Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: darknight69   (Event Visited: 10/30/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Saw the line and the flailing arm guys. Could of had better parking.

Wait Entertainment: Not a whole lot going on. Saw a few actors come out. The guy in the wheelchair did do an amazing job at "not paying attention" to what was going on around him.

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: %95 of the actors did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Went relativly quick. Our group was too big. We missed out on what few scares their were. Needs to be groups of 6 or less.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The detail of the rooms was good. Made us feel like we were in whatever type of enviroment they set up.

Costumes / Make-up: All were very well done.

Summary: My friends and i have heard of this place for years now and had high expectations. The set design in the place is very well done and for the most part believable. Only thing is, their didn't seem to be many scares. The actors were out in the open and didn't seem to do a whole lot. Even the wait inside was cool, but nothing happened. Nothing was on the projector screen and nothing scarry happened in their. $15 for this seems a tad high, especially when the wate to get in is so long. The place is cool but not scarry.

Reviewed by: bb0211   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had no trouble finding the site. Simple directions from MapQuest sufficed.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was disappointing. There were five ghouls that "circulated," but did not seem motivated to really scare. The big devil just kind of walked around and would occasionally walk up to a couple teenagers or kids he knew he could easily scare. I expected to see some chasing action and persistence. 
 
The wheelchair guy was funny when he tried to open car doors.

Length of Event: good length...about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: I was the first one walking in my group of 12...on purpose. 
 
The actor performance, to me, was good because I caught all the initial scares. Sudden appearance and loud noises is what really gets me and being first made this great. 
 
The other's in my group complained about the performance. I am not sure how in a group so large it would be possible to give everyone the same element of scare. Smaller groups would be the only option. 
 
Good,overall. Maybe a little more persistance from some of the actors. 
 
One actor provided a didn't scare in the Texas scene. He kept jabbing at my "private area" with a knife. So naturally I was kinda covering myself as he taunted "that's right cover your little girl parts!" Kind of odd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine. We never caught up to a group and a group never caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 16 and older

Props / Special FX: Great props. Scenes were detailed and there was a lot to see. The spinning vortex was awesome. The vertigo was still in effect when I stepped out into the long dark hallway and a guy in black ran full speed right at me. That was the best!

Costumes / Make-up: Great, overall. I am sure it took people a VERY long time to perfect some of the costumes.  
 
One downfall, there was a girl who was pretty scary but then she turned and you could see her blonde ponytail. Definitely ruined it. 
 

Summary: Overall, this haunted house was good. As we reflected on the event we decided that more variation in scare tactics would have really set this one above. (Maybe not every person jumps out, people crawling on the floor, more openings in the walls for little noises, hands "grabbing" at your legs, spooks following you relentlessly, people above you more, etc.) There definitely needed to be a grande finale of some sort. We were very confused at the end. It's over???? 
 
To the average person, this would make a GREAT scare, but to a scary movie and haunted-anything buff, it was just more fun than anything. I am glad I went, but am not sure if I would return.

Reviewed by: binky   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was little hard to find using our GPS, but once we got close we did see a flashing light and inflatable people. Having to pay $3 to park put a little damper on our fun!

Wait Entertainment: There was guy in a wheelchair and another guy walking the line they were entertaining for the most part. Although I could have done without all the nose picking. That is gross,not scary!

Length of Event: It took our group about 15 minuted to go through. We went on a slow night and we did not have to wait in line very long at all.

Actor Performance: We were in a group of 10 and the actors always jumped out too early! It was also obvious where there were going to come out from.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think that sending in 10 at a time is way too many, but we never did run into a another group. Also, the other 5 people that went in with us were not part of our group, so that took out some of the fun also.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: They had amazing eye candy and the I thought the scents that went along with the themes was good also!

Costumes / Make-up: They put a lot of effort into the costumes and make-up! They were very creative!

Summary: We drove over 2 hours to get there and overall we were a little diappointed by the lack of scares. Our group decided as a whole that the haunt was well decorated, but the scaring was very limited!

Reviewed by: coralreefpet   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its at the corner of a street light so you have to keep your eyes open but you will see the 2 ghosts and line of people. Please note you have to pay 3 Dollars for parking

Wait Entertainment: We waited more than an hour mayb hour and a half. Next time just pay the extra 10 dollars not to wait in line (not a partient person) but their were 2 actors.

Length of Event: Was about 15-20 min depending on how fast you move never met any groups infront or in back.

