Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by CHOKEU2

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Haunted Dungeon 2007 (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: CHOKEU2   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Minimal wait. No monsters walking the crowd, but a smelly, creepy view into the pet shop while you wait.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: The performance was good. They seemed a bit short on actors, however, as a few rooms were unmaned.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. You get a rope and can go at your own pace. However, the mosters move you along if you're taking too much time in one room.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: This is a great creepy basement with smelly mildew that is built into the event. Low ceilings, areas to crawl, things that come up from below. Good use of noise. The maze was a little overlit.

Costumes / Make-up: Good costumes. Freddy was very "life-like". The scaries scare of all was the kid coming up from below, crawing out of a hole. Great timing on his part as I was the last in my group. Great acting as he "just missed" my feet about three times and I pushed the rest of my group forward to get away!

Summary: I love the location of this event. I think they were shy a few actors that could have upped the scaring throughout. Overall, it was good for the cost and the wait and close to home.

Event Reviewed: Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: CHOKEU2   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location. Nobody has trouble finding it.

Wait Entertainment: 2+ hours without fast pass. 30-45 minutes with fast pass

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This is a prime example of HH that relies too heavily on horror moview characters. The scaries guy walking the waiting crowd was "nobody" in particular. The "Mike Meyers" and the "Saw" guys just don't have enough personality to scare the people waiting in line. Kudos to the hairy guy dragging the axe. Inside, the guide was a nuisance. I realize that a guide is helpful in pacing the event, but this year, she just got in the way of the fun. The stand out actor inside was the clown with the bar in his head. He gets my vote for best makeup too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: See guide issues.

Appropriate Ages: 12 & up

Props / Special FX: Liked the slide, but it caused a pile up at the bottom of it. The guide at the bottom didn't let us move out of the way of the incoming sliders. The walk through the forrest is usually pretty good as part of the walkway collapses, but there was no ghoul there to scare us as we shifted to the left. Some of the rooms we went into were unmanned.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Loved the clown behind bars. Otherwise it was pretty dark and hard to see many of the monsters.

Summary: I know I should only post positive comments, but when you get a lot of hype about a HH, and you wait in such long lines, you do expect more of a bang for your buck. We saved this HH for last because we've visited them in the past and had great experiences. This year was not one of them. There were two other HHs in the area that we visited that were better in the scaring department, a lot less money and a minimal wait to boot.

Event Reviewed: Nightmare Pavilion (Mahomet, Illinois)
Reviewed by: CHOKEU2   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house is a gem! However, they need a bit more direction and lighting on the signs to get you in and back to this creepy setting back in the woods of this sportsman club. On the other hand, take the wrong turn and go to the left. You'll find yourself driving around the eerily quiet and abandoned junk yard area and deer infested lakeside property which will get the creepies going in you as you look for signs of civilization.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was just right. 15-20 minutes was just enough time to be tourtured by the 10 ft tree ghoul and the extra crazy chainsaw guy while you wait in line to get in.

Length of Event: It was pretty good. 7-10 minutes...

Actor Performance: This event is run by kids. There are adults taking tickets and supervising, but the ghosts and ghouls are kids/grandkids of the club members. They do a fine job in timing and acting. We especially liked the "Ring" girl who was just the right size and had the perfectly timed ear-piercing scream.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Loved it. No ropes, no guide. You just hang on to the person in front of you for dear life!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Rooms had just the right about of lighting. Focus was drawn to inanimate objects when you first walk in the room leaving you prey for the hiding monsters. Good use of noise.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: This HH has the potential for some serious following, though, I'd hate for it to get so big that you had a 2 hour wait to get in. The kids do a much better job of scaring than adults that I've seen in other HHs. Also, having this event at the club allows for a separate building with clean indoor toilets and the ladies of the club prepare food and goodies for hungry patrons. This is an awesome outing.

Event Reviewed: Marrs Hauling, Landscaping and More Halloween Haunted House (Urbana, Illinois)
Reviewed by: CHOKEU2   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Finding this place was easy, but the event was not what you excpect. The "attraction" is a blow up haunted house in the front yard of a trailer in Ivanhoe Trailer Park.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting. There was no line. There were no people...at all.

Length of Event: It was a walk through a blow up haunted house.

Actor Performance: The "regular-looking" guy standing out front of the trailer working with the table saw was the scariest of all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You walked in the blow up house and back out.

Props / Special FX: The blow up house was kind of a joke, but kudos for the decorations around the house and the trailer.

Costumes / Make-up: Didn't see any characters, except for the table saw guy.

Summary: I don't feel this was an "attraction". It was a drive by for the kiddies who might be too young or too scared to go to a "real" haunted house attraction. I see why it was listed for Free.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at