Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: splfdperson   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/18/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Had GREAT entertainment while waiting in line! This year they had a new monster that was terrorizing and scaring people in line. We loved it... made the time go by much faster. It was very entertaining to see him chasing and scaring other people!!!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes once inside

Actor Performance: Not as good as past years, but still a good time! This year it seemed like there were less actors then past years.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Very cool illusions as always. We noticed a couple new props and I think a new room also.

Summary: Overall, we had a blast! It seems that this haunted house changes something every year... so its not always the same! I think that the long line is part of the fun, especially with the new monster!!! This was our fourth year going and will definitly go next year!

Reviewed by: horselover   (Event Visited: 10/31/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wonderful location. Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Entertaining.

Length of Event: Longer than expected.

Actor Performance: Very good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Wonderful

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Awesome

Costumes / Make-up: Wonderful

Summary: My husband and I really enjoyed visiting Terror On The Square tonight. We will definately be returning year after year. It was a wonderful way to spend Halloween night. Great job!!!

Reviewed by: darklaff31   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy; all roads lead to the downtown square. Parking is not an issue as most businesses are closed for the evening.

Wait Entertainment: very creepy, seven foot, two-headed ghoul walked the crowd line and kept us on our toes. Wait was appx. 1.5 hrs, but was well worth the wait.

Length of Event: 12-15 min. not counting the stay at the sign-in reception room. Plenty to take in as every square inch is covered with eerie artifacts. Plus, there is a shop to browse before leaving.

Actor Performance: first rate. the interaction between the real and "unreal" performers were seamless, given the complex set pieces we witnessed. The importance of precise timing must have been a crucial element for the actors; a very dedicated troupe.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very smooth, not rushed. Never saw/heard other groups. the flow takes a curiously organic/liquid quality; rarely we moved in a single line and I found myself at the front, the middle, and the end of the line without realizing it. creepy.

Appropriate Ages: under 10-probably not, unless with a trusted adult who wont mind the bruised forearms. Then again, I saw a grown man in my group screech like a barn owl going through so who can really say.

Props / Special FX: this is one of the most beautifully designed haunted houses I have seen. The lavish, intricate details of each room's art direction is merely the set up for the mind-blowing scares and illusions that populate this event. Truly professional, Hollywood-grade spfx. Plus an elevator ride that had me asking on the drive home "Wait, didn't we just...?"

Costumes / Make-up: Apart from the creature walking the line, all the performers wore a unique make-up design that looked like to me as if they stepped out of an old forgotten photograph. Appropriate, given the historical backstory given to us by the guide.

Summary: This is not a thrown-together piecemeal production. The news articles hanging on the reception walls say that Terror On The Square has been a Petersburg fixture for 15 years. That is a lon g time to evolve, and it shows. This is a tight, professionally-run production that smoothly merges all the above categories into a unforgettable, visceral experience. By that I mean, I wasn't just watching something happen; it was happening to me. That was something I certainly did not expect. Everyone involved should be proud of their efforts.

Reviewed by: boeks14   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Small town with great hospitality. Easy to get to.

Wait Entertainment: Could use a little more outside while waiting.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: excellant

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very Good

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: best special effects I have seen out of the haunted houses. Better than any in saint louis!

Costumes / Make-up: amazing

Summary: Simply the very best haunted house I have ever been to!!!! The special effects are amazing and every worker there seems to have a real love for the work they are doing. Great Job

Reviewed by: Allykat   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is very easy to find, parking could be found withing a block or two away because it was on the square.. Great outside attractions.. casket, herse.. etc...

Wait Entertainment: Its always been fun waiting in line for this event, you see people from other states and people who drove so far to come see this event.. We actually were able to buy Advanced tickets to go to the front of the line.. and wow were they cheap.. like $13 reg. tickets were 8 i think.. but SOOOO worth the wait, worth the money.. it was mindblowing.. and always is year after year..

