Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Abyss Haunted House (Minooka, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ankron   (Event Visited: 10/27/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: pretty easy to find

Wait Entertainment: scary

Length of Event: it was so good we could have stayed all night

Actor Performance: excellent

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't bring anyone under 14.

Props / Special FX: Amazing and creative

Costumes / Make-up: very professional

Summary: It was awesome- we are going back on Saturday with a bunch of friends. I was pretty scared and I don't scare easily. The props were extremely creative!!

Reviewed by: dreamgirl   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Creepy girl was creepy for sure. She just stared at you. Guy taking tickets was good too. Never talked even when we asked him questions

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: I thought everyone did a really good job. The sreaming girls and Freddy were the best. I could have done with less little kids. One or two were creepy, but some were just annoying. One even told us NOT to touch the wall or we would get shocked

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too great. We ran into another group and one ran into us. I thought that was kinda odd since it was so early and they weren't busy.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Very very good. My favorite was the room with the bloody chairs and pictures that came off the wall!

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: We got there right after they opened on a Friday night. Just pulling into the lot, I was scared. The whole area had a creepy feeling. We didn't wait long to get in at all. I had read in one review about cockroaches and maggots and neither one of those happened so I was a little disappointed. I would definitely go to this one again. I thought it was long enough, but the people I was with didn't. I think it was more suspenseful than it was scary, but that's ok with me!

Reviewed by: MakeupMatt   (Event Visited: 10/23/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly easy to find despite one of the street lights being out.

Wait Entertainment: This is something that I always look forward to and sadly I was a bit disappointed. There was one guy and he was more of a roamer than an entertainer. Not much dialog and lots of staring.

Length of Event: (Time reflects the occasional stop to look at the detail) ... 11 minutes.

Actor Performance: Most were on cue with their scares so great job there. Most...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow inside was orderly and uninterrupted.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: They did a great job with their lighting. It really helped some of the rooms. I loved the bloody bedroom scene but...

Costumes / Make-up: ... I'm not so hip on using copyrighted characters in haunts and there were a few of them here. Freddy, Jason... more masks than makeup which made some of the actors dialog muffled and difficult to understand. What makeup I did see was scene appropriate and deserves mention.

Summary: Its time for a reality check. I don't work at this haunt so I don't feel obligated to give it the highest rating possible. The scenes were solid given the build time and the actors were committed to their characters. Lots of enthusiastic actors and a good little haunt to visit with the kiddies. I hope they like dark hallways.

Reviewed by: luv2bscared   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find! using the map on the website you cant miss it! it helps that there is a big orange sign at the entrance!

Wait Entertainment: not bad, short wait, and there were a couple actors out front.

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: VERY GOOD! it seemed like everyone loved scaring me and my friends! also they all had perfect timing and were into their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ALSO VERY GOOD. we never caught up to any groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: very good detail and effects. it would be cool to have more animated props for next year to accompany the live actors.

Costumes / Make-up: their make-up looked very professional. keep up the good work!

Summary: The haunt was one of the cheapest priced haunts we have been to this year and its our favorite so far. once again keep up the good work and we will see you next year!!! :)

Reviewed by: dropbox   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a lit sign at the road that was fairly visible from down the road. The directions and map we got from the website where easy and a "no-brainer".

Wait Entertainment: In spite of the wet, cold weather, the actors were "working" the line with great enthusiasm. The chainsaw wielding maniac suck up on us and fired it up right behind my friends. They lost it! I personally found the silent, white ghostly figure to be quite creepy.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were all very into their parts, and didn't let up! The library scene really set the tone with it's other worldly voice and unexpected scare. There were a few other things there, but telling would give them away! 
The Freddy Kreuger room was a great scare. You were distracted enough with another actor that you never saw him coming. And , just when you think he's done with you...I don't want to give that away! 
There are a lot of unexpected scares in the mazes where the actors just wait for the exact moment you are close to them and pounce. I don't know how they knew, but they did! 
The dot room people were simply amazing, coming from above us, around us, seemingly everywhere, and then just gone! 
The butcher's "conversation" with his mother was entertaining, as well as disturbing. 
The actors in the final graveyard scene really put the finishing touches on it for our group. 
Overall, I thought the actors all did a great job staying in character, and knowing when to get out of the scene. It kept the scare factor high because there was always something coming around the next dark corner.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This wasn't a problem at all. Despite the bad weather, there were a LOT of people in line, but we never caught a group, or were caught, which added to the feeling of isolation.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: It was obvious that they knew what they were doing. I was amazed at how much detail there was on the sets, especially when I overheard someone in the line say that they had not even gotten into the building until the middle of August! I cannot wait to see what they do next year with some time! Great use of the laser and smoke combo! The rainstorm in the jungle was very cool!

Costumes / Make-up: They looked like the make-up was pro. Everyone had really detailed make-up and great costumes.

Summary: Our group had a great time, and would highly recommend this haunt. Your senses were constantly barraged with sights, sounds, and smells that really made you believe you were immersed in the scene. The flow of scares was well done, also. There were startles, frights, and then things that just made you say,"that's cool, how did they do that?" 
They never let up on you, creating a tension that stayed with you through the whole haunt. I would highly recommend this haunt, and found the entertainment value worth more than the $14! Some other friends had paid much more somewhere else that night, and not received nearly as much of a scare as we did. They were kicking themselves for not coming with us!

