Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: scarymary   (Event Visited: 10/30/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it took us a lil while to find it. we had to turn around only once. but hey it was well worth it.

Wait Entertainment: it didnt take us but maybe two minutes before we bagan out tour

Length of Event: about 45 mins to an hour

Actor Performance: omgosh they did a great job for the most part. they were funny at times but they were really freaky as well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we didnt worry about anyone else. the ppl behind us were coming up fast but other than that we didnt have any problems

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the props were okay for the most part but they could have done a lil bit more with the scaryness.

Costumes / Make-up: the doll chick was rite on key. and the dude that had the black painted on mask only around the eyes was the best.he did the best acting.

Summary: over all the 26 dollars for two was well worth it. i got the pee scared out of me. and i hated being in the back of the line. the ppl coming behind us and just followed us a lil ways really did the trick.

Reviewed by: DanceOctopus   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is great, but it takes a few minutes to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was practically no wait time. The line flowed very well and there were games and the costumed staff was entertaining.

Length of Event: About an hour. It can take longer if you get lost in the maze.

Actor Performance: The acting was excellent. Everyone stayed in character. The evil genius in the lab was one of the best. He kept his accent and was extremely animated.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was practically no build up inside the attraction. There was a balance of feeling alone and abandoned, and the feeling that others are trapped in there with you.

Props / Special FX: There were props and sets in every room. There was an excellent balance between the pitch black maze, the bright colors of the clown maze, and the neon effects in the laboratory.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes were amazing. Every room had a different persona that was amplified by make-up and costuming.

Summary: This was an wonderful experience. I screamed, enjoyed myself, and would recommend this to any of my friends. The coffin sales girl was beautiful and her make-up was flawless. There were vampires, clowns, harry men, and anything one would like to find in a haunted house. The drive from EIU campus is only about ten minutes. It's a wonderful location to visit and they offer flashlight tours for groups.

Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had a little trouble seeing the sign to turn. The sign is huge, but was only lit up by a couple of tiki torches.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was the highlight. They had several actors roaming about.

Length of Event: 12 minutes; I timed it.

Actor Performance: As I said, the wait entertainment was good. The actors in the haunt could have picked it up quite a bit. Asking if you "want to be my friend" is not really scary to me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Inside the attraction was fine although the group in front of us did end up behind us at one point.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up

Props / Special FX: This was a disappointment. I didn't see a lot of props or special effects other than their laboratory scene which was one of the best I've seen. They had a flashpot which was set off twice while we were in line and it was very loud. It would have been more appropriate to have it outside.

Costumes / Make-up: A couple of the actors were made up quite nicely; chainsaw guy, guy in straightjacket (although his hands weren't tied up in back/side; instead they were in the front?).

Summary: The building in which this haunt is held is super creepy and is obviously how they draw in the customers. It could be a fabulous haunt with the right actors and props. The parking was ample. The price was high for what you got. Overall it was disappointing to see such an awesome building not have the haunt I was expecting.

Reviewed by: heather214   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Th location is a tough one.You really need to pay close attention to find the key road,we had to turn around 3 times before we found the way in haha,but it was well worth the drive!

Wait Entertainment: I enjoyed the wait.I'd say we might have waited 15 mins and all the actors were very entertaining while we had our wait.My favorite would had to have been the doll haha She had a really CREPPY walk and laugh! :D

Length of Event: It felt like hours! In a good way.I'd like to say at least 40 mins the maze takes a while.

Actor Performance: I think they were all in good charcter some better then others.The lead man out side was very helpful the one with the HORN! He did a great job at scareing as well as making us laugh.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Okay til the maze then it was nothing but a mess.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: not very many and I like that!

Costumes / Make-up: they were good I would have liked to have seen more DETAIL put in to the actors costumes I think I saw maybe 5 people who had paid good attention to detail in thier costumes.

Summary: I really had a Good time the hour drive was very well worth it! I did have an experince while waiting to get in I kept this to myself til we left I was afrid of noone beliveing me,but as I was standing quietly listening to my frinds talk .I felt something touch or should I say pull my hair back right by my left ea.starlted by an actor AT LEAST I thought I hurry and turned to see what was there and to my suprise Nothing and no one but a couple who were a good 5 feet away cuddleing with each other looking to thier left I knew then that noone was near me THAT WAS a GREAT experince!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at