Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: abbeykins4ev   (Event Visited: 10/05/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the main road was closed down at the time, but other than that, it was pretty easy to find. the building had a big sign that was impossible to miss, but we were a little confused about parking and the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: there was a TV in the creepy waiting area showing video clips of scary movie characters. i didn't get bored waiting, even though my friends and i showed up about 20 minutes before it opened.

Length of Event: i can't remember. it was probably 20 to 25 minutes, because we got lost in the dark maze.

Actor Performance: most of the actors were pretty good. a few could have maybe stepped up their performance. the creepy elevator operator was very good!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent. there were only three of us, so we joined another group. we never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: i would say no younger than 8.

Props / Special FX: very good. i liked the elevator. lots of strobe lights were used to disorient us, and the clown room was especially well done. [i think...i had my eyes closed, haha]

Costumes / Make-up: pretty good. the costumes and makeup were simple, but very well done. i was a little disappointed to see the same makeup technique used on several of the actors.

Summary: I thought the haunted house had an overall very good effect. we didn't get bored. however, i was a little let down when most of the actors were either victims or had passive parts, and not many active scares. the ticket price was cheap, $10, and i thought the haunted house was worth it. it's good entertainment, and right by six flags. we went here right after six flags, and i have to say that this haunted house was much more exciting.

Reviewed by: davektaniak   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I USED DRIVING DIRECTIONS AND FOUND IT EASILY! THE LOCATION WAS GOOD!

Wait Entertainment: THERE WAS A HURST OUTSIDE PLAYING MUSIC AND INSIDE WHILE IN LINE THERE WAS A EVIL CLOWN TRYING TO SCARE US. HE HAD ONE GIRL REALLY SCARED AGAINST THE WALL.

Length of Event: IT TOOK US ABOUT 12 MINUTES TO WALK THROUGH.IT WOULD OF BEEN SHORTER IF IT WEREN'T FOR THE DARK MAZE THEY KEEP YOU LOCKED IN FOR A WHILE.

Actor Performance: THE ACTORS WERE ALL GREAT!ESPECIALLY THE TWO THAT WERE IN THE ROOM WITH THE FENCES. THEY HAD A LOT OF ENERGY.ONE OF THEM WAS HANGING ON THE TOP OF THE CAGE OVER US.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: GOOD. WE DID RUN INTO THE COUPLE IN FRONT OF US BECAUSE THEY WERE LOST.

Appropriate Ages: 12 AND UP

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT!!!

Costumes / Make-up: GREAT!!!

Summary: IT WAS OUR FIRST TIME GOING THERE AND IT DEFINITELY WON'T BE OUR LAST. LOVED THIS HAUNTED HOUSE. IT COULD BE A LITTLE LONGER THOUGH. LIKE 30 MINUTES WOULD BE GREAT FOR EXTRA SCARES!!!KUDOS TO YOU GUYS!!!

Reviewed by: scare_girl   (Event Visited: 10/30/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very good. Right off of Rollins. Lights, Signs. all in all, easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. I came with a very large group and the actors handled it very well. Awesome job, i was laughing so hard when the guy went for my friends.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or a little longer? I didnt keep track.

Actor Performance: Awesome. Everyone stayed in character. Even if you asked them a question they would give you a smart alec response that matches their character. Really good job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VEry good. Never ran into anybody other than in the maze at the end but that's understandable. I didnt exactly like how they split my group up and made some of us go with 2 and others go with 4 or what not. .. i think it kinda lost its effect with only us two going through at some points.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: it was pretty good. the shock chairs where pretty good.

Costumes / Make-up: this department was definitly up on the scale. very detailed makeup and the costumes where great. great job with this!!

Summary: This Haunt was definitly fun to go through with everyone. I'm deffinitly going to come back next year to see some new changes. The actors where great!..(i cant stress that enough.) and the makeup was definitly top of the line. great job you guys! I definitly had a really fun night!

Reviewed by: Lordanthony   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt was overall easy to find, however, there could have been a few more signs, we got slightly turned around but then we found it... the parking was close and well lit up.

Wait Entertainment: the clown with the red wig, was very good at scaring people in line, and very entertaining, the inside wait line was incredible, I liked the trees and lights and the movie playing during the wait...

Length of Event: it was long enough, and not disappointing... there were plenty of rooms and hallways...

Actor Performance: the actors were very convincing, and fearful... it really felt as if we were in a mad house... I loved it...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: other groups did not run into each other... which is something that is a problem in some haunted houses...