Reviewed by: 6demo6gorgon   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. I'm from the area so I knew the Minooka location and there was a large orange sign outside illuminated by floodlights.

Wait Entertainment: They really didn't have any, but the line was very short and I got in quickly. There were two costumed actors at the front door, but they didn't do or say anything else except take tickets and open the door.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Most of the actors in the house were very passive and stared as I walked past. There were a few however who were very enthusiastic and tried to get a good scare. Others had more theatrical lines and stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. I never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of nicely detailed scenes, though a majority of the time is spent weaving through pitched dark turns.

Costumes / Make-up: Not very elaborate in this category. A lot of them wore masks so it muffled some of the actors' voices who had speaking roles. Also some of the costumes didn't seem to fit the rooms some of the actors were in.

Summary: All in all it was a good family-friendly event. Definitely not as intense as some might like it and some of the actors didn't seem to be into their roles. For example there was one actor in a straight jacket and cannibal restraint mask who just stood at the end of a very long hallway. We could see him the whole time, and when we approached him, he just sort of "barked" at us. Though I did enjoy the opening scene in the study, when I entered the room I saw the secret exit closing from the previous group. They need better timing for this or at least someone to follow the group through and make sure they are out of the room before they send the next group into the house. I loved the Freddy Krueger scene where his knives made sparks as he scraped them along the wall. A majority of the actors in this haunt were also very short and thus a lot less intimidating. They also seemed to be lacking in actors that night. I liked the final graveyard scene because there is a good scare that definitey gets you by surprise. However I couldn't seem to comprehend the actor with the chainsaw who was wearing a hockey mask and a hockey jersey. I just don't remember Jason ever wearing a hockey jersey, am I missing something? Anyway I think the 14 dollar ticket price of this attraction is a little hard to swallow considering the entertainment value provided

Reviewed by: abbeykins4ev   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The sign is a little smallish from far away, but comes into view in time to pull into the parking lot. very easy to find, it's west of ridge road on route 6, i'm sure most people know where that is.

Wait Entertainment: very creepy. there is music, and people with chainsaws, and cabanas to wait under because it was raining. but i went kind of late so there wasn't a line.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: very good, the actors were very into their parts! i knew some of them but they never stepped out of character, and even shouted my name around the house!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good. we never met up with another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: the jungle was so cool! there was even a thunderstorm!! 
there were lots of strobe lights and a laser, you could tell a lot of effort was put into the effects, and the result was absolute!

Costumes / Make-up: very good. the makeup and costumes really fit the characters, and were pretty creepy and very effective.

Summary: this is definitely worth the cheap price of $14 per person. hot drinks and monsters are sold at the ticket gate! i thought the overall effect was EXTREMELY scary and creepy, and by the end, i was shaking so hard i almost fell over. if you want a thrill, go to ABYSS!

Reviewed by: spookie1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Sign is close to road showing entrance to parking lot

Wait Entertainment: Minimal. Actually you forget about time becuase you are trying to run from the chainsaw!

Length of Event: 20+ minutes

Actor Performance: Too cool! "Actors" really are into the part they are playing. Or are they actors????!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Nice flow, did not feel like you had to rush through or get bunched up.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Lots of visual, scensory and tachtal. Get ready for your senses and MIND to be thrilled!

Costumes / Make-up: Once again, are they REALLY in costume??? OK, really now, costumes and make-up are dramatic and PERFECT for the parts everyone portrays.

Summary: If you only go to 1 haunted house this you HAVE to go to ABYSS. The thrill factor is here! Make sure that you go to the Porta Potty BEFORE you enter ABYSS or else you won't have to worry about after!

Reviewed by: fredfreda   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Sign is close to the road and well lit.

Wait Entertainment: Approx. 10 minutes

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: SUPER performance by the actors! They were in character all the time and you could tell they REALLY got into it!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: You can a lot of thought and planning went into this haunted house.  
Abyss got it RIGHT!

Costumes / Make-up: Scary, goolish and GREAT!

Summary: I have been to other haunted houses but THIS one really scared me! You never knew what you were getting into! 
The scare factor is a 10 plus!!! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewed by: vengler1   (Event Visited: 10/20/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good

Wait Entertainment: not too much

Length of Event: long enough for me

Actor Performance: great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: ages 10 & up

Props / Special FX: loved the squeeze area

Costumes / Make-up: really good

Summary: for the amount of time, it's the best I've seen. Something came at me or around me each time I went around a corner. You have to look all around. The second time I went through I caught a lot I missed the first time. 

Reviewed by: efpro456   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visible and a sign that is bright orange abyss haunts.

Wait Entertainment: It's pretty good. I went there early and it was already packed, but the wait was not too long.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors are very into their parts. They never broke out of character. They made it seem real and it seemed scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well planned. I never ran into another group and another group never ran into us.

Appropriate Ages: Very scary and fun for all ages!

