Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
The haunted barn plantation of the dead (marion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: tarb   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Out in the country,but direction to get there were good.

Wait Entertainment: Big screen was playing scarey movies and actors walking around very entertaining while you waited.

Length of Event: About 20mins.

Actor Performance: Actors where very scarey and good costumes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: groups did not run into each other

Appropriate Ages: 12years and up

Props / Special FX: props where the greatest, very real.

Summary: everybody seem to be into chacator and having a fun time. Line ran smoothly and the guide paced herself, so we saw everything.I dont think it is very good kids under 10.Overall I would rate it a 9.

Reviewed by: anita   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wa a little hard to find due to the sign on the main drag being unlighted, and the sign for the turn was right at the road and I missed it and had to come back, but the remote location was excellent and very spooky. Very eerie.

Wait Entertainment: There was a very scary movie playing which heightened the anxiety and pre-event fear and anticipation. Everyone that was waiting was very excited and voiced concern about how scary everything was before they even got into the attraction.

Length of Event: The event/tour lasted about 15 to 20 minutes and was well-worth the wait.

Actor Performance: There were several very good actors. They were so still until we had walked right up to them or in some cases past them tha we thought that they were just statues or dummies. I was really creeped out when the actors walked up behind us and followed us through the dark passagesvery quietly. My daughter was so freaked out that she refused to look behind her because she was so scared. (she's in her 20's!!!)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guodes were excellent!!! they walked just slow enouh for us to look at things and just fast enough to keep ahead of the following groups. We couldn't even hear any of the other groups.

Appropriate Ages: It was age-appropriate for anyone over 12. I definietly would not take anyone younger because it was so frightenening!!!

Props / Special FX: The props were outstanding. The strobe lights were very disorienting, and tghis led to heightened anxiety which in turn increased the fear factor. The sudden sounds were very startling, and since I was already jumpy, it made it even better!!! The costumes were fantastic, and the scenes were great!!!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes for the actors were fabulous. When you take somethig that is supposed to be safe and fun and make it scary and dangerous, it really makes it even more scary. You don't feel safe any more.

Summary: On a scale of 1-10 for over-all freight and entertainment, I would rate this a solid 9, possibly a 10. I have visited twice already this year, and I will probably visit at least 1 more time.

Reviewed by: MyMego   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I found the Barn very easily using the maps on the flyers and on the website. If u can folow directions u can get here easily.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was nice, they were playing a movie on a projector screen and this year they built a large barn to cover the line in case of bad weather.

Length of Event: Approx 25-35 minutes....Its hard to tell when you are fearing for your life!

Actor Performance: Excellent energy and Costumes. There were a few actors that look like props then move right when the group went by. Definatly catches u by suprise!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The lines were spaced about 5 minutes apart so they wouldnt run to another groupe inside. Gruesome guides led the way so noone got lost and went at a slow pace so you can see everything.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ Some children younger (and even older) my be scarred for life after this one

Props / Special FX: Very nice lighting and sound FX. Some of the props were so real that you were waiting for them to jump at you

Costumes / Make-up: The actors had very creative costumes and the make up was very nice, especially the clown with maggots and worms on his face!

Summary: Gouls and Ghosts (and dont forget the clowns) unite in October at The Haunted Barn. This is definatly one of the best HH in Illinois! Decent price was worth the scare! Smaller children may have bad dreams for a while so i would be weary of bringing the young ones, they might get eaten! Mwa Hahhahaha

Reviewed by: MommyMJ   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its kind of out there but the signs made it incredibly easy to find. And being out in the country added to the overall atmosphere.

Wait Entertainment: They had silent hill playing it definitely got the mood going.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes through

Actor Performance: The actors were great! Some of them you weren't sure at first if hey were real or not. The toxic waste guy was crazy and so was the biugfoot guy on stilts (crazy in a good way). There was a girl in the graveyard souting bad poetry but she served as a great distraction. I think my favorite had to be the clown with the maggots and stuff.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guides were great at making sure that we went slow enough to see everything but not so slow as to be boring. The guide with the black face mask was awesome!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and up. I think it's a bit too intense for younger kids.

Props / Special FX: It was great. The lighting in the final room was really great for the creepy mood. And the sound effects seemed to be very proffessional.

Costumes / Make-up: Wow. There were bullet wounds slit throats, maggots worms and more and that was just the make up. So many crazy clown masks, I wasn't afraid of clowns before I went here, but now I can't get the crazy clown faces out of my head. The gargoyle costumes and the bigfoot on stilts were awesome as well.

Summary: It was a great scare for a great cause. The actors were for the most part very proffessional, the guides knew what they were doing and helped add to the atmosphere. I don't normally do the scary thing, but it was great. I can't wait go through again.

Reviewed by: emobankru   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I obtained driving instructions from the website and had no problem locating The Haunted Barn.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't a very long wait, and it was spent pleasantly inside an enclosed waiting area complete with projection tv, playing "Silent Hill." The lighting was appropriately scary.

