you are looking for a good haunted house to go to this year, this is the house. It is kinda hard to find it but it is worth the hunt to find it. I mean I came from Madison, so it was pretty hard for me to find it, but if you are from the area, then it might be easier to find. Like I said before though, it was well worth the time that I took to get there and wait in line. I give them 2 thumbs up!

Reviewed by: Hann   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A bit hard to find if you don't know the area, and the sign isn't of much help.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't much to look at while waiting, basically just stood there and waited to go in with my friends.

Length of Event: About 25-30 minutes, it depends on how fast your group walks and if you can find your way throughout the dark woods.

Actor Performance: Very good performance by mostly everyone, from clowns to bloody cannibals and sickly looking patients, all SCREAMED out of the top of their lungs and seemed eager to scare you, I never saw anybody break character. The actors were very creative in their hiding spots, some pretended to be fake, only to scare you to death in the right moment, and others popped out of nowhere to startle you when you least expected. at the last scare, a sickly looking girl came out of a perfect but dangerous looking spot and made my friend fall to the ground and almost pass out while the infamous leather face made everyone else almost go down on their knees.  
The actors must be drinking a lot of caffeine to stay that active and crazy!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into a group who was lost, but found our way through quickly, I feel that being out there with nobody to guide you makes the experience even more intense.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Very old school, the detail in some of the scenes is unbelievable!!. There is a little bit of everything, from 3D art, to hallways that disorient you, to creepy music and many strobe lights well placed. The beginning and the end are personal favorites, both houses are extremely creepy, the first with an almost theatrical feel to it and the last with extremely gory detail and scares from start to finish. From bloody tears to bloody hands.

Costumes / Make-up: A little bit too real, the hospital had amazing effects, from a girl with needles everywhere to a doctor with a huge wound!! everyone looked scary and gory, even the clowns, and the ending was perfect with very realistic and disgusting effects. Only the people in the woods didnt have any make up.

Summary: My first time to visit Trail of Screams, and I am definitely coming back and visiting the other haunt the own too. I was very amused, and my friends, including the guys got scared more than once. I love the location and the energy these people have to offer, this haunt is very old school, and very effective, the make up and the music are beyond creativity, and the detail you will find will amaze even the most hard to please. I am glad I decided to visit, I was definitely entertained and even a little scared myself. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: lighted sign on highway 2

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: all the same concept but they did what they were supposed to do

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: group behind us did catch up to us, but it was mostly an outdoor walk through empty woods

Appropriate Ages: 6 to 14, adults will be bored

Props / Special FX: very few props, several strobs and old furniture

Costumes / Make-up: outdoor people were all the same, just a dark jacket. indoor people had low budget costumes if any.

Summary: Major disapointment. Long walk through mostly empty woods with a few buildings with scenes in them. Clowns, insane, doctors, the standard stock. Every scene was the same with actors running about screaming. Nothing creative or different. If this is their first year in this location give them a couple years to create a show before you go. This was a very weak attempt fo 10 bucks.

Reviewed by: Brideofevil   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: VERY hard to find. I am from the Rockford area and used mapquest and still spent forever trying to find it. You cannot see the attraction from the road and there was no light to help it stand out. Once you pulled in down this little driveway, you see a little sign acknowledging the presence of this attraction

Wait Entertainment: On the evening of my visit there was a crowd, but it was a short wait to get in

Length of Event: 12 - 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character and were very enthusiastic about their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The staff did a good job spaceing out the groups, I did not run into another group during my experience.

Appropriate Ages: 13 YEARS AND ABOVE

Props / Special FX: each scene was nicely detailed and the sets had a a feeling of terror from start to finish.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent, All actors were fully dressed in realistic costumes and very had awesome make-up

Summary: Overall, it was a nice set-up This haunt is a good deal for the price (especially coupon price). The ticket staff was very friendly and welcoming. They handed our group a flashlight and told us we were on our own. We were instructed to follow the path, and this was a lot of fun, worth every penny. I hope the actors keep up their high-energy performance the whole season!!!  
This place is a gem with TRULY pitch black setting.  
 

Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Coming from the north, it's awful. There is a sign warning about the YMCA camp and it is imperative to slow down upon seeing it, otherwise you will miss your turn. From the south, it's very simplistic. There's a well lit sign with an arrow and the tree line is visible for miles.