Actor Performance: Amazing job they stayed in charactger the whole time one of the scences i was in the front and one of the actors were screaming right in my face. Definetly they never broke their character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didnt see any other groups while inside the attraction

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up i never even seen any little children except for some of the characters in the house.

Props / Special FX: Many new rooms all were very good . Made good use of their rooms and area.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of costums and makeup their were many "Monsters" in that day.

Summary: Was a good haunted house for the money but the line was very long. Be prepared to stand in line for hour plus unless you want to pay 10 dollars extra.

Reviewed by: ModernAngel   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: May be tough to spot if you don't know the area but they've got giant balloon guys blowing in front to help visibility.

Wait Entertainment: OK. The wheelchair fellow isn't scary but is entertaining.

Length of Event: ~15 minutes

Actor Performance: OK. The elevator guy and some of the zombies are pretty good. Many of the actors, however, are just kind of "there".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: This always depends on the child, of course, but I would say 10+.

Props / Special FX: Great, as always. I would've liked to see some more "startle" type mechanical props but the themeing is very good. Love the "rain forest" with the fountains and such.  
Their "sinister scents" seem to be working much better this year as opposed to in the past.

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad. Clowns looked like clowns and zombies looked like zombies. Not quite sure what the girls with the "dollys" were supposed to be, though...

Summary: I love Dream Reaper's attention to detail with their sets but every year I find the haunt less scary (Maybe because I'm just used to the place by now).  
 
My biggest complaint is that they removed the crazy chainsaw dude from the hillbilly house. Wondering when that chainsaw would come out was one of the few things that kept me on edge. Without it the house is, for me, just a nicely themed house with some great atmosphere but little in the way of real scares.

Reviewed by: chugcub   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With the website's instructions, the venue was easy to find. I noticed that they were encouraging people to park in their lot for $3 dollars, but we managed to find street parking further down.

Wait Entertainment: Security people walked around with large snakes around their neck. Once you paid for a ticket, and was waiting inside you were in a themed cemetery with a large screen showing the wait entertainment from a previous year. Honestly, it would have been nice to see that in person outside instead of on the screen.

Length of Event: 15 minutes from seeing a video reiterating the rules to when you entered the gift shop.

Actor Performance: Perhaps it was a bad idea to go so early, but it seemed like they did not have enough actors when my party went through. There were three "rooms" where there was no one at all to jump out and scare us. Even the last room which was large enough to have us all gathered together and had a corpse in a coffin seemed like it was set up specifically to stop us and give us a dramatic scare before sending us off out of their event, but it had no one. We literally stopped there for a minute to mull around, anticipating that something would happen, but gave up and went out when it seemed fruitless.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, I was in the front and never saw the group in front of us. Not sure if anyone bumped into the back of our group.

Appropriate Ages: I believe a sign suggested it not be for anyone under 16.

Props / Special FX: I loved the details of the rooms, especially the swamp area. Also an A+ for the "squeeze" corridor, having to push the hanging bodies out of the way to make it through, and the long spinning vortex tunnel. There was a smaller spinning vortex tunnel but it was too short to cause same effect.

Costumes / Make-up: For the most part average, however the camouflaged man with the glowstick before the swamp began provided a great scare.

Summary: They could improve dramatically by having more actors. There was more than one moment when I felt blinded by a strobe light and then put into a dark room that I thought would have been ideally to provide a good scare, but to my disappointment they placed what few actors they had in easily visible locations.  
 
Overall, it was a good event but I felt it was a bit expensive for what it was.

Reviewed by: thedrizzle91   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was fairly easy to find, they had big balloon-ish looking things and the line was long which made it easy to spot.

Wait Entertainment: I personally thought this was the best part of the entire haunt. The actors were very involved and they followed their roles quite well.

Length of Event: Very short, my group got through in about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors inside weren't all that great, they didn't seem to really care. There might have been maybe five people that actually fit their role.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: They recommend 16+, but I would say anyone over 12 should be fine.

Props / Special FX: Possibly the best part, spinning rooms and details were done pretty well.

Summary: It wasn't that bad, but the inside could have been better. As for the wait entertainment, depending on how the people in line respond to them, could make the line be worth the fifteen dollars. I couldn't say I would recommend going here for a scare, but if you just want to have a good time then Dream Reapers is probably the place to go.

Reviewed by: Shizzarro   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was not hard to find at all, i looked online and the directions were just right.

Wait Entertainment: Good, they had several actors hanging around, some music, lighting, and some other interesting stuff set up inside.

