Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: pinkskullz1   (Event Visited: 10/16/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to get too. Just follow the sines. They had traffic patrol. Which was also a good thing.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was kinda boring. They didnt have any actors walking in lines to scare you. I was looking forward to that. The did have creepy music playing and black lights though. It looked cool.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes. Depending on how fast or slow you walk through.

Actor Performance: The actors were awesome! They did there job really well. However it felt like they could have used a handful more. Maybe next year. The clowns really scared me!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into another group. That was a good thing. The staff had everything under control. They knew what they were doing.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had really good special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup and costumes were awesome. Everyone looked really scary.

Summary: I will go again. It was pretty good. I got scared. The clowns scared me the most. They should have this haunted house all year round. I really had fun and so did my friends. I reccomend this haunted house to every one!

Reviewed by: johnstp71   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Well lit signs getting there.

Wait Entertainment: 20 min.

Length of Event: 20 mins. but longer if you get caught in the maze.

Actor Performance: Great, Awesome, made me jump often. :)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: smooth.....

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Most excellent/well done.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good also, time was put into the costumes and make-up.

Summary: Loved it, loved it, made me jump from beginning to end. Highly recommend it. The hellevator was very real, and felt like I went to the basement/boiler room. My compliments to all involved. Worth the drive from Wisconsin.

Reviewed by: kalemem   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The sign off of Rollins Road is hard to see since it is not lighted. If your not familiar with the area it might be hard to find. There were plenty of parking attendants directing customers and helping out.

Wait Entertainment: The wait time to enter the house was about what I had expected. We got there when the house opened, so only had to wait about 20 minutes to enter.

Length of Event: Total event time was about 20 minutes, which I thought was adequate.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character throughout the show. There was also some opportunities where the actors talked to and chased you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone in front of us or behind us until the final dark maze, so patron flow was excellent.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and up

Props / Special FX: I liked the Tower of Terror elevator at the beginning of the show. It didn't do a drop, but shook you up pretty good. Also liked the maze with the strope light, really felt like the room was spinning.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were authentic looking.

Summary: In general, for a local haunted house put together with a limited budget, I think it was very professional. Some aspects were almost as good as what you would see at Disney World's Tower of Terror. For the price you get alot of fun and surprises. I would go again.

Reviewed by: Mageus   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The House is right off the main highway. Just follow the signs. They have people showing you where you can park.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few actors outside. One was a 'retard' who was hilarious.

Length of Event: aprox. 15 mins... depending if you get lost in the mazes.

Actor Performance: everyone stayed in character. very believable.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Ran into a couple of people in the maze, but that's to be expected.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Detail was great!

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was in full makeup or had a cool mask on.

Summary: I love haunted houses and this one ranks up there. Scary from start to finish. It really shows that they put a lot of effort into this; it wasn't thrown up in 1 week. Nothing was lacking in the detail, room concept, or characters.

Reviewed by: DennyK   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building was easy to spot, but featured an awkward turn that we didn't see until we missed it. Look for a building that says FOR LEASE in huge letters on the front windows.

Wait Entertainment: A couple actors and a couple tv screens.

Length of Event: 8 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors were very good. That was the best part of this haunted house. The female actors in this haunted house were outstanding.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not very good. We were moving very slowly and still caught the group in front of us. We slowed down and still caught them several more times.

Appropriate Ages: I don't know, no one under 8 maybe. It wasn't very X-treme and my group agreed.

Props / Special FX: I have to be honest, I just went to Dream Reapers last weekend. This place looked like they went through Dream Reapers and then tried to copy it based on memory. The hellavator was an exact knockoff of Dream Reapers, down to the actor's performance. Hillbillies, a swamp, the boiler room: It all looked copied from Dream Reapers. This was highly irritating. It takes nothing to steal other people's work.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing exciting. You'll love the costumes in this place if you believe Chucky the doll should be 6'5" and wearing a scream robe. It was also cute the way the hellevator actor was dressed up just like the Dream Reapers Hellevator actor, and gave almost the exact same speech.

Summary: What a horrible, horrible letdown, and incredibly short too. We drove an hour because the reviews were so good on this site. I don't know why the reviews are so high, this place doesn't have one original idea in it. This place was really sad.

