Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A small town with the event located on main street...so very easy

Wait Entertainment: Several stalkers (one with chain saw) entertained the crowd. They were good at what they did.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: All characters stayed with their preformance's and did a fine job of surprise.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: wonderful...we never saw anyone ahead or behind.

Appropriate Ages: 7 to adult

Props / Special FX: The openning scene was excellent with a gutteral sounding demon welcomeing you to your doom.

Costumes / Make-up: Not elaborate but not bad. I hate the scream mask and would look for an upgrade.

Summary: Overall I had a good time with the event. Several of the rooms were very detailed and gave the proper effect. I thought some of the ideas were very good and well worth the effort they put into them. We create a haunt ourselves so it is difficult to catch us by surprise, however my friend was caught well off guard and startled. I liked the in your face approach by the actors. I think that works well. My only suggestion would be in the area of the dark tunnels.They were 75% of the event. I would like to see them varied a little. Maybe you could put some fur or different materials on the wall to spook the crowd. Possibly you could put something squishy on the floor to change the feel. Overall you have a neat little haunt and I look forward to coming back.

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not the easiest haunt to find, although it was easier for us being repeat patrons. Watch for the "haunted house" sign from the main roads.

Wait Entertainment: They had several actors that were outside to scare patrons and cars driving by. They stayed in character and the masks and costumes were well done. Also, there was a vendor stand with food/beverages, which we found to be a plus.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: I would have to say we were very disappointed this year overall. This is our 4th year attending, and we may not return next year based on this year's performance. Some actors stayed in character well, but one of the actors' cell phones rang (a goofy song started to play) while we were going through their room, and all we could do was laugh for the remainder of the time. It's hard to set a "scary" scene while your cell is ringing. One other comment is that I liked in the past years that they had a larger range of ages of the actors, while this year appeared to be more of a Jaycees feel with young teens. I can't hold that against them, but I liked having some of the adult actors in the past in the haunted house, as they can be more intimidating.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good, as we didn't run into the group ahead of us much. We did come close a couple times and could see the actors ahead of us trying to "reset" the scene before we entered the room.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I loved the cockroach room--very creepy and unique. Otherwise, the props were comparable to most Jaycees haunted houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Average--they used mostly masks, although some did have face paint on.

Summary: Overall, we were incredibly disappointed this year with this haunt. We've been repeat patrons over the past 4 years and were always impressed with this house in the past. However, we were disappointed by the actors' commitment to their roles this year, which took away from the overall feel of this haunt. It did have a juvenile feel, which would be more appropriate for younger patrons and not for the hart-to-scare.

Reviewed by: Bess   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent, signs out to follow and people in line and lights attract attention.

Wait Entertainment: Wait was about 35 minutes but line moved pretty quick and entertainment in line was awesome. Clown and chain saw guy was following the cars as they were pulling in and really freaking people out. Some wouldn't even get out of their cars until later. It was cool to watch.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, actors were in character and had alot of energy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was also good, as I said we had to wait in line for about a half hour because of the crowd but they did a good job of sending through, we didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up - really depends on the kid

Props / Special FX: Very impressive, my favorite was the cockroach room. Really creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, alot of creepy masks and some make-up. Probally the majority was masks but they were good ones and themed good.

Summary: I also read the reviews of this house before I made the 1.5 hour drive so I was really excited about going in and so was my friends that came with me. Right in the beginning like I said this creepy clown and chain saw guy was chasing the cars as they pulled in. I also seen one of the monsters hide by the car of a group coming out and freak them out. It was really cool. The inside was GREAT - it was as great as we wanted it to be. The pitch black maze is awesome. Seriously people, you can't see your hand in front of you. You totally have to feel your way through. There's actors jumping out at you constantly, you never know what's coming. Some of the most energetic actors I have ever seen. I don't want to let out too much so I won't say more other than GO TO THIS HOUSE-IT"S AWESOME!