Appropriate Ages: not recommended for children under 12 for sure. my friend had his 14 year old son, he was fine... I don't know if I would have been at 14...

Props / Special FX: there was more actors than spec. effects, but I like a mix of boths... I love strobe lights... it's very disorientating... and fun!

Costumes / Make-up: the make up and blood gory and convincing... there was even a room that smelled bad... which creeped us out...

Summary: I loved the hellavator... for a smaller venue, you guys sure pull out all the punches... I will be back next year... I felt that the best part of the haunt was constant scare after scare, after scare in each room and the fact that they only let groups of 2 or 3 go at once... thank you... keep up the good work. 

Reviewed by: hsstaggs6305   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We used mapquest to find it. They had signs out, very easy to locate.

Wait Entertainment: The monsters kept in character. I went twice and the weekend both Micheal Myers was chasing me around the parking lot.

Length of Event: 20min

Actor Performance: All were very good. Never once broke character even when we were lost in the maze.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into a group

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up depending upon if your child can handle it or not.

Props / Special FX: very good. Each room had a certain smell. It looked like a lot $$ went into this haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Their makeup was the best i'd seen. It was like they had a professional from the movies do their makeup.

Summary: I will be going back next year. This was the best haunted house I'd ever been to. even though Micheal Myers did chase me and I hate Micheal Myers it was well worth it. great job guys!!

Reviewed by: jakem   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: used yahoo maps and it was easy.

Wait Entertainment: good old house setting with 2 actors

Length of Event: actual walkthru without the elevator- it might have been 5 minutes. with the elevator it was 7 minutes long. some people say over 20 minutes here. i am not sure how that's even possible-- unless you are really bad at navigating mazes. even then--

Actor Performance: good perfromances but not scary as much as perverse or seductive. i enjoyed the female actors very much.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. we didnt have any major issues.

Appropriate Ages: 9 on up

Props / Special FX: It was extravagent but not interesting. it felt like 'going thru the haunted motions.' i liked some of the little touches though. it was not scary for the girls ion my group. the staff tried to be crazy and xtreme to make up for lack of scares.

Costumes / Make-up: very similiar to a jaycees haunted house. basic but good enough in most places.

Summary: this really wasnt a very good haunt. i can't say i'd recommend it. they had a few good tricks but mostly it was run of the mill and left my group stimulated but not much else.

Reviewed by: runrun   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting in line.

Length of Event: Appropriate time... not too long, not to short.

Actor Performance: The acting was good, but I think I think too much. For some, timing the scare just right is enough. I think for myself, I would have been scared if there was a more psychological component. For example: storylines --- one liners that made me think or would be more like the characters the actors were playing or make me think about the characters after I left the event. Perhaps even stalking me... coming out more (for those who could wander away from their set and block my exit) would make me scared. Creating another exit would have made things more interesting as well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The rest of our party caught up with us... either they were moving quickly or we were moving slowly.

Appropriate Ages: It was appropriate.

Props / Special FX: I really liked the prison room. I thought I was going to knock down something for sure after I walked into one of the cages. It was a really neat effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Good for the most part. It would be good for some of the actors to put makeup around their eyes, for those wearing masks.

Summary: It was fun to walk through! The price was reasonable, particularly for the large $$$ amount that was probably spent in actually creating the sets. ... I wasn't scared when I was walking through but I don't think I'm in the majority. I've just had experiences that make me fear others things.

Reviewed by: poncho   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to get to and plenty of parking

Wait Entertainment: No wait

Length of Event: approx. 20-25 min

Actor Performance: authentic, stayed in character throughout

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth flow, no back log, good spacing

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were used very well and special fx really recreated some good movie scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes looked authentic and very creative rooms

Summary: Great. Excellent. Thinking of bringing other friends for a second round. Cost is about right and if you time the event correctly, the wait is very minimal.

Reviewed by: specialk   (Event Visited: 10/14/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find and there were signs pointing us in the right direction.

Wait Entertainment: OH MY GOD..... there was a troll and a guy dressed up like the joker that were the best, they were great....i am going to go back on halloween and i hope they are back there again.

Length of Event: It took us about 30 min and i thought it was worth it

Actor Performance: they were actors????? They never broke stride and were all very energetic and pushing the limit and we loved it

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt seem to run into another group inside the house....and each room interacted with us and didnt seem to rush us through.