Reviewed by: KndrgartnCop   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: theres a large white arrow sign pointing in but it sneaks up on you, so be on the look out!!

Wait Entertainment: one of the line actors seemed to be deliberately making customers mad. he was very obnoxious and rude.

Length of Event: seemed like under ten minutes

Actor Performance: some were good some were not

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not awful, but we caught the group in front of us a few times

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: pretty standard, not very impressive. i don't think guns belong in haunted houses. cool elevator but its been done before. did everyone buy one of those airbag claustraphobia things this year?

Costumes / Make-up: basic not bad not good

Summary: this was too short and standard for ther price and the reviews theyve been getting. i've been to 8 haunted housesthis year and this was my least favorite. i try to see the positve but everything in this place i've already seen this year at better haunted houses.

Reviewed by: ghoulyweds   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility is not bad, perhaps 
a spotlight near the event would help.

Wait Entertainment: The spider webs inside were very cool and the videos definitely kept us entertained. Could use a few 
more actors outside. Have often said a pot-t-john could 
be a good place for a scare 
GREAT to see that, it was 
funny, everybody encouraging 
women to use that one was a cool. The food outside was a 
good idea.

Length of Event: 15-20 min.

Actor Performance: All were very engaging and 
into their characters, did not see anybody out of place or unprepared. Freak in the Hellevator very entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They kept groups small which 
is good for everybody to enjoy the scare, makes the wait longer but I would rather 
wait in line longer than miss 
most of the scares.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Very creative and detailed, some haunts just try to go cheap and make a buck, not here. The foggy cage maze was 
awesome and the pitch and I 
mean pitch black maze was as 
dark and confusing as a maze 
as I have seen in a long time

Costumes / Make-up: Very good and detailed not much skin showing.

Summary: We stumbled upon this haunt last year and made sure we had directions to it this year. This is well worth the money, we drove over an hour to get here. Only sugestions- 
spotlight for visibility, couple actors outside and please lose the Hillbilly room 
it was entertaining but was 
more funny that scary.

Reviewed by: ebe2023   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are on the right road you will not miss it.

Wait Entertainment: A couple actors the will catch a few people off guard while waiting.

Length of Event: 10-15min

Actor Performance: Actors all do a great job almost never break character. Only one that was supposed to be missing his eyes(blind) managed to ask my girlfriend for her glasses trying to flirt a lil he was lucky the place is loaded with cops and security.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the house everyone will more than likely end up in groups of 2 by the end of it all. Never bumped into another group either.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Props and special Fx are some of the best you will see. I will not ruin it and give detail though.(read summary)

Costumes / Make-up: Great job very nicely done

Summary: This haunted house is about the best you will get for your money. I came up all the way from chicago and it was worth every dollar. You will be amazed once you are done waiting in line actually even in line the monitors with movie clips will keep you haunted. I do not want to give detail all i can say is go once you are done reading this.

Reviewed by: johnestanis   (Event Visited: 10/16/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss the sign off route 12 just past the frontage for rt59. Plenty of parking and parking attendants to insure safety of patrons. Parking within 25 feet of entrance. Plenty of restroom facilities at entrance, with a surprise there too. Clean facilities.

Wait Entertainment: First rate haunting/spook makeup. 2 large screen monitors running Boogiemen movies visible to all waiting in line. Waiting room painted as haunted house with plenty of blood and cobweb.

Length of Event: About ten minutes from entering the elevator to exiting from the pitch black maze.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character for entire event. Characters fit scenes, timing inside scenes was excellent. Scares were well-timed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was excellent. We like to enjoy the scenes and move more slowly through the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: Some of the Lighting and motion scenes would dictate ages 8 and above for this house.

Props / Special FX: The elevator at the very beginning of the attraction was quite a ride in itself! Surprising and very realistic, right down to the smell! The vibrating scenes and strobe lit scenes were very tastefully done. The attention to details, painting of hallways and aisleway bars were all very convincing! The amount of vibrating and animatronic figures was incredible! This is one seriously high tech Haunting!

Costumes / Make-up: All actors were in scene appropriate costumes, very well defined makeup and character settings. There was an abundance of well made-up characters throughout the attraction.

