Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Fear Factory (Rantoul, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Quite easy to find. Big trucks and flashing lights at the corner.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't see any. Speed pass, of course. And we got there at break time so it was a bit longer wait than normal. But once the actors got back to working...the line moved very fast.

Length of Event: 15 mins. Not the 30 mins we were told by outside workers.

Actor Performance: Excellent. All stayed in character and the woman coming out of the wall almost scared me down to the ground.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided tour. Generally I don't like guides, but she moved VERY slowly and didn't bother me a bit. I think I probably annoyed her, though. So sorry:-)

Appropriate Ages: Don't take kids to haunted houses. It's mean. And to hear little kids cry, unlike hearing adults cry, is not fun at all.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding again. They really did a bang up job this year. I was a bit leary because of all the talk-up from the workers outside.

Costumes / Make-up: Yes! All were good and appropriate. Nothing bad here.

Summary: Ok, so we liked this HH last year and we saved it until one of the last. I was really glad to see it was better than last year. The line system outside was great (even though we did the speed pass). The trees, the ropes, the tv's. Loved it!! 
I really enjoyed myself here. The only problem was the salesman pitch the outside people had going. These people started to sound like used car salesman. Let the haunt stand on it's own laurels. It's good enough. Outside people should just work their part. Even the security guards were selling us the house and we had our tickets and were already in line!!! I was actually starting to prepare myself for a disappointing show because of all the hype. This is not needed at all and quite annoying.  
Another major problem. GET THAT PORT-A-POTTY EMPTIED DURING THE MONTH. It was disgusting!!

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where to go. Might be difficult for a newbie.

Wait Entertainment: The LARGEST Jason Voorhees I have ever seen...and no platforms or stilts!!!

Length of Event: we timed it, 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: They do a nice job. Most were on cue and remained in character. They want to get the scare..well done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Part of the house is guided so not an issue.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This house is very well done. There is a lot to look at, and the design is well executed.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looks the part. The energy these guys put out is awesome.

Summary: We used to work an HH and these guys always do a nice job. The Speed pass was a bit slow, but I think we hit break time, so no biggie. My only comment would be not to have the workers saying this is the top 3 haunted house in the state and it is 30 minutes long. This never works, it sets your guests up for dissapointment when it is not accurate. I promise out of the 20 some we went to this year..it's good,and has some good scares, but not that great!!

Reviewed by: cbrian0   (Event Visited: 10/30/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find signs/flashing lights.

Wait Entertainment: Pretty good actors working the line.

Length of Event: 15 Min

Actor Performance: Boring...didn't seem into they're parts.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok but totally dislike the guided rope tour and larger groups

Appropriate Ages: all low scare factor.

Props / Special FX: To dark and smoky to see any detail also to many lights in your eyes. she be locatede not to blind you as you come into a scene.

Costumes / Make-up: NOt to bad.

Summary: Hated guded rope tour!! 
not good lighting in scenes. smoke throughout is to much.. in one room is fine but every room to much also alot of blacklights. use some good low lighting to see scenes. I expexted so much more!!! 
Outside waiting line had great detail and attention but it seem to be left out there.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since we have been there the last couple of years.

Wait Entertainment: A 7 foot tall Jason would appear evey once in a while. He was a really scary character.

Length of Event: 15 minutes. We had heard while waiting in line that it was 30 minutes by staff and patrons that used to work there. Becareful of spreading the hype!

Actor Performance: All the actors remained in character and were really on cue scarying equally the front, middle and back of our group. No safe place in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The tour is a guide tour with a rope and guide,; but the guide moved at a good pace. It was not rushed.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: For the last couple of years the guys who run the house have really stepped up their game. Each year this house gets better. The scenes that stood out were the bridge and the different halls and walks ways that had hidden haunters jumping out and coming from the ceiling.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job on this area, they had masks to go with the scenes and make-up.

Summary: As I mentioned this house has really stepped it up becoming better and better with each year. We opted for a speed pass when we were told that the regular line was 3 hours long. The speed pass was just $5.00 more making it $15.00 to go through the house. The wait in the speedpass line was 47 minutes. One worker said that they stopped selling tickets at midnight to make sure they got people through. My only suggestions would be is watch the hype about the house. We had workers saying that they were ranked 3rd in the state, what site? Hype causes my group of haunters to be skeptical about what we are walking into. Great job guys and we will see you next year!

Reviewed by: lumberjack   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find Rantoul is not that big, plus it was on a major RT.45 street

Wait Entertainment: Creepy saw guy moved when you moved. Love the tv's with a movie playing. We had a chainsaw run through the crowd caught everyone off guard.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, loved the creepy ring, grudge girl hanging you got to see it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: medium pace lead by a rope did not see anyother group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: very neat real plane in a room yes, a actual plane crash. loved the bookcase hidden door room thing. The only thing did not like was the slide to fast and not enough of it. Overheard some people got slightly got cut on it. You guys need to address this problem or it can cause a big liablilty.

Costumes / Make-up: all the the costumes fit the room, and boy was the rooms nice. great job.

Summary: Really enjoyed myself, so did my friends and boyfriend. Should have bought the speed pass. The line was really long had some problems with two kids cutting in line, but the little thick mean looking security guy said "Either you two go back to the end of the line or leave." We figured he was going to do a Judo chop on them. Wisely they went to the end. We plan on coming back halloween night and buying speed passes as i know it will be an electric atmosphere.

