Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2007 Visitor Reviews Submitted by mistress

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Mercy General Hospital (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/31/07 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you don't know the area. Located in the Lake County Fairgrounds and the area is pretty dark. There are new signs outside that show where to turn in, but could use some more lighting.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent. As soon as we walk up, 2 actors started harrassing my daughter and her friend. Her friend is scared of clowns and of course they knew this and made sure to follow her throughout the line. Lots of actors working the line, horror movies playing and some eye candy to check out.

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Excellent. One of the reasons I come to his haunt is the actors. The actors are always in character and are pretty intense. As always they did a great job last night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was good - we only ran into another group once.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and over.

Props / Special FX: Were very good. Lots of great special f/x to check out throughout the house. Loved the excercisim and Mercy Hospital is probably my favorite part of the house because of it's details.

Costumes / Make-up: Nicely done. Loved the psycho door man - very creepy. Lots of great costumes and make up.

Summary: This was my second visit to this house this year. And it was the best of the 2x I went. Lots of great detail in the house. The actors were pretty intense and chose great places to jump at you from. Mercy Hospital was short, but very well detailed and my favorite part of the haunt. 
The only complaint I had, was buried alive part of the attraction. This is usually my favorite part of the haunt, but yesterday there were way too many people crammed into the area. So many when we kneeled down I was right ontop of the guy in front of me, and I couldn't stand back up after. Someone could get hurt doing this. In this case, less is more and has a much better effect of claustiphobia in this room. 
Overall I love this house, we had a great time last night and are looking forward to next year!

Event Reviewed: Trails of Terror 2007 (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/28/07 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The trails are located in a very nice park on Petterson Ave. There are quite a few signs up to show where the event and parking are located. We found the park with no problems. There is also a free shuttle taking you from the parking lot to the event.

Wait Entertainment: The event is outside and so is the wait. There were 2 concessions stands. They did a nice job with "missing person" signs posted in different areas along the line, loved moo moo cow. There was also some spooky carnival music along with some "important announcements" about the carnival being played.

Length of Event: One of the guides told us 12-14 minutes to go through. I believe we were on the trails for a good 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Was very good. Loved the bearded lady that talked to us before going in - great tips for why the ladies should grow a beard. The actors inside were great and played their charactors well. There were areas that needed some actors, and other areas that were completely congested with actors, a little more spreading out would've made this perfect.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was spaced out fairly well. There were some areas that another group ran into us, but they had areas where they would break everyone up before moving on to the next area.

Appropriate Ages: This is a family haunt, so I would say 7 and up.

Props / Special FX: This is a smaller scale haunt, so there are no fancy f/x on most of the trail. There are a few areas, where they used some great f/x and it was nicely done. The other areas were nicely done, but were more basic decorations

Costumes / Make-up: Very basic. But they fit in with the areas they worked in and were nicely done.

Summary: I enjoyed this haunt. It is a smaller scaled haunt geared for family, but was still a lot of fun. I took my son who loved it. Initially I thought the entire event would take place outside, but there were some smaller houses along the trail that you had to walk through. The first house was very disorientating with strobe lights, very dark halls and tight corners. In this house, I found myself "lost" and couldn't find my way out. The last house had a carnival theme and was excellent. Great f/x and the clowns were very convincing. There was a long trail that was haunted with a graveyard and haunted woods to check out. The event was a lot longer then what I expected to, taking us almost 20 minutes to walk through.  
I recommend it if you're looking for something to do with your kids - not terribly scary but well worth going.

Event Reviewed: Brookfield Jaycees Haunted House (Brookfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/13/07 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be a little hidden if you don't know the area very well. Located in a park, I didn't see any signs posted around the area to direct you.  
But if you mapquest it, you'll find it no problem.

Wait Entertainment: Because the line is outside, there are no props to check out while you wait. Instead, they have some very intense actors who love to work the line and have fun with the customers...they made waiting fun.

Length of Event: After a wait of about 30 minutes (which was great), it was about 5-10 minutes inside, which was much shorter then what I expected...was disappointed that it was not longer.