Length of Event: It overall lasted maybee around 20 min. i wasnt really keeping close time i was so thrilled..

Actor Performance: The actors were great, year after year they are always fun upbeat exciting and get into the theme.. Our tour guide was the best we have ever had.. The illusions are the best i have ever seen.. the electric chair, the woman in the hall way, and OMG the guy in the casket room who blows out the candle.. oh how freaky.. special effects were fantastic.. i wouldn't miss this event for the world! Guy in the elevator ceiling.. freaked me out..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: So many people.. people wrapped around the block in the pouring rain.. waiting.. all of the scenery is great i cant say enough good things about Terror on the Square.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.. i would recomend they are aware of all the scenery inside.. things pop out everywhere..

Props / Special FX: ILLUSION>>> BEST i have ever seen Shawn is the man when it comes to the FX..

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone from the ladies in the gift shop to the actors throughout the house were in perfect atire and form for this old funeral home..

Summary: Overall.. you have to go see it.. it will blow your mind.. ths gift shop is amazing.. shirts, jewelry you must have.. you wont be sorry you waited in line.. Its worth every second.. everyone is very friendly and you should go check it out!

Reviewed by: ZedRot   (Event Visited: 10/21/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find once in Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: A guy on stilts walked around and interacted with the crowd.

Length of Event: 10 Minutes

Actor Performance: The acting was excellent. All the actors were adults and really into their parts. The actor creativity was amazing. An actor picked up on the name of one of the ladies in our group and just kept calling her by name. It had her freaking out...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They had guides. The guides were a wonderful and integrated part of the show.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The props and rooms were outstanding. The ghosts are an incredible effect.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the actors had makeup and looked really great. The actors were just top to bottom excellent.

Summary: This was my first time to this event. I drove about an hour and I just LOVED this show. It was WELL worth an hour drive. The actors were perfect and the parts they played amazing. Within our group you were either smiling or screaming the entire time. The interactive guides are such a great addition to the show and the ghosts amazing. The only draw back I can see is the wait was long for the show length. Of course any good haunted house will have an hour wait at the end of October and this show was the best one I have seen in years.

Reviewed by: dhuff   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's a vwery good location was easy to find parking.

Wait Entertainment: Long wait but worth the wait.

Length of Event: I'd have to say about 10 min or so

Actor Performance: The actors were for very good there was a big scary looking creature with two heads working the crowd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was pretty good. You never ran into the group ahead of you. Had a tour giude that was good.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The illussi0ns were good made it seem very real. Felt like you were in a real a haunted funneral home.

Costumes / Make-up: It was very good the actors looked great and played there parts well.

Summary: I was defeentilly scared as I went through. The defentillay deserve to ranked 3rd in the state if not even 2nd. It makes you feel like your in one of sacry halloween movies.

Reviewed by: Satansangel   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Tall two-headed scary guy worked the crowd.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Mostly adults. Everyone was on cue and stayed in character!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guide kept us at a pace.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Excellent props and special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly make up, whick was nice. The whole Ghostly theme worked well with the building.

Summary: Really did enjoy the house, a bit short for the LONG wait in line. Not limiting speed passes for all who want them would be a bit more customer friendly.

Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right oon the square in downtown Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: A monster on stilts strolled the streets.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: adult actors. Everyone was very very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was a host who controlled your speed. So we never ran into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Outstanding sets and props.

Costumes / Make-up: Majority of spooks had make up. Everyone was very professional.

Summary: Really enjoyed the event, they deserved the ranking of #3 Haunted House in the state. The event was a bit short for as long as you had to wait in line. We drove a long way to visit this haunt with the intention of visiting other haunts in the area. Because they would only allow a limited number of speed passes we were unable to skip the line. Because of this we missed all the other houses we intended to see. Why they would turn away the extra money is boggling to me. It would be wise to accomodate peoples time, if they want to pay for a speed pass take their money.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at