Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by tbock

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Mack Manor: Hollyweird, Tinsel Town of Terror (Fox River Grove, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, lots of signs

Wait Entertainment: They had a couple movies to tie into their theme playing outstide.

Length of Event: 10 minutes, give or take

Actor Performance: Really good, they stayed inb charachter, wernt obnoxious, and did a good job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect, never ran into a group

Appropriate Ages: All ages, they have non-scarey hours if you get scared real easily

Props / Special FX: Really cool, loved the burried alive room.

Costumes / Make-up: good, all the actors had good costumes that were unique and not overdone.

Summary: I really enjoyed this haunt. They had a really unique theme, that has never been done before (to my knowledge). You get a good scare for your buck. I recommend it for anyone who wants to have a good time.

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visable, gigantic building right off of a main road.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors. Werent very scarey.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Terrible.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Bad. We ran into a group twice. An actor inside not only held us back, but he broke charachter and started talking to some people in our group

Appropriate Ages: Cant answer that, you should know your kid.

Props / Special FX: Good, lots of big $$$ effects

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: i was very dissapointed. It seemed like their theam was Alien hospital swamp trailer park. It was short. They did have a green screan where you kid get a picture which was cool.

Event Reviewed: McHenry Jaycees Haunted House (McHenry, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/15/07 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Big sign on 31.

Wait Entertainment: Two actors

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: Terrible. They just said "Move" "Get out of here!" and "Hello!" It was really obnoxious.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, never ran into a group.

Appropriate Ages: If they can walk they can go through

Props / Special FX: Pnuematic machine gun was kinda cool

Costumes / Make-up: Very very generic/basic

Summary: This was very bad haunt. It seemed as though they went to the best haunted houses in the area for the past five years and ripped off the ideas. They actually had some dangerous spots where you just fall down onto and angled wall.

Event Reviewed: Statesville Haunted Prison (Crest Hill, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/07/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could not be easier to find. Gigantic pumpkin out front and signs everyware.

Wait Entertainment: Perfect. Actors constantly harasing visitors.

Length of Event: 1 hour 17 minutes including waiting time. Just under an hour in the house.

Actor Performance: Very very good. Except a lot of them pushed the boundaries on what the could and could not do. For example, they can not physically stop someone from moving, and they tried to do that to our group several times. The use a lot of profanity.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You have to wait in several different lines, and we ran into other groups a few times which was unacceptable considering how many different times throughout the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: impossible to answer, depends on the kid. No one who you woudlnt want to hear profanity. And lots of it.

Props / Special FX: AMAIZING!!! Cool intros to both haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: PERFECT. couldnt have been any better.

Summary: It was all very cool but not very scarey. Also, the first haunt had a lot of good actors, but the second haunt didnt have actors over like 14-15 years old. It was a good time.

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: 10/05/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very difficult to find, its located behind a building, and the sign isnt very distinct.

Wait Entertainment: two actors running around the parking lot.

Length of Event: 15 minutes give or take

Actor Performance: both poor and good. They had a very high energy level, which was good. Some acted to human to be scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very very good. The haunt manager made sure that the groups were properly spaced. They had an intro piece that made sure that there was plenty of room

Appropriate Ages: depends on your kid. Thats honostly an impossible question to answer

Props / Special FX: Good, regulatory between all major haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: ok. when the actors got all up in my face I could smell the mint flavor with the blood. Also, the oil based face paint has a distinct smell, but thats probably because Im a haunt actor, and im used to smelling it for hours every night.

Summary: I enjoyed this haunt a lot. I thought that they did very well with the budget that they had. I really liked the energy from the actors. The only big issue was that it was a little too dark. Also, the chainsaw actor couldnt start his chainsaw.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Mercy General Hospital (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: tbock   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sort of difficult if you do not know the area. There's a very small sign, so just keep your eyes pealed.

Wait Entertainment: Indoor waiting area with some monsters, and some very cool effects to watch. Some surprising pneumatics scared my group.

Length of Event: 8-10 minutes, a little bit shorter then last year. Also, they cut out the second house.

Actor Performance: For this i have very high expectations because i am a haunt actor at another local haunt. The actors were both very good and very poor. I was scared by some actors. Some had flawless technique, but they did not know how to utilize their power tools i.e. electric chainsaws, etc. I was dissapointed to see one actor break character, and didn't resume charachter even after I criticized him about it. Also, I was touched by actors a few times. As a haunt actor, i would never complain about a fellow actor, but that is a fure sure way to get sued and/or fired.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into the group in front of us several times. It might of been that they were very slow, but it is the haunt managers responsibility to insure that it flows correctly.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the kid. I'd say 10 at a MINIMUM.

Props / Special FX: They cut out a lot of pneumatic cannons that really scared me in previous years. Some great pop-outs that were really decieving. Some actually struck members of my group. Another big no-no. But all in all it was very cool, I had a very good time.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good as usual.

Summary: Overall, it was a very good haunt. I had bias expectations because their previous year was incredible. This is still the only haunt that has made me jump (and Ive been to most in Illinois).

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at