Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Trail of Screams 2 (Stillman Valley, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dagr   (Event Visited: 10/29/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: VERY few signs...got lost both going to AND leaving. VERY out of the way and hard to find!

Wait Entertainment: None. Snack stand.

Length of Event: 20 minutes (?)

Actor Performance: Average, nothing really outstanding with talent, make-up or costuming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VERY slow night, just us 3 nd 2 others.

Appropriate Ages: Probably not for 5 or 6 and under.

Props / Special FX: Decent graveyard, smokehouse.

Costumes / Make-up: so-so...see above.

Summary: Overall, for a Scouts(?) fundraiser, OK I guess. The woods aspect was cool. With a little tweaking and more talent and a diamond in the rough. Maybe next year it will improve...but PLEASE invest in some more signs and light them up so people can find the place easier!

Reviewed by: eeek83256   (Event Visited: 10/29/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This location was much harder to find than the one in Rockford. We mapquested it so it wasn't that bad. There are signs directing you to the camp.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment. They really weren't busy at all so our group got right in. The Trail of Screams 2 is really alot darker out here - I think that really added to the scare level.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: I don't know where they got the actors here but every one of them scared the crap out of us. They seemed to have the perfect skills to work in a haunted attraction - THANKS GUYS! The Trail of Screams in Rockford did an excellent job but I think this one was a slight bit better. Very aggressive, in-your-face actors that didn't back down at all. The guy with the chainsaw at the end was AWESOME!!! The didn't overkill on chainsaws as alot of haunts do but I wish they would have had a few more in Rockford (since it was longer).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were handed a flashlight and given the rules. I think our group was the only one on the trail which made it even worst...we were really scared to death.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: Once again their scenes were highly detailed (even though several of them were smaller). I loved the old morgue - very cool! They had a nice mix of detailed scenes, black hallways, outside scares, etc. and that really tied everything together nicely.

Costumes / Make-up: About the same at the one in Rockford - very detailed and complemented the scenes very well. They used alot of special effect makeup and not masks - which I am glad of.

Summary: Overall this event was great! I didn't attend this event last year but I am so glad we decided to come to check it out. We drove back from Wisconsin again because we enjoyed the Rockford event so much. Thanks for making our trip worthwhile and keep up the good work - we WILL be back next year!

Reviewed by: wysamaca   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its in the middle of nowhere and the signs arent very visible. The drive there was almost scarier than the event

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: 10 mins. rather disappointing. trail of screams in rockford was so much better

Actor Performance: it was ok. nothing special

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: hard to tell we were the only ones there

Appropriate Ages: not toddlers, but its not that bad. its some kids screaming and telling you to hurry. the chainsaws get real close though

Props / Special FX: nothing special

Costumes / Make-up: nothing special

Summary: They keep you moving through so fast. There is a couple good scares, but when the heat of the engine of the chainsaw can be felt on your face who wouldnt be. The only good part was that the chainsaws were so in your face. I just dont think that you got what you paid for. A big disappointment

Reviewed by: coopar13   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it hard to find. Their were signs but they were not lit up. We only were sure once we saw the strobe light. Then the parking lot and such was very hard to see because of lack of light.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any and the guy who gave us our flash light was smoking which bothered my brother's asthma

Length of Event: It was way to short i expected much more as i went to trail of screams one last year.

Actor Performance: Overall pretty good A clown laughed and broke charater when my friend started singing "Fat guy in a little coat" as we went through a tight area.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We caught up to the group in front of us and waited outside on our own accord

Appropriate Ages: Yes i thought it not scary and i think younger could attend

Props / Special FX: They used strobe lights to great effect and they had decent scenes. they had to many people with chainsaws and the buildings were to small/short

Summary: It really wasn't scary for any in my group except the first chainsaw. The acting was okay except for the clowns who broke charater and laughed at my friend as i pointed out above.

Reviewed by: jacksback   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not visible from road. Signs leading there were hard to spot. Flashing lights could be seen from a bit away, but thats all.

