Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2007 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Doom & Mercy General Hospital (Grayslake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/31/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you don't know the area. Located in the Lake County Fairgrounds and the area is pretty dark. There are new signs outside that show where to turn in, but could use some more lighting.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. As soon as we walk up, 2 actors started harrassing my daughter and her friend. Her friend is scared of clowns and of course they knew this and made sure to follow her throughout the line. Lots of actors working the line, horror movies playing and some eye candy to check out.

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Excellent. One of the reasons I come to his haunt is the actors. The actors are always in character and are pretty intense. As always they did a great job last night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was good - we only ran into another group once.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and over.

Props / Special FX: Were very good. Lots of great special f/x to check out throughout the house. Loved the excercisim and Mercy Hospital is probably my favorite part of the house because of it's details.

Costumes / Make-up: Nicely done. Loved the psycho door man - very creepy. Lots of great costumes and make up.

Summary: This was my second visit to this house this year. And it was the best of the 2x I went. Lots of great detail in the house. The actors were pretty intense and chose great places to jump at you from. Mercy Hospital was short, but very well detailed and my favorite part of the haunt. 
The only complaint I had, was buried alive part of the attraction. This is usually my favorite part of the haunt, but yesterday there were way too many people crammed into the area. So many when we kneeled down I was right ontop of the guy in front of me, and I couldn't stand back up after. Someone could get hurt doing this. In this case, less is more and has a much better effect of claustiphobia in this room. 
Overall I love this house, we had a great time last night and are looking forward to next year!

Reviewed by: Actor4010   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was very easy to find. 

Wait Entertainment: there were a few actors in the crowd, and they were very good, and in character the whole time. i got freaked out a few times!

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into another group. 
in the excorcist room. 
then we were waiting to get buried alive for awhile. 
but wasnt too long.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: the speical effects were awesome! there were alot of animatronics, and the props were very well put together.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes/make-up were amazing! this is the best ive seen so far.

Summary: overall. 
this was a good haunted house. 
it was well put together. 
and i would go again next year. 
the special effects,costumes/make-up, scenes, props etc. were all very well put together.

Reviewed by: ghoulyweds   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This could be improved for those that do not know where the fairgrounds are located. (perhaps a spotlight)

Wait Entertainment: Getting there early is for our group, the only way to go. We waited about 1/2 hr inside the "barn" area and as usual plenty of good visual effects.

Length of Event: Very good - about 20-25 mins.

Actor Performance: Very good - they were always ready for us to arrive!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good throughout!!

Props / Special FX: Thought the exorcism room could be improved upon. Did not feel the desired effect because of being in the room with 20 other people. group I was with also felt the same.

Summary: As usual, one of the best haunts and a highlight of the halloween season for our group. However - OUR ENTIRE GROUP DID NOT LIKE HAVING 4 ROWS OF PEOPLE IN THE BURIED ALIVE PORTION! We were all told to sit (which everyone except the guy running it could see that that was not going to possible) and then told "ok, well everyone kneel" well, thus, we were all kneeling staring at everyone else when we were supposed to be BURIED. I know that this is to help move the flow through the haunted house, however, this being one of the top reasons that this house is so good, they should not sacrafice the effect for timing. I think we would all wait the 5-10 extra minutes to experience that room as it states... Buried alive... unless they would like to buy more of the plastic balls...

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. There are signs off 120, but poorly lit. I like the fact that it's isolated on a big field, as opposed to a minogolf place or strip mall storefront.

Wait Entertainment: Great HUGE indoor wait area with actors all over the place.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: ABsolutely fantatsic. The acting is always good at D.O.D.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair. Groups behind us caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Awesome. Great effects, from the twitchy guy hanging in the waiting room to all the great scenes in Mercy Hospital.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantatsic! Great detail on ALL characters

Summary: D.O.D. is ALWAYS my favorite haunt do to the time,effort, and $$$ put into it. There are some terrific scenes in there. From the plexiglass guy "from above" to the "Scream" movie scene that jumps out at you, this one has it all. The acting is A+. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, and an absolute must for Haunt fans.

