Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prison (Crest Hill, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Coley_22   (Event Visited: 10/25/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. You can't miss it with all the lights!

Wait Entertainment: They were really good. There were a lot of characters roaming the crowd.

Length of Event: Maybe 15-20 minutes inside.

Actor Performance: They were good. Most stayed in character. I hate clowns, so the clown room really got me good! It felt like the clown room went on and on ... I had to have my eyes closed the whole time we were in the clown room! The girl clown that was above me scared me real good! The other ones felt like they were right at my head.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups, but the people in front of us were going really slow!

Appropriate Ages: Maybe 13 & up.

Props / Special FX: There were some cool effects. I definately don't like the air mat coming down on me, it makes it really hard to breathe when you have asthma. The fog machine & lights were cool tho. I also liked a lot of the props. Some of the props were hung too low tho, because they were hitting me in the head & im short.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were really good. The old guy that looked like a patient with a trancula (or however you spell that) had really good makeup. It looked so real.

Summary: I would recommend the haunted house. I definately thought it was going to be scarier then it was but it was still good. I think you should let smaller groups go in at a time, because having 20-30 people go in at a time makes it not as much fun for the people towards the middle/back. We didn't get to see all the stuff as much. If you had maybe 8-10 people go in at a time, it would have made it better. The actors did really good tho. The ones outside were kind of creepy tho when they were picking their nose & eating it, and when they were moving their tongue in a seductive way. I didn't care for those things. But other than that, it was really cool! The guy on stiltz with the extra head was cool & freaky! He definately got my friend scared!!! I will probably be returning within the next few years.

Reviewed by: princesa70   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visible enough.

Wait Entertainment: Ok for the beginnig, afterwards the line came to a hault for quite a while...

Length of Event: about an hour or so.

Actor Performance: So-so

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty fast.

Appropriate Ages: 10-14...

Props / Special FX: the effects were alright. They don't freak u out...

Costumes / Make-up: Quite gruesome...

Summary: I would have preferred to have a mazelike atmosphere where you have to be split up by urself, and you can find urself alone so that the effects can be scarier, ur in there ur family as well as with other people, so its not very scary at all! A 20.00 entrance fee would have suficed. Not 30.00!

Reviewed by: SChamplin   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: We bought the VIP passes so we didn't have to wait.

Length of Event: Approximately, one hour.

Actor Performance: Awesome! There were some great actors, who managed to make me jump a lot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It went really well.

Appropriate Ages: Fifteen and up.

Props / Special FX: There were some awesome props. My husband and I especially loved the illusion tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: Out of all of the haunted houses that I've been to, Statesville had some of the best costumes and make up.

Summary: This is the first time I've been to Statesville, and for the money I paid, it was definitely worth it. I will go back again next year. But I wouldn't approve it for anyone under the age of fifteen.

Reviewed by: judi   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are no signs from any other road that tell you where to turn. The front enterence has a large sign and is clearly visable from the road. The flyers also give decent directions.

Wait Entertainment: We waited for two hours to get in.

Length of Event: The whole tour of both houses combined lasted 50 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors all looked busy playing their routine.And everyone knew their role well.But their drama was not very scary for a seasoned veteran of the haunted houses.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everyone moved through at an organized rate.

Appropriate Ages: This is not appropriate for kids under 11.

Props / Special FX: They had dead bodies that moved. Large full size disgusting gutted bodies. Lots of hanging bodies and parts. A full room of fun house mirrors. And fountains with green ooze.

Costumes / Make-up: Some costumes were better like the monster on stilts, a monster that looked like he had a hole in his head , and a girl half gone hanging from the wall.

Summary: This site had a lot of nice props. Most of the actors were presistant about tormenting the guests. The attraction was well organized.It was nice that they gave us a sunday discount. The length of the haunted houses were about average considering that you you take into account that you are going through 2 haunted houses. The crowds were large to get to this event. If you want to see a mildly pestering show than this is for you. As for the amount we paid , we could have seen three haunted houses for the price.And almost the same amount of time we spent going out of the way to get there we could have seen at least two more.This site was only slightly above the norm because of their outstanding props.

Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They are on Weber Road and the big orange pumpkin is easy to spot.

Wait Entertainment: That was great, almost better than inside the house. Monsters were everywhere and there was rock music playing.

Length of Event: Probably 15 minutes. There were a lot of staging areas and places like you had to stop and wait, so it's hard to tell.

Actor Performance: They did a great job in statesville, but in the city of the dead, there were a lot of young kids. Short monsters are not that scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was ok, but worse in the statesville prison. There were a number of times we had to stop, so they could regulate the flow of customers, but we still bunched together several times. They need to not let so many people in at a time.

