Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon Of Terror (Mazon, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: abbeykins4ev   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find. i have never been to mazon before, and we didn't have directions, but there were signs. it's impossible to miss.

Wait Entertainment: great!! while we were in line, this one surgeon guy attacked my friends.

Length of Event: um, i kind of lost track of time. i think it might have been 15 minutes, but i'm not sure.

Actor Performance: excellent! everyone stayed in character except for one who laughed. but that was because i said something stupid, haha. everyone was scary, but i think the people in the insane asylum could have done a little better.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent, we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: definitely not under ten years old.

Props / Special FX: perfect! as soon as we were inside, it was like walking into a nightmare. everything was realistic.

Costumes / Make-up: this was my favorite part. everyone's makeup looked professional, and the costumes were perfect for the rooms. the masks were super grotesque and realistic - were they even masks?!?

Summary: this is definitely one of the best haunted houses i have ever been to. i HIGHLY recommend it. my favorite room was the dentist. i had my eyes shut as i walked in, so he picked on me, and it worked, i was terrified! also, they had this really cool room, it's like walking into a beating heart. just amazing. the price was great, $7 is very cheap for the level of entertainment. i would absolutely go back next year! [[although, i think their no-swearing policy was a bit strict. they threatened to throw us out. we weren't swearing at the actors. it's just, when you're THAT scared, you can't control what comes out of your mouth. lighten up, guys!]]

Reviewed by: clownfreak   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Good. Signs at the main road made it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome. Several characters roaming outside. The best one was this scary clown. While we were waiting in line he hid in the back of someones car and scared the crap out of all these girls. I loved it!

Length of Event: waiting time? Not too bad.

Actor Performance: Really good, inside and outside.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didn't run into anyone else and the seemed to be moving ppl in pretty constant.

Appropriate Ages: well.. not under 10

Props / Special FX: Good I enjoyed the different themed rooms inside.

Costumes / Make-up: Really good. Everyone looked really scary!

Summary: Well worht the trip. Only $7 and worth every bit. We came last year and it was even better this year. I love that there are so many "monsters" outside to keep you entertained. The clown is still my favorite. Last year he was chasing down cars this year he is hiding in them! (I am assuming that it is the same person but maybe not) Can't wait to see what they come up with next year.

Reviewed by: margo928   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was ideal. It was in the middle of town which suggested that maybe the entire town might be haunted.

Wait Entertainment: We did not stay because we do not enjoy this type of entertainment, but it seemed like they were able to move people along quite efficiently.

Length of Event: Since we did not go through, we would not know and could not comment.

Actor Performance: I'm sure it was very good, but don't really know.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed very efficient.

Appropriate Ages: Very appropriate for older kids and teenagers

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. Great amount of thought and detail.

Costumes / Make-up: Did not see people in costumes, because we did not enter.

Summary: I'm sure it was a very entertaining event. It seemed like it was a lot of work, but also a lot of fun. This was a wonderful event that allowed kids to have some nice Halloween fun safely.

Reviewed by: haunted91   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very simple to find. Signs were posted on Route 47 and led me right to it!

Wait Entertainment: There was some very interesting characters outside to keep us scared for the long wait. Someone was dressed up in a grey, creepy looking mask and he got right in my face! I didn't like it! Also there was an older man looking mask, and he had a fart machine! I was throughly impressed by the wait entertainment. I have gone once this year and came back to see if it got better and it did! Especially the wait entertainment!

Length of Event: 20 Minutes to navigate through the Dugeon of Terror!

Actor Performance: Two words= HIGH ENERGY! I was so impressed throughout this haunted house because they just kept on going and they had been open since 6 o'clock that night and they still had loud voices and they knew what they were doing! I give the actors 5 stars for their performance and it was the best this year by far compared to the other haunted houses I have been through!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't run into any one, and I kept going right through! I also stopped to look at a couple things. It was smooth running!

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up!

Props / Special FX: They had plenty of special effects such as the blow up bags. Those were my favorite! Many touch pads that lit up lights and feet tickler things. Many strobes and colorful lighting arrangments especially in the clown rooms!. In the begining where they tell you the rules, there was a doll that came down from the ceiling and scared the heck out of me! Music was cool throughout the haunted house as well!

