Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by mastiff61701

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: we knew where we were going, not the easiest place to find.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any.

Length of Event: House was 10 minutes. Trail was 40 minutes..YES 40 minutes.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a very good job. And there were a lot of them on the trail.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we would run into groups and then were seperated again, nicely done.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: On the trail, the effects and props were fantastic. They had a ton of different sets and buildings. Notable was the bakery and cafe.

Costumes / Make-up: They had it all, masks and make up. I would recommend darkening the eyes under the masks.

Summary: So far of the 9 or so Haunted houses this year, this was our favorite. The trail was fantastic. The house lacked scares, but was fun none the less. We were one of the last groups in, and were a bit short changed. Trail is a must see!!

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/19/07 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: roaming Jason and Freddie..well done. Jason joined us at a picnic table as we devoured a hot dog.

Length of Event: 15 minutes on the trail and 12 minutes in the house.

Actor Performance: Overall nice job. Michael Meyers freaked me out coming through the woods..and Kudos little Chucky!! Dump the screaming little girls tho!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did run into groups during both events. Just stopped and counted to 10 and we were fine.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Both the trail and the house had great props and special FX. Notable was the house. I am still sick to my stomach from the spinning tunnel.

Costumes / Make-up: Over all pretty darn good.

Summary: This was a great time. We went to two different house/trails this night. Spider hill was not quite as scary, but still a great time and worth the money. Check it out!!

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/20/07 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right downtown, was very easy to find. Signs led us from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: A few people in masks roamed the crowd. A Hay rack ride pulled up in front and added to the excitement..it was like a parade of crazies.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very nice job by all the actors..must note the mini scream character. Nice job!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This house exceeded here. The atttention to detail was excellent. So many rooms were filled with props and decor, it was fun to look around and appreciate all the hard work.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was good, but if masks were on that was all they had. A big improvement would be to enhance the masks with makeup..especially the people working the lines. It would add a bit of professionalism.

Summary: Well done Mazon. From your detail, your actors and just some good down right in your face scares, very nice. This is a good Haunted House for "leaders", they get you as soon as you turn a corner.

Event Reviewed: Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right oon the square in downtown Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: A monster on stilts strolled the streets.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: adult actors. Everyone was very very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was a host who controlled your speed. So we never ran into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Outstanding sets and props.

Costumes / Make-up: Majority of spooks had make up. Everyone was very professional.

Summary: Really enjoyed the event, they deserved the ranking of #3 Haunted House in the state. The event was a bit short for as long as you had to wait in line. We drove a long way to visit this haunt with the intention of visiting other haunts in the area. Because they would only allow a limited number of speed passes we were unable to skip the line. Because of this we missed all the other houses we intended to see. Why they would turn away the extra money is boggling to me. It would be wise to accomodate peoples time, if they want to pay for a speed pass take their money.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Clinton is a small enough town that it wasn't hard to find. We have been there before.

Wait Entertainment: The only wait entertainment were monitors with a night cam watching a scare in the house

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Average. A lot of young kids. We caught a couple out of character, the casket room were not in place. The intro was excellent!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into a group in front, but a group did catch up to us in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: a couple special effects,nothing note worthy, but props were very good. A lot of work was put into the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. The intro dude had great make up.

Summary: Over all pretty good, and actually better than last year. I believe they were short staffed. A lot of rooms were empty and could have had a possible good scare. The music was not loud enough, it would have made the experience more intense.Worth visiting.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at