Summary: From the beginning in the elevator, the outstaniding mechanical special effects of this house were evident. Actors were personable yet scary & creepy, intimidating when they needed to be. The house was fun and at times tricky to get through with twists and turns and dead ends throughout it. Make sure to pay keen attention to the scents, as this house actually scents the air in its scenes! Actors were there to greet you when you turned most corners and behind you at dead ends. The visual effects were stunning and surprising. In the hanging clowns scene, the clown got me, in the chainsaw scene, the chainsaw got both of us. The squeeze in the house was a great idea! The pitch black maze at the end was very well done, the actors screaming and shrieking throughout the maze added to the suspense. It took some time for us to negotiate our way out! The ingenuity, special effects, variety and amount of actors & scenes, length and movement of this house - definitely worth the trip and a big bang for your buck! Great Job Guys!

Reviewed by: ericatom1   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, there were signs and strobe lights, and it doesn't hurt that this even is located on Sayton Rd. Haha

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment consisted of a black light waiting room with glowing cobb webs and a few TV's. Didn't see any actors and I missed chuckles the clown from last year!

Length of Event: about 10 mins

Actor Performance: all the actors were awesome and very enegetic. The hillbilly with the shotgun scared the crap outta me-nothing like having a shotgun pointed at your head!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didn't run into any groups until the cage maze, which is understandable because it was very disorienting!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. We actually saw some boys and their parents trying to sell their tickets in the parking lot because their two boys (must have been 15 or so) were too scared to go in!

Props / Special FX: Really great. awesome scenery and environment. I really liked the hellivator, the swamp and the house

Costumes / Make-up: couldn't have been better

Summary: Xtreme hauntings did a really great job this year! They changed a ton of stuff from last year! Last year the house was just mediocre on my list, this year it's my favorite so far! I gotta hand it to them, they were spot on this year!

Reviewed by: dbgirl93   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find. Website provided great directions. Ample signs outside.

Wait Entertainment: Didn't have to wait. There were actors hanging around outside and staying in character.

Length of Event: Just right. Didn't really time ourselves but seemed like we were never going to get out of there. This made it great!

Actor Performance: The actors were awesome. They got in your face and followed you around. They did an excellent job. Intimating when they should be.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was great. We moved right along. Very confusing in spots, which made it interesting. The mazes were complicated, again making it a great experience.

Appropriate Ages: Kids 14 and over and not sensitive.

Props / Special FX: The props were great. They had strobe lights and creatures everywhere. Things were hanging down and since is was so dark, you had no idea what it was. You never knew when something was going to jump out at you. Sometimes you were followed. You heard voices, dark raspy voices. Creepy

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was very detailed. Blood, exposed wounds etc.

Summary: I had a great time. I was screaming the entire time. I never knew who or what was going to jump out, follow me or do what? I was on edge the entire time. One of the mazes was completely dark and you couldn't see anything. (except you did hear voices . . .) Great Job!!!!

Reviewed by: mike123   (Event Visited: 10/10/07 @ 3:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Visability was good, had a lot of signs leting yo know where it is. good advertisment on radio (95.1)

Wait Entertainment: They was barlly any wait at all.

Length of Event: the event was about 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors proformance was great. they made it really seam scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was good, kinda confuseing in the last romm the big black maze. but still was amazing.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up. not recoment for the fant of heart.

Props / Special FX: I found the props to be great, the best prop was the elevator.

Costumes / Make-up: the make-pu and costumes were amazing, the coloed contacts were good too.

Summary: It wa so much fun, that i went in a second time. and will recoment you to all my friends and be back this year and next.It was fun, beacuse it was not like the other haunted houses i've been to it was 10x better....

Reviewed by: bread92003   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find and there a lot of parking space. The location is not that far from the city.

Wait Entertainment: The line was not long. Costumed actors walking up and down the waiting line, scaring people while scary music was being played on the background.

Length of Event: pretty decent.. it depends on how long you stay in one room to see and watch the acts.

Actor Performance: Very nice.. it was so candid and real. Especially the guy with the shotgun and the girl from "the ring".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very organize.. you don't see any other group while you're in one room.

Appropriate Ages: should be for 12 years and above to see the attraction.