Costumes / Make-up: First off, whoever does the makeup, Kudos to you! I couldn't tell if it was a mask or just make-up! The masks were especially cool because they weren't all the same. There was only one Michael Myers mask unlike some haunted houses! Cool looking mask in the dentist room as well. In the begining room there was a couple cool masks as well!. I loved this haunted houses costumes as well. They were all different looking!

Summary: I believe that this might be one of the best haunted houses in the state. I went twice this year and both times have been worth my 7 dollars. I enjoyed many of the room set-ups as well. They were not cliche and they were very creative! My favorite was the blood and guts room because it had a girl screaming with her guts hanging out as people eat them off to the side! Impressive! I enjoyed the dentist room as well. Talk about a loud screamer! WOW! I don't think she will have a voice anymore! The drill was cool and they definetly startled me! Clown rooms are just creepy! The nut house room or the insane asylum was cool because the hallway got smaller as you went! The window displays outside were cool as well and the room where you pay! I was so impressed I just might take me and my friends back again. It is so worth your 7 dollars!

Reviewed by: clownfreak   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Had a sign @ the main st. pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: AWESOME AGAIN!! I came last year and enjoyed the entertainment and this year was even better! There were several guys in costume standing outside. A guy with a chain saw, Michael Meyers, another creepy looking guy and the scary a** clown! The clown hid in the back of somebody's car and scared the crap outta them. It was AWESOME!

Length of Event: Length out side? Not too bad some wait and it was cold and raining but it was to be expected.

Actor Performance: Really good, everyone did a good job with their parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didn't get jammed up inside or anything.

Appropriate Ages: um, not under 9 or 10.

Props / Special FX: Good, I liked the props the get more creative all the time.

Costumes / Make-up: Good costumes and make up. Lots of different types of monsters and villians.

Summary: Worth the trip and especially for the price, only $7. I look forward to next year. Hopefully they will come up with even better ideas to keep topping themselves!

Reviewed by: scarydude   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: there were signes from the main road to the down town block

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was very impressive there was a chain saw guy, a couple of clowns (be careful when in side your car, they will get you)

Length of Event: about 15 mins.

Actor Performance: the actors stayed true to the themes of their rooms, they were all very impressive, especially in the insane room

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we only ran into 1 group because of a very scared woman that peed her pants

Appropriate Ages: i suggest no little children 8 and under

Props / Special FX: the special effects were awsome!! i really liked the girl that had her guts hanging out, also the boy that crawled on the floor like a demented freak eating body parts. i saw some things in this place that ive never seen used before in a haunted house (they used some unique things)

Costumes / Make-up: it seemed that more of the actors had make up on, which makes it seem more realistic.

Summary: Dont know where mazon is? then find out! i took a long drive to get there but it was worth it. and admissioin was only 7 bucks! i have been to this haunted house 3 times and it gets better each year!! this time my wife went with me and she nearly peed her self.

Reviewed by: DADDY   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent, traveled about 60 miles. Called first and was given directions, had no problem finding it.

Wait Entertainment: Was kinda busy, had to wait about 1/2 hour but had quite a bit of entertainment outside.

Length of Event: Took about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good - actors very much in character. Insane asylum and dentist were awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As busy as it was, I am surprised we didn't run into another group but we didn't.

Appropriate Ages: In my opinion no one under 10.

Props / Special FX: This was good, the girl with all her intestines hanging out was really good and the shocks you get as you feel your way thru the dark was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent - alot of make-up and detailed costumes that fit the part.

Summary: Awesome haunted house and well worth the drive and only 7 bucks. You can't beat it. I will definitely be back next year to see what you come up with. Keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: marlene   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right on the main street off of main highway. Had signs too.

Wait Entertainment: About 10 minutes - had several characters entertaining.

Length of Event: Guess about 15-20 min.

Actor Performance: Good - insane asylum and exam room was without a doubt good acting.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: maybe 8 or 9

Props / Special FX: excellent - had some cool stuff

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes, make-up and masks all were the parts being played. I did like seeing more make-up this year.

