Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Bess   (Event Visited: 10/29/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: EXCELLENT, HAD NO PROBLEM AT ALL. USED MAPQUEST AND THEY ALSO HAD LIGHTS FOR VISIBILITY. THE EXTERIOR OF THE HAUNT WAS EXCELLENT.

Wait Entertainment: SINCE WE WERE THERE ON A MONDAY, WAIT WAS ONLY ABOUT 15 MINUTES OR SO. LOTS OF ENTERTAINMENT WHILE YOU WAITED, HAD FOG AND QUITE A FEW ACTORS SCARING WITH CHAIN SAW, AXE, KNIFE. THEY STAYED IN CHARACTER THE WHOLE TIME TOO, I TRIED TO TALK TO THEM AND THEY WOULDN'T TALK BACK SO "KUDOS" TO THEM.

Length of Event: ABOUT 20-30 MINUTES.

Actor Performance: EXCELLENT AS WELL - HIGH ENERGY, GOOD SCARES (AND I AM HARD TO SCARE), KNEW RIGHT WHEN TO CATCH YOU OFF GUARD.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: NEVER RAN INTO ANY OTHER GROUP AND NO ONE RAN INTO US.

Appropriate Ages: PROBALLY 10 AND UP.

Props / Special FX: VERY GOOD - RIGHT OFF THE GET GO IS THE SLIDE WHICH IS UNIQUE IN A HAUNT. HOW YOU GOT THAT GUY TO APPEAR THAT HE IS CRAWLING ON THE CEILING WAS AWESOME. THE BRIDGE THAT COLLASPES IS GREAT - YOU CERTAINLY DON'T EXPECT THAT. JOB WELL DONE.

Costumes / Make-up: THIS WAS GREAT - MY FAVORITES WERE THE YOUNG LADY IN THE CLOWN ROOM (SHE WAS CREEPY) AND THE GUY ON THE STILTS BUT EVERYONE WAS DRESSED ACCORDING TO THEME AND STAYED IN CHARACTER.

Summary: I AM FROM A HAUNT MYSELF SO I TRULY LOVE TO GO TO OTHER HAUNTS AND SEE THEM. I DROVE ABOUT 1 HOUR AND 40 MINUTES TO THIS HAUNT AND AM VERY GLAD I DID. THE OUTSIDE OF THE BUILDING IS CREEPY LOOKING AND ACTORS ARE RUNNING AROUND SCARING PEOPLE AND SCARY MUSIC IS PLAYING AS WELL. ONCE INSIDE, AFTER GOING DOWN THE SLIDE NOT KNOWING WHAT TO EXPECT, YOU HOLD A ROPE WITH A GUIDE. HONESTLY, I WAS UNSURE OF THIS BUT IN THIS HAUNT I CAN UNDERSTAND WHY IT IS DONE. THERE ARE SO MANY PROPS, SPECIAL EFFECTS, AND PATHWAYS THAT IF YOU DON'T HOLD THE ROPE YOU WON'T BE COMING OUT. IT DOES NOT TAKE AWAY THE SCARE FACTOR AS YOU WOULD THINK IT WOULD. MY GUIDE WAS A YOUNG MAN WHO DIDN'T SPEAK AND SEEMED TO HAVE HOLLOWED OUT EYES LIKE A ZOMBIE (HE EVEN WALKED LIKE A ZOMBIE). BUT AS YOU ARE GOING THROUGH ON YOUR TOUR THE ACTORS WOULD APPEAR OUT OF NO WHERE. VERY HIGH ENERGY, VERY GOOD SCARES, AND LOTS OF SPECIAL EFFECTS TO SEE. IT'S VERY OBVIOUS THE ACTORS LOVE SCARING PEOPLE. DEFINITELY WORTH GOING TO. GOOD JOB - AWESOME IDEAS! I LOOK FORWARD TO COMING NEXT YEAR.

Reviewed by: slickster   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: been to the haunted house last year so it was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: there was some monsters coming out to the line and they waited to bring out the chainsaw guy. waited in line for an hr due to a group came late but well worth it tho. 

Length of Event: approximate 20 mins.