Reviewed by: redz   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is ok, feels more like you are at a rodeo then a hunted house.... Not to hard to find on the other hand.

Wait Entertainment: waited 3 hrs expected... they had people walking around but for the most part it was the norm, nothing to really talk about

Length of Event: not long at all, on there myspace they claim 2 houses there is only one event/attraction  

Actor Performance: i would say ok!!! The only people that seemed to be screeming were the 14 yr and younger girls.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: at first it was ok, then the group behind us cought up in like 5 mins, and we were by no means going slow. to many areas of waiting for loads of people to catch up before moving on. one area i couldent even see cuz there was like 30 people in one room. Nothing i havent seen before in other houses, i didnt really see anything new to me. it was so so just too many rooms seemed as if they really just there for look!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: they did have some good props and special FX. But that is expected.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes looked ok, did a decent job

Summary: I hope this is not what has come to be huanted houses of the future. Nobody comming out seemed to be scared or talking about the house! I was very disappointed, saw there myspace and claimed 2 houses but there really is only one. 14 bucks is a little pricey at 20 min house. Over all its a subpar house to others i have been too this year. Hope they really upgrade next year!

Reviewed by: lilmansox   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: if you know the area ur fine otherwise it might be hard

Wait Entertainment: there are a lot of actors in line and there are tv's playing horror clips

Length of Event: 25 min.

Actor Performance: very good they are always enthusiastic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: bad usually it is good but we were constantly on top of the group ahead of us

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: very good like usual get there early otherwise it can be a long weight but there are actors i would say this year was the best year because they added a lot of things and if ur use to the usual burried alive then done there is the whole hospital thing still all in all a good expierience

Reviewed by: PartyCentral   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is pretty easy to find, but you need to keep your eyes pealed because the signage is not great. Once you get into the fairgrounds, you can hear the screams and chainsaws so you'll know where to go.

Wait Entertainment: We were the first people there on opening day, waiting about 30 min until it opened. Actors did come outside of the haunt before they opened the doors which made our heart rates speed up a little bit before entering the actual attraction. We did not wait in line, since we were first in line, but it looked to me like the wait line would be pretty cool with the strobe lights and in-line entertainment.

Length of Event: The length was the best it has been in years. We never caught up to anyone...well I was the first one through for the year so I guess I wouldn't huh?

Actor Performance: The actors were great, but they are always great at DOD. They were all pumped up and ready to scare you so the timing was right on and the energy level was through the roof.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Can't really say, but we moved nice and easy through. I would say it took about 13 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: Profanity was used so I would say 12+ is appropriate enough.

Props / Special FX: A lot more props this year, except they didn't have that awesome opening scene where the electrocute someone. They made up for it though with the sweet exorcism. Very cool! Mercy General was okay, could have been better. The buried alive part is always the best special haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and Make-up were just as good as any great haunted house. The mercy general scene was very good make up.

Summary: Overall, DOD was as good as it's ever been. All of the scenes were very good, especially the guy on the plexi-glass ceiling. Definitely worth a second trip this year!

Reviewed by: spoon   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know the area, you won't have a problem. But you need to turn into the fairgrounds from Rt. 120 and it isn't well lit, so watch carefully.

Wait Entertainment: Just one actor scurrying about. The line was short when we arrived.

Length of Event: About 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were all enthusiastic and stayed in character, which was tough with the group of rowdy teenage boys right behind us. Good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not bad. The group behind us caught up to us less than 1/2 way through, but it may be because we were going too slow. It didn't seem like it though.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up seems good, though we passed a younger kid on the way out who was overheard to say that it wasn't very scary.

