Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Creeps N' Shrieks (Cerro Gordo, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: kimble1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was pretty good I only missed one turn

Wait Entertainment: Movie playing really friendly people and indoor waiting which was nice

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: For the most part really good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good never ran into anyone they seemed to have it timed well

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Great props they had alot of neat stuff I had not seen at other Haunted Houses

Costumes / Make-up: For the most part really good some could use a ;ittle more make-up

Summary: This Haunted House is a must see not only is the price very affordable so is the food and its a great scare I read a few of the comments previously written Im not sure if those people were at the same Haunted House because I was on my tippy toes all the way through. Great Job Guys

Reviewed by: muddboss   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find,right off highway 32 in Cerro Gordo.

Wait Entertainment: they have 2 real nice gargoyles just outside the door with torches really cool.

Length of Event: about 15 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problems

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: really good

Costumes / Make-up: they did a great job

Summary: This is one of our yearly haunts and is good every year,they have great ideas with props and I was very impressed with this years show,I also highly recomend this one as well,like I said we go every year and always love it,hot dogs 50 cents and smores as well,you get to cook your own hot dogs over a fire in front of the building.

Reviewed by: lfrightened1   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find and it helped that we'd been here before.

Wait Entertainment: They were playing movies in the wait area. Saw was on when we were there and the chainsaw guy came in also.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This was excellent throughout the haunt. Everyone seemed to be in character and no one missed our group or was surpised by us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Weren't a lot of other people here when we were, but a few groups and we never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: I'm going to say 10 and over.

Props / Special FX: They have a lot of new props this year. All were very cool. My girlfriend hates clowns so I liked those the best.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good. Some just black robes, but all the maks were good.

Summary: This is the best haunt I have been to in quite some time. They did a great job all the way through and a couple were waiting outside for us and followed us to the car. They got us at nearly every turn and then some. It is like sensory overload in this place because you never know where they are coming out of or what is going to happen next. If you miss this one, you'll definitely miss out and for $5, you can't beat it.

Reviewed by: frightful1   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good, had signs up directing us straight to it.

Wait Entertainment: Inside waiting - this was awesome since it was raining and cold! They were playing SAW on a big screen

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: Very Very good- They had actors everywhere and they seemed to be on point! I still don't know where some of them came out of!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good- we didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 10+- depending on how brave you are

Props / Special FX: These were so cool, they had some I had never seen before- I don't want to really go into detail and ruin it for you- but there was a lot of attention to detail!

Costumes / Make-up: Mixture of make up and masks-Very well done!

Summary: This was a great haunt!! I reccomend this one hands down and we went to 3 others last night that didn't come close to this. I can't believe they only charge 5$ to get in b/c it was the cheapest one out of all and it scared our gruop more than any of them. We will go back before Halloween!

Reviewed by: luvghosts   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find; there were signs around town.

Wait Entertainment: They were playing Seed of Chucky in the wait area.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good. I was a little leery after reading some of Friday's reviews, but they were right on que tonight. Opening night is not a time I usually go as it is the night that they "work out the bugs". I was very impressed with all of the actors. Between the guy near the electric chair and the chainsaw guy, I thought my girlfriend was going to pee her pants. Everyone was awesome and I caught no one out of character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. We didn't run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: This is tough; maybe 10 and over depending on how brave you are.

Props / Special FX: Props were awesome. They really went over the top.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make-up and all were excellent.

Summary: This is a great haunt and the first year I had been. As I said, I was a little worried based on the other reviews, but we had a great time. I would highly recommend you attend this one if possible. We also sat around the fire for a bit and had buying smores and hot chocolate. We ended up being at this haunt for about an hour and a half and it cost less than $15. Cheap date night for me.

Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs up so we had no trouble finding it.

Wait Entertainment: Playing scary movies in the waiting area.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes; my group went through fast because we were scared!

Actor Performance: It was good. The doctor scared us to death and the chainsaw guy stood in the hallway just waiting on us to come around. We wanted no part of that and somehow he came moved and came up behind us. In the cemetary we didn't even see the actor until it was too late; he was hiding in a dark area. Super scary! I missed some parts because I closed my eyes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We passed one group early on but that's because we were sort of running because we were scared.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: They had this cooker thing at the beginning that was so cool. It scared us right off the bat. They had clowns, electric chair, an elevator, creepy cemetary, and some caskets which looked like the real thing.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked great.

