Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by bigstick4u

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Mercy General Hospital (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. There are signs off 120, but poorly lit. I like the fact that it's isolated on a big field, as opposed to a minogolf place or strip mall storefront.

Wait Entertainment: Great HUGE indoor wait area with actors all over the place.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: ABsolutely fantatsic. The acting is always good at D.O.D.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair. Groups behind us caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Awesome. Great effects, from the twitchy guy hanging in the waiting room to all the great scenes in Mercy Hospital.

Costumes / Make-up: Fantatsic! Great detail on ALL characters

Summary: D.O.D. is ALWAYS my favorite haunt do to the time,effort, and $$$ put into it. There are some terrific scenes in there. From the plexiglass guy "from above" to the "Scream" movie scene that jumps out at you, this one has it all. The acting is A+. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, and an absolute must for Haunt fans.

Event Reviewed: Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility off a main street.

Wait Entertainment: There was nobody in line. but there were "monsters" waiting to scare people

Length of Event: 10 minutes,tops.

Actor Performance: POOR! One of the "wait" actors was flirting with the girl selling tickets. Inside the house the actors were NOT acting, and didn't know if I was a customer or a "worker" as a result many were AFRAID to scare me. One actor with his mask off asked me, "are you part of a group." I told hime " I was my own group". He threw his mask back on and tried to get into character, but I had already passed him.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Decent

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: This is a low budget haunt that I visit every year for a "laugh". I don't expect much from it, because it's run by a park district, and employs mostly young teens. The house itslef isn't bad layout wise. The spinning vortex is the first room, and I've never seen that used as an opening scene at any haunt. I thought that was cool. The props and make up are a huge step down from larger haunts, but acceptable. Again, the house itself wasn't bad, but the acting, and timing of props was lousy. Maybe becuase it was their opening night. If your looking for a cheap haunt, or have kids that want to go, then this is the house for you.

Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility with lights music etc.

Wait Entertainment: None. We got there right when the doors openend and there was nobody in line.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Actors are in your face, and don't break charachter

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and older?

Props / Special FX: Awesome props especially the "Hellevator"

Costumes / Make-up: Very good detail

Summary: This is a terrifc house that doesn't get a lot of publicity for some reason. There are some real great scenes and effects in this house the TWO mazes at the end are excellent, and the acting is terrific. Check this one out!

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on a main street.

Wait Entertainment: 1 guy was scaring the heck of a teenage girl to the point of tears.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Good props and effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: This is a decent that has some good scares. From the opening doctors room, to the wall with a live body behind it that moves when you touch it. The scares are well timed, and the acting was good. Give it a shot.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at