Wait Entertainment: Just music and an occassional scream from the woods.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Overall very good, most seemed to have high energy and were very aggressive. One actor even had to stop our group but stayed in character, taunting my friend by sniffing him, that was cool and kinda creepy. He still scared us with the chainsaw, even after he let us go.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was ok, we could see a group in front of us just after entering, but were held up by actor with chainsaw. After that we did not run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13+, lots of yelling and running.

Props / Special FX: Only 1 scene had any really good props, the morgue. The rest was ok, a few foggers, some strobes, creepy music.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very good, some very original ideas there, like the 1st guy with the chainsaw, that mask was cool. The butcher was creepy too.

Summary: In short, it was worth the drive and the 8 bucks admission. My friends were way more scared than me, but if other friends asked I would go with them again.

Reviewed by: ttazz23   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was a little harder to find than the one in Rockford. If you follow the signs from Kishwaukee road you shouldn't have a problem.

Wait Entertainment: There really wasn't any wait entertainment when we arrived. It was a little early so I don't know what happended later in the night.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors did a really great job of scaring our group. They were professional and knew how to scare us to death. Not one actor every broke character and the little girl in the school room was sooooo creepy -she really scared our group when she jumped out. The guy at the end chased us to the entrance - that was a moment to remember.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we got there when they had just opened there wasn't much of a wait. We never ran into another group on the trail, but we were literally running throughout most of it.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: The scenes were very professional looking with alot of detail from what we could see. It is so dark out there you really can't see in front of you. That was scary in itself.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very well done and very realistic. I liked the guy with chainsaw by the schoolhouse - his face was so creepy.

Summary: If you want to be scared than check out Trail of Screams 2 in Stillman Valley. This place not only has a great haunt but great atmosphere as well. It's definitely worthe $8 admission this year! We enjoyed it so much we went to Trail of Screams in Rockford too.

Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's easy to find even if you are from out of town. There are signs.

Wait Entertainment: There is this guy standing with the group. He might talk to you, but we interacted amongst ourselves. We waited just a few minutes though so it wasn't a big deal. We scared eachother.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were really intense, especially the clowns. We heckled them and they gave us junk right back. The gravedigger played her part excellently and must need a lot of cough drops. However, a few of them did seem really tired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group. It was good.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: They seemed to lack here. There were chain saws and some detailing, but most of the great effects were sent to the counterpart in Rockford. The actors balanced it out though.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent as always. Especially the clowns.

Summary: It's probably worth it to pay the $7-8 to get through for the twenty minutes. The actors put forth a lot of energy and try to scare. It just may have been an off night/time when we went as a lot of people as we were coming in were saying that it wasn't good. Still, give it a go. Wholesome family fun.

Reviewed by: prettyinpink   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was hard to find cause it said mcormick road and i had no idea where that was because im not from around there.. but we finally found it and it was worth the wait!

Wait Entertainment: There was this really cool guy brian we were hanging out with he was funny and intelligent he scared me with his siren though.

Length of Event: it was about 20 to 25 minutes but it flew because we were sprinting through alot of it.

Actor Performance: the actors did great i got really scared in all of the scenes because it was like one of those things where you dont know what is going to happen when it happens they did really great id give them all a 10 because they did perfect and there was no mess ups like at the dungeon of doom when i went there they kept acting up and one of there performers were talking on the phone but at the trail of screams it was the greatest

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran most of the time because they scared the crap out of us so it flowed pretty fast but the inside attraction was cool because they had really cool props to look at that were really creepy and gave me a shiver down my spine.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up because im sure if a young kid went through he would ball his eyes out before the first scene ITS THAT SCARY!

Props / Special FX: great props and great sound effects it was amazing how they did that and had it all set up

Costumes / Make-up: there costumes are scary as heck and great there make up looked so real i wish i can do that kind of make up it was so scary

Summary: i thought this haunted house was the best haunted attraction i have ever been to and me and my friends go to them all the time it was sweet i dont know what to say but everybody should go to it and they would love it so much because its so fun and so amazing

Reviewed by: sarah00   (Event Visited: 10/18/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was great, we found it fairly easily. great parking places, close to the enter.