Length of Event: 12 minutes i think.

Actor Performance: Pretty good, there were plenty of actors in good costumes everywhere. Everyone seemed into their parts and the mood was set well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, not perfect but it was fine.

Appropriate Ages: I don't know but little kids might be scared.

Props / Special FX: Good. They had some really cool stuff. Lasers, fog, the elevator, a claustrophobia hall, and of course smells.

Costumes / Make-up: Looked great to me, no one looked out of place, everyone was done up well.

Summary: I don't know why people are calling this a fun house. To me all haunted houses are fun houses in a way. The fact that this haunted house is being called a fun house says to me that it's actually a really cool haunted house with lots of cool things to see and enjoy. 
 
I don't get scared at these, but I thought they did a great job entertaining!

Reviewed by: TravisFF88   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had big blow up things and loud music.

Wait Entertainment: Had a weird drooling monster thing and a guy in a wheel chair.Pretty much sums it up.

Length of Event: 10-15 min max....depending how you walk....

Actor Performance: This was what killed this haunt I personaly thought.I saw prolly 80% of the actor's before they were suposed to "Scare" (I use this word Real loosly) I dont know if they were short staffed or what but I thought there actors were rather poor.There best two actors in the haunt were the guy in the wheel chair (argued with some of my group) and the guy in the Elevator.....Some actors we almost annoying (the "Dollys" that said the same line over and over "do you like my dolly",there poor display of a clown room (all they did was honk bicycle horns at me and shoot some smelly stuff..).... the girl in the hill billy room didnt have the right scream at all.It was almost like a oh look out theres a guy there then she stoped screaming her warning and let the guy beat her ....? If she would have Screamed while being beaten and maybe Cryed I think it would have made the scene better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didnt run into any groups so that was good !

Appropriate Ages: 7+ due to some gore....

Props / Special FX: This is where you can tell they put there money.They had Alot of animotronics and just alot of "eye candy". But they had almost No ceilings on any of there rooms.At one point I could see some of the "behind the scene stuff" for example in one room I could see there vortex spining through I guess a door way of sorts.

Costumes / Make-up: I saw only One mask and that was there actor out front everyone else had make-up that was ok at best.The typical white painted faces and fake blood all over everything.

Summary: I personaly thought that this haunt was rather poor.They used some of the oldest things in the book to get there scares with loud bangs and jumping out of places.There actors were a Very poor display and some were down right just annoying.I also use the term Haunt VERY loosly due to it being more of a "Fun House" with there spinning vortex's and there blow up halls...ect. 
 
In Sort I thought this haunt was not very scare at all for being ranked No.1 In the State on this site last season and No. 13 in the NATION! on anouther site as well.I personaly felt I could have saved the 18 dollars (15 for the ticket and 3 dollars to park not even counting gas spent on the hour and half drive to this attraction)Also felt this to be a poor display from all the "Hype" about this haunt and was rather disapointed among the rest of my group.

Reviewed by: multiplesean   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Well lit. There had the blow up dancing ghost things.

Wait Entertainment: None. No actors.

Length of Event: 8 minutes, and we walked slow

Actor Performance: Blah, just blah. Typical jump out of corners, bang and scream tactics. I was at the end of the line... I cant tell you how many times I saw the actors go back into their hiding places. A few times in the hallways I poked around in openings covered by black fabric just to see if someone was in there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Never ran into another group. Some rude woman, in plain clothes was in the first room and told everyone to put their hands on the casket. She was just so rude I didn't feel like doing it. I did it not to be a jerk, and what happened? NOTHING! She walked across the room and opened the door ...

Appropriate Ages: 7+ This seemed like more of a fun house. Certain scenes from 2 years ago that made this a more adult venue were either removed or altered.

Props / Special FX: I remember Dream Reapers having the most detailed scenes. This year it just seemed like alot of black walls. I remember Missing People signs in the hillbilly are, those were gone. What happened to Dr. Satan? The maze this year was really short ( which is probably a really good thing, otherwise the haunt could have passed for a fun house).

Costumes / Make-up: Didn't even pay attention. There was a guy at the end in a wheel chair that kept saying he had to go to the bathroom...he was right at the exit, after the gift shop..he was probably the best costume.

Summary: Ughh... maybe I expected too much from them? I just felt let down. What happened to this haunt?!?! 
One inside there was nothing that scared me. When I went to this haunt in the past I felt the details were enough to make the event worth the visit. This year I dont feel the details are enough to compensate

Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visable, gigantic building right off of a main road.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors. Werent very scarey.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Terrible.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Bad. We ran into a group twice. An actor inside not only held us back, but he broke charachter and started talking to some people in our group

Appropriate Ages: Cant answer that, you should know your kid.