Summary: Well worth coming, this house gets better every year. This year I brought my two granchildren, 13 and 11. The 11 year old cried thru half of it but still made it thru. Next year will be the test if he's willing to come back. But I will be back next year for sure. Good job - keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: boo2you   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was located on the main street of the town and there were multiple signs leading to it from various major roadways. With the outstanding wait entertainment outside, it is impossible to miss!!!

Wait Entertainment: I was honestly scared to get out of my car. The numerous clowns and the chainsaw guy made it a very scary place to be.

Length of Event: It took the group I was with approximately twenty minutes to get through. They split our group up in the beginning which was scary, but neat. The smaller the group the scarier the haunted house.

Actor Performance: I can't explain how well these actors stayed in character. There were some roles that would have been very hard to portray for a long nights of scaring, but these actors did a wonderful job. The intensity was great and made even rooms that had the potential to be boring, very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group did not run into a single person ahead of us nor did anyone run into us from behind.

Appropriate Ages: I would that is the parents decision, but it is very scary.

Props / Special FX: Once again, well done. The strobe lights, numerous mirrors, and detailed props. I cannot imagine the time and effort that went into perfecting this haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of face make-up which I find much scarier than masks. Most masks seemed to be used in the dark hallways, where actors in the rooms had their faces painted. Costumes were very detailed and fit the rooms and position in the haunted house well.

Summary: Well done. The haunted house begins before you even enter the door with the outside entertainment. Once you enter, the devil explains and stressed rules and warnings to you. (This is your last chance out) Then there are what seems to be miles of dark hallways, with detailed rooms filled with actors every so often. My favorite rooms were the white and red checkered room (the door is impossible to find) and the mirror room (once again the door is impossible to find) My other favorites are the dentist room and the clown rooms. The dentist and his patient very high energy and the clowns do a great job of harassing you. Also, watch out for the trap doors. Overall, this haunted house was awesome and I cannot wait to see what they come up with for next year. Well done guys! Happy Haunts

Reviewed by: freakyboy09   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasn't very hard to find the building. Signs are posted on the major roads. I personally used mapquest with the address given on their website!

Wait Entertainment: There was a guy in this freakishly awesome "devil-like" mask thing. He completely freaked me out. There was a little line but that is expected at haunted houses...

Length of Event: Took me and my crew about 25-30 minutes. We stopped and observed the detail the actors put into their roles.

Actor Performance: All did a great job. Definitely seemed like they loved their roles and the spots they were in. This one guy posed himself in the air on some beams, it looked like it would hurt. He still gave me a great scare!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never got stopped. The only time we didn't keep moving was when the actors kept us from moving when they showed us what they had to scare us with!

Appropriate Ages: I would say about 10 and over. Depends on the kid though, my little sister wouldn't go through and she is 10.

Props / Special FX: All of the special effects used were awesome. In one room it looked like the girl's body was gone and she was spilling blood out of her chest. really freaky! I dont want to give away some of the great scare tactics, but they also used strobe lights that made you think you were going to go insane!!

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of the actors used make-up. I think that is way more effective because it looks more realistic. Masks just don't scare me!

Summary: Overall, I think that everyone will enjoy this haunted house! A couple scenes that really stand out are the dentist scene, the room that looks like it has no floor, and the stretch of hallway that has a person in the air. All of these scenes/actors have helped make this haunted house awesome. I will come back next year expecting the same treatment! Don't disapoint me!

Reviewed by: Grimshawn   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs were posted off of the highway leading directly to the event - suggest Mapquest if you've never been there.

Wait Entertainment: We arrived late, so we weren't able to see any.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were quite young, but they did a great job of staying in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the very last group to go through, but we did get held up by a very frightened child.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: A very interesting room with reflective material, lighting, and an alien who thought it was funny that we couldn't find a way out. Another good room was the "bunk" area...good scares and use of room.

Costumes / Make-up: The majority was makeup and some masks were used. Some were simple, some elaborate, but the actors made good use of them all.

Summary: Those in charge of the Mazon event are AWESOME! We drove from Decatur and arrived just as they were shutting down...they halted everything to allow us to go in and the actors remained top notch! They didn't try to hasten our movements (some even tried to hamper them). They were able to use the tight corners of the pitch black maze to scare the heck out of us veteran Haunted Housers...As our first time here, I highly recommend stopping by...Well done!

