Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
17th Annual St. Matthew Haunted House (Hawthorn Woods, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: Mothermole   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: While not located on a busy intersection - if you know what/where you are looking for you will find this place.

Wait Entertainment: We were one of the first to enter and there was entertainment but we went in quite quickly.

Length of Event: 25 minutes!

Actor Performance: The actors were very, very good. I went into the attraction with a child and the actors backed off once they saw I had a kid. They were still scary but not to the point they would be with teenagers or adults which I appreciated!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did eventually catch up to the group in front of us (in the last minutes) which I was surprised because we were one of the first to go in but otherwise not an issue.

Appropriate Ages: I would not recommend the night haunt for kids of all ages with the exception of children who are not very affected by this type of entertainment. We went through the haunt with two older kids who were hanging onto me more than my own son. It's all in the perspective of the parent and child relationship. I made the whole scary idea into something funny and the actors quickly adjusted for my goofiness and my younger son.

Props / Special FX: The main reason I love this haunt and I have been to the top five each year and this is my personal favorite is because anyone can scream and put together bloody scenes and have made up actors but this haunt is tricky with mazes and alternative ways to go and you end up getting trapped with actors coming towards you slowly and it is quite exciting. The amount of detail and thrills in this haunt are fantastic. You will jump and scream and laugh and be perplexed trying to figure out how to get out of a room which makes it so much fun!

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent!

Summary: Because of the variety of things going on in this haunt I highly recommend it. The feeling of being lost or "stuck" and finding "secret" ways to get out is way too much fun!

Reviewed by: zuzier   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - flashing blue light helps!

Wait Entertainment: Guitar hero very fun and free!

Length of Event: It took about 40 minutes it seemed to find way out. Cool and worth the money.

Actor Performance: Good Actors, better this year I think,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Felt like we had the place to ourselves once inside.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up - good for adults.

Props / Special FX: The 'tornado' room cool, chainsaw good. Turning room good too.

Costumes / Make-up: Very professional, and scary.

Summary: Have been going to this Haunted House for years. Think this is the best yet. They always have something different so you don't feel like you've seen it before. Go see it, it is good.

Reviewed by: tazgaz1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, Sign with blue blinking light.

Wait Entertainment: There was Guitar Hero and no lines because of the numbered tickets. Time flew by.

Length of Event: It took me a good 40 minutes to find my way out.

Actor Performance: The actors did a fantastic job. They would not just get a cheap scare by jumping out at you. They would put on more of a short scene to add to the scare factor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I only ran into another group in the last room, but that is very understandable considering the difficulty of finding the last room's exit. I could not even find it. I would probably still be looking for it if I didn't follow the others who eventually did find it.

Appropriate Ages: Sign says 10+

Props / Special FX: There was one hallway with a very good prop. I don't want to give it away, but it was very fun to go through.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up was very good and it complimented the rooms the actors were in. I'm glad they brought back Jigsaw again.

Summary: I've been going to this haunted house for a good 5 years now and it keeps getting better and better. Not only is it scary with the actors, but the trick exits all over the p[lace add to the affect. St. Matthew is definitely known for the trick exits as wel las the scariness. My favorite room had to be the last room because it scared me the most, and I spent most of my time in there. Every room was well done though. Props to the whole St. Matthew crew in yet another job well done.

Reviewed by: car54e   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: EZ. Lutheran School/Church on Old McHenry Road between Midlothian and Quentin Roads

Wait Entertainment: OK. Guitar Hero (free) Food (not free)

Length of Event: MUCH longer time "inside" house than I thought. Not sure, but must have been 30+ minutes. Last room is tough.

Actor Performance: Good. Guy with red eyes and spikes - scary. Good performance in tax offices? and bar.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We bought (numbered) tickets early (7 pm), went for some drinks, than came back and went right to front of line and into house. Quite a few "deadends".

Appropriate Ages: NOT for under 13. Too scary. Involves some crawling; at least we had to.

Props / Special FX: Good. Lots of effort. Some more gross than scary. Some actors with bloody power tools.

Costumes / Make-up: Good.

Summary: RECOMMEND. We have gone before and will continue. This is one of our "must" stops. Most rooms are different each year. This year's layout was "LONG" and confusing ... good. Lots of actors. Customer feedback form at end of house asks if you peed in your pants. I know why they ask! They should ask, "How many times?"

Reviewed by: cueball13   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Bright yellow sign. The place is hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: Guitar Hero and Pizza. Haven't seen that before.

Length of Event: 40 minutes, I couldnt find my way out at the end.

Actor Performance: Sweet costumes.....looked really scary in the strobe lights

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, i only caught up to a group in the door room.

Props / Special FX: The spinnig wheel is one of my favorites. Really neat spark and tornado room.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes.....a misplaced Raiders fan, Albert Einstein gone wrong i think, very interesting but excellent

Summary: This house was better then previous years. It had a metal maze with chainsaws and sparks. Very cool. Also some sort of tornado room, it blew my hat off. A new feature they had was some sort of tight wall, rather amusing.

Reviewed by: egrant   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. There's a map on their website.

Wait Entertainment: This year they have guitar hero for the customers to play. What a great idea!

Length of Event: Took us about 35 minutes to find our way out. This house is kind of like a puzzle. There is no clear exit from the rooms. You really have to FIND your way out!

Actor Performance: All were good. Seemed like they enjoyed scaring the pants off of us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good, we only ran into another group in the last room. We couldn't find the right way out!! It's tougher than you think.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely not for under 10 or 12.

Props / Special FX: Some really cool stuff this year! Don't want to give it away though, see it for yourself!

Costumes / Make-up: There was one really tall guy who was totally bizarre looking. A little too creepy if you ask me. Otherwise they were all as you would expect.

Summary: Once again, this was a great house. Some cool special effects not seen in many other houses. The intensity of the actors really makes it scary. Our favorite part as always is the challenge of finding your way out. Nobody else does it quite like these guys!

Reviewed by: luv2bhaunted   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find, doesn't look as good from the outside but awesome on the inside!

Wait Entertainment: Had Guitar Hero as well as cameras that showed some of the entertainment inside.

Length of Event: About 40 minutes

Actor Performance: Very real actors, didn't see any out of costume and the makeup was very cool.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow, didn't run into anyone and no one went into us.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up if you don't get scared easily.

Props / Special FX: Very good props and VERY good special effects. Very real.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were very real and very scary.

Summary: This haunted house is one of the scariest haunted houses i have been to in a long time! The actors were very real and it was a very fun experience. I would recommend going to this haunted house if your up for a good scare. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed by: scared   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Guitar Hero in the lobby along with 2 TV's of camera's inside the house. They don't give it away though!

Length of Event: About a 35 minute venture!

Actor Performance: Well acted, stayed in character!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good pace through the house. Never climbed up on anyone nor did anyone catch up to us!

Appropriate Ages: 12 plus if the younglings are creeped out. Otherwise if the youts can handle a good scare, go for it!

Props / Special FX: Cool - especially torando room! Also liked the tunnel and the sparking fence!

Costumes / Make-up: Some creepy and not so creepy but actors were well made up!

Summary: You gotta go to this one! Indoor waiting and numbered tickets made the wait line minimal and comfortable. This haunt seems a bit longer than last years. Also the snack bar at the end had some good stuff this year!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at