Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by batesmotel13

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Amenti (DeKalb, Illinois)
Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is very easy to find in downtown Dekalb. There are signs strewn about town, and the theatre is nicely lit up. There are red spotlights shining upon the statues on the building. It is creepy and beautiful.

Wait Entertainment: There is a guy with a mask that attempts to interact with the crowd. There is also a film recording playing while inside the building waiting. The real wait entertainment was hearing the people being chased and scared out of the place. On the other side of the wall where you wait, the people exit and you can hear their screams and running. It definitely made it so much better.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes (about). I didn't keep time.

Actor Performance: Most of them were good. There were some that were good at the in-your-face scares, but a lot of them were just plain creepy and eerie. They took great advantage of us being distracted by something else and surprising us. The evil Santa was amazing as well as the girl on the bed in the strobe room. There were, howvever, some that had very poor timing in which the people in the front of our group never saw them at all! It was very frustrating to those who enjoy the actual scene (including the actor)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was okay. A group nearly caught up with us; we could hear them coming up behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: There were a lot of strobe lights and loud noises. There was music playing throughout the whole event and it fit perfectly to every scene. It was flawless. There were scenes decorated well, i.e. cochroaches in the bathroom and the Christmas scene was wonderful. The one scene outside featured a very bloody man and a few stairs. The guardrail for the stairs had blood on it! I was the only one who noticed because no one in my group used it, but it was crazy for me. I had sticky blood on my hand all night. Totally awesome, guys!

Costumes / Make-up: The bloody man was awesome--like Carrie at the prom scene. The clown had the most unique face I've ever seen. All in all, they were good in that department (except for the wait entertainment guy). Don't let him discourage you though.

Summary: It was quite good. Definitely not for people who have any sort of physical hindrances because it is loaded with stairs. I had problems because I hurt my knee recently so I had to use the guard rail and go a bit slower, but it was okay. If you can manage that, go. Go. It's both theatrical and scary, a perfect combo.

Event Reviewed: Trail of Screams 2 (Stillman Valley, Illinois)
Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's easy to find even if you are from out of town. There are signs.

Wait Entertainment: There is this guy standing with the group. He might talk to you, but we interacted amongst ourselves. We waited just a few minutes though so it wasn't a big deal. We scared eachother.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were really intense, especially the clowns. We heckled them and they gave us junk right back. The gravedigger played her part excellently and must need a lot of cough drops. However, a few of them did seem really tired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group. It was good.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: They seemed to lack here. There were chain saws and some detailing, but most of the great effects were sent to the counterpart in Rockford. The actors balanced it out though.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent as always. Especially the clowns.

Summary: It's probably worth it to pay the $7-8 to get through for the twenty minutes. The actors put forth a lot of energy and try to scare. It just may have been an off night/time when we went as a lot of people as we were coming in were saying that it wasn't good. Still, give it a go. Wholesome family fun.

Event Reviewed: Terror on the Railroad (Union, Illinois)
Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Even if you are from out of town, it is very easy to find. The directions on the website are perfect. Just follow the signs to the railroad museum.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any. The entire ordeal is outside (with the obvious exception of the train rides) so be warned of the cold waiting.

Length of Event: an hour perhaps. When I went there was no waiting for it to begin but there is perhaps ten minutes within dedicated to waiting on platforms for another train.

Actor Performance: The actors were excellent even though we were the last group and they had had a busy night, they still maintained a high energy level. The clown was brilliant, completely in his part as well as the girls performing the seance. They made me jump a bit. The butcher and lonely girl wanting to play hide and seek followed our group for a long time harassing us and fighting with eachother. They really went all out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Because the entire event is dependant on the train, the flow is good. Once inside the Screamliner, they break the groups up into even smaller groups which ultimately gets merged into a giant mob.

Appropriate Ages: 10+, maybe younger. 
They were really considerate to another group when someone asked them to tone it down because someone in that group gets easily scared. For the not faint of heart, it could be intense.

Props / Special FX: You walk through two trains. The first is very nicely decorated. It seems realistic. There is some music as well. The second one cheapens itself on props which isn't as important because it is actually moving while you're going through it.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were okay. Some characters seemed to have incomplete ones but most were very good. The makeup, on the other hand, was bloody brilliant. Every single character had excellent gore and bruises and really enhanced the experience so much. Seriously, go and examine the makeup--it was that awesome.

Summary: I'm not easily scared. I've actually never been scared ever going through a haunt before, but this one did make me jump. I would highly recommend that everyone go. The price is good, especially when noted that the trains have to run on something other then crushed bones. The entire train concept is really very unique and fun. Most importantly, the actors put forth all of their energy and really want to make it awesome for each group. It is completely worth it. Make it out to Union this year.

Event Reviewed: Trail of Screams (Rockford, Illinois)
Reviewed by: batesmotel13   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Coming from the north, it's awful. There is a sign warning about the YMCA camp and it is imperative to slow down upon seeing it, otherwise you will miss your turn. From the south, it's very simplistic. There's a well lit sign with an arrow and the tree line is visible for miles.

Wait Entertainment: There's this really tall guy who looks like he's from "The Village" walking around messing with people. He came out of nowhere to sneak up on us. Also, the music blaring really added to the whole atmosphere. The ticket taker, though not scary, was really fun and kept us entertained while we waited to enter the house.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of them were really good, especially the first girl in the first scene. She entered perfectly (and surprisingly) and attacked the group excellently. The maniacal doctor nearly made a couple of girls pee their pants and the cannibal house displayed flawless timing and grosteque skills.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There are a lot of strobe lights. A lot. There's, once again, the elevator that drops out (and the guy operating it was quite scary). They really utilized creative entrances this year to scenes. Several times you need to crawl or fit through tight or weird places (i.e. a fire place or refridgerator). The scenes are magniciently detailed, unfortunately you do not get to stay in them long enough to really examine the subtley of the art.  
 

Costumes / Make-up: They were good, for the most part. The actors themselves had great makeup and okay costumes (especially the hospital victim). There were, however just some guys running around in black costumes. But, mostly it was good.

Summary: All in all, it was good. Unfortunately, the staff decided to forgo the signature guides this year and let groups lead themselves through. They're given a flashlight, and I suppose it's meant to be really creepy. Honestly, not a lot happens on the trail itself except for some ropes blocking you from places you shouldn't be. We were mixed with another group and I got to hold the flashlight and the people from the other group asked me to tell stories along the way. A lot of the drama and suspense seems to die without the guides. However, it was an excellent year. Some same stuff, but a lot of new. I would highly recommend going, especially for only ten bucks. If you're looking in the Rockford area, in my opinion, you really can't find a better haunt.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at