Props / Special FX: Good, lots of big $$$ effects

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: i was very dissapointed. It seemed like their theam was Alien hospital swamp trailer park. It was short. They did have a green screan where you kid get a picture which was cool.

Reviewed by: dupontluvr   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location visibility from coming off the highway was hard to see, but was visible because of the long line of people. Also their is a electronic sign that says Dream Reapers and Soccer League, that we didnt see.

Wait Entertainment: The entertainment was average, it was exciting the first time but got old about the third and forth time through.

Length of Event: Although it was short it felt like hours because of its non-stop scaring and entertainment.

Actor Performance: The Actors preformance was better than that of previous haunted house that I have attended. Their was one room that completely caught me off gaurd and it was so frightening that i actually enjoyed being scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was kinda slow, because it was so jam packed.

Appropriate Ages: This was definetly appropriate for all ages although it might send a fright to younger children.

Props / Special FX: This haunted house did a magnificent job with their special effects, especially the different scents in each different room.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were so realistic that I thought some of the people were actually real.

Summary: Over all Dream Reapers was a truely is what it claims to be. So I suggest all those who are questing to go, that they should just go, because its a lot of fun and worth the wait and the money. In the end you will wonder if that was just real or was that a dream?

Reviewed by: maisakitchz   (Event Visited: 10/14/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of North Ave. you could see it clearly because of the snake-like line wrapping almost 1/4 mile around the surrounding buildings.

Wait Entertainment: Average, although they could've hired a couple more actors to spice things up. The guy in the wheelchair with a bloody nose was funny. He got lucky too! A hot chick was sitting on his lap and he was doing wheelies all along the line.

Length of Event: Not counting the 2 hour 30 min wait? uhm, about 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: I was thinking of getting my money back because in the strobe light room the girl wasn't looking and headbutted me in the nose while walking backwards!!@!@ i was ready to choke a female dog! Hillbilly scene was cool, especially the roasted pig and bloody girl in the bathroom.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we never bumped into another group although we did stay inside the alien whirling tunnel for about 2 minutes. I felt drunk

Appropriate Ages: Any age group can visit this house. Actors had the basic "jump out and say BOO" technique at about every scene and that startled me at times.

Props / Special FX: Very good. I can see why they charged us $15 for this visit because of all the detail in each scene. The special FX were good and there were certain smells that were specific to each room.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, although most of them weren't scary.

Summary: Actors seemed a bit tired and passive. Each time we went into a different room they jumped out at you and left you alone once you got passed them. I was frequently looking back to see if anyone of them actually were trying to scare us by following us, but only one did. This house is more eye pleasing than scary. The detail inside the house was amazing, but I wanted to get the s*** scared out of me and was disappointed. Next on the list is a haunted corn maze. Not worth the $15, but I would pay about $8 for this haunt.

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find - strobe lights and huge blowups show you where it's located.

Wait Entertainment: Was disappointed with this... The monsters were pretty scarce working the line outside - seen a few that came out, say something to 1-2 people then went back inside. No monsters working the inside line...but a lot of detail in the cemetary that was great to look at.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Was great - especially the hillbillys - everyone really got into their charactor and were pretty intense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was decent. About 1/2 way through the house the group behind us caught up - and we were moving pretty quickly through the house - felt a little rushed.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older

Props / Special FX: Were very good - smells, nicely decorated rooms very detailed. There was an area or two that could've used a prop (especially the beginning).

Costumes / Make-up: mostly simple but very effective.

Summary: This was a lot of fun, haven't been here in a few years and I loved it....Loved the elevator and the hillbilly mansion. There is a lot of eye candy everywhere to check out and the actors are very intense. The girls in front of us were very scared and used my friend for safety. Loved the smells that are used through the haunt (definitely adds to the scenes) and there is much detail in many of the rooms. Definitely recommend checking it out - won't be disappointed. Excellent job!

Reviewed by: purplehaze   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find once you get onto Cornell, and their directions from the website were right on target.

Wait Entertainment: We were in line from 9 to 11 and we only encountered 6 people in the line, only one of them scared me.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes (and we definately weren't going that fast)

Actor Performance: I would say average I was scared a few times, but it was because they came from around a corner.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got seperated from a group of 3 that was in front of us and we never ran into another group.

