Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
16th Annual St. Matthew Haunted House (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cueball13   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The blue light on top of the sign pointed me in the right direction.

Wait Entertainment: The live cameras were awesome. I saw someone crawl past the camera. Also I recognized a few classic movies like Army of Darkness.

Length of Event: About 30 minutes, I got lost in the library though.

Actor Performance: Oh my God. The actors were insane this year. Very well done, you though their "skit" was ove rand they'd hit you with another one. Amazing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, I never saw anyone in front of me.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. Lots of gore. The usual for St. Matthew's.

Props / Special FX: Great use of strobe lights. They had a really cool green fog hallway. Oh, and my friend almost got hit by a train.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were cool. Nobody was the same.

Summary: Great job this year. Pretty scary. The group in front of me didnt make it in the first room before bailing. Pretty intense. Well worth the price of admission. I'll be back again with more of my friends. Totally!!!

Reviewed by: scared   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There's a large sign in front of the church with a blue siren light. Highly visible from road and easy to find! On the north side of Old McHenry about a block east of Midlothian in Hawthorn Woods.

Wait Entertainment: They had movies playing in the hallway. Freddie Krueger actor was directing traffic. Awesome! They could use more decorations and effects in the hallway that would add to wait area creepiness!

Length of Event: Around 20 minutes unless you get lost on your way through. Friends of mine we in there for 40 minutes!

Actor Performance: Excellent actors that stayed to characture! One big dude in a clown suit scared the crap out of me! They know what they're doing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good unless group in front of you gets lost then you're bound to catch up to them.

Appropriate Ages: While watching the video monitors after the tour I saw people that bailed out after visiting the first room! Unless you've done this sort of thing before I see why they recommend 12 and up!

Props / Special FX: Too many inside to mention! I think there are about 13 or so rooms, each different and has a different theme and special effect! outstanding use of high quality scariness equipment!

Costumes / Make-up: Like I said, the clown was real scary!!! The costumes are professional quality and fit the room themes excellently!

Summary: This is not a house to miss this year. Went last year and things have improved greatly. The video monitors give visitors an idea of what's inside without uncovering the surprises and you get to see your friends get spooked to the begeezes! I found a dollar off coupon in the "save on everything" magazine so admission was discounted. Well worth the entrance fee I paid! I may even go back again this year! Great Scare factor for the dollar!

Reviewed by: car54e   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Look for Blue Flashing light near school parking lot, in between Midlothian and Quentin Road on Old McHenry road in Hawthorn Woods, IL (just N of Lake Zurich).

Wait Entertainment: Movies, food, live video feeds, and PC workstation (try it).

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Veteran actors do a good job scaring and entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Small groups of 4 to 6. you won't run into anyone unless you get lost (who'd think you could get lost in a small Library?)

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up for gore and intensity. Emergency exits available if you're losing it.

Props / Special FX: Yes many good ones. Fog. lasers, Illusions, motion, buzzers, horns, stobes, hidden surprise effects, & Traditional "hand tools".

Costumes / Make-up: Yes. Good.

Summary: Recommend. Have gone here before, but always different. I picked up a discount Coupon at the Spirit Halloween shop in Palatine. Good scare and entertainment. Large house with many rooms and maze areas; some areas for participation. Be sure to keep your eyes and ears open in the taxidermy room (best room in my opinion). Participate and taste the wares ... if you dare. Anna Manna funeral room was entertaining. Also, another good surprise was actor and electrical panel in one of the alleys ... don't go too fast or you'll miss it. LOTS of doors/multiple paths.

Reviewed by: SharonH   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great Location

Wait Entertainment: The wait was not too long

Length of Event: I think they should make it longer b/c they have a great thing going but me and my friends were a little dissapointed.

Actor Performance: Great...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the haunted house was a little slow and we keep running into people ahead of us. I also think we skiped some rooms b/c the people ahead of us were slow. You should spread people out more. I would rather wait longer in line and get to enjoy the whole house.