Reviewed by: devilmaycry   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: this house was very easy to find. they had signs posted as guides through their town. the drive there set the mood as the small town reminded me of "children of the corn".

Wait Entertainment: The Wait Entertainment was every good, with actors outside with chainsaws and food to be had at the consession stand

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: really good. they all stayed in role. some as statues who jumped at u. a great example of this was the michael myers room. where he got you with the statue, then a psch patent with chains on his face got you again. they got right in me and my girlfrends face. but there composure was great we couldnt tell they were real at first. then the clowns!!!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we could hear the other groups scream but we never ran into one

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: were ok. they really did there job, the heart and cockroaches were good, but there is room for improvement.

Costumes / Make-up: very good. the were some really good costumes, micheal myers and chucky were good classics. the clowns were ridiculous, very well dressed one even with a creepy laugh. there were also great original costumes like the bloody surgon, what i believe was a bloody schoolgirl, then that creepy guy with the chains on his face

Summary: while not as high tech as some of the ones in the major metropolitan areas, the haunted house in Mazon is a steal for the price, it cost me more to drive there then for admission. it was a great experence and i cannot wait to go back next year, I will e suprised if they can up the ante, but heres hoping they do, then next year they will get my tp rating

Reviewed by: scurry   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Easy to find. They had some monsters roaming the street so you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't a line when we got there so we didn't need any, but like i said above there were 3 or 4 monsters outside.

Length of Event: 10-12 min.

Actor Performance: OK. I don't think their timing was that great. I only jumped once the entire time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We did run into the group in front of us once but it was more of the groups fault because they were moving really slow.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: As far as Special FX goes they didn't have much but strobe lights. The props were good. The rooms were made up well.

Costumes / Make-up: This part was good. Mostly masks but some had paint. Didn't have any complaints here.

Summary: I read the reviews before I went so I thought this was going to be better than it was. It was getting good reviews and I was let down. Not a bad haunted house. I guess I was just expecting more.  
 
There was way too much dark maze and not enough scares and rooms. I think it would go a long way to cut the maze down and add a couple rooms with scares.  
 
Price was right at $6. 
 
I've heard it's been getting better througout the years so I'm looking forward to the improvements for next year. Thanks guys and girls!

Reviewed by: servius   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is easy to find. It is one the only main street in Mazon Illinois and the building is clearly marked. Parking is on the street in front. Signs in the town lead you to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: The wait for us was very short but they did have a character out in front. Even better they had a food tent selling hot food to those in line.

Length of Event: Approximately 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: Best actors I have seen in a long time. They really got into character. very enthusiastic and they also appeared to be having fun. best actors ever.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very, very good. They let your group go together with nice spacing in between groups. We actually never saw anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Very good. Lots of "detail." All well maintained.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent. Completely costumed. Great facial makeup. Very scary.

Summary: Although my family annually goes to a Haunted House listed on Haunted Illinois, this is the first time I am posting a review. The Mazon Dungeon of Terror in Mazon, Illinois was chosen by us this year. It is an outstanding haunted House. The building is maintained year round (although only opened during the Season) so the operators continue to enhance and improve it each year. Much better atmosphere that the haunted “houses” that are set up and taken down each year in, say, sport domes. 
 
What I especially liked were the complete darkness and the narrow passages. Each haunted “room” had great props and “decorations.” The characters are completely costumed and really get “right in your face” (but no touching, of course). The length was just right. 
 
A bonus is driving out to mason from Chicago, you drive through these dark and deserted roads which is spooky in itself. It gets you in the mood when you arrive in Mazon. I rank this house as our personal No. 2 (No. 1 being Stateville). This one is worth the drive.  

Reviewed by: hauntedfreak   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to fine if you just follow the signs from rt 47.

Wait Entertainment: Very good ... the actors were outside made me very excited to get inside!

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so

Actor Performance: VERY good!! The actors really played their part!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: Maybe 12 and up?

Props / Special FX: The props were good, but theres some improvement that could be done.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were awesome! I really liked the Clown outfits & the Chuckie outfit!