Appropriate Ages: With the strong language they use inside, I'd say 13 and above.

Props / Special FX: A couple of nice animated monsters.

Summary: Statesville has always been one of my all time favorites and it is always fun, but it's just not worth the $30. There are other haunted houses that offer more for less. It's still a good time, but it's just not worth the price they are asking, which seems to rise nearly every year.

Reviewed by: Jacko   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: they gave good directions on the web.

Wait Entertainment: Wait was long with speed pass, not much entertainment

Length of Event: 30 minutes of haunt alot of staging people

Actor Performance: If you like being sworn at and yelled at it was good, otherwise poor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was rush rush rush and some props were good most were bad.

Appropriate Ages: 10 & up

Props / Special FX: fair there were 3 god scenes but the rest were poor

Costumes / Make-up: alot of masks not alot of make-up

Summary: Overall it was poor NOT worth 40 dollars and the speed pass was a waste also. Seen many mixed reviews and I tend to agree it was poor and not worth the money.

Reviewed by: hunterguy67   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good Location

Wait Entertainment: Not So good

Length of Event: Depends on if you got VIP Passes

Actor Performance: Ok? Kinda obvios where they were.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok

Appropriate Ages: No

Props / Special FX: Semi Ok

Costumes / Make-up: Sucked

Summary: I thought it was okay it seemed to be to not enough for the money Im sure it cots alot to make that and s**t (censored) but 30 bucks a a person is to much. It is very medeoker and sure doesnt live up to the repuation

Reviewed by: Mikei6   (Event Visited: 10/18/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, you cannot drive past it and miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad, I bought the fast pass so this is not that relevant to me.

Length of Event: 10 minutes waiting with fast pass, 15 minutes to walk through the whole thing.

Actor Performance: I felt that this was not as good as it could have been. Most of the actors simply stood on the other side of a turn and screamed in your face when they saw you. Very few actually played a convincing role. Many of the actors didn't even react and looked bored. A lot of the actors were not sized properly for their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was not bad, we ran into the group in front of us several times though.

Appropriate Ages: This is definitely targeted towards junior high and older.

Props / Special FX: They had the same props and SFX that they've had for years. The place is definitely not suitable for anyone with any kind of disability because they have to stoop down in several places because the ceiling becomes only 4 feet high.

Costumes / Make-up: Most costumes were fairly basic and did not have much detail.

Summary: I liked everything outside of the haunted house, very thoughtfully done. I do not recommend this place if you have gone before because it is very similar to the way it was setup the last few years. Additionally, the actors were not convincing and the entire haunted house was not dark enough. Be aware that the actors use alot of profanity directed towards you. The bang for the buck was definitely not here. Way too expensive for the poor acting.

Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: 10/04/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location was very easy to see iff weber road big huge lighted up pumpkin

Wait Entertainment: there were a quiet of few actors walking arond outside there where great

Length of Event: 35 min depending how slow your group moves and i went with a bunch of girls they all moved slow

Actor Performance: to be honest for being the first night of this haunted there where alot and i mean ALOT of actor in the house every room had at least 4 to 7 actors in each room that was awsoem i jumped alot every actor played there part good anfd were very ethusiastic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was okay ran into a group other then that pretty good

Appropriate Ages: not reccommenede under age 12

Props / Special FX: they always have great special effects and props excpecially the begainning the warden part great opening

Costumes / Make-up: costumnes and make up very realistic threw out the whole house each make puit matched with there room very excellent make up

Summary: statesville haunted prison- they had a difrrent room in there this year bunch of black plastic tubes hanign down very cool and overall they always have a great house few actors perfect pop out action great show always do but one thing one acotr in the mental section graved my shoulder i didnt mind but other peopel would of  
 
and city of the dead this year was better more and beter looking scenes and more acotrs made this area awsoem this year also overall great haunted

Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could not be easier to find. Gigantic pumpkin out front and signs everyware.

Wait Entertainment: Perfect. Actors constantly harasing visitors.

Length of Event: 1 hour 17 minutes including waiting time. Just under an hour in the house.

Actor Performance: Very very good. Except a lot of them pushed the boundaries on what the could and could not do. For example, they can not physically stop someone from moving, and they tried to do that to our group several times. The use a lot of profanity.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You have to wait in several different lines, and we ran into other groups a few times which was unacceptable considering how many different times throughout the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: impossible to answer, depends on the kid. No one who you woudlnt want to hear profanity. And lots of it.

Props / Special FX: AMAIZING!!! Cool intros to both haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: PERFECT. couldnt have been any better.

Summary: It was all very cool but not very scarey. Also, the first haunt had a lot of good actors, but the second haunt didnt have actors over like 14-15 years old. It was a good time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at