Wait Entertainment: There's this really tall guy who looks like he's from "The Village" walking around messing with people. He came out of nowhere to sneak up on us. Also, the music blaring really added to the whole atmosphere. The ticket taker, though not scary, was really fun and kept us entertained while we waited to enter the house.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of them were really good, especially the first girl in the first scene. She entered perfectly (and surprisingly) and attacked the group excellently. The maniacal doctor nearly made a couple of girls pee their pants and the cannibal house displayed flawless timing and grosteque skills.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There are a lot of strobe lights. A lot. There's, once again, the elevator that drops out (and the guy operating it was quite scary). They really utilized creative entrances this year to scenes. Several times you need to crawl or fit through tight or weird places (i.e. a fire place or refridgerator). The scenes are magniciently detailed, unfortunately you do not get to stay in them long enough to really examine the subtley of the art.  
 

Costumes / Make-up: They were good, for the most part. The actors themselves had great makeup and okay costumes (especially the hospital victim). There were, however just some guys running around in black costumes. But, mostly it was good.

Summary: All in all, it was good. Unfortunately, the staff decided to forgo the signature guides this year and let groups lead themselves through. They're given a flashlight, and I suppose it's meant to be really creepy. Honestly, not a lot happens on the trail itself except for some ropes blocking you from places you shouldn't be. We were mixed with another group and I got to hold the flashlight and the people from the other group asked me to tell stories along the way. A lot of the drama and suspense seems to die without the guides. However, it was an excellent year. Some same stuff, but a lot of new. I would highly recommend going, especially for only ten bucks. If you're looking in the Rockford area, in my opinion, you really can't find a better haunt.

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: VERY hard to find. I am from the Rockford area and used mapquest and still spent forever trying to find it. You cannot see the attraction from the road and there was no light to help it stand out. Once you pulled in down this little driveway, you see a little sign acknowledging the presence of this attraction. It's at the YMCA camp if that helps you?

Wait Entertainment: None, except the guy that takes your ticket (when you finally get to the very front of the line) was dressed up.  
Speaking of which, I was one of the LAST people to get to buy a ticket. It wasn't even 11pm yet when they announced to people coming in they weren't selling any more tickets. People kept pouring in and were denied a ticket. I was very surprised by this because the sign when you come down the drive said from 7-12. If they wanted to close at 11, they should have said so on the sign. It was strange though, when I left the sign said they were open from 7-1. So, I am not sure if they were just trying attract attention, even though they were not selling tickets anymore. Some staff member would just be like come back tomorrow, we're done selling tickets. And people would be like, um your sign? Staff: Sorry fellas, come back another day!

Length of Event: 15 minutes, but our host was pratically running and expected us to keep up with him. I'm sure if you were walking the attraction would have been longer, but they were in a rush to get us out of there.

Actor Performance: The actors seemed spent and tired. I saw actors talking to each other hanging out, then when they saw the next group running up, they'd hurry up and run to their places. Everyone saw where they were "hiding" and this was unprofessional. However, the most unprofessional thing was when one actor came up to me "Hello Blondie," and put his dirty arm around my shoulders. I have NO idea who this guy thought he was, but I am a firm believer in "Do not touch the actors, and they will not touch you." That is supposed to be the rule at this attraction, but apparently it's followed loosely on the actors end.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: HORRIBLE! I already mentioned we had to run so the group behind us didn't RUN into us. Well, b/c we ran we kept running into the group ahead of us. Their guide was making them jog too. Running in the dark is not very safe, in my opinion. Especially on these dirty bumpy trails. So, the flow went RUN- wait a minute- RUN- wait a minute, etc. At the beginning, when we were still behind the group ahead of us, actors were just fooling around and not ready until we were on their heels almost.  

Appropriate Ages: ALL, if they can run to keep up with the host. I saw a dad carrying a small child and jogging just to keep up with the guide who kept yelling "COMON, LET'S GO. KEEP UP!" I felt like he was my coach training me for the Boston Marathon.

Props / Special FX: You run a dirty muddy path from hut to hut. In each hut someone jumps out at you. I saw a few strobelights, but that was the main SFX.

Costumes / Make-up: Not as good as last year. People stuck to rubber masks this year. Many people were just wearing jeans and t-shirts with no halloween wardrobe to match their mask.

Summary: While I was waiting in line for the 2 hours that I did, I heard people ahead of me ask customers leaving, "WAS IT WORTH IT?" I did not hear one "yes". Everyone looked disappointed (and out of breath). I went last year to this attraction and had a decent time, the quality is WAYYY down. I think they may have been having some sort of technical difficulties, OR maybe everyone just wanted to go home. I'm not sure, but it was clear that actors and staff did not really put much care into planning patron flow. It was a giant rush to get people in and out, and no time to look around and enjoy the sights. Low bang for the buck this year, and I will not be a returning customer.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at