Actor Performance: all actors was good never left u without a scare and good following.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: props and Fx was good. they got me good

Costumes / Make-up: they did really good with makeup effects and costumes fit each and every room. good job

Summary: this house is better than last yr. went through with a co-worker and ppl that they put us with who was very nice. they made me jump and lose my glasses but they helped find them. I give them props to help me findin them. i will be comin back next yr to see what they will do different.

Reviewed by: CHOKEU2   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location. Nobody has trouble finding it.

Wait Entertainment: 2+ hours without fast pass. 30-45 minutes with fast pass

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This is a prime example of HH that relies too heavily on horror moview characters. The scaries guy walking the waiting crowd was "nobody" in particular. The "Mike Meyers" and the "Saw" guys just don't have enough personality to scare the people waiting in line. Kudos to the hairy guy dragging the axe. Inside, the guide was a nuisance. I realize that a guide is helpful in pacing the event, but this year, she just got in the way of the fun. The stand out actor inside was the clown with the bar in his head. He gets my vote for best makeup too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: See guide issues.

Appropriate Ages: 12 & up

Props / Special FX: Liked the slide, but it caused a pile up at the bottom of it. The guide at the bottom didn't let us move out of the way of the incoming sliders. The walk through the forrest is usually pretty good as part of the walkway collapses, but there was no ghoul there to scare us as we shifted to the left. Some of the rooms we went into were unmanned.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Loved the clown behind bars. Otherwise it was pretty dark and hard to see many of the monsters.

Summary: I know I should only post positive comments, but when you get a lot of hype about a HH, and you wait in such long lines, you do expect more of a bang for your buck. We saved this HH for last because we've visited them in the past and had great experiences. This year was not one of them. There were two other HHs in the area that we visited that were better in the scaring department, a lot less money and a minimal wait to boot.

Reviewed by: mm322   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The directions given from their site were easy to follow, but also easy to get lost by. Had to stop and ask for directions. Once we were going the right way a little bit of light on the sign would have been nice.

Wait Entertainment: The wait did not seem long at all. They had a movie playing and actors interacting with the crowd. The lady at the front door also kept the creepiness level up.

Length of Event: 25 minutes. The guide walked VERY fast at times causing the rope to push you into a corner. I would have liked to look at the setups a little bit longer.

Actor Performance: Great. They scared the crap out of me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw another group. Only got held up once, by the sparks!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT

Costumes / Make-up: GREAT

Summary: This was my first visit to the fear factory. I left short of breath and definetly scared. It is also worth the money..only $10. The level of detail was amazing and very creative. Two thumbs up. I have recommended this site to several coworkers and friends.

Reviewed by: hauntil70   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was hard to find for a couple of reasons...the street that it's located on didn't have a visible sign labeling it. Also, there is not a visible sign until you turn the corner and your headlights shine on it. Since it is located near railroad tracks, the street isn't a major one and I passed it twice before I found it on a third try. Maybe they could light up the sign or provide flashing lights for more visiblity.

Wait Entertainment: There were ghouls walking around near the line and they did a great job making the area seem eerie. There were tiki torches and a mesh over the area.

Length of Event: The total event lasted between 20-25 minutes. I felt it was very appropriate for this particular event.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. The only slight downside was that I was in the front of the line (you are lead through by a ghoul and everyone holds onto a rope) and sometimes the actors would jump out or scream after I passed the scene. However, the overall performance was great. They kept in character and made the appropriate noise.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good flow. We never saw other patrons in the event. I felt the ghoul who lead us through did a good job at going slowly so you could get the full effect.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The props were top notch and the special FX were great too. I have to admit that I didn't expect much in this department when I went since it's in a small town but I was totally impressed! Magnificent detail in the scenes and lit just enough so you could appreciate the detail. Great scents used and scary music as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were good and very realistic throughout the house.

Summary: I ususally go to a large city to a haunted house but this year wasn't able to do so. I am very pleased with the detail in this house! I can't give them enough praise and I would recommend this to anyone in the state!! Great job!

Reviewed by: mksbk   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Scary movie on a TV and a couple of people interactig.

Length of Event: 25 min.

Actor Performance: Great!! They all were in character and stayed that way.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never SAW another group. You were holding onto a rope and a guide paced you through perfectly.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ possibly younger.