Summary: We went to 3 other hh on this night. This was the scariest. It was our last stop of the night and I'm glad we went. We are talking about a repeat visit next weekend. And it was well worth the $5 we paid (which was the cheapest place all night). You should go. It is sssssooooo scary.

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had enough signs to find it in this small town. Great location in a morton building on the outskirts of town.

Wait Entertainment: A movie which no one knew the name.

Length of Event: 10 min.

Actor Performance: So not ready for us. We were sent through before the second half of the house was even back from break. The doctor with the circular saw was pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: I did like the elevator, but I always have a fear of one falling with me in it.

Costumes / Make-up: The ones in the beginning of the house did real great. Not much of anyone in the second half.

Summary: For the price of the house, I would recommend. I just hope they put better line entertainment and the people taking tickets should be in costume or something. Just regular Joe's. They have some neat props but needed more people to work in the second half. We got to a room in the end with doors but could see through one and thought there was more to the house, but no that was just a room for the elevator. I recommend closing the window. No good scare at the end either, we walked outside wondering where there was more to the end.

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it by the signs without a problem.

Wait Entertainment: We got there while the actors were on a break. There was a movie showing, although no one could tell us the name of it.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Some were good. The butcher/doctor guy was really good. Others....well I don't even remember any others.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got backed up on ourselves when we couldn't figure out which way to go. Thought we were lost as we came up behind the ticket booth. Nope, you were supposed to be there. Bit of a strange layout.

Appropriate Ages: I will say again, HH are not appropriate for small children. Ever.

Props / Special FX: They had decent props. A couple I really liked.

Costumes / Make-up: Only remember 1 actor. And he was done up well.

Summary: I think we were let in before the actors were off their break so we hit some empty rooms. At least I am assuming there was supposed to be someone there. Other than that, it was a bit disjointed. The ending seriously needs some work. We had no idea what was going on, if we were done or what. I could also see right through a glass door to what I assume were actors in a room that looked like part of the HH but we hadn't gone through it. I just don't know. I know I sound negative in this review but it wasn't all bad. I think we missed a bit due to being sent in early. For the price though, you can't beat it.

Reviewed by: darkknight   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find and a large sign at the entrance.

Wait Entertainment: They were playing scary movies in the waiting area and the chainsaw guy came in and snuck up behind some in the crowd.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: When I went through, all the actors were in character. The clown room got me as they had more than 1 actor working it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good; we never ran into another group, although we heard their screams

Appropriate Ages: 9 and over

Props / Special FX: Props were outstanding. A lot of attention to detail in the crazy doctor's room. Also liked the corn field with real corn in it. Thought the best room for detail was the crying baby room with the skull wallpaper.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes that I saw were good. They had a combination of masks and make-up and all were good.

Summary: This is a great haunt and is well worth the $5 admission. I come every year and it just seems to get better and better. They save their tried and true rooms/props, but always add new things each year. The Hellevator is my favorite and I hope they never get rid of it.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs led the way once you got into Cerro Gordo. Not too hard to find since it is a small town.

Wait Entertainment: None. But actors were on a break outside in front of the house when we arrived.

Length of Event: 15-15 minutes

Actor Performance: First part of the house was great. Actors were all in character. Second half of the house there was a lot of actor talking behind the scenes which had a less scary effect on the house. Memorable was leatherface inside the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other patrons but the flow of the house was confusing. See summary below.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Great elevator effect and vibrating hall

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: The house had a really confusing path that you entered the first half then ended up behind the ticket booth and my group did not know where to go. Ended up that the second half of the house was not ready for patrons. Some good scares but the actors as I said before were talking and left this house a little less desired. $6.00 for the price was a deal. The ending of the house was lackluster, no scare to leave you running or talking- just- "is that it?"

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: signs on roads helped a lot.

Wait Entertainment: They had a movie playing.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good performances for the most parts, seemed like adults, rather than kids. The Doctor had a great scare and was timed perfectly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first to go in after the break, so we did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Rooms were very well done. I liked the boiler room and the stockade like maze. The sounds in this house were horrific.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of make up and masks. What we saw were well done. I think we missed out on a few rooms that were not staffed yet after the break.

Summary: I do not think they were ready for us after the break, The actors you could hear talking, and rooms were just empty that looked like there could have been a scare. The ending with the doors had nothing to it, and when we got out we felt like we took a wrong turn, there just needed to be more.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at