Summary: The clowns were really scary! They freaked me out! Chuckie was also really good!! I like how they got in my face & were yelling because thats a lot more scarier then them just standing there. The cockroach room was really awesome!! I would definately recommend this haunted house!

Reviewed by: haunt_master   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Mapquest was not much help here. I plugged in the given address and discovered that this small town of 900 people do not have their roads well marked. Luckily, the town is so small, it was easy to stumble across the haunt, which is located down"town".

Wait Entertainment: This place had some of the best wait entertainment actors that I have seen. They are very interactive, especially the clown and the chainsaw guy. I witnessed the clown chasing cars down the street, and the sticking his head inside people's cars. It was really funny. The wait entertainment was more amusing, than scary though.

Length of Event: 10 minutes tops. I am thinking people who rated before me 20-25 minutes probably included their time waiting in line, which I did not.

Actor Performance: Unfortunately, actors inside the haunt were no where near as good as the ones outside. Many of the actors were small children who jumped out at you and "booed". Other actors were high schoolers who were not very intimidating. These older actors were very passive and unexciting compared to the outside wait entertainment. There also appeared to be an actor shortage, as there were not many working. The ones I saw kind of looked more like they were relaxing, watching you go by, than trying to jump out to scare you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It appears they try to space groups out, because there is a long space in between groups. However, groups move so slow through the attraction, that you run into the group ahead of you fairly quickily. In addition, the group behind me ran into my group. It was very disappointing to watch all the scares happen to the first group ahead of me.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 6 and older. Inside was not that scary.

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects are not very high-tech here. It is a small town haunted house so what do you expect? Based on the many reviews, I had expected a lot more, actually. A majority of this attraction is pitch black, so obviously there are no props or SPX during these parts to judge.

Costumes / Make-up: A little less than average, I would rate theirs. Typical clown, typical chainsaw guy, even little children in Scream masks.

Summary: This attraction has the most visitor reviews in Illinois. Overall, some of the best reviews on this site have been given to this house. Maybe it is because of the Staff member who lets you in says "go to HauntedIllinois.com and give us a good rating!" I'm serious, he says that before he lets groups in. Well, here I am, only I am giving this place an honest review, which is not a "good" rating.  
To the people that say this is the best haunted house they have been to this season? Where did you go that was worse? If it wasn't for the wait entertainment, this would have been the weakest haunted house I been to this season. I have been to almost a dozen.  
It is a small town haunt, so I wouldn't have expected much, especially for a modest 6 dollar price tag. However, the inflated reviews of "very high scare" and "10's" aroused my curiosity. I'm not saying this place is horrible, but I am saying to go in with realistic expectations of a haunt in a town of 900 people. It is nice to see a small community working together to make a haunted attraction. I would rate them high for their effort. However, if you are a haunted attraction veteran looking for true "very high scare levels," you may not want to stop here. This place is definately more geared to small children and familes. Also, there is a couple minutes of walking in complete pitch black, so if you are scared of that, you may like this one. It's actually pitch black, unlike another "pitch black" maze I know that is advertised this year.

Reviewed by: clownfreak   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too far into town, easy to find

Wait Entertainment: No bands or anything but they did have guys outside to scare you. The clown was the best!!!! Great makeup! He made the wait exciting. Very cool!

Length of Event: Wait to done... I don't remember for sure 25 mins?

Actor Performance: Awesome. They were all great. I really liked it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into anybody else.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up maybe?

Props / Special FX: So Cool!!! They were great! Better than I expected.

Costumes / Make-up: Good make up and costumes they were really scary! The clowns outside and inside were really scary!

Summary: Worth every penny. Very scary. Impressive and worth the trip! I really enjoyed the costumes and make up. The outside entertainment made the wait more enjoyable. I would go back again. I will tell my friends about it!!

Reviewed by: scary4   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little bit in the middle of nowhere easy to find though.

