Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good location right off the bridge in Pekin within city limites.

Wait Entertainment: Light walk around entertainment, not much to speak of here though.

Length of Event: 20 - 25 minutes. Nice and well worth the money.

Actor Performance: Actors do the job nice here, the white faced girl is excellent, as is the mad doctors. No weak spots, everyone did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow is great here, no long waits and traffic continues through very good.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props and sets were a joy to look at, everything went good with the "saw" theme. Lots of gore here and nicely done.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes work well here, nothing cheap about this attraction.

Summary: Went into this not expecting a lot, but surprised to see the detail here. As stated everything works here seamlessly with the "saw" theme. The door room was well thought out and works great, for a minute you can get the feeling to what the mad doctor behind the bars is getting at - makes your mind work a little. Length of the attraction is good and very entertaining - price is great for the quality here and the work put into it. Will be returning next year.

Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Well, Pekin has a lot of one way roads and being a resident myself, I still get turned around. They have signs on the corner of capitol street and where the parking lot is, however it's a dark area, but that can be good for the haunt effect. Just don't rip roar into the parking lot, it's dark!

Wait Entertainment: You wait in the front of a building which is nice in case of rain. Michael Myers was around just staring and standing still, it was a nice touch because the actor did just act like Michael, "the shape" in the classic Halloween. HE would come and walk up behind you and wait, it usually got a scream or two from younger girls.

Length of Event: Didn't keep track of time. There was a wait because they make sure that you don't run into other groups.

Actor Performance: Good, they weren't standing around to scare you and if they were playing dead they laid completely still and were very prop like

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well controlled, we never once ran into or heard another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 +

Props / Special FX: Vortex, car horn, strobe lights, ramped floors where actors are underneath, pick a door, a hallway that gets smaller and you must duck

Costumes / Make-up: Michael Myers, psycho doctor, vampire, pumpkin head, psychic, bad santa, clowns (loved the crazy clown)

Summary: The building looks very tiny on the outside however the attraction is not! I am a hard person to scare so I feel it is unfair for me to give a scare rating. It was creepy in the hallway that got smaller and the floors that had ramps. I like that they dont have the dumb electronic things. They change up their haunt every year unlike many haunts around the area. I feel they played on many different phobias of people and kept the classic monsters too. My favoirte part is where you are surrounded by doors and you must pick the right one

Reviewed by: w2219   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right off busy road. Lighted sign and lights were helpfull

Wait Entertainment: Mike Meyers was great and always in character

Length of Event: 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: great. Always in character which is a must these days

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Awesome. Especially the loud music in the bodies room

Costumes / Make-up: all good....Clown was awesome

Summary: This really was a great haunt and seemed to be run by family and friends. Scared the living day lights out of me. Music and lights were set up niceley

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Been there before but didn't drive so for me it would have been hard, didn't see the sign til the last minute.

Wait Entertainment: Just one Michael Myers, and he was better at a distance.

Length of Event: 10-15 min.

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in costume, but going from a large Michael Myers to a tiny Michael was not good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see anyone else but the wait in line was way too long.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Costumes / Make-up: Great makeup from what I could see past the strobe lights.

Summary: I went to this last year and a vast improvement. The flow could go better. I liked the door room and and the creepy story in the beginning. Overall a fun place if you don't live too far away.

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We stumbled on the warehouse right away.

Wait Entertainment: Michael Myers was relentless.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character, thought they did a good job, seemed like quite a few performers packed this house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect, never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice job. Enjoyed quite a few of the rooms, notables would be the bloody sheet room with loud music, and the room with all the misleading doors.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up, all well done.

Summary: Much better than last year!! Some very good distractions to get the scares. My only complaint was the line moved very slow and the last room did not finish very strong.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find since my group has been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Just one killer. Needed more wait entertainment, with thirty people in line waiting, we waited forever, not sure if the actors were on a break or what; but wait was very long.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good. Props to the the Grudge girl, she was pretty freaky. Storyteller in the beginning was good also. Other performers seemed to stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good in the attraction, we never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: The room with many doors, the heavy metal pycho room were two areas that the props and special FX stood out. Really nice.

Costumes / Make-up: Grudge Girl=A+. Nice use of costumes and make-up. One suggestions if you are going to use a Michael Myers don't use an adult and then later in the house a 6 year old version.

Summary: Overall this house did way better than last year. My biggest issue was the wait. For some reason the wait was way too long. At one point we waited for almost a half hour with no patrons entering the house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at