Reviewed by: dollface55   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - right off of Route 47 and there were signs directing us and it was the main street of town.

Wait Entertainment: About 20 minutes in line but there was outside entertainment which was really good and there was a tent where refreshments could be purchased.

Length of Event: It took us about 30 minutes to get through because we like to take in every detail.

Actor Performance: Excellent - I come to this Haunted House every year and every year it gets better. Had several high energy rooms this year and the actors played the parts great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into another group but another group ran into us but we like to take our time going through to take it all in.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't think anyone under 8 or 9 would want to go in but I guess it depends on the kid.

Props / Special FX: This was amazing this year - I know it's only an optical illusion but the girl with all her guts hanging out was awesome. The dentist with the drill and the patient he had in the dentist chair that he was holding down was really cool. The red & white room was so cool, it took us forever to find the door to get out.

Costumes / Make-up: They have come along way with this as well-I noticed the costumes are much more detailed and I noticed more make-up this year.

Summary: Kudos to the actors this year. The blonde girl climbing on the table to get at you, the girl with her guts hanging out, the dentist and the girl patient, the insane room - this was by far the best yet. The Dungeon of Terror for $7.00 is definitely worth the drive. Don't miss it.

Reviewed by: perrdog   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy finding it. There were sign everywhere so i could get there.

Wait Entertainment: There were clowns and a michael myers guy outside scaeing the crap out of me everytime.

Length of Event: It took me about 20 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: The actors were amzing. I never knew wehn a person was going to jump out and scare me. After i went after the heart room, there was a guy after that they scared me so bad i fell to the ground.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was esy to get through. I could find my way around very well if i touch the walls.

Appropriate Ages: It all depends on what the parents say.

Props / Special FX: Every once in a while i got shocked bt a wall. I laughed every time my friend got shocked. Those things were kool. The blow up bags i had to walk through was preaty kool. The room where the was a chick creeping in the dentist room was very good at acting.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were AMAZING!!!!!! I loved the clown outfits.

Summary: First you walked into a room where there was a devil talking or something and they talked about the rules. then we go out of there and in the next room we go split. Theat was fun.

Reviewed by: haunted91   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Simple To Find! Signs Led me right to it!

Wait Entertainment: There was an amazing looking hearse outside decorated with haunted apperal as well as at least 5 actors and some clowns.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or depending how fast you go! Take it slow and soak it in!

Actor Performance: Every actor and actress stayed very well in character and did a superb job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I didn't run into other groups, but just be careful.

Appropriate Ages: YES!

Props / Special FX: They have these awesome "butt-crack" blow up bags you have to walk through and there are lots of strobes and other suspenseful FX's.

Costumes / Make-up: If I knew any of the kids, I don't think I would have been able to recognize them. Very Deatiled!

Summary: Well You first walk into a room or the devil room and get told the rules. Next is a room where they might split you up. A couple other rooms are the guts room. (Very Creative and Scary) Dentist Room (Drill Is Scary and Very Detailed room), Clows Room (Frightful), Insane Asylum (Great Actors and Actresses), and Plenty of others. I highly recommend this house to anyone who is wanting a great scare.

Reviewed by: chuckles32   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was really easy to find. There was signs leading you to it from route 47.

Wait Entertainment: They had the texas chainsaw massacare and a clown. The clown was terrifying.

Length of Event: It took me about 20 minutes to get through.

Actor Performance: All the actors stayed in roll. They had people popping out of everywhere. It was scary but fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into another group. It was the first weekend so there werent many people there. I went last year and i never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: I think it is really up to the parents.

Props / Special FX: They had strobe lights, pressure pads, and lots of other really cool special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: They had everything. They had nothing that ive seen in any other haunted houses. This was one of a kind

Summary: You started in a room where they told you the rules. Then you went into a room where they seperated groups. The next room had to be one of my favorites. It was a girl that looked like her guts were hanging out. Then they had another person come at you while she screamed so you didnt expect. Thats all im gonna say about this i dont want to ruin anything.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at