Appropriate Ages: Good

Props / Special FX: Awesome

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome

Summary: Just space people out a little more so everyone can enjoy the whole haunted House. Me and my friends do think that the haunted house was more scary and better flow last year.

Reviewed by: GGaz   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to get to. Sign right in front.

Wait Entertainment: Live footage of the house and scary movies in line with some actors.

Length of Event: It took me awhile to get through the house this year, it was really fun and St. Matthew is known for their difficult ascape routes.

Actor Performance: The actors did the best job I have seen them do. You can tell that they really went out of their way to give you a good scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into any groups.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and up

Props / Special FX: They did phenominal in this area with the hallways and exits of rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Every room had a couple actors in it dressed to the surroundings and was very well done.

Summary: The first time I went through it was last year and that was amazingly done. For a haunted house in a church, I thought the actors would give you little boo's and screams, but they did everything scary and very tastefully.St. Matthew is always a treat to go to. It is in my top three haunted houses.

Reviewed by: egrant   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Large sign with flashing blue light made it easy to find. However, the map had me go right onto Old McHenry from Quentin, when it should have been left.

Wait Entertainment: Watched some old horror flicks in line while a few characters roamed about. The live camera from inside the house though was awesome!!

Length of Event: Took about 35 minutes to go through the house, since you have to find your way out of several of the rooms.

Actor Performance: Very nicely done. All seemed to stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into 1 group that couldn't find their way out of a room. We passed them up since we found it first!

Appropriate Ages: Probably wouldn't recommend it for under 10 or 12. Pretty intense. Saw 2 or 3 groups bail out of the first room!

Props / Special FX: Nice job on the special effects. Lighting was very well done. Great use of fog, not overdone like in some houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Both were appropriate for the characters.

Summary: This is not your typical haunted house. In most houses you follow a clear path throughout. Here they challenge you by making you find your way out of several of the rooms. All is not as it seems! The live cameras were a great feature this year. Fun to watch after you get out. I will definitely be back next year!

Reviewed by: tazgaz1   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy visibility. There is a sign right in the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Plenty of actors walking around and scary movies playing on a TV in line.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Amazing, every actor had a specific role and played it accordinly. They wetre not all just painted up in the same way and it was refreshing to see that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into any other groups

Appropriate Ages: The haunted house says 10+ years of age and that is appropriate

Props / Special FX: This area was a strong point for them because there were a lot of scary things around corners and turns.

Costumes / Make-up: As stated before, costumes complimented the role of the actors

Summary: this was one of the best haunted houses I have been to. Every room was a scare and the actors did a fantastic job. I would definately recommend this to many people if they want a great haunt.

Reviewed by: danimal   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location might be hard to find if you are not familiar with the area. Flashing lights at the two entrances do help guide your attention to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: A telivison with a live picture feed from four cameras throughout the haunted house lets you watch the people that are inside. One or two actors wonder the waiting area. They would be a bit more frieghtning if the waiting area was darker. The wait was relatively fast, it took about 15min for my group to get in.

Length of Event: I have never had a harder time finding the way out of a haunted house. St. Matthew's took me about 40min to get through. It can take a shorter time if you dont get fooled as much as I did, but I think doing that will prove to be very hard.

Actor Performance: The actors were phenomenal. I am not the type of guy that gets scared easly. Yeah I jump once in a while, but St. Matthews freaked me out. The actors do a good job of blocking the actual path. They trick you into going the wrong way.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group never ran into other people. The time seperation between groups is just enough so that the wait in line isn't too long.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that this attration is ment for kids no younger than 12 or 13 years old.

Props / Special FX: The props worked like a charm. They tricked me an unnumbered amount of times. They, along with the speial fx, would creat illusions left and right.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the costumes were very convincing, and the actors sticked to their roll.

Summary: Certainly one of the best haunted houses I have been to this year, and I have been to most of the top 10 haunted houses. The price was reasonable and you get your moneys worth at the end. Endless amount of hard work was definitely put into this attraction. From the exterior apperance, I was not expecting to get this satisfied.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at