Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by jess84

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, if you are from Pekin, you will notice the lit up sign. Persnaolly I think every haunt needs a light up sign so you can find it! They's advertised for a month now also.

Wait Entertainment: My friend and I were the only ones there but we jsut made it in time before close.

Length of Event: Longer than I expected, the building looks small but it was a long haunt, execially when you had to pick a door out of 3 to proceed with the tour.

Actor Performance: VERY Good! One of the actors picked up on my naem and they all kept calling my name. They worked really hard and disn't miss a beat by coming out to late or too early!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones there so we had no one to run into

Appropriate Ages: children shoudl have a parent, but if I got scared, it would be better for young adults and adults only

Props / Special FX: Many! Many things op out at you. They had no cheesy stuff. They had a secion where you had 3 doors to select. I picked the wrong ones twice and got the scare. They had a vortex tunnel where I was chased acrossed, a glow stick tunnel, many black tunnels, awesoem scenes...so much!

Costumes / Make-up: many! vampires, clowns, Michael meyers, Freddy...the usual bad guy crew with many other monsters.

Summary: This was the BEST hautned house I had been to in years and this season! This was more scary than Spider hiil, Spook Hollow, and Fright Night! This was well worth the money a I got the s**t (censored) scared out of me!

Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Unless you are from Forrest City, which I was not, it may not be the easiest thing to spot.

Wait Entertainment: None at all! We waited for the actores to get ready, but we had no wait!

Length of Event: Can't remember. It was based on how fast you made your way through.

Actor Performance: The scare was more like Michael Myers, classic Michael. They came out of the dark instead of chase you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was 6 of us in my group. We all got a scare

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: A maze. Inside the haunted house and outside.

Costumes / Make-up: many maked men. Michael Meyers. At the end is a skinny Santa, didn't make sence to me

Summary: I was a little disappointed this year. I went on family night for my 23 birthday. I'm sure my group and I were a lil rowdy but not disrespetful by any means. We got spooked. My group had not been to the haunt. The guide did not tell us of the ghost the lady in white which I wish she would have to get everyone in the mood. It most mostly a spook house of darkness and strobe lights, very few scenes. I will say in teh past they have had some scary spook houses where crawling in the darkness in tunnels was not a nickle and dime feature. FOrrest City used to be heard of to the people of Chicago and beyond. I'd like to see the place be what it was in the past. If you live in that area, I would suggest supporting your local spook house!

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible! they have a giat light in the parking lot that can be seen from a distance.

Wait Entertainment: Very good! I enjoyed clowns and a masked man with a chainsaw spook children and the younger adult rowd.

Length of Event: I'd say the average for thm all was 10 minutes. Each atraction took atleast that amount of time.

Actor Performance: Very good inside the trail! I was impressed! The riding trail was a disappointment. Usually it is interactive with actors jumping onto the moving wagon and things would fall on you from the trees. There was barely any actors, just scenes.It seems they have gone to all electronic figurines on the ride. The hauted house was good. There were a few scenes were the actors laughed and needed to be more serious, but for the most part they did a good job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, but inside the haunted house another group kept catching up to us. It's a smaller rooms house this year meaning 2-3 only per haunt.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: There is a tunnel you walk into, pitch black and the material around you hugs you, you must puch through and then you crawl into a square dark tunnel. You come to an end. I was scared thinking if I didn't move fast enough, an actor would come in. You must break open the tunnel, it was neat. But then you are chaised by a chainsaw! that was the scariest part. They had the tunnel again this year that makes you dizzy. It's a classic but predictable. I just with they woudl beed everythign back up. In all the haunts they feature clowns and cujoe dogs.

Costumes / Make-up: My favorite was a posessed deamon bunny. They had many costumes

Summary: This year they had an extra feature that I loved! The hot air balloon ride. I bought a bracelet and it was well worth the price! I have a fear of heights and the balloon was a neat touch! Thy need to make the hay rack ride more interactive! More monsters and thingd on the trees instead of scenes or mecahnical deamons. The trail was awesome and the haunted house has almost too many of the saem things each year. I want more scenes with actors.

Event Reviewed: Raven's Grin Inn (Mount Carroll, Illinois)
Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 4:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The town is truely an oasis in the desert. There are so many back roads filled with barns that it was easy to get lost. I never saw the signs but once we found it, the house you knew you stumbled into something amazing.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome! There is a lot to look at! Statues, art, spooky automobiles! Seriously every square inch of this place has something to feast your eye on. He has a war memorial, cars, monster sculptures...

Length of Event: almost 2 hours.

Actor Performance: Jim was the only actor but he was a treat. I don't know how he does this 360 days a year!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: slow. I was disappointed though because we had a big group and then late comers came in. It was too much! not everyone could fit in the room and I did not see all the exibits.

Appropriate Ages: Yes! There were young and the old. Howeevr the old were VERY slow and caused me to miss a lot of exhibits

Props / Special FX: Omg! way too many to list. I Loved the dark tunnels and crawling in a hearse. The slide was amazing. You literally feel like you are a bag of dirty laundry being launched into a laundry shoot from h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) I was terridied going down into the haunted cellar

Costumes / Make-up: Jim wore some silly get ups. We had another guide dressed like an englishman who spoke with an accent. He was really cute too!

Summary: Go! Seriously! If you are a spook house fan, go! It's unique and is well worth the money!Thsi is truely the Addams family! It's so neat for this man to invite us into his life!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at