Props / Special FX: Real nice job on the animatronics. Some of them were very effective. For some, however, the mechanics were too visible and spoiled it.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job. DOD always does a great job with the costumes.

Summary: It's been 3 years since we've visited DOD so we were anxious to see what's new. Of course the haunted relied quite a bit on the standard "boo!" scare, but that's alright because the actors executed it well. I like the animatronics and some of them were cleverly executed so they really surprised you. Others, not so much. All in all, though, it delivered the scares and we had a real good time. When we got to the Buried Alive part, though, it bogged down. The crowd got thicker and it became uncomfortably hot and stuffy. We were herded into the room and it seemed like it took forever to load the room up with people. Standing there like cattle in the stifling heat, it became more scary to think how long we'd be stuck there squashed together than what was about to happen. That's unfortunate because the Buried Alive effect was very cool when it eventually happened. Then we were emptied out to Mercy General which to me seemed very brief, much shorter than the 5 minutes others have reported. I thought it was an anticlimactic ending.

Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well, like everyone is saying, it can be hard to find if you don't know the area. The best entrance is the Rt. 120 entrance if that helps.

Wait Entertainment: Very, very, well done. There were i think 3 or 4 actors outside. "Dozer" got me the most.

Length of Event: depends on the group. I'd say... 
Haunt-20 min 
burried alive-2-5min(depends on your wait) 
mercy general-5-7 min

Actor Performance: This was also very good. There was high energy everywhere. Actors came out of places i didn't even know they were supposed to be (which is what they should do). I.e. barbed wire corridor. room made to look like you walk left and the actor comes from the left! AWESOME JOB HERE GPT ENT.!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was pretty good, could be better. I ran into the group in front of us once and the group behind us blended with us. Try to fix that DOD.

Appropriate Ages: what they say is right 12 and up. But it really depends on the person, there was an 8 year old who got less scared than me.

Props / Special FX: Very very good here. TONS of pneumatics and very loud music and sound fx.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent. All actors fully dressed and very realistic make up. Always do good here.

Summary: All in all, i always like this haunt. I feel that removing exorcist from the front is a good way to stay with your own group instead of a big mass of people. For me, the best scares were "Ressurection of Frank 'n Stein", all picture drops, "Insane asylum", "skin'd alive", clown room, and illusion corridor (watch out for this room!) Cant wait to go back!!!!

Reviewed by: ericatom1   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is pretty easy to find as it is located in the lake county fairgrounds, however if you are not fariliar with the area it could be a little tricky

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was alright. they had a very cool wait area decoration wise however I only saw 1-2 actors total inside the wait area, which was different from the last two years I visited. The last two times the actors were very interactive and in your face.

Length of Event: about 15-20 min total for the whole house including the buried alive part and mercy general hospital

Actor Performance: actors were very enthusiastic, however if you want to be scared you might want to try going in the middle or back of your group. They tend to wait until the first person has already past them to jump out. I really liked the hillbilly and the guy on top of the plexiglass ceiling

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: this area was excellent. never ran into any groups in the main house.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: they had lots of interactive props

Costumes / Make-up: great!

Summary: Dungeon of doom always puts on a great show. I enjoy going back every year to see waht they have done that's new. I did feel like something was lacking this year, but that may have been because I decided to go first thinking it would scare me more, but it was the exact opposite. I believe if I would have gone in a different order in my group I may have been more scared. I didn't really enjoy mercy general hospital. It kind of spills everyone out of buried alive and right into the hospital. walking through with a big group really makes the actors inside ineffective. overall dungeon of doom did a good job.

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you don't know the area. It is located in the Grayslake Fairgrounds, but there are no huge markers to point out the entrance, only a few signs on the fence.

Wait Entertainment: Very good - as always. Even for opening weekend, they had good actors working the crowd. The priest and madman were excellent.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: One of the reasons I love this house is the actors. And they didn't fail to disappoint this year. There were a few that were outside dancing, but the actors working the line were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. Another group ran into us, but towards the end and it may have been because we were pretty slow.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and older

Props / Special FX: Were very good. They do not have any special shows this year, and I was a little disappointed, but they make it up with the rooms - especially the clown rooms and mercy hospital which were nicely done.

