Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Into the Dark (Litchfield, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: spooked   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to get to. The front of the building adds a great effect. It's like right out of a scary scene of a Batman movie. Gotham City!

Wait Entertainment: A tent to wait under if it should rain. Weather was great. Spooky, mood setting music softly in the background.

Length of Event: 20 min's. Not rushed, you can kind of go at your own pace.

Actor Performance: Great! Very good. 
Maybe needs a few different noises, like demonic laughs etc.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow, kind of move at your own speed. Rocky terrain. Ups, and downs.

Appropriate Ages: No less than 8-9 yrs old.

Props / Special FX: GREAT props. Great Themes - lots of scene/theme changes. 
Actors will get close but won't touch you. Great detail work in the artwork!!

Costumes / Make-up: Good Make-up and costumes

Summary: Long with lots of weaving around, great utilization of space. Actors range in age and sizes. For only their 2nd year they've done a GREAT job. Well worth the cost. The vortex is great and will make you puke.

Reviewed by: ohmy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off the street with a white tent at the entrance. They even had a section of the street blocked with orange cones!

Wait Entertainment: Had a huge skull ticket booth with music playing. there was a Goul at the door keeping the flow of people even and speedy. A masked character with a cane wandering around!

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Everyone played their part well! They all stayed in character. The people would move in and out of the shadows.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up!

Props / Special FX: Burnt bodies, a cave, a jail, a vortex, a graveyard, and more. I don't want to give it all away.

Costumes / Make-up: Effective.

Summary: From the story teller at the beginning to the shaking trees at the end, one remained on pins and needles. So many trap doors and hiding places, one caught themselves checking around every corner for another character. They would move in and out of the dark, then reappear in another area. They had kid actors and that made the haunted house that much more eery! I haven't begun to summurize the haunted house effectivly----just know there are alot of different things to scare you! A scare is what I went for and that is what I got!

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since I know the area.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing outside to entertain.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: Great job for these guys. Stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Saw no one else going through.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Love the whole eary feeling inside. Creepy but need music or something.

Summary: Went to this last year and liked it. This year was longer and better. They could use a little wait entertainment. I did like that they made us wait at the sidewalk instead of the door. Like the doors and going around in circles. Great place to visit.

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where it was, but it shouldn't be hard to find if you have directions.

Wait Entertainment: Couple actors walking around. Very annoying children from the neighborhood. Totally not the HH fault.

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: I liked it! They had some unique ideas and areas for the actors to hide.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Dead ends and circular routes and still didn't catch up to our other friends in front of us. Very nice.

Appropriate Ages: It's dark and creepy in this one. I would think kids under 11 would be scared by the darkness, if nothing else.

Props / Special FX: I love the location of this HH. It is in the basement of a building. It smells like a basement. It's dirty and pretty authentically creepy in spots.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. I liked the girl who gave us the rules. She wasn't scary, but she was sweet.

Summary: I liked this one last year and I liked it better this year. Still, I think this place could be over the top with more work. It has the perfect location, the basement! And we couldn't find another HH within 45 mins of this place. I really hope they do it up and make it even better next year. I do recommend this HH.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find since we have traveled down there before.

Wait Entertainment: We did not have a wait but had two ghouls working the outside area.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great actor performance. This is one house where the children are also really good. Seem like they had the same actor that would pop up in different places and always seem to scare our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Even with all the winding and the use of dead ends we did not run into any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up

Props / Special FX: This house is amazing on the props and special FX. You actually think that you are below the basement into the earth in some places.

Costumes / Make-up: Great masks and make-up.

Summary: Overall, this house's scenery is amazing. The house could have used some music. The scenery really sets the mood. The ending is good but could have used more of a larger scare. Something is needed to send patrons running out the door.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at