Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates - Macabre Manor (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: deathdealer   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its out in the boonies but easy to find if you pay attention and look for the big building off the road.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad....some really creepy characters hanging out in the waiting room.

Length of Event: I'd say normally 30 minutes or so but power went out and that caused an interruption.

Actor Performance: Some were really good like the Joker, the doll girl, the mad scientist, and a few others.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was flowing fairly well until the lights went out. Didn't really run into anyone which is good.

Appropriate Ages: depends on how easily scared....I'd say 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: It looked like there was the potential for some cool props but some things seemed to not be working like the tunnel we went through. There was a really detailed and cool mad scientist lab that was outstanding. Looked like something out of a movie. I'd say the best room in the whole haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Some characters makeup were done really well,like Joker, doll girl, and the skeleton man. The scientist had these crazy sideburns that were awesome, others were just black faces which isn't really scary. There were a few masks.

Summary: In summary, I think the place could do a lot better in the scariness department. Building is huge, so could be really cool with more detailed props. Really bad that power went out because it was out for a bit and that takes the mood out of it. Don't know what was up with that. Once again, the best thing of all was the lab.....mad props to that room!

Reviewed by: you_boo   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little bit hard to find. We had someone who has been there before so it wasn't that bad for us.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple guys. It was just interesting though because one would come out of character to tell us were to stand in line. So that just kind of ruined it for me a little.

Length of Event: It took our group about 20min to get through the haunt.

Actor Performance: They could have been a little more scary. They were actually making me laugh sometimes because of what they were saying. Like they were trying to be funny in what they were saying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We only ran into the group in front of us once in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 6+ depending on how they feel about scary things

Props / Special FX: They had some great props. The laboratory scene was very detailed.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, especially the girl talking about the coffins.

Summary: (This is coming from someone who gets scared easily and loves haunted houses) Overall I was a little disappointed. They could have played up the fact that the place is actually haunted. Like I said the actors were not that scary and instead would actually say things to make you laugh. However, they had some pretty great ideas, like the maze or separating us, but the rest was just not executed to my taste.

Reviewed by: jeepsteve1   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to see from main road if you know what your looking for. but what fun would it be if it wasn't hard to find! Thats what makes it real if its not just out in the open. so look hard and youll find it.

Wait Entertainment: great next to no wait and one of the actors jumped up on a crate and was playin metalica!!! that was awsome!

Length of Event: close to a half an hour i think but it's well worth it.

Actor Performance: real good i think the actors were getting tired it was 12 and they still were doin a great job. they were still poping out of no where!!! just watch where you go you might not make it back! Talk about a good time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow they keep it going from room to room theres never a dull moment thats for sure.

Appropriate Ages: i would guess 13 to 45 ish but any age you want just bring an adult!!!

Props / Special FX: to many to list the place is just full of stuff not to where you can't walk but there was an fx for everything!! well done

Costumes / Make-up: very realistic. some almost to good if you know what i mean!! but i wanted to go back in right after i came out.

Summary: ashmore is a great place to go don't miss out. it is a top notch haunt this year so make your way to ashmore estates!!! don't be to late.  
one other thing try to find the owner he seems like a great guy and is more than willing to talk and tell you what other cool things they host through out the year not just in october!

Reviewed by: eldean   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Watch for sign, we had been their last year and new where it was!!

Wait Entertainment: very good,

Length of Event: over and hour as we got lost in that maze and those crazy girls were no help at all except for poping up eveywhere along with Ronnie!! Very cool

Actor Performance: pretty good, some where better than others, the doll girl was a freak and the maze people where always surprising the heck out of us

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into anthor person except for the maze which we were stuck in for over 30 minutes!!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: their were not many

Costumes / Make-up: great, some just had black faces, but others where really cool

Summary: Ashmore rocks, I would recommed to anyone who wants the beejeeze scared out of them, and BEWARE you will get lost in that crazy maze and it is pitch black!!!!

Reviewed by: oooky   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was great since it was in the country.

Wait Entertainment: It was great. The televised information, the atmosphere and the actors kept the customers entertained.

Length of Event: The right amount of time.

Actor Performance: Great. Very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was very balanced and they kept the groups together at the point of entry.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Great especially on the third floor.

Costumes / Make-up: Convincing.

Summary: I would highly recommend this haunted house. The building and the surroundings is really creepy. The layout of the haunt was great. I like the idea that they had soft drinks and snacks for sale. It was well worth the money.

Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not that easy to find, but once again, we found the house we were looking for. REMEMBER, it is not right on the highway. You have to watch CLOSELY for the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent! It really got us in the mood.

Length of Event: We waited a few minutes in line, then it was around 40 minutes or so because we got LOST (in the dark maze).

Actor Performance: It was pretty good. I liked the clown rooms. They had two big noise makers that got all of us. The dot room was "unexpected" as well, I will leave that to your imagination. They also had a very detailed science lab that was VERY cool. I think the guys that were doing "brain food" could have used some work though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone else except when we were in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: There were several cool things, I liked the ducks! I also liked the MAZE! It was frustrating but after some time we found our way through. It was so dark. I did get groped but that was from a guy in our group teeheehee!

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT!!! I really enjoyed actually being able to see the detail that had been put into the costumes. It was apparent that time had went into each one of them.

Summary: This was a good nightcap for the evening. I liked the atmosphere, I liked the scares, I liked it all. It has greatly improved over the last time I went. I was impressed how far they had come. I didn't go last year because I had a bad experience two years ago, but I am glad that I decided to give them another try. Overall, I would say that this haunt has some of the best actors because of their timing and ability to improvise.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at