Length of Event: The walk through took us about 30 minutes, with a steady pace that allowed us to take in everything.

Actor Performance: Where to start? I pretty much enjoyed all of the performers. The Michael Meyers guy was very impressive with his silent intensity. The bleeding young lady screaming for help as she was assaulted by the killer surgeon/clown really seemed to be in distress. That couple worked very well together. The "Bigfoot" on stilts was very imposing. We really enjoyed the combo in the last room, the old-time clown on the throne causing very effective misdirection, while the other clowns in the room seemed to come out of the scenery to surround us with a scare from three different directions.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had no problems navigating inside The Barn or through the outside cemetary and toxic waste scenes. The guides kept a steady easy pace throughout, until near the end when the guide disappeared on us (intentionally, I think), causing us to have to navigate a couple of rooms on our own, which added to the terror element.

Appropriate Ages: I saw some folks on line with very small kids, but I think it may have been a little intense for them. A seven- or eight-year old may have some problems dealing with the intensity.

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were outstanding. The ooze from the toxic waste scene was very realistic and the haunted mine effect raised the hair on the back of my neck. The animated displays were very well done, and the cacophony of the mixed sound effects were definitely on a professional level, causing the right amount of disorientation, keeping us a little off balance so that we were appropriately startled by each twist and turn.

Costumes / Make-up: I never knew there were so many different scary clown faces. The masks and costumes were impressive in their variety and detail. The screaming young lady's cut throat and bruised face were very realistic. One of the guides had a real-looking bullet wound in her forehead. There were two very impressive characters in full gothic armor, one complete with gargoyle wings. The old-time clown in the last room had worms and maggots coming out of his skin. Overall, a lot of though and effort went into the costumes and make-up.

Summary: For an amateur production in a rural setting, this was a very inpressive haunted event. The short wait we had on line and the $10 ticket price was well worth it, because of the entertainment value we received. A lot of hard work and effort went into making this a successful scary attraction. Everyone involved seemed to be having fun scaring the devil out of the patrons, and that helped to add to the overall appeal of The Haunted Barn Plantation of the Dead.

Reviewed by: clown   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I found it really easy to find if you follow the signs through out marion. They also have a map of how to get there on their website, www.thehauntedbarn.net

Wait Entertainment: They had a waiting room with the move silent hill playing.

Length of Event: The length was about 10 minutes to get through the hole thing.

Actor Performance: All of the actors played their part really well. I especially liked the last room with the clown on the throne.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They took anywhere from 2 people to 8 people depending on how many you had with you. 

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: Most of the props looked realistic and in the strobe lights made them look like they were moving and gave an eery effect.

Costumes / Make-up: I liked the clown on the throwns make-up. It had realistic looking maggots on the side of its face and a worm coming out of its forehead. All of the costumes were really creative and realistic.

Summary: Overall the haunted barn was well worth the money I paid and the scariest haunted house I've been to in a long time. The owners are friendly and donate all of the money earned to the marion fire department.

Reviewed by: ThatGuy   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We missed the turn the first time around, the signs were far more visible from one direction than they were the other.

Wait Entertainment: An enclosed area featured creepy lighting, a movie screen playing Silent Hill, and an enthusiastic, relentless boy, covered in blood, carrying around a leg he told us was named "Corbin."

Length of Event: About 15 minutes, I'd say.

Actor Performance: Some were great, some were okay. It was later in the evening, but one of our guides yawned multiple times and that kinda killed the mood a bit. 
 
Some of the actors had clever techniques, and worked together for maximum effect. Michael Myers played his part very well, as did several others like the girl on the ground begging for help.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very slow-walking guides made sure no one bumped into each other.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up maybe.

Props / Special FX: Somewhat ambitious, but not terribly impressive. There were a lot of things to look at, lots of static displays. This stuff would look absolutely great in a $6 charity haunt, but wasn't all that thrilling for a $10 show. 
 
The intro room was scary... meaning that the prop looked so bad we were scared we'd wasted our money. Luckily things got back on track a bit after the first several halls. 
 
We enjoyed the vaccum effects, the attraction had great sound, and some of the clown stuff was very well done.

Costumes / Make-up: Acceptable for sure. Some looked better than others. Masks and makeup, with some very cool masks. 
 
The highlight of the event for me was the stilt actor in the cool costume near the end.

Summary: I'm not trying to get down on this haunt, I'd give it this same 5 even if haunted illinois allowed you to give lower scores. Considering the $10 price and the fact the owner plastered his name all over the promo material as if this were his masterpiece, our group was expecting just a little bit more. 
 
We happened to be traveling through Marion, and remembered the haunt from haunted illinois. It's certainly the first time I've ever signed a waiver before entering a haunt! 
 
I've seen several of the biggest haunted houses, so take this review for what you will. Marion is a small country town, and this haunt reflected that. It was fun, but absolutely should've cost about $6.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at