Wait Entertainment: Wehn we were there, there was a chain saw guy and a clown outside while you are waiting. The were both good. We really like the clown. Clowns freak me out! Good costume.

Length of Event: 25 mins or so

Actor Performance: Great. Really impressed

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow. Not crowded inside at all.

Appropriate Ages: not too young but it was okAY FOR 12 or so

Props / Special FX: Really awesome, best I have seen in the area

Costumes / Make-up: Also great! scary chararters. good makeup and costumes all around.

Summary: I would definatley go back again. I had heard that it was good and they were right. I will reccomend it to other people. Really like the outside entertainment. Made for a good wait!

Reviewed by: ModernAngel   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you just follow the signs from Rt. 47.

Wait Entertainment: An "old guy", clown and zombie. The zombie didn't really do anything except stand there but the other two were entertaining to watch even if they weren't scary.

Length of Event: ~15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good. Most of the actors were into their roles and got up into your face or tried to block you from going forward, which I like. Nothing worse than a monster who just stands there, in my opinion.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! They've got an intersting little "holding area" trick they do at the beginning of the haunt that basically ensures that every group will feel like they've got the haunt to themselves.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10+. It's not a gory or "extreme" haunt so no need to worry about that.

Props / Special FX: OK. Most of the props I recognized from, say, the Spirit Halloween store but they do a good job of incorporating them into creepy scenes. They make liberal use of the hot glue gun spiderwebs which gives a nice "decrepit" feel to many of the scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: OK. Most of the monsters are simply folks wearing a mask and a black robe.

Summary: My friends and I came down from Chicago for this haunt and felt it was worth it, especially for only $6.  
 
I like how most of the haunt is spent walking through small, pitch black hallways. In my opinion, not being able to see what might be lurking in the haunt is much scarier than having a brighter haunt where you can see everything but the actors aren't really into it. 
 
In short I found the Dungeon of Terror to be creepier than other more expensive and better themed haunts I've been to.

Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since Mazon is a small town.

Wait Entertainment: A couple were out there, a clown and old man. Suggestion: for the clown walking around: would have been more believable with make-up covering the neck.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Great: got scares and seemed to be on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into anyone in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great special FX, some surprises in a dark hallway. TOUCH the walls when walking through- you'll find it.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of costumes and make up.

Summary: This house was good overall. The ending lacked excitement, could have used a bigger scare walking out. Scenes were detailed and loved the long endless black hallways.

Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right downtown, was very easy to find. Signs led us from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: A few people in masks roamed the crowd. A Hay rack ride pulled up in front and added to the excitement..it was like a parade of crazies.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very nice job by all the actors..must note the mini scream character. Nice job!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This house exceeded here. The atttention to detail was excellent. So many rooms were filled with props and decor, it was fun to look around and appreciate all the hard work.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was good, but if masks were on that was all they had. A big improvement would be to enhance the masks with makeup..especially the people working the lines. It would add a bit of professionalism.

Summary: Well done Mazon. From your detail, your actors and just some good down right in your face scares, very nice. This is a good Haunted House for "leaders", they get you as soon as you turn a corner.

Reviewed by: scarydude   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: follow the signs from route 47

Wait Entertainment: some guy with a chain saw was scarin the crap out of people

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: the actors were great, especially in the piano room ...they were killing each other.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 9 & up

Props / Special FX: exellent... strobes & fog good

Costumes / Make-up: very good! never seen the same thing twice

Summary: it was great, totally worth 6 bucks...actors were great, out of the 7 haunted houses ive been to this was the best! i would go again anytime. my favorite room was the cocroach room it really looked like the roaches were real. 

Reviewed by: Jacko   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with good signs and it is a small community and nice people as well.

Wait Entertainment: 2-5 minute wait that was it and I an suprised it was that short due to the fact it was great.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very very good, it was nice that the actors did not jump out as soon as you walked in they let you look around the got you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was great

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up.

Props / Special FX: Very good job and nicely laid out as well.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good job.