Props / Special FX: Very well made. Walls that open by them selves,smoke,lights. It has well set up rooms. From jungles to toxic waste dumps, to mental hospitals, to an evil clown room to bedrooms, and much much more.

Costumes / Make-up: Very Good

Summary: Abyss is an excellent haunted house for all ages. With dark hall ways, scary and well set up rooms, excellent actors, scary traps and much more. I liked it a lot.

Reviewed by: selenaB   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was very good- easy directions off the expressway. The sign was a blocked a little by a tree from far away, but as you came closer, it was illuminated clearly. Location is good- as you pulled up, you already were scared a little bit: cornfields all around you with not that much lighting already gave you an eerie sense along with the lonely house and the dark warehouse.

Wait Entertainment: No wait at all; we bought out tickets and walked in. There were dressed actors showing you were to go, and a chainsaw man that came to scare you.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good- most actors inside were smaller kids or teens that were very into their part. They made sure that you were constantly scared by popping out randomly or following close behind.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good- there was about one other group that went a while before us, so we never met, and one group a while after so we never met either.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Summary: Dark hallways really make you appreciate your eyesight; the halls to the different rooms really gave you the "scared" sense. Great idea to have halls then a room, then halls, then another room- it kept us on our feet and very close together =) no one wanted to be in back or in front. The special effects with the lighting going on and off and the random doors opening in the different rooms was a great idea. The hall with the giant face and the quote along the lines of "abyss- look behind you" was a brilliant idea. Just when you read it, the lights go off and you know something's going to happen. Just when you get out of the warehouse; the graveyard scene comes with a few scares too.

Reviewed by: sludge   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The sign was visible from the road as was the line to get into Abyss.

Wait Entertainment: OMG! The big beast scared the *@#& out of me. And the guy with the chain saw really creeped me out.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great. I really got scared a couple of times. The actors jumped out of the darkness and you never knew what was coming up next.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They kept the lines moving. Once inside you had to find your way through totally dark mazes.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. They had a jungle complete with thunderstorm. The killer clown and drag clown were awesome. The baby-faced psycho really was creepy. There are even smells to go with the rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: Well done

Summary: I loved this haunted house! I heard the people ahead of us screaming and when we reached the parking lot, one of them had peed their pants. Anyone looking for a haunted house should definitely check out Abyss!

Reviewed by: skaii420   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is very dark with surprises around every corner!

Wait Entertainment: we did not have to wait long at all!

Length of Event: about 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: excellent! All the actors are doing great and what good timing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it keeps you guessing!

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: the jungle is definitely the most scenicly correct

Costumes / Make-up: everyone looked great

Summary: Abyss really surprised me! I was not sure what to expect, but you guys surprised me! Great job! I have never been to any other "Abyss" Shows, and for being in such a little secluded area, it was an awesome performance all around! from the timing to the affects! 10 stars!!!

Reviewed by: CoffinNinja   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The locations were awesome, everything was plcaed quite strategically for the best scare. There are some dark spots, but they're supposed to be there right? To creep those who are afraid of the dark over the edge.

Wait Entertainment: Very cool, it was creepy, and it left me wondering what would be inside!

Length of Event: 20 minutes+

Actor Performance: The actors were awesome! They had great timing and hit us just right! It was like they were psychic or something @w@

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were SO many people in line! But they kept the flow going quite well in my opinion. Good management guys ;D

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The props were so cool! It gave it a creepy atmosphere and almost made me feel insecure even though I was safe! Great job digging into my mind!

Costumes / Make-up: They costumes and make-up were wonderful done. It looked professional!

Summary: This is the coolest Haunted House in all of Illinois! If you don't go here atleast once during this season, you're just cheating yourself! I think EVERYONE should come here for a great time and great scare!

Reviewed by: haunted213   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was dark at times as you had to find your way though a maze, which kinda creeps you out because your not sure is anybody's coming up on you! This was a lot of fun!

Wait Entertainment: Good, a guy with a chain saw chased us while we were in line!

Length of Event: about 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, they found out my name, and the girl in the a pipe or cage started yelling "Help Me Jordan"

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very Nice, freddy cougar had sparks flying at you has he put is claws against the walls! 
 
My friend got so scared she ran out the emergency exit there, and thats only 5 minutes in the haunted house!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up!

Props / Special FX: The Thunderstorm felt like a real thunderstorm in the jungle, it even had a thunderstorm smell! Very Good!

Costumes / Make-up: Very Good!

Summary: Its worth the wait and the cheap price of $14, I personally think this is a good haunted house for people who love challenges and spooks! 
I loved being chased by chainsaw and guys with knifes at every corner, I loved the people popping out of the dark, and people popping out of coffins. Great Job Guys!

Reviewed by: eDsKillaZ   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was somewhat dark through out the house because it was like a maze.

Wait Entertainment: 4 sum reason we waited about twenty minutes to get in and we were the next to enter.

Length of Event: 20 min max

Actor Performance: Need more actors but the ones working were good!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Nicely paced

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Very Good. Especially the green abyss strobe light effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Decent.

Summary: Overall good scare and was a good length. Very dark and creepy maze type effect with really close quarters preparing 4 a good scare around the next corner!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at