Props / Special FX: the props are very convincing. And very well executed. The experienced in every room have different approached to scare people.

Costumes / Make-up: very realistic! every actors are scary. So natural!

Summary: The place is a must see and experienced. I highly recommend anyone who like to visit haunted places. It is very well executed from the props to the acts. The staff are very nice and friendly. And also, the place is in did scary.

Reviewed by: Irishfairy76   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good. Signs all over.

Wait Entertainment: Not too much wait, but was keot entertained by actors.

Length of Event: 15 or so minutes

Actor Performance: Awesome!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well. Kept everyone moving in a fun way.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Lots of detail, awesome maze.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done

Summary: I have been to quite a few hauted houese, but this one I will be returning to every year. It was very well put toether and yeah, scary. I loved it!!!

Reviewed by: sueperchef   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - signs everywhere. The fact that is on sayton road, gives it a creepy feeling before you even get there.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait so entertainment wasn't necessary but there were characters milling about.

Length of Event: You loose track of time but I say at least 20 minutes

Actor Performance: They were in character the whole time and very creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into a group or had a group run into you.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up

Props / Special FX: So many to list and don't want to spoil the surprises! The details of the rooms are outstanding. The "hellevator" - do I need to say more, the jail maze is awesome, it appears you can see the whole room but the strobe lights make it so disorienting!

Costumes / Make-up: Characters were definitely well done. Masks, make up and costumes. No two characters were alike

Summary: I like this house a lot. I am not one for blood and guts and it was just enough to scare you but not gross you out. I prefer to be surprised and afraid to go into the next room and the suspense feeling from room to room was just enough to make you hesitate taking the next step and the mazes are mind boggling and scary.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility with lights music etc.

Wait Entertainment: None. We got there right when the doors openend and there was nobody in line.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Actors are in your face, and don't break charachter

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and older?

Props / Special FX: Awesome props especially the "Hellevator"

Costumes / Make-up: Very good detail

Summary: This is a terrifc house that doesn't get a lot of publicity for some reason. There are some real great scenes and effects in this house the TWO mazes at the end are excellent, and the acting is terrific. Check this one out!

Reviewed by: LordofGotham   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are lit signs by the road you might see too late to turn in from the south, but don't worry. Sayton Rd is easy enough to find (both ends of it connect to Rte 12). The side of the building facing Rand/12 is dark, but there are plenty of people out there to guide you in to the parking area. You enter the haunt from the rear of the building (not sure, but I think they might've had the box office in front last year)

Wait Entertainment: There is food and music outside, but as there wasn't a line, I didn't spot any actors out front.

Length of Event: I didn't time myself, but it seemed to go pretty quick. I didn't rush as I was alone, but I was having such a good time it was over all too soon. They left me wanting more!

Actor Performance: This crew did their homework. Everybody stayed in character and were very interactive and "personal". It's easier to concentrate on a single patron, but I could tell everyone I talked to had a concept for their character, which each actor used the entire time I was in their room. The performances were high energy and in your face (or just over your shoulder in the dark!).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't get to see large groups going through (hey, it's only opening weekend), but the actors had good control of their spaces. Since I was there by myself, they did make the most of my disorientation at times. Well paced, they let me get the full effect of each area, but kept me moving along.

Appropriate Ages: Some kids love to scream and beg to go again, and others break down and cry at the sight of a costumed character. Know your child's tolerance and choose accordingly. This house is loud and some scenes are gory. If you don't want your kid to see "cadavers" and "murders", pick something less intense. I'd say teens and up for this one.

Props / Special FX: The house is well built with each room nicely detailed and great use of the space. You are never dropped out of the experience start to finish. Their "Hellevator" is terrific, great motion and sound. The hanging clown bodies might have a surprise for you as well! I particularly enjoyed the strobe/fogged maze- disorienting space with character interaction. X-treme has put a ton of work into a well finished house.

Costumes / Make-up: Every ghoul/monster had a full costume and make-up or mask- excellently done. This crew was ready to rock. From creepy to gory, nothing was left out in these original characters.

Summary: This show is a good one, while not as big as some places it still delivers. The execution is professional and tight. Energy is through the roof and the effort pays off. If this is a sample of how prepared haunters are for this season, it's going to be great.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at