Appropriate Ages: 16+ it gets pretty extreme

Props / Special FX: a lot of the rooms had certain smells and it made the experiance more enjoyable becuase u walk into a clown room and u smell cotton candy it was great.

Costumes / Make-up: excellent makeup work...simply amazing eye for detail

Summary: This was the best haunted house i have ever been too, it scared my friends and i and the actors we very energetic and interacted with all of us,the eye to detail in the house was great and i am going to come back very soon and bring more people

Reviewed by: chelseam   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are a couple of signs on your way in, but printed directions really help.

Wait Entertainment: I went two times. On the Saturday night there were a couple people walking up and down the line scaring people. There is also an outdoor scare near the restrooms. On the Sunday I went, there was no line!

Length of Event: 15 minutes to walk though

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. the only one that ever broke character was the one helping us out of the strobe light maze when we kept running into walls. There are actors in every room, and they are very aggressive and scary. They really engage each group coming through and make it a fun experience.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any other groups walking though the house. I felt like the flow was very well controlled, and it always seemed like we were the focus of the room.

Appropriate Ages: Middle school and up

Props / Special FX: Good use of lighting and smoke. The rooms all had lots of detailing and extra effects. They try to get all of your senses through tight spaces, lights, air, and it really all keeps you on edge!

Costumes / Make-up: Very cool doll room that was unlike anything I had seen before. They used a wide array of actors so you didn't feel like you were seeing the same people around each corner.

Summary: It was a very fun experience. There were actors in each room, and the combination of the actors and the special effects made it a very enjoyable experience. I especially liked the doll room and the air bladder. The actors are very good, the people putting it together had a lot of attention to detail, and there isn't a dull moment!

Reviewed by: bkcubsno1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was very easy to find. Right on Sayton road how creepy is that? You had to go little ways around to get to the parking but there signs to guide you very easy.

Wait Entertainment: there were at least 4 actors outside trying to scare vistors at 7:30 preety good for just being opened for a half hour. The actors werent really scary but they were pretty funny. Espically the guy who crawled his way around the queue line.

Length of Event: no shorter then 30 min could be longer depends how long you get stuck in both mazes

Actor Performance: outstanding they all stayed in character. Never broke once. Very into their role I think they were into it so well that it's creepy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good never ran into another group except in the mazes which is very understandable since you have to seriously find your way out not no one set path like most haunted houses. several dead ends good luck finding your way out

Appropriate Ages: no one under 13 maybe higher depends how easy your kids get creeped out.

Props / Special FX: very good and very detailed in some of the rooms there is seriously scent to it. In part of the haunted house our group sweard we smelled a gun shot smell wow this house is preety graphic nothin but top notch here

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, very detailed, very creepy too. YOu may see some actors do their skit but when you least expect would do something completely different and scare you. This house was soo good that our group seriously didnt want to go into several scences since how creepy or extreme it looked like the ring room, or the man just standing stright ahead then disappears in front of your eyes.

Summary: Overall this is a very good house. This was my first time going to this house nothing but scary and creepy. The best scare is sending you in groups no more then 4. So everyone can get scared and no one misses anything. People that say this house that wasnt that scary i dont know how they say that when there are several scenes that are just plain creepy, and saying going trough a pitch black maze (so dark you cant see your hand in front of you) hitting and feeling walls for your way out all while actors talking and screaming at you and you have no clue where those actors are at. I dont want to ruin any of the creepy scare scenes in this house but this house is very well worth the money and we will come back next year to get our xtreme scare.

Reviewed by: mrsmitch2   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found the haunted house without any problem. We followed the directions from the internet that got us to the area and then there was a big visible sign that helped as well in case we weren't sure. Once there, there were many people outside guiding us where to park. The parking lot was full so we parked in the street but again, there were many people to help us. We had no problem finding where to go to stand in line.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was ok. The characters meant to scare you in line tended to break out of character but they still managed to get some really good scares from the unknowing! The original van from the Texas Chainsaw Massacre was quite a treat for those die hard fans! It was really an experience to be up close and be able to see first hand inside and out of the actual van that was used in the movie. Even using the portable bathroom was a treat!

