Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by ghostnut90

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find once we got into Auburn. Lighted sign on the main street through town led us to the house.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment but the interesting thing was that you bought your tickets and was given a number. You did not have to wait in line, in the rain, tents were present and there were 2 fire pits going. When they called you number it was time.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: This is were the house was outstanding. All the actors were amazing and on cue. There was no chance for anyone going through and not jumping or screaming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any groups. Maybe because I was with a group of other adults and it seemed like running and huddling in the corners.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up. It got pretty intense in certain areas.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special FX and lighting. Plus some poewer tools- YIKES!

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was excellent. Great use- Props to you nurse and doctor downstairs! The light scame one and I jumped out of my skin!

Summary: I have to admit, after running a haunted house for the last three years, I never get scared in them. This house had me several times. The group I was with knew they were in trouble if I was jumping and yelling because of the scares. The use of rooms and props were A1. This house I would rank number 1 out of the 15 haunted house we visited this year. By the way, I think I am in love with the receptionist in the first room- she was awesome. This is a must see- can't wait to visit next year!

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/27/07 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you know a little bit about Pekin. No sign until your were there at the corner of the block where the house sat.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors- one adult- maybe teenager and 2 little kids in masks. Otherwise some heavy music.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some were great other lacked because of cues were off. Recommendation would be to not take your masks off and talk to other actors until the patrons have left the room. We saw a couple without masks on talking in the house. Plus screaming in someones ears for a long period of time is not scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up for the brave.

Props / Special FX: Lots of lighting and strob FX. One memorable room was the last room where it was red and white strobs with white strips of cloth that you had to walk through. Nice job on this room. The fog horn was great- almost felt as if something was coming up behind you.

Costumes / Make-up: Did not see any make-up. There might have been some but only saw mostly masks.

Summary: It was a nice house. Could have used some more big scares. $10.00 is a little much for this house though. If there had been more adults working might have been more enjoyable. This was the first house we visited that night so was a good start.

Event Reviewed: Into The Dark (Litchfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Once you find West Ryder street. Could have used more signs leading the way.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment but we were the first group in the event that night.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Great- actors were on cue. There were a lot of young people working that night and they all seem to be on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other group. Nice flow of patrons.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of lighting.

Costumes / Make-up: Saw mostly masks but they were all used in appropriate areas.

Summary: The item that impressed me about this house was that it was in the basement and the use of the structure. The house was cave-like. there were areas that you went in and out that you thought you were in caves. Great job and will look forward to visiting next year. Great price also!

Event Reviewed: Boo Crew (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/26/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find, actually located in a small town called Berry. Had to stop in Rochester to ask for directions. Once we saw a sign that read "Boo" it was easy to find from there.

Wait Entertainment: One mental patient that was good. A couple of undead walking through the line.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Actors were good. Actor scares were on cue. One memerable performance was towards the end a large creature with glowing eyes. He was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into anyone inside the house. There was a couple of places that you could see other patrons behind plexiglass. This was a great illusion to see.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of strobes, fog and lighting. Animatronics were off cues. We seems to opening doors and they were going off already. Some of them we missed because we were not there yet.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of both. As I said before the guy at the end with the glowing red eyes was great.

Summary: In all this was a good house to visit. For $6.00 it was a nice price. They had both children and adults working and the actors all seem to be on cue. Nice job! The only comment is that the guy letting patrons in said that they were better than a previous haunted house we had visited which raised the expectations of this house, hint don't down play other houses, they are all out for the same thing- SCARES.

Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find- have been there before.

Wait Entertainment: None, but not that bad of a wait maybe 30 minutes.

Length of Event: Right around 40 minutes. Remember groups move at different speeds.

Actor Performance: Awesome. The actors knew how to get everyone in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into a couple of groups but on the Haunted Trail they know how to seperate the groups. This worked wonders because a couple of time there were groups of 15 or more walking together.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of props, special effects were great in the woods.

Costumes / Make-up: About half and half but the masks were used in appropriate scenes.

Summary: Overall this was a great house and haunted trail. This grop really raised the standard for the area and the price could not be beat. $10.00 for both attractions. The trail used great props and small shacks to walk through( some of them looked small but they were huge once you got into them). This is a must see for the season.

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Parls sits right on route 29 close to Chillicothe.

Wait Entertainment: Freddy and Texas guys were great in the haunted trail line. Could have used wait entertainment in the haunted house line.

Length of Event: Both haunted attractions were over 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great actors were always on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into a couple of groups but use the 20 sec rule. stop and count to 20.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great use of FX and the props. Scenes were great! Falling wall in the house was awesome and so was the double Vortex tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of costumes and make-up, about half and half.

Summary: This attraction has really stepped it up since visiting about 5 years ago. Massacre Mansion was great. This is a definete must see for the season. There could have been a bigger scare at the end of the haunted trail and the mansion.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since Mazon is a small town.

Wait Entertainment: A couple were out there, a clown and old man. Suggestion: for the clown walking around: would have been more believable with make-up covering the neck.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Great: got scares and seemed to be on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into anyone in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great special FX, some surprises in a dark hallway. TOUCH the walls when walking through- you'll find it.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of costumes and make up.

Summary: This house was good overall. The ending lacked excitement, could have used a bigger scare walking out. Scenes were detailed and loved the long endless black hallways.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Have been there every year for the past 5 years!

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great. Even though there were several high school age kids, my group was jumping. Great Job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did see the group behind us but they did wait as they yelled PINEAPPLE.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Great special FX. A few surprises which was nice. Could have used a boost of music though.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of masks in the appropriate areas and good use of make-up.

Summary: Love this house for the fact that there are no guides. The scares were on cue and loved the fact of the dark maze where u had to feel your way out. Loved the fact that they actually split your group up in the middle of the haunted house. This is a must see this Halloween season.

Event Reviewed: Creatures Crypt Haunted House (Bloomington, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Ac couple of creatures. One guy with a head and knife was awesome.

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes

Actor Performance: A lot of teenagers. Could be more effective if they stayed in character longer. I think some missed their cues.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Great use of FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes and make-up.

Summary: Great Haunt! The set design is worth seeing. One thing was a little rough and that was the rope. I understand why the rope is needed but the group I was with kept getting cut off and pushed into walls when they turned the corner. Was hard to hold onto the rope at times. Creatures Crypt always does a super job!

Event Reviewed: Fearfactory Haunted House (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghostnut90   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find- been there before

Wait Entertainment: Did not have to wait. Lady working the line was fun to talk to too.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Great- everyone was in stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great did not run into any other groups. Kept moving at a nice pace

Appropriate Ages: 12 on up if they are brave.

Props / Special FX: great FX- like how you could barely see in places

Costumes / Make-up: great job with costumes and make- up.

Summary: Have been here a couple of times and the guys always do a great job. Used to run a HH so this one is definetly a MUST SEE. The scares are always on. Went with a group of adults and it was great to seem a couple of them running like chickens. Great job on the first 5 minutes of the house too- loved it. Would highly recommend.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at