Summary: It was a small town but the haunt was big city, and they were to close at 10PM but we got there about 1015 and they still let us in. There were 6 in our group and they wanted only 5 at a time so we spilt up in 2 groups of 3 and that was the best due to the fact you could see everything and got to take it all in. We were there 2 yrs ago and they had changed many rooms and effects. Very Very good haunt I would go back again as well. score 10!!! Jack

Reviewed by: mksbk   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. There is a big sign on Rt.47. Plus if you go downtown Mazon just look for the line.

Wait Entertainment: not bead, there was a couple of ghouls sneeking up on people.

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: pretty good, they stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: Some real good FX and some pretty cheesy.

Costumes / Make-up: Good makeup job on everyone.

Summary: This was our first one this season. I had two 13 year olds with me and they only jumped a couple of times. This is probably because I had to go first and got most of the "in your face" scares. After going to two other houses since, I have this one better than the one in Ashmore and not quite even close to being as good as the one in Rantoul.

Reviewed by: mateo14   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of Rt 47...wasnt hard to find at all, online directions made it easy.

Wait Entertainment: There was a couple of "creatures" outside, one with a chainsaw...scared a lot of people in line and coming out of the house.

Length of Event: about 15-20 min depends on the group i guess.

Actor Performance: seemed like all of the actors knew what they were doing, i dont get scared much, and boy did some of them get me!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i didnt catch up to any groups, they spaced out out really well, plus a couple rooms send you out fast while others have alittle more acting being done in them!

Appropriate Ages: i'd say over 10...some of the rooms are extremely scary!

Props / Special FX: GREAT!! the fog and the strobes really get ya...i was really disoriented! and when actors pop up and u done see them first because of the fog!...whoa!

Costumes / Make-up: each costume matched the room the actor was in...and there wasnt too much make-up, but of what there was, it certainly was good!

Summary: I think that this haunted house is definately worth the trip to go see, i go every year and it seems to get better and better...i cant wait to see what they come up with next year! heck, maybe i will go back this year and check it out again, maybe i missed some stuff with having my eyes closed! i would really like to see more actors roaming the dark halls and creeping up on you, last year someone followed us throughout almost the whole maze, but this year, no one! it really added to the effect last year. and their signature "devil's" room is better than ever this year with music and special effects! outstanding! definately a must see!

Reviewed by: chuckles32   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its easy to follow if you follow the signs

Wait Entertainment: there is a chainsaw dude and monsters on the roof

Length of Event: 20-25 mins

Actor Performance: very good the clown rooms were terrfying and the cockroach room was creepy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: i would say 10 and up

Props / Special FX: strobe and smoke

Costumes / Make-up: never a different mask some make up

Summary: this haunted house is awsome i cant wait to go again. the strobe and smoke is awsome the clown rooms is coolthey have two of gthem and chuckles is awsome.  
there was a clown with a terrifying laugh

Reviewed by: armyman   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lot of Dark hallways but they make it really scary

Wait Entertainment: entrance booth manicans

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Very good, really scary place to be

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: alot of scary rooms

Appropriate Ages: anyone under age of 9 should have a parent

Props / Special FX: VERY good alot of goo effects

Costumes / Make-up: same as props

Summary: 20 min long but really worth it alot of freaky rooms and dark hallways love the voices most the workers make and the banging of the walls are usually never known to happen till you are near someone

Reviewed by: njbj   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I live relatively close and have been going many years--but there are signs directing you in off Route 47.

Wait Entertainment: Fantastic--chain saws --a huge live monster appeared on top of the two story building that houses the haunted house.

Length of Event: Approximately 20 min. Really didn't look at my watch--was trying to catch my breath.

Actor Performance: Very, very good. Each year they continue to amaze me. I know alot of people in the area and can't picture any of them acting quite like these characters. But I know they are all volunteers. I keep trying to find out who they are. It's a well kept secret for sure.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into other groups but sure heard them screaming. Which added to our terror.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and over

Props / Special FX: Amazing! The cockroach room made me feel crawly for a long time. The graveyard was very creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: They were all dressed in character I think--I did close my eyes on a few of the monsters in the maze--but the grandkids said they were cool.

