Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Terror on the Square (Petersburg, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Janis4   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find because there was a hearse parked outside and people waiting outside.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't notice any entertainment besides some people towards the front of the line.

Length of Event: 10 minutes at the most.

Actor Performance: They were good. The only thing was that once they scared you they went back to being normal. They didn't stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was fine because a guide took us through.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were the part that were good. There was a a lot of illusions, but they were mostly the same ones that are there every year. It was illusion after illusion which got a little boring.

Costumes / Make-up: Our guide didn't have makeup on which was disappointing. I didn't see anything that really stood out.

Summary: The house was very disappointing. I have been 2 times before this year and it seems like only a very few things change, so it seems like the same haunted house every year. This could be a great haunted house, but its repetitive.

Reviewed by: pyrate51   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 6:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very well lit, great location, nice area, good coordination of lines and well controlled

Wait Entertainment: Just the fact you're really going into a real haunted location, that happens to be made into an entertainment haunted house was an experience!

Length of Event: 10 to 20 minutes! It seemed to go too fast, because it was that good!

Actor Performance: The acting was incredible, from the guides to the ghouls and ghosts!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well done, taking groups of 6 to 8 through at a time, again great control!

Appropriate Ages: I would say it is too scary for kids under 10 years old

Props / Special FX: The props and effects were Awesome, comparable to Disney in creating scenes, atmosphere, and moods!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were good, no over the top blood and gore. The scare was in more of their attitudes!

Summary: This attraction was beautifully done, like an old fashioned haunted house. Very eerie, bone-chilling and scaryspooky! I loved it and plan to visit again next year, as I was told they change it around each year! Great job done by all the people involved in this!!

Reviewed by: harley_2000   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On the square in Petersburg. Very easy to find. Petersburg is not that big of a town.

Wait Entertainment: Being the first weekend, most of the entertainment was the people in the crowd. There were a few goulies running around, and popping their heads out of the upstairs windows.

Length of Event: Roughly 15 mins. once inside

Actor Performance: The actors were spot on when we went through. The timing and misdirection prior to the scares was very good. I have been through many haunts in my life and can usually spot a scare coming. But, that being said, they "got" me a few times. All the actors seemed to be having a great time scaring the heck out of our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They use guides to take you through, so once we got started, it flowed nicely.

Appropriate Ages: I would say no one younger that 6-7. Some of the FX are pretty real. Younger children might have a problem with it.

Props / Special FX: The FX are excellent!! You can see that the crew puts in major time perfecting everything from the erie sounds to the jaw-dropping visual effects.  
This is NOT the type of thing that you would expect to find in a small town in the middle of Illinois. 
These guys know how to put the creep in creepy. Every room has something different to look at. There is no way that you can take it all in.

Costumes / Make-up: No masks. No goofy clowns or cartoon characters. It's all the undead and ghosts.  
But these undead.... They are FAST!!! 
The make-up and clothing is perfect for the funeral home theme.

Summary: All in all we had a great time. Checking out all the surroundings once you are inside is half of the coolness of this place. This attraction isn't all scares. It's creepy, eerie, spooky, and AWESOME! 
Buy the speed passes. We did and got right to the front of the line. It's worth the few extra bux! 
I don't know why, but they limit the amount of speed passes every night.

Reviewed by: bigdaddy79   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, right off the square in Petersburg

Wait Entertainment: There is monster that walks through the line that is very creepy, but the best part for me is just talking to the other people that are standing in line with you.

Length of Event: The tour is about 15 mins

Actor Performance: The actors have to be well trained to do there jobs. They do use alot of the same people year to year, but if you go through you will see why. There energy and timing is always spot on.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guide keeps you from running through the whole thing, which is a good thing because we would have ran into a ghost more that once. The guide where AMAZING.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that anyone over the age of 9 should be ok, but there where a few women in there late 20's in my group that will have nightmares from this haunted house

Props / Special FX: AMAZING!!!! The man who thinks of this stuff needs to be in Hollywood or Disney. The illusions are great. The thing that was the best for me is the attention to detail. The house stimulates not only your sight but also your since of smell too. There are many rooms that you could go through more than once and still not see everything. As said before actor where great too.

Costumes / Make-up: Again the make up artist has to be from Hollywood or Disney. There are no masks all makeup and each actor makeup matches the details of the room.

Summary: This Haunted House has to be the best around. There is not any blood and gore parts, but what they have is the attention to detail and the creepyness factor that many other places don't, and to me I like that more. Wait times can be longer on Friday and Saturdays. If I were you I would go on a Sunday and beat the crowds. It is with no doubt worth the drive time, wait and money to go through. There is something there for everyone to get scared by.

Reviewed by: boowho   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you can get to Petersburg, you will find Terror on the Square. It gets it's name because it is right on the town square on the main highway through town. Look for the line of people and cars. You can't miss it. The gargoyles on the roof are a dead, get it dead, give away.

Wait Entertainment: Very creepy big monster roaming around. Besides, just visiting in line with everyone around is great. I like the idea that they pass out tickets to stand in line so there isn't anyone butting.

Length of Event: I asked how long the tour was when I checked in and they said, "For some it could be an eternity." For everyone in my group it was a safe 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor's energy was great. These people really get into it. They moved seamlessly from one scare to another without missing a beat. My heart missed a few beats though. Even the guy at the front desk was creepy. Ask him to laugh for you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The waiting line moved rather slow, but it was worth the wait and did keet moving. The guide kept everything moving without rushing. I could hear screams from other rooms, but that just added to thre anticipation of what could happen next.