Actor Performance: Excellent. 
The reason I come to this haunt is the actors. They love to scare people and really get into their charactor.  
A girl was so scared from one of the actors, her sandals came off while she was running from him, and didn't come back for them - if she had, he was waiting for her- patiently hiding behind a building for her. They make this place a lot of fun and make it worthwhile to check out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. They take whatever group you're in - you're not stuck with a large crowd and you will not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: It is a very basic haunt that does well because of the actor intesety. There is not a lot of special f/x like you would find in other places, but the rooms were nicely done - especially the mask room (very nice).

Costumes / Make-up: Basic when done. There were 2 actors in the first room that didn't wear makeup, which I didn't like.

Summary: We had a lot of fun here - especially watching the people run out of the place at the end - up and over the fence with an actor behind them. 
The actors were awesome and right on target with timing and coming from places you will not expect them to. I even found myself jumping (and screaming) a few times because of the surprise element - not something I do at many haunts. It could've been a bit longer, seemed like we were in and out in no time which was very disappointing. The actors really make this place a lot of fun. If you're looking for a ton of eye-candy it's not the place to check out, but if you're looking for a basic haunt with actors who really enjoy what they do and are intense, definately check it out.

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/12/07 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find - strobe lights and huge blowups show you where it's located.

Wait Entertainment: Was disappointed with this... The monsters were pretty scarce working the line outside - seen a few that came out, say something to 1-2 people then went back inside. No monsters working the inside line...but a lot of detail in the cemetary that was great to look at.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Was great - especially the hillbillys - everyone really got into their charactor and were pretty intense.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was decent. About 1/2 way through the house the group behind us caught up - and we were moving pretty quickly through the house - felt a little rushed.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older

Props / Special FX: Were very good - smells, nicely decorated rooms very detailed. There was an area or two that could've used a prop (especially the beginning).

Costumes / Make-up: mostly simple but very effective.

Summary: This was a lot of fun, haven't been here in a few years and I loved it....Loved the elevator and the hillbilly mansion. There is a lot of eye candy everywhere to check out and the actors are very intense. The girls in front of us were very scared and used my friend for safety. Loved the smells that are used through the haunt (definitely adds to the scenes) and there is much detail in many of the rooms. Definitely recommend checking it out - won't be disappointed. Excellent job!

Event Reviewed: Frightmare 2007 (Burbank, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/06/07 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Well light up. Located in the Haunted Trails amusement center off Harlem.

Wait Entertainment: There was not much of a wait (5mins top), but they did have a great monster working the line and hissing at my kids.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. Loved the camp director and Chip.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was a slow night, so was very good.

Appropriate Ages: This is geared for family...so I would say 7 and older.

Props / Special FX: It is a family haunt, so they were simple but very nicely done.

Costumes / Make-up: Simple, but very effective.

Summary: I recommend this house if you wish to take your kids to a haunt. Not expensive, geared for family and very nicely done. The actors did a great job, it was fun going through and my kids were scared.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon Of Doom & Mercy General Hospital (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/07
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you don't know the area. It is located in the Grayslake Fairgrounds, but there are no huge markers to point out the entrance, only a few signs on the fence.

Wait Entertainment: Very good - as always. Even for opening weekend, they had good actors working the crowd. The priest and madman were excellent.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: One of the reasons I love this house is the actors. And they didn't fail to disappoint this year. There were a few that were outside dancing, but the actors working the line were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. Another group ran into us, but towards the end and it may have been because we were pretty slow.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and older

Props / Special FX: Were very good. They do not have any special shows this year, and I was a little disappointed, but they make it up with the rooms - especially the clown rooms and mercy hospital which were nicely done.

Summary: I am a huge fan of this house, and have been going for years - sometimes even 2x a year to show my friends. This year the house was a little disappointing, no "show" in the beginning, and the 2nd house - Mercy Hospital - only lasted about 5 minutes. That was the most disappointing, as I loved the scenes in the hospital. 
Over-all it was a great time, the scenes were excellent, special f/x were great and the actors made the house (as always)- even for opening weekend.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at