Summary: I will be going back this weekend with more friends and relatives. For $6.00 it's a "REAL HOOT". Some relatives come every year from Iowa and Michigan. They have nothing quite like it in there areas.

Reviewed by: TEXASHOLDEM   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: MAXON WAS NOT HARD TO FIND AT ALL, PLUS THERE WERE SIGNS

Wait Entertainment: GOOD ESPECIALLY FOR A 20 MIN HAUNT!!

Length of Event: 20 MIN

Actor Performance: GREAT YOU CAN REALLY TELL THEY ENJOY WHAT THEY DO. ESPECIALLY THE PEOPLE IN THE FIRST ROOM!! THEY ARE REALLY CREEPY!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: GOOD, WE COULDNT SEE ANYTHING IN THE DARK HALLS SO YOU NEVER CAUGHT UP W/ OTHER GROUPS CAUSE YOU YOURSELVES ARE GOING SLOW. EVERYONE HAS TO GO SLOW YOU CANT EVEN SEE YOUR HAND IN FRONT OF YOUR FACE MOST OF THE TIME!!

Appropriate Ages: PARENTS DISCRETION

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT! BETTER AND BETTER EVERY YEAR

Costumes / Make-up: SAME AS PROPS

Summary: OVERALL THIS HAUNTED HOUSE IS TERRIFIC! I DONT KNOW TOO MUCH ABOUT MAZON BUT I KNOW IT IS SMALL TOWN AND FOR BEING JUST A BLIP ON A MAP FOR A TOWN THIS HAUNTED HOUSE WILL BE WHAT THIS TOWN IS KNOWN FOR BEFORE TOO LONG. I HAVE BEEN TO SEVERAL HAUNTED HOUSES IN MY LIFETIME AND MOST OF THEM ARE OK, BUT IM TELLING YOU WHAT, THIS ONE HAS HEART! IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN! YOU COULD GO THROUGH SOME HAUNTED HOUSES MORE THAN ONCE AND THE 2ND TIME WOULD BE LIKE THE 1ST, BUT THIS IS DIFFERENT EVERYTIME SOMETHING NEW SCARES YOU THEY REALLY ENJOY SCARING THE CRAP OUT OF PEOPLE AND THATS WHAT MAKES THIS AWESOME FOR $6 YOU SURE GET A GREAT 20MIN SCARE WHO COULD ASK FOR ANYTHING MORE!!

Reviewed by: sam_21_21   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Yes it was pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: really good, a chainsaw guy came out as well as a guy in a wolf mask that snuck up behind my friend.

Length of Event: 20-25 min.

Actor Performance: really good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into any other group

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up

Props / Special FX: fair

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: overall it was good, but it would have been a lot better to be in front of my group. The clown rooms really freaked us out. There was a lot of screaming ahead of us, but i thought it wasn't completeley terrifying.

Reviewed by: Paul   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, I used mapquest.

Wait Entertainment: Guess about 15 minutes.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Pretty good, there did seem to be some areas that were missing actors when I went through but the ones I seen did a good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never did run into another group which is good.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: Did a pretty good job with that, the fog seemed a little thick tho.

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad, were in character for the most part. The chain saw guy is pretty awesome.

Summary: This is a pretty good Haunted House. I found it on the internet and I'm glad I decided to check it out. Without a doubt, for the price it is definitely worth it. I'll be back for sure!

Reviewed by: Hoopie   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I had no problem finding it at all but I knew where it was. There are signs tho.

Wait Entertainment: My group had to wait 45 minutes and I wasn't too pleased with that but it was pretty busy. There were dressed up actors on the street and sidewalk.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: It was good, alot of scare factors from the actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well, my group ran into another group but we did it on purpose because they split our group up.

Appropriate Ages: Probally no one younger than 9 or 10.