Length of Event: The actual event haunted house lasted about 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: I have to give all the characters an A+ here... Even with the very first scene it was extremely convincing and wasn't at all what we thought it would be! The timing of each character was impeccable! When we rounded the corner at one point, we didn't want to walk towards the end of the hall for what we saw was there but then the lights went off and when they came back, the "thing" at the end of the hallway was gone! It reappeared of course, but only at the absolute perfect time! The actors performing did an outstanding job & were very convincing in their roles. Even the girls being held captive did a convincing role of being down right terrified that the "man" was coming back to get them and begged for our help to save them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: At one point we did run into a the group in front of us but only because they too got stuck in the same rut we did in the clown room. Once we were out of that room, the boys in the next room made sure he separated us using the fear tactic - and it worked! They did a great job in this area even guiding us when we kept running into the same dead ends. They did eventually guide us to the right direction!

Appropriate Ages: DEFINITELY not for anyone under the age of 12. We did not see anyone under the age of 15 or 16 and after going through, we understood why.

Props / Special FX: One of our favorite parts or scariest parts was the "rebirthing" room. If you have any amount of chlostorphia, be wary! This part will definitely give you a run for your money! Another one of our favorite parts was at the very end with the ghouls or clowns "laughing" as you walked in the pitch black to find your way out.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were pretty standard but with the exception of the characters you saw while waiting in line, the acting of the characters really brought to life the costumes that they were meant to be.

Summary: We gave this a 10. We drove just over an hour to get there and after being entertained in line while waiting, it was worth it! My husband and I try to find the scariest haunted houses every year and this by far has exceeded our expectations. We will go back again before the season ends and we highly recommend it but only to teenagers or older.

Reviewed by: sueperchef   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pay attention to signs and you will find it just fine. Having to look for the building adds to the scary excitement.

Wait Entertainment: It was crowded and we waited quite awhile but there is plenty to keep you occupied and keep you on edge. Actors, televisions with horror movies, great entrance of an old haunted house, the details are real and creepy.

Length of Event: 10 - 30 minutes depending on how fast you go from room to room and if you get through the mazes successfully.

Actor Performance: They are so good! They are creepy and have lots of fear factor. They know how to scare everybody

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was fine. Lots of twists and turns. Never bunped into other people, even in the maze, you knew people were there but never bumped into them.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely 12 and over

Props / Special FX: There was something or someone moving, shaking, or stinky in every room. There were alot of actors. The attention to detail is outstanding.

Costumes / Make-up: Creepy and authentic

Summary: This is the place to see! X-treme hauntings gets better and better every year. It was definitely scarier this year. More haunted rooms than before, more actors who are totally into what they are doing. Keep up the creepiness!

Reviewed by: Kristi082   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy for my group to find since we went there last year, but it might be difficult for others to find since the road is harder to find. They had a sign after you turned onto the road but otherwise you wouldn't really see it. Map quest has good directions. The street you turn on is across the way from Famous Feddies.

Wait Entertainment: They had two clowns walking around on the night we went, not bad but not really scary either. The actors outside were smoking on the other side of the fence but could still be seen and that wasn't scary at all. They did have a cool Port-o-Potty scare that I won't ruin but I thought was very cool, nice job!

Length of Event: Depending on how lost you get in both of the mazes, 20-35 mins

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty good, I didn't see any of them break character and they seemed convincing. The house had a good amount of them as well, every room had at least one.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was pretty good, the only time we ran into anyone was in the mazes. But I personally think that it added to the fun and excitement of the experience, it made it harder to find your way out and it made it fun talking with other people who were just as lost! Also in the pitch black maze you couldn't see ANYTHING so hearing peoples voices and touching them but not seeing them was fun too.

Appropriate Ages: It really depends on the child, but I think a lot of kids would be scared.

Props / Special FX: They had some really awesome props and effects. I big thing that I like going through hunted houses is interactment, and there was tons of it. All that made it more fun and different, you weren't just walking through and looking at things, you had to get involved.

Costumes / Make-up: Both the costumes and make-up were very good, there were a lot of details and it went along with the room they were in.

Summary: I went to this house last year and it was okay but not that great. This year however was completely different, everything was changed and 100 times better. I would definitely go back and recomend it to everyone! Very good job on improving from last year, I will be back!

Reviewed by: jamie   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Fun atmosphere and a scare actor or two.

Length of Event: i dont remember maybe 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good job to most of the actors for being really into it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good.

Appropriate Ages: 9+ depending on your kid.

Props / Special FX: Pretty good some places and not so much in others. They had some fancy stuff but it was still pretty flat.

Costumes / Make-up: average here.