Summary: I am a huge fan of this house, and have been going for years - sometimes even 2x a year to show my friends. This year the house was a little disappointing, no "show" in the beginning, and the 2nd house - Mercy Hospital - only lasted about 5 minutes. That was the most disappointing, as I loved the scenes in the hospital. 
Over-all it was a great time, the scenes were excellent, special f/x were great and the actors made the house (as always)- even for opening weekend.

Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sort of difficult if you do not know the area. There's a very small sign, so just keep your eyes pealed.

Wait Entertainment: Indoor waiting area with some monsters, and some very cool effects to watch. Some surprising pneumatics scared my group.

Length of Event: 8-10 minutes, a little bit shorter then last year. Also, they cut out the second house.

Actor Performance: For this i have very high expectations because i am a haunt actor at another local haunt. The actors were both very good and very poor. I was scared by some actors. Some had flawless technique, but they did not know how to utilize their power tools i.e. electric chainsaws, etc. I was dissapointed to see one actor break character, and didn't resume charachter even after I criticized him about it. Also, I was touched by actors a few times. As a haunt actor, i would never complain about a fellow actor, but that is a fure sure way to get sued and/or fired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group in front of us several times. It might of been that they were very slow, but it is the haunt managers responsibility to insure that it flows correctly.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the kid. I'd say 10 at a MINIMUM.

Props / Special FX: They cut out a lot of pneumatic cannons that really scared me in previous years. Some great pop-outs that were really decieving. Some actually struck members of my group. Another big no-no. But all in all it was very cool, I had a very good time.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good as usual.

Summary: Overall, it was a very good haunt. I had bias expectations because their previous year was incredible. This is still the only haunt that has made me jump (and Ive been to most in Illinois).

Reviewed by: radsponge   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find, I found out because the village does not allow DD to use lit signage. You have to head North on rt. 45 and then take a left onto the access road, then another left into the fairgrounds, but at night you have to go slow to see the signs

Wait Entertainment: Really creepy clown was good. They also have an actor that can slide on his knees/feet to create sparks. Very effective and is used out West in CA Universal Studies.

Length of Event: 15 min, then buried alive, then 5 min Mercy hospital

Actor Performance: The actors out front, in the clown room, hillbilly room, and mercy hospital are all good, staying in their character and confronting you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Although on a Sat. night, it was 2nd night open so line was non-existent. Half off second ticket is a bonus for opening weekend.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: Couple of nice large manipulated monsters. Detail in Mercy Hospital very good. Clown room suprise also good (not giving it away).

Costumes / Make-up: Line entertainment actors very well made up. For most actors seen inside, very good costumes, most painted faces, very few masks, except in camouflage rooms.

Summary: Very dark haunt, they know where you are and you get spooked. Well worth the drive from Chicago. Buried alive very unsettling for me, I almost lost it.

Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was kinda hard to see if u arent use to the area it is at the lake county fair ground there a sign thats not light to point you to the direction

Wait Entertainment: awsome the atmosphere around u when u wait in line also there were plenty of actor entertaining and scareing people in line

Length of Event: 10-15 depending how long people walk threw a haunted attraction

Actor Performance: the actor performance where excelent they all did there scene well actors very ethusiastic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the patron the flow was good flow was okay ran into one group but it was good

Appropriate Ages: no one under the age of 12 deffently

Props / Special FX: prop and special effect awsome in the out house and waiting area very realistic

Costumes / Make-up: costujes and make up wear excellent the make up looked realistic

Summary: otherwse i recomend this haunted attraction to anyone the location was great very dark nd the hous eis excellent alot better then last year so i recommened this haunted attraction deff

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at