Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by gorgasam

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't too hard to find as I had been there before.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any that I saw. However the wait was small.

Length of Event: 15 - 20 minutes depending on how fast you run.

Actor Performance: There were some good drop downs and there was a guy that got my girlfriend pretty good, he was laying on the casket, I am not going to say anymore! There wasn't any people that were in my face like there was last year, for that I am disappointed. I really liked the clowns last year! Bring them back!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a little rough going. Some of the scenes were a little tight but that just made my girlfriend get closer. I didn't feel rushed nor did I feel like we were going to slow. We did bump into another group but they seemed to be pretty scared and were moving slowly.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: There were lots of effects. The only place where I have seen better effects was Dreamreapers this year, but they make the darn things to sell at thier haunt! However, just like Dreamreapers it was almost to a point that it no longer was a "haunted attraction" but a "fun house". I know that the two have fuzzy lines but that was my feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were not too elaborate. The makeup was excellent though.

Summary: Overall I would have to say that Shotgun Manor this year was more of a "fun house" than what I consider a haunted attraction. I think that more consideration has been put into detail and props. It was a little disappointing as I wanted more action and less animatronics, but that is just me.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find. I had to ask around how to get to it.

Wait Entertainment: None at all. At least last year they had a guy trying to scare the high school kids.

Length of Event: 15 - 25 minutes depending on how fast you run.

Actor Performance: For Jr. High and High School Kids they did ok. Several times we caught them out of charater which was a big disappointment.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't feel rushed but we did bump into the group ahead of us on 2 occasions.

Appropriate Ages: 8 - 15 year olds.

Props / Special FX: They had some good props, the same ones I had seen LAST YEAR! What is up with all of the haunts not changing their designs this year? I am going to start asking if haunts change their designs or not. If they don't, I am not going to go from now on. I found it pretty good last year, but I didn't pay to see it twice last year, why would I pay to see it again this year if it was the same!

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing note worthy exept the guy that reads the rules. He was funny! Highlight of the haunt.

Summary: It is the same as last year. What is up with all of the haunts not changing their designs this year? I am going to start asking if haunts change their designs or not. If they don't, I am not going to go from now on. I found it pretty good last year, but I didn't pay to see it twice last year, why would I pay to see it again this year if it was the same! It was not that bad, but it was the whole package that just made me upset. From being the same to actor out of character.

Event Reviewed: The Halls of Madness (Paris, Illinois)
Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find. No signs anywhere. I found it by finding Joes Pizza.

Wait Entertainment: There was none.

Length of Event: 15 - 20 minutes depending on if you walk or run through!

Actor Performance: They were pretty good, I liked the person in the shadow room. They made me jump. I also liked the Voodoo guy with his table for heads.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a little hard to navigate. There was no clear path to go. I liked that.

Appropriate Ages: 10 - 14 year olds would be very entertained.

Props / Special FX: I liked the thing that blew air at me as well as someone beating on some cabinets that about defened me!

Costumes / Make-up: They were ok. Nothing I had not seen before except for one unusual mask that had it's tounge hanging out.

Summary: It was ok. Good for the money. I thought that it could be so much more. I liked how the guys inside never got out of character. They gave it their all!

Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates - Undertakers Laboratories - A Haunted Event (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very hard to find. There was only one sign and it was only visible from the "other" direction.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't have to wait very long, but I have to say it because I promised, BINKY YOU ARE AWSOME AND I AM YOUR PINKY FRIEND! I did also like the guy with the chainsaw, he really got my girlfriend good even though she would not complete the haunt (she had to be escorted out) she thought it was the scarest place she had been EVER.

Length of Event: 20 - 30 minutes depending on if you walk or run.

Actor Performance: Very good. There seemed to be people where I didn't expect them and none where I really expected them to be. I did enjoy the guy dressed up like a Riff Raff doctor. He was funny. I also have to say that the guy in the black light room was pretty freaky. I am really afraid of needles BAD, that is all I am going to say.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was really good. I never felt rushed but I also never felt like I was going to fast.

Appropriate Ages: Not for small kids. Ages 13+

Props / Special FX: I didn't see many effects. There was a spinning vortex (supposedly), but it was stopped for some reason and the spinning boxes were INCREDIBLE! I would have like to seen more props and a little more careful detail to the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was pretty good on some, excellent on others. You could tell who had haunted before from their makeup! Some were just all black face, clothes, etc. Others had elaborate costumes.

Summary: MUCH BETTER THAN LAST YEAR! I am glad I gave Ashmore Estates another chance. I was telling people not to go to Ashmore until best bud told me I had to give them another chance. One bad year doesn't mean that from then on it was a bad haunt. I would have to say that for the money, this is the best haunt so far this year. I have been to the ones in Chicago, Indy, and St. Louis and this one by far (once again, for the money) is the best. When we drove up, my girlfriend told me she wasn't going in because just the outside gave her the creeps. I told her that I love going to these and she was going to go. Like I said, she didn't last to the set of the first stairs before she had to be escorted out of the building. She has already been through 7 haunts this year. This is the first that really "scared" her. I think it is the whole, "This is a really haunted place" thing that got her going. Thanks for allowing me to go back in after I helped her out of the building. I would recommend this haunt to anyone and traveled 2 hours to see it, I am glad I did and more than likely will be coming back with more people.

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: gorgasam   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wasn't bad. Not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Really good. I was really impressed or maybe it was because it was the first big haunt I went to this haunting season! I really enjoyed the wait.

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes depending on if you walk or run.

Actor Performance: Really well thought out. There was not as many actors as I remember in the past. More props than actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too bad. There were not a lot of people ahead of us in line. I can see that they were no where near capacity.

Appropriate Ages: 12+ there was a slip of an actor's tounge but it was quickly corrected.

Props / Special FX: TONS of effects. Lights, sounds, smells, feelings, and at one point taste (ok, my girlfriend wanted me to kiss her, she had onions at dinner...) I have not seen better effects in any haunt anywhere. It was though almost to a point that it no longer was a "haunted attraction" but a "fun house". I know that the two have fuzzy lines but that was my feeling.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent. Great job. I really liked it all.

Summary: Overall I would have to say that Dreamreapers this year was more of a "fun house" than what I consider a haunted attraction. I think that more consideration has been put into detail and props. I did notice that the name of it on here does mention something about selling their props. Maybe that is why they have so many in their haunt. It was a little disappointing as I wanted more action and less animatronics.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at