Props / Special FX: Better than usual, I come every year and there have been alot of changes and new effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Good job of dressing to the theme of the room.

Summary: I have fun every year but this year it was awesome. I have one thing to add, as I said I came with a group as I do every year. But this year we had one person who chickened out in the first room and she still didn't get her money back. I know you say no refunds, but come on guys, THAT'S RIDICULOUS!

Reviewed by: DADDY   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent location, easy to find. Right on the main street of the town.

Wait Entertainment: I guess we waited about half an hour. There were ghouls outside scaring everyone in line.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, they were everywhere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Also good, we didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: I guess maybe 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Excellent, I was impressed by how many different things were in the haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Also very impressive.

Summary: I brought my daughter and 4 of her friends. It was a Birthday/Slumber Party. I personally don't see how they seen anything as their heads were buried the whole time, but I loved it. I was the leader, naturally, so I got to see everything. I came 2 years ago and I think it is great how much has changed and how much more has been added. Keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: marlene   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: USED MAPQUEST FOR DIRECTIONS - ALSO SIGNS OUT. NO PROBLEM FINDING IT.

Wait Entertainment: WAIT WASN'T TOO BAD, APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. THERE WERE ACTORS OUTSIDE TO ENTERTAIN THE LINE.

Length of Event: ABOUT 20 MINUTES

Actor Performance: THIS WAS PERHAPS ONE OF THEIR STRONGEST POINTS. THE ACTORS WERE THRU-OUT THE HOUSE,DRESSED ACCORDING TO CHARACTER AND SEEMED TO JUMP OUT AT YOU FROM NOWHERE.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: THEY COULD USE SOME HELP WITH THIS ONE. I CAUGHT UP TO ANOTHER GROUP AHEAD OF ME.

Appropriate Ages: DEPENDS ON THE KID, BUT I CERTAINLY WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT TO SMALL CHILDREN.

Props / Special FX: PRETTY GOOD PROPS AND EFFECTS, WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER HAD I NOT RUN INTO THE GROUP AHEAD OF ME. KINDA TAKES THAT INITIAL SURPRISE AWAY, BUT THEY WERE GOOD.

Costumes / Make-up: VERY GOOD, ALOT OF ACTORS IN THE HOUSE, ALL IN CHARACTER WITH ALOT OF ENERGY.

Summary: I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE. IT'S A VERY GOOD SCARE FOR A SMALL PRICE. KUDOS TO THE COCKROACH ROOM - I RAN TO GET THRU THAT ROOM. YOUR HOUSE WILL DEFINITELY BE ONE THAT I WILL REMEMBER TO COME BACK TO. I HAD A GOOD TIME. THANK YOU!

Reviewed by: bmxbiker93   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Yes ample parking 
no- not closed in 
yes-right on the street 
kinda-if you are near it 
yes proper signs 
yes signs were advertised properly 

Wait Entertainment: no brodacast 
no live band 
no jugglers etc. 
yes they were in costumes and so on 
no skits were performed 
yes- scary music is on 
no tv set up 
yes there was a waiting room once u got inside

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: yes they played there role 
yes they stayed in character 
yes they fit in with there rooms 
yes they were on target 
they were the right size for the job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: yes the separated them appropiately 
yes you could move as u felt no running though 
yes and it was becuase you went slow

Appropriate Ages: it is freindly 
lil intense bout 5- watever

Props / Special FX: yes stunning visual effects 
no spinning tunnel 
head moved things popped out moved in and out made noise pressure snakes

Costumes / Make-up: yes they were detailed 
Yes they were approrate for the rooms 
masks and make up 
8

Summary: The mazon dungeon of terror in mazon is the best one of all the ones in the state i think. They do a very good job at keeping people in the approirte places and in the right costumes and make up. They also have the best rooms. Some a very dark and some are little light. The halls are sacry with all the twists and turns thhave many great props that they use in th dungeon. ilike each room was different light dark sound effects. added more unexpected things. the clown room . Boss clown was the best actor. The cockroach room it looked like they were walking on the wall following you. When the popped out of no where from walls and corners. Yes they made it worth the six buxks that you paid it was worth even more