Wait Entertainment: we didn't have to wait at all.

Length of Event: well, it was supposed to take 15-20 minutes, it took us 30 minutes..and we didn't even finish, we were too scared.

Actor Performance: great, they scared the crap outta us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no one caught up to us, and we never caught up to anyone. the flow was great.

Summary: This trail of screams was amazing. My group and I couldn't even go all the way through because we were too scared. It was great. I think anyone looking for a good scare should go there :D

Reviewed by: hihihi   (Event Visited: 10/18/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its not hard to find

Wait Entertainment: we didnt even have to wait

Length of Event: usually it takes 15-20 minutes but it took us 35

Actor Performance: good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt see any other groups

Summary: it was so scary... 
me and my friends couldnt even finish it... 
 
 
they had to escort us out... 
and were really scary 
the actors were really good.

Reviewed by: vspotrun   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Being a local, I knew where the Girl Scout camp was, so it was easy for me to find. The few signs that were posted along the way I think would help folks not from the area to find it just fine.

Wait Entertainment: There was no "wait" entertainment, unless you count the sceams heard comming from the darkness of the woods.

Length of Event: Short, bout 15 minutes, faster if you have people freaking out a nearly every scene like we did. We were scared to death by the actors, then once out of the scene we laughed at the squealers!

Actor Performance: WOW! Fantastic, these people know how to scare the bejesus outta even the most hardened haunt goers. They come out of nowhere, and never give up, especially when they sight in on a terrified patron.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Given our flashlight and sent on our way I was very surprised, we made good time through, heard lots of screams from ALL around, never saw another group but could definitely hear them. We had to run a few times due to "mechanical devices" and we had a girl in the group kept losing her shoes, I think she even lost her cell at one point, but a "monster" showed up at end of next scene, handed it to her, and ran screamming off into the darkness, that was creepy.

Appropriate Ages: Hmmm, 13 and up. Lots of yelling and screamming and banging, the "devices" scared even me, so NO KIDS.

Props / Special FX: Very good SFX, well placed sounds, lighting, some fog, some strobes. Props in one scene looked like they could have been alive. We kept expecting it to jump out at us, but the actor took care of that scare.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job, no street clothes, lots of ACTUAL costumes, school teacher in dress, butcher guy in bloody smock, and the freaky clowns!! Make up was very ingenius, some actors did have just washed out faces, but they had good costumes and were very effective scarers.

Summary: I will tell anyone who asks to go to this haunt. It was well worth the price and the location while possibly difficult for non residents, is not really that hard to find, if you pay close attention. I went to this haunt last year and it was ok, but this year was so much better, I really like the "old school" effect.

Reviewed by: Blckwidow666   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was hard to fine but once you saw the signs it wasn't too bad. There are a few roads you have to turn on to get to the camp entrance but you could definitely hear the screaming.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment and not a long line like the TOS I visited on Saturday in Rockford. It was quite creepy to hear the screams coming from the dark woods though. That really creeped our group out. We had one girl in our group that didn't want to go at all.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actor performance was excellent! As with their other event, all the actors stayed in character and displayed high energy levels throughout the whole trail.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced well and we didn't run into any other groups throughout our walk. We were handed a flashlight and told to be on our way. It is much darker out at Trail of Screams 2 than at the location in Rockford which really added to the creepiness.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend this event for children under 13 due to the actors intense performance.

Props / Special FX: Once again the scenes and rooms were full of detail, props, creepy music and special fx. From the black maze with the scary monster to the 3D area (I think that was our favorite) you were scared out of your pants. I hope that they continue to have this event out here because it is TOTALLY AWESOME!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very realistic from what I could see. I really liked the clowns and all the bloody gore. All the actors were fully dressed which made them even more terrifying. The makeup was original and very effective.