Props / Special FX: Great job. The bridges and the sparks were excellent.

Costumes / Make-up: There was one the I thought could have improved and that was the outside entertainment. The characters in the building were great.

Summary: This was the best haunted house I have ever been to. The characters stayed in character the whole time. You could not tell what kind of building you were in. The transitions from room to room kept you guessing "What was next". The staff outside were very friendly. You could really tell they were enjoying themselves. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to see a great haunt. I hope we can go back again this year.

Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We got lost again trying to find it, but that's because we're not familiar with the town and we're idiots. Once we were on the right road, the huge sign is hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: Very nice. There was a raggedy-haired skeleton man dragging a real axe behind him who stalked people waiting in the line, along with a Jigsaw puppet man. The guy with the chain saw was terrorizing a limosine full of people, sticking it in their windows, and I thought that was an especially nice touch.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Pretty good, but I've seen better. It's not so scary when a kid wearing an oversized mask makes adolescent screams at you. But generally, the entire cast did a good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At the beginning, when we first went inside, we had to wait about 5 minutes for lines to move in front of us before the slide. That was enough time to get people backed up, but it eventually smoothed out and we never met any other parties because we had a guide. I did NOT like having a guide in this attraction, because the first person in line didn't get all the scares like in other guide-less attractions. Sometimes the scares wouldn't be timed very well in order to avoid jumping in front of the guide.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: A lot of blacklight, and if you get dizzy easily, you might want to close your eyes in certain rooms, where the flashing black light is very disorienting. They had some great set designs, though I think last year they were more elaborate, like Michael Myer's house was less cramped and more atmospheric. A lot of the rooms were the same from last year, so it does take away from it if you know what's coming. Generally, there were a lot of great props and special effects for a spook house.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were very well done. Some people were pretty general, with masks you could buy from wal-greens, but others were more elaborate, authentic movie costumes that made it creepier.

Summary: Overall, this was a good haunted house. A couple times I wished there had been people hiding around certain corners to scare us, and it was a let down when nothing happened. Having a guide was a real pain, but probably neccessary in order to navigate the maze of rooms. Some of the rooms were predictable on where the people would jump out at you from, but others were nicely done, like the wall-crawler seemed to come out of nowhere. It didn't scare me enough to want to come back again this year, but it was a good warm-up for a night full of haunted house tours.

Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find- been there before

Wait Entertainment: Did not have to wait. Lady working the line was fun to talk to too.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Great- everyone was in stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into any other groups. Kept moving at a nice pace

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up if they are brave.

Props / Special FX: great FX- like how you could barely see in places

Costumes / Make-up: great job with costumes and make- up.

Summary: Have been here a couple of times and the guys always do a great job. Used to run a HH so this one is definetly a MUST SEE. The scares are always on. Went with a group of adults and it was great to seem a couple of them running like chickens. Great job on the first 5 minutes of the house too- loved it. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by: 217props   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in wat looks to be an old work shop of some sort.(cant miss the HUGE SIGN).And there Building has Banners all over it from there Sponsor?....

Wait Entertainment: ....Non that we could see....but we didnt wait long paid and pretty much walked in the door

Length of Event: 20-30 mins? our guide was walking Fast! ....

Actor Performance: This is where This haunt was its weakist...There Actors you could tell were young But they did get there scares I jumped several times....And there Clowns were Amazing...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We Never saw anouther group.Just wish our guide person would have Slowed DOWN!!!!!! So we could see the rooms a little better ....

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: They had some neet props...a 9ft guy that atcualy moves and walk to you in this bridge room among other little pop ups and cool stuff. But There Sparks thing Got our group Both Times.....

Costumes / Make-up: Seen more Half masks and make up this year....and less nameless faceless masks .....But you had the ordinary Micheal Myers ,Jason,Also see Capt Spalding witch I dont think they had last year.....

Summary: We went to Two haunts this night....and this one was by far the better of the two...Actors were good.....costumes were average.....Added in some new things this year like a Slide among others ...(dont want to give away to much info )...but overall it was a Nice well rounded haunt...and prolly the best one we have been to of the Fear Factory's Next to there old location out on the old base.....

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at