Appropriate Ages: This is not for the weak of heart. I think 8-10 years old is okay, but I wouldn't want to take anyone younger than that through.

Props / Special FX: One word - WOW, AWESOME!!! Okay that was two words. This is what sets this place apart from most other events. You are completly wrapped up in trying to figure out how they do the stuff they do. Every square inch has something to look at, the attention to detail is that fantastic. I've been coming to this event for a fe w years now and I still haven't figure out how, if, or where the elevator moves. Incredibly fantastic!

Costumes / Make-up: Michael Jackson's Thriller video make-up designer must work here. The actors were that creepy with the make-up. It made it so much more believable because they didn't use masks. Normally you would say very life-like, but in this case, the make-up was very "dead" like.

Summary: This show is a must see. It is so worth the time, money and drive. They do such an excellent job of distracting you with incredible effects that you never see the scare coming. Next thing you know BAM there's another creepy actor scaring you out of your wits. Not every room has a big scare factor, but every room messes with your mind with the special effects and elaborate details. There is so much to see and think about that you could go through several times and still not see everything. Something gets changed every year, but even besides that, it's a new show everytime you go through.

Reviewed by: darklaff31   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Downtown Petersburg, right on the square; easy to find. Plenty of parking.

Wait Entertainment: Creepy 7ft. monster walked the line. The line itself wrapped around the block, so a long wait is to be expected. No one seemed to have a problem with that. I didn't.

Length of Event: appx. 15 min, not counting time spent in the shop.

Actor Performance: The guide I had seemed nervous at the beginning of the tour and even commented on that. I thought that was peculiar until it became clear her anxiety was not from stage fright but a clever set up for the events to follow. (SPOILER WARNING!!) We were told that the undead have the oppurtunity to re-join the living at the expense of the lives of the tour group (guides included). This brought an unsettling sense of urgency with each scare. All the actors were totally involved with this, and their dialog complemented this unique angle effectively.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was like running in a swimming pool; our group felt compelled to bolt out of each room, but were never allowed to. More than once, we were stopped dead in our tracks by a ghoul while the guide "unknowingly" walked on ahead of us. This is the only haunt I visited that wants us to stay.

Appropriate Ages: It varies depending on one's upbringing, but I would say kids 10 and under might be overwhelmed by the constant jolts that occur. Yet my group had grown-ups that came out more traumatized than the younger patrons.

Props / Special FX: Like walking through the set of a big budget horror movie. There are some professional-quality scares and illusions I have never seen in a haunted attraction this side of Disney World. What impresses me the most is the attention to throwaway details that populate each room. There are set pieces with illusions layered over each other; any one of them could have stood alone as a solo item. Throw in the seamless interaction of the performers and crew; there is much to take in with each room.

Costumes / Make-up: Creepy and effective given the theme that was presented to our group. No masks were worn so facial expressions and body language dominated the actors who felt right at home with their appearance.

Summary: Very much worth the wait. Having been through this haunt before in previous years, it never ceases to amaze me how it re-invents itself, especially with set pieces that have been used before. For those who have never been through before, I envy your experience with nearly 20 years of evolving scares coming at you. For those who have, your high expectations will be satisfied, if not exceeded.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Loacted in the little town of Petersburg Illinois, downtown location in old building. Visibility is good after you know it there, no main street markers.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment this year, badly needed and missed. 
Expect long lines and some wait on this attraction, lines move slow. Speed passes are available, but limited?? No reason to limit "speed pass" but they do.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors do a good job, however same guys year after year. Could use more people working the event, share the wealth here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Traffic is guided throughout the attraction, no bottled up people. Everything moves along very well.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real hard "shockers" here.

Props / Special FX: Props throughout the house are good, but getting more dated every year. They need to face lift some of the props. Special effects are their "sell-point" and they do a good job here. I liked the new changes this year to the picture frame effects in the entry area and skulls on the organ pipes. Nice little updates and everything worked great.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes work good, no big time creatures here. Basic and simple costumes.

Summary: One very interesting haunted house to visit every third or fourth year, too much of the same stuff every year. Surroundings haven't changed since 2000, it would be nice to see them open more of the building up - the upstairs is the only area used. Also the waiting room rocking skelliton and old television playing "Night of the living dead" was off - only waiting attractions off! Nothing here to set mood except the old building and the wall dressings, not even mood music. Summary; this is a nice haunted attraction to see and experence however far from a "shocker" attraction and I question the visual display materials of the state ranking. The overall size and the location gives this a average rating at best. 
Excellent effects, but not a top effect haunted house.

Reviewed by: teresa   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is located on the square in Petersburg. The is a lot of parking around the square. It is very easy to find, on the main road through Petersburg.

Wait Entertainment: There was no entertainment while waiting in line, other than visitors sharing stories about all the haunted attractions.

Length of Event: It lasted about 15 minutes inside the attreaction.

Actor Performance: Excellent as usual, (we've been going for 6 years now, and this was one of my favorite years there.)The costumes and effects are great!!!!!!!!!!!!The actors really get into character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well timed, we have never run into another group at this attraction.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and above, some younger children maybe can handle it, but usually they come out almost hysterical. I've seen a teenager or adult come out every year with wet pants.

Props / Special FX: lots of holograms galore. "moving" elevator, electrifying grated floor to name a few. the effects are fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Costumes / Make-up: All actors and guides are well costumed. Everyone is appropriately attired and the make-up was good.

Summary: This attraction is always very good, they really pay attention to detail and it's a very scary time. Even though I've been there so much they always find new ways to scare you. It is definately worth the entry fee.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at