Reviewed by: motaboyoff   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to get to, right off route 47 and there is a huge sign directing you where to go

Wait Entertainment: waited 5 minutes cause it was so early in the season

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes

Actor Performance: awesome, scary clowns and actors would talk to you and try to get inside your head

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: everyone moved fast and the actors made sure not to have the group behind us run into us at all

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: lots of different props. Strobe lights came in great effect walking down a hallway with black and white lines of cockroaches

Costumes / Make-up: great costumes, updated with some new clown costumes and jigsaw character from Saw movies

Summary: Overall this is a great attraction. It gets better every year and you can't beat the price factor when it comes to this one. Scares around every corner and the pitch black darness in most parts makes it worth the trip. One of the best I've ever been to cause you don't know what's gonna happen. A++++

Reviewed by: screamteam   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The visibility was very good. I nevr ran into any groups in front of me. It was very dark.but your able to see all the spooky monsters and what their ostumes look like

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great. They had SCARY people in costumes come out and they also has the texas chainsaw massacre come out he was the scariest of all!!!!!

Length of Event: About 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: very good some looked fake but turned out to be real. They are very good. Very scary too

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The iside attraction was awesome

Appropriate Ages: It was very scary so I say about 8 and up

Props / Special FX: The specail effex were awesome they looked so real. the masks the people put on were very lifelike and very unique

Costumes / Make-up: The masks were very scary, there werent any that were the same so they were very unique

Summary: The overall summary is that mazon haunted house is the best in Illinois! I will be sure to comeback anytime I can and get scared again and again. This hunted house is #1 in Illinois right now. So If you like being scared. Theres only one place to go The mazon Haunted house. I think it gets better and better evry year that I go through it.

Reviewed by: mmb08   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: All you need to do is follow the signs and they lead you right to it.

Wait Entertainment: Their were some very scary people out walking around the line waiting to get in.

Length of Event: About 20-30 minutes. Long enough but not to long.

Actor Performance: Very realistic and scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never once ran into another group, it was wonderful.

Appropriate Ages: It was really scary so I wouldn't recomend it for too young.

Props / Special FX: They have awesome props and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone had very scary costumes and make-up and some looked VERY realistic.

Summary: I have been going to this haunted house for years and I think that they get better and better every year. All of the rooms flowed with eachother but they didn't overlap to much so that it was repetative. They really used their immaginations when creating it this year. I would recomend it to anyone that's looking for a real scare.

Reviewed by: dmisener   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to get to just fo to mazondungeonofterror.com it tells you how to get there or follow the signs

Wait Entertainment: they have people out side to scare you and music

Length of Event: 30-45 minutes

Actor Performance: very high they will come out of everywhere in any room

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: steady they have a steady flow

Appropriate Ages: it up to the parents to decide

Props / Special FX: awsome strobe and smoke machines many animatronics and scarers

Costumes / Make-up: awsome never the same costume twice

Summary: a really good haunted house over all i will go in it over and over again it is unbelieveable i cant wait to go again its open every fri sat and sun. at seven on fri-sat then 6-7 to whenever on sun we do not close with people in line

Reviewed by: sarah3292   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find if you followed the signs

Wait Entertainment: There were many scary people out side scaring us. and the scenes in the windows were creepy

Length of Event: it took about 25 minutes to walk through

Actor Performance: they're characters were very realistic and went along with all the themes inside.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i though that their spacing was fantastic i never ran into people infront or behind me.

Appropriate Ages: i think it would be appropriate for all ages to go and have a spooky time at

Props / Special FX: The props were great and went very well with the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: i though all the costumes went well with the rooms

Summary: i would reccomend this haunted house to anybody especially if they really like a scare! I really liked that you never knew when someone was going to pop out at you or scream at you, and the dark hall ways were really fun cause you never knew where you were going.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at