Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since we have been there before. This is ouir second year going to the Boo Crew!

Wait Entertainment: Did not wait, used the speed pass so could not tell if there was entertainment or not. There was a viseo screen in there showing patrons inside the HH being scared as we walked in the Speed Pass waiting area.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Nice performance by all. One hint- if you are a child don't come up and scream in people ears. That is not scary just annoying!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any group within the house. Nice job!

Appropriate Ages: As we have seen in the past going to HH this year- don't take young kids! 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special effects and props. First three rooms earned you a 10 then went down slightly to an 8. Nice use of the bungee guy.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly make-up in this house. a couple of mask that were really freaky!!! Loved the opening scene- that was a showstopper!

Summary: This house has been consistant but could step up there game a little. So many possibilities. For the price it cannot be beat. Love that you took a story and used it all throughout the house with the exception of a couple of areas that did not flow with the storyline. Nice job overall guys!!

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: in the middle of no where, but our leader took us right to it. Also noticed "Boo" signage.

Wait Entertainment: We did the speed pass, so didn't see any entertainment other than the dvd players

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: This was the weakest part. After the first two rooms which were very well done the house just fell apart. The timing of the actors were after front person in group only, often by the time the last person in our group entered the scare was over.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very nicely detailed sets. This is what stood out most.

Costumes / Make-up: Good combination of masks and make up.

Summary: Can't say great, can't say poor..this house falls right in the middle. I am not sorry we went, but it doesn't quite stack up to some of the others.It definately has the potential.

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have good signs as you go out of Rochester. This HH isn't actually in Rochester, it's in Berry.

Wait Entertainment: Speed Pass and they take you to a different room and nothing is there.

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: First three rooms were great. After that, not so much.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone else and no one caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: Parenting tip for the day: If your child wouldn't be comfortable working in a hh, then don't try to take them through.

Props / Special FX: Excellent props and FX. I loved the rooms and sets. Very detailed and lots too look at. Really liked the dude on the bungee cord.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. Nothing spectacular in the mask or makeup department. There were kids in the plexiglas prison without either a mask or makeup. I wasn't sure what was happening with that.

Summary: I wasn't scared at all in here after the first room. I kept waiting! The rooms were great and I loved the attention to detail. Not a lot of action going on though. Maybe it was because it was so late. A long night of scaring can be very exhausting. I wouldn't pay for the speed pass again. It wasn't worth it unless it is as cold as it was last night. No way I could have waited in that line.

Reviewed by: evil   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find we went right to it and had never been here before.

Wait Entertainment: the guys outside had very nice high quality masks,very scary! and when you first go in there is a video explaining what happened and the missing pilot.

Length of Event: fifteen to twenty minutes.They have alot of rooms just full of props and several actors in some rooms so they can come from all directions.

Actor Performance: overall good actors you always have some better than others.the man doing line entertainment with the can was great and the little girl in the first room with the white round head was really creepy and very good.a few needed a little help with timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into anyone else and i did not see anyone behind us either.

Appropriate Ages: nine and up

Props / Special FX: alot of props and actors nice mix. I really liked the swamp room with the moving bridge and running water and i liked the plane crash.

Costumes / Make-up: nicely done! most of the costumes fit the area and the makeup was very nice, alot of detail. hair as well,they definatally have someone who knows what they are doing

Summary: overall this is a great haunt.I was impressed with the rooms and how it has a very nice sound system it is very consistent throughout and the sound effects match the rooms well. i would like to visit again i dont think you can see everything in just one trip.I found myself wanting to look around so i wouldn't miss anything.

Reviewed by: Janis4   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was okay to find. There were a couple of sings that led us to the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: there were about 4 people outside entertaining. A couple of them had really cool masks, and they were definitely entertaining. At first I didn't understand their costumes, but they fit the theme great once you get into the house.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes, but surely it depends on how fast you move through.

Actor Performance: They were great. There were some little kids but they were honestly scary. Everyone did great and there was a part where a guy talked to us a little bit in a room with a bed, and he did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good, we didn't see any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: It was the most technological haunted house I have been to in a long time. It was very cool. There were some cool laser effects in the cue line. There were good props also.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very fitting to the theme and there were some really cool makeup effects. They looked very real, and everything was very professional.

Summary: The haunted house was great. It was the first time we have been there, and we heard about it from a family friend. It was fun to walk through. They paid attention to detail very well, and I wish I could have gone slower through, but I was somewhat scared, so I was ready to get out. I plan to go back in future years because it was very well done and I can only bet it will be great next year.

Reviewed by: OldScreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Same location as last year so fairly easy to find

Wait Entertainment: The guys working the crowd were awesome! The never broke from character and really did a great job.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes depending on how fast (or in our case, slow. We were too busy taking in all the fantastic decor) you move

Actor Performance: Top notch. The Boo Crew has some of the best when it comes to getting into character and they never waver away from that. Great Job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, very well spaced.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very good. One of the main reasons I love going to the Boo Crew. Alot of time and energy goes into their props and such.

Costumes / Make-up: Very nice! A good mix of make up and masks. The masks they were using weren't low quality either. You could tell they are very high end.

Summary: The Boo Crew has become a staple in our yearly haunt tour. They are always on top on our list. Everything is very top notch and detail oriented. The actors really do a great job as well. This is a must see haunt and for the price, you cannot go wrong! Bravo again Boo Crew!

Reviewed by: SirLars1971   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too bad off of route 29 in Berry Il, had signage that was eye catching.

Wait Entertainment: They had a "television" story about a plane crash which set the mood for the house. They had a guy working the groups who acted like he was a few bricks shy of a load he did a great job.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins depends on how fast you walk or how scared you get.

Actor Performance: The actors did a great job and the story flowed real smooth

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent did not run into any groups at all.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: Many animatronics and air cannons as well as real nice scenery and static props they get a 10 for decoration and acting

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of prosthetics, makeup, and masks.

Summary: This is one of my favs to visit and you won't be disapointed. The price is perfect and you do get your moneys worth. I think the location and the building they use is perfect and they always have a great storyline and actors to pull it off just right.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the remote town of Berry Illinois, outside town limits - good location. Visibility very poor - no marker lights and no display road signs at all. Very hard to find unless you know location or use GPS. Nice road markers would increase attendance.

Wait Entertainment: Some creatures working the crowd and nice visual presentation on the tv screen shows the plot of the haunted house - swap area.

Length of Event: 20 minutes, lots of "action" within that time.

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, no problems.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Normal traffic moves somewhat slow and expect to wait, they have a great following throughout the years including myself. Recommend using the "speed pass" for the extra $4.00 - $12.00 total ticket price its the best deal in the state.

Appropriate Ages: 9+ There is some "shocker" action in the house - smaller children could have problems with the shock.

Props / Special FX: Props are very good and the special effects they use works here also. Some electronic action figures moving the jumping throughout. All professional quality effects here.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes work great here, no problems noticed.

Summary: One of the better haunted house attractions in the state of Illinois here and for the normal $8.00 price its a deal. Everything moves fast within the walls of the haunted house, actual you could go through it twice and see different stuff each time through - lots of action here and detail is perfect. You can tell that a great deal of work has gone into this attraction and they improve it every year - the money goes back into the haunted house for new and updated stuff. Only let down might be no high action closing room effects, need some high impact closer to the house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at