Summary: Tthis haunt was okay i guess but was a let down for how good it was hyped to be. Of the three haunts my group visited this one was the least impressve. I wasnot happy with the length, it was very short. it also was not scary. there were a few cool things to look at but overall not as good as the others.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ok. There's a spotlight and signs.

Wait Entertainment: Good. A couple of zombie like creatures getting a rise out of people.

Length of Event: about 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good! Never broke character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWESOME! Never ran into another group!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty cool. They use scents as well which adds to the effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good!

Summary: This is an underappreciated haunted house IMHO. The wait entertainment was good, so was the opening with the "hellevator". The thought the acting was VERY in your face which is great. The female actors in their respective scenes were fantastic and over the top. I wish this house has a few more scenes prior to the last 2 maze scenes. All in all good value for the $$

Reviewed by: brandex   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: you may want to make sure you take down directions if you have not been here before, but they do have signs to point you in the right direction.

Wait Entertainment: Inside the barn they have horror movie clips playing, plus actors, and it looks like you are waiting to get into a creepy old house. The addition of trees around the porch this year made it even better. Lots of spiderwebs.

Length of Event: At least 15-20 minutes of scary fun.

Actor Performance: Very good...they know how to get a scare out of you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did have to slow down at a few points because we were bumping into the group ahead of us, but they were pretty busy for that early in the season.

Appropriate Ages: graphic scenes.

Props / Special FX: They do a really good job, great makeup/costumes, great atmosphere.

Costumes / Make-up: Consistently creepy.

Summary: Last year was good, this year was even better. I have to say that this has taken the #1 spot in IL haunts so far this year for me. Good atmosphere, the actors were enthusiastic, all the scenes were well done. It was an overall good time, fun and scary. The stuffed animal room was new, and the chainsaw wielding fiend scared the pants off the two haunt-hardened comrades I was with (or got a good jump out of them at least). I wanted to go through again as soon as I got out. Highly recommended and well worth the drive.

Reviewed by: Omen   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Odd location makes for an easy to miss turn. If you pay attention you should be fine.

Wait Entertainment: No entertainers, it was a short line. Pretty good wait atmosphere.

Length of Event: Attraction lasted almost 8 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some solid actors mixed with some average actors. Mostly not bad, some were good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not bad! Bumped into group ahead of us twice.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up is my guess

Props / Special FX: My opinion is that this is a really standard haunted house. Most of what they do here I've seen at other area attractions. This might be impressive for Jaycees event. The problem isn't the props or FX. The problem is: It's just like many other haunted houses but not as fun.

Costumes / Make-up: Below average for a professional haunted house. Some guy had a gun prop and that seemed a bit trashy. Several characters didn't fit the enviroments they were in.

Summary: I am really shocked the reviews are so high!! Another reviewer said if you're not scared here something is wrong. Something must be wrong with me because I don't get it!! I also don't think the elevator is original, I've seen the same one elsewhere. But that's okay. That's how it goes. The major problem with this event is it seems like they bought a "Make Your Own Haunted House Kit" and put it together. I'm not sure what seperated this from a charity haunted house, except the proceeds aren't going to charity!! The 5 score I give this haunted house is actually very generous for me!!

Reviewed by: bears85   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find off Route 12

Wait Entertainment: Wait was 5 minutes

Length of Event: 35 minutes

Actor Performance: Great makeup and detail. The actors were in to it big time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very easy to go through

Appropriate Ages: 10 and above

Props / Special FX: The sound is like none I have every heard at a Haunted House. The artwork is outstanding. This is great entertainment

Costumes / Make-up: Great and plenty of gore and blood

Summary: This Haunted House was top notch. There was no expense passed here. The Hell-a-vator is something like I have never seen. This is a high quality Haunted House. If you are not scared here, something is wrong. It is great fun to go with people and I highly recommend this place!!

Reviewed by: scare_girl   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is a lit up sign once you get on the main road that it is off of and then there are a few other signs on rt. 12 and rollins. There is also a big sign on the building.

Wait Entertainment: There are televisions and a few monsters that roam the line.

Length of Event: 20-30 mins. depending on how long you get stuck in the maze.

Actor Performance: The guy that blew his head was really good. He got really into his character. The cage maze actors are really good too- you never know when they are going to just come out and get you. Overall everyone pretty much knew their character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, I came later on so there wasn't too many people in line.