Summary: Overall this event gets another two thumbs up! It seems like this year the Trail of Screams put alot of time and energy into their scenes, costumes and makeup. This is truly an event that I want to visit for years to come. If you want the crap scared out of you and check out the Trail of Screams 2 in Stillman Valley. Definitely a 
haunt worth every penny and TRULY set in a pitch black setting.

Reviewed by: JTruns   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place was very hard to find, until we finally saw the signs that led us right to the parking lot. There was nearly nothing to see from the parking lot or even the ticket booth. We could hear alot of screaming though.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment. Some guy with a flashlight was talking to everyone as they were buyin tickets, but there was no music or scary stuff, which added to the anticipation due to the screams we could hear from the darkness. We simply got our tikets and went right on in!

Length of Event: Not sure, we were runnin alot, but would stop and take a breather when we could, which wasn't often. Probably 15 or 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Awesome, intense, creepy, and definately scary! The actors from beginning to end were nearly relentless, jumpin out of the darkness, from around trees, and corners of buildings. One guy even just popped out of someplace we knew we had just looked at with our flashlight and chased us screaming into the woods with a chainsaw.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: For us it was pretty fast, we did not run into another group but we could definitley hear their screams.

Appropriate Ages: I think it was ok for 13 and over like their sign says, anybody who brings a small kid to this place is just wrong, its dark, there's sticker bushes, fallen trees, chainsaws, bloody stuff, no one under 13 for sure.

Props / Special FX: Oh man from beginning to end scenes were awesome! At every scene there was different creepy music, and the detail was cool and gruesome. All except the clown house, it could have had more, but the clown was scary anyway.(someone give that clown a hug, he was so angry) Oh, and the house with the school teacher outside it, had walls that were not painted(maybe they wanted them that way, not sure)

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was the coolest I have seen in awhile. LOTS of detail on the actors(what we could see of them running in terror) from a creepy guy with cuts in the strobes, to the slaughter house guy, he actually made my skin crawl cause it looked like festering boils on his face. The clown was scary as I said before, not your typical clown make-up job, looked evil.

Summary: All in all I say, if you wanna be scared and get some exercise got to downtown Chicago, but, if you wanna have the crap scared out of you repeatedly and run in freakin terror then go see the Trail of Screams in Stillman Valley. Best bang for the buck this year so far. Be warned though, this place is completely OUTSIDE and in the woods, watch out for logs, sticker bushes, and low hanging limbs. OH and dont cross the yellow tape, if you do you may end up with poison ivy or a face full of thorns. I think I may go again.

Reviewed by: warden2boss   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event might be hard to find, if you aren't familiar with the area. Even with a map, I had a hard time finding it.

Wait Entertainment: On the evening of my visit there wasn't much of a crowd, so there really wasn't any need for wait entertainment (I got in right away).

Length of Event: About 15 Minutes.

Actor Performance: Excellent! Everyone stayed in character and were very enthusiastic about their parts. The actors really go out of their way to scare you. Actors came out of places I didn't even know they were supposed to be (which is what they should do).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The staff did a good job keeping people spaced out. It was not very busy when we went, so I am not sure what happens when the place is crowded. However, it seemed as if we had the whole place to ourselves when we went through.  

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend this attraction to children under the age of 13 years, due to the intensity of the scenes

Props / Special FX: The house (set outside) is well built with each scene nicely detailed and sets the terror from sart to finish.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw some pretty good costumes and make-up jobs. Some were very detailed and original. Excellent. All actors fully dressed and very realistic make up.

Summary: Overall, it was a nice set-up. This haunt is a good deal for the price (especially coupon price). The ticket staff was very friendly and welcoming. They handed our group a flashlight and told us we were on our own. We were instructed to follow the path, and this was a lot of fun, worth every penny. I hope the actors keep up their high-energy performance the whole season!!! 
This place is a gem with great actors and a TRULY pitch black setting. 

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at