Summary: The coolest part we experienced was the alien tunnel that was in the middle of the house. Other than that nothing jumped out at me as being really great or really poorly done. The only strange thing they made us do (we were told it was for security purposes) was have our pictures taken right before we went in to the haunted part of the house. I would have like the house better if it cost less or if you didn't have to pay for the parking. In my opinion 15 minutes is not worth 2 hours in line.

Reviewed by: lilmansox   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of the haunted house it pretty good if you are coming from the west like i was it is easy to find because it is across a open parking lot and there are flashing light so it is eays to tell.

Wait Entertainment: There really was no wait when i went there were a couple actors in like but they were really paying attention to the line they were just rolling around on bikes and wheel chairs.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: the actor performance was pretty good except the scare tactics are the oldest in the book.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was ok only once i think my group caught up to another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: there is a cool elevator special fx but thats about it

Summary: all in all i would say dream reapers haunted house was alright i have been to other haunted houses around here and liked them much better so i dont know i think the price was a little high but you can expect that

Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wasn't bad. Not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Really good. I was really impressed or maybe it was because it was the first big haunt I went to this haunting season! I really enjoyed the wait.

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes depending on if you walk or run.

Actor Performance: Really well thought out. There was not as many actors as I remember in the past. More props than actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too bad. There were not a lot of people ahead of us in line. I can see that they were no where near capacity.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ there was a slip of an actor's tounge but it was quickly corrected.

Props / Special FX: TONS of effects. Lights, sounds, smells, feelings, and at one point taste (ok, my girlfriend wanted me to kiss her, she had onions at dinner...) I have not seen better effects in any haunt anywhere. It was though almost to a point that it no longer was a "haunted attraction" but a "fun house". I know that the two have fuzzy lines but that was my feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent. Great job. I really liked it all.

Summary: Overall I would have to say that Dreamreapers this year was more of a "fun house" than what I consider a haunted attraction. I think that more consideration has been put into detail and props. I did notice that the name of it on here does mention something about selling their props. Maybe that is why they have so many in their haunt. It was a little disappointing as I wanted more action and less animatronics.

Reviewed by: ThatGuy   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location, easy to find. Flashing sign on the corner and lighting on the building made it hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: Not a long wait because it was early, but Dream Reapers had an interesting new photo feature, Spike Mike- The Return, and surprisingly enough massage chairs. Cool idea, but I hope for their sake the chairs don't get completely destroyed!

Length of Event: Maybe 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very, very Good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect the night I went.

Appropriate Ages: Depends, I'd say 11+

Props / Special FX: Nicley done.

Costumes / Make-up: Also very well done.

Summary: Dream Reapers is my first stop every year. To me, they are the best in the area. As always, they put on a great show, Andy the Corpse looked great in his newer role, and the guys in the barrels with the glowing faces were terrific, and highly memorable. 
 
If you are a fan of Dream Reapers, this year will have it's positives and negatives. For the positives, so many little accents here and there that made the overall house more enjoyable. Lighting changes, maze changes, extra special effects all over the place. Make no mistake, the haunt flowed so smoothly this year that it really is hard to find anything to complain about. 
 
The reason they get an 8, though, instead of the usual 9 I'd give them, was that there were no big time changes that really were ground breaking. It seemed like mostly little changes, which were cool, but after paying $60 to see last years show 4 times, there almost didn't seem to be enough changed to warrant a second trip this season. 
 
That said, our group had a great time, we loved it, the actors were awesome. Show-Me the Clown is a classic. If you didn't see Dream Reapers last year, you -must- see it this year. If you saw it last year, you -should- see it this year.

Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was good same location as last year

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was a good a very actors wear entertaining the crowd in the buiding at outside

Length of Event: 10 min diffrent groupds walk at diffrent rates

Actor Performance: actore peformance was poor. they had better years. some actors in the house broke characters and some of them just stood there and didnt even say anything. i wne twith someone an actor new and they talked to him the whole seenliek thy talk in school not very scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was okay ran into a group in the hillbilly part

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: props and special effect where reat in this house scences and stuff look very realistic

Costumes / Make-up: costumes and makeup where perfect for scenes the best make up i sw was on sat the 20th the guy taking tickets in the begaining had excellent make up

Summary: overall this haunted house wasnt that scary dream reapers always had a scary haunted house in the past this year wasnt there best it could of been better actor more ethusiastic and actors breaking character and scenes same as last year overall not as scary as last year

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at