Appropriate Ages: at least 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Was definitely the best part. I think they keep out doing themselves year after year. There's a new thing that really gets you every year. sorry can't tell you what. ;) Also, the detail and setting of each room really gets to you and really sets the mood.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up is really good. the girl that comes out of a closet thing had amazing make-up when i went it freaked me out soooo much.

Summary: Overall the haunted house was very good and definitely worth the 12 dollars and hanging out in the cold weather for a bit. I went to this haunted house for the past 3 years and it's one of the haunts that i look forward to seeing every year. All of their rooms are VERY original and you can tell they just dont slap some blood on the wall and call it a haunted house- they actually put some thought into it, it seems. I just want to stress if they are reading this that the detail and thought was well done. All in all go there if you want a good scare. :)

Reviewed by: forestars4   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 12 Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good location, easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: great!! they got me a few times as i was waiting in line!!

Length of Event: it was short.. i think if they add in about 10 mins more it would be better..

Actor Performance: Plenty of actors!!! great job to all!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great flow we did catch up to the group before us but the clowns held us up so we wouldnt catch up to them again, great job!

Summary: EXCELLENT JOB!!! You did great!! I do think you guys should add about 10 or 15 min. to the house, cuz it is pretty short.. other than that it was GREAT!! Good scares!!

Reviewed by: Lizifur   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you were looking for the haunted house and weren't in Fox Lake you wouldn't know about it, but once in the area there were plenty of signs. Unfortunately there was a detour the normal way we take Sayton road, which made the ride a bit longer and not as direct.

Wait Entertainment: There was an actor outside with a little chainsaw. :) It wasn't extremely busy as it is early in the season, so usually there isn't much of a wait to need line actors.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes depending on how long you were trapped in the dark maze.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was spectacular, and you could tell everyone's heart was into it even if they knew they couldn't get a scare out of you. They never broke character and had high intensity performances, especially the victims chained up in one of the rooms. Those girls have quite the sets of lungs. :)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good...it was understandable but at the same time disappointing that groups were cut down to 2 or 3...5 or 6 allowed would be more manageable for larger groups, seeing as most people prefer to stick with the others they came to the attraction with. I understand why they broke it down (due to mechanical constraints, I can imagine..) but it seems like it might be problematic if people decide to wait for their friends regardless. Otherwise it was good flow, and the only time we bumped into other groups was in the dark maze.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was good...was surprised that their clowns were only in masks instead of makeup, but regardless the masks did do the job of giving off the evil clown impression.

Summary: Great job, guys!! This is my first year going to X-Treme but from others I've talked to they feel this is one of X-Treme's best years yet. The actors all have high energy, costumes are appropriate and varied, and also serve as disguises in some cases, which is AWESOME. This haunted house is definitely worth visiting.

Reviewed by: ericatom1   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Extreme hauntings is easy to find but there was a detour the usual way we go

Wait Entertainment: the facade inside the waiting area was very elaborate, there were 2 actors, very much in character

Length of Event: about 10 minutes

Actor Performance: very good, good costumes and makeup as always, and always in character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: good, especially the guy who faked shooting himself, it looked very real!

Costumes / Make-up: great

Summary: Extreme did a good job this year. they only let us go in groups of 2 or 3, and we had 6 in our group. I always think it's more fun to go with your whole group but that's ok because the house was great

Reviewed by: jamers615   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Xtreme Hauntings is slightly hard to find if you're not from the area, but if you can find your way onto Sayton road, there is a large sign at the end of the road they're on to lead to in the right direction.

Wait Entertainment: While we were there, I saw one clown chasing people around outside. Given that it was before october even started, I didn't expect much more.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes, depending on how long you get stuck in both mazes.

Actor Performance: The actors were awesome! All but 1 or 2 were very high intensity and very convincing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AMAZING! We never ran into another group except at the end, which was completely understandable given how hard it was to find our way out.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up depending on the maturity of your kids.

Props / Special FX: Props and rooms were awesome. detail was great.

Costumes / Make-up: Both were very good, costumes were totally appropriate for the areas the actors were in.

Summary: Being from another haunt I'm always a bit overly critical of a rival's setup, but WOW, great job guys!! Actors stayed in character the whole time - even the ones we knew - makeup and costumes were appropriate and well detailed. The pitch black maze had me near tears after being stuck in it for a good 5-10 minutes! What a change from last year - 10 times better! I see great thigns for you guys in the future - you're definately gonna give us a challenge this year! Awesome job!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at