Reviewed by: reality   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: THIS IS IN AN OLD BODY SHOP VERY CREEPY....

Wait Entertainment: THEYRE WAS A SAW GUY WONDERING AROUNDM,ALSO A CRAZY CLOWN....VERY COOL

Length of Event: 20-30 MINUTES

Actor Performance: all the actors were on they really put theyre heart into it,keep it up guys

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: theyre was great flow we had a guide stayed ahead of us,but we never ran into another group ever

Appropriate Ages: 10 or older

Props / Special FX: they had an actuall airplain inside alot of strobes and the coolest of all coolest a 
ceiling wich dropped down

Costumes / Make-up: costumes were good makeup good all good

Summary: this is a great hh i would highly recommend it to everyone wanting a great scare go to this one you will not be let down,also take your friends they will love it,also if you like clown you will love this haunted house...

Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There was a good display of a police light and a hearse to find the attraction, though the parking situation was hard to see at first drive-by.

Wait Entertainment: Not so scary. The guy dressed as Jason was actually amusing-looking, so we weren't too afraid. Not many people were actually trying to scare you during the wait, though it was drizzelling when we got there.

Length of Event: About a half hour? The walk-through is guided and our guide was as slow as mollases, which made it not as scary... kinda boring.

Actor Performance: This is where the problem was. Half of the performers were under 15! I'm sorry, but children screaming "Boo!" at me just isn't scary. It's annoying. There were a good number of kids younger than ten years old!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not a lot of people there when we got there because of the drizzelling rain.

Appropriate Ages: Because of the other kids, I'd say 6 and up.

Props / Special FX: Not as good as previous two years. There were still some nice sets like the "Scream" mask room, a real wall crawler, and the rickety bridge. A couple of the rooms were nicely done, like the one with the Texas Chainsaw Massacre vibe.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, not as good as previous years. Especially the kids, who looked like they'd applied the make-up themselves. Darth Maul? Really? Is that considered scary now?

Summary: I and the two other people I went with were extremely disappointed. Two years ago we were very impressed by the sets and the actors, coupled with the good timing. Last year was a little less scary, and this one pales in comparison to both of them. As a rule, I don't like to be led through an attraction, so that detracted from the scare factor. And the ending was the most anti-climactic I'd ever experienced. Children behind chainlink fences screaming "help me?" I was glad they were behind the fence and not in my way. Get rid of the kids and put some tall, scary guys in there!

Reviewed by: tjmaid   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, direction to location clear. Signs are quite visible immediately getting off the highway.

Wait Entertainment: Okay. Lines were longs which was to be expected this close to Halloween and only saw 4 different mingling characters but big plus was the 2 TV's with Halloween movie playing.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors appeared realistic, good costumes, effective voices and creepiness

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, we waited about 5 minutes to get going once inside the attraction and were guided for half of the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: depending on child we had a 9 yr old and 12 yr old with us. but I'd say 9-10 and up

Props / Special FX: wish we could have slowed down a little in the haunted house to have better appreciated the individual scenes because they looked fantastic. The room with chains from ceiling was wonderful, ceiling drops, lots of flashy, lights throughout, strobe lights, black lights.

Costumes / Make-up: excellent

Summary: Our son loved the Michael Meyers guy as he is obsessed with the Halloween movies. I personally loved the girl on the wall from The Ring and the ceiling that dropped with the chains and after you go down the slide the room with the clown and strobe lights and mattress was perfectly timed, he was especially great. It was great fun, good time

Reviewed by: jimbo   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, only had vague directions but found sign easilly.

Wait Entertainment: ABSOLUTELY GREAT! There was a Saw character waiting at the ticket area, constantly following one of our group, very good acting. They played the original Halloween movie, that helped a lot. There were a couple other actors (chainsaw, zombie, etc.) that came out to scare the line later.

Length of Event: Little more than 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Perfect. There was a wide range of ages and experience levels of actors, but they all pulled off their parts quite well. Big props to the kids in that toxic room, that was one of the creepiest things I've ever seen. 
I will note that there was one actor that touched a member of our group numerous times, even though she repeated "Stop touching me, you can't touch me".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, the group behind us bumped into us at the very end, but when our guide pointed out the rest of the way we took a little slower pace.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: The sparks guy was amazing. The plane was a perfect start to the house. That actors used the strobes to their advantage very well, one guy spotted me and slowly walked up to me in the strobe, so all I saw was him away from me, then closer, then closer, then right in my face with a hatchet. AHH!

Costumes / Make-up: VERY GOOD MAKE-UP. The make up took this house to another level. There were masks, but the make-up was VERY believable.

Summary: Overall, I was very impressed with this house. If you're looking for a blood-curdling, mind-bending scare, this is not the place to go. But if you're looking to go hang out with your friends and have a ton of fun getting scared, this is the place!

Reviewed by: mell   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: flashing lights

Wait Entertainment: Telivision setup

Length of Event: it took about 25 to 30 minutes

Actor Performance: the characters fit the scene that they were in very well!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we had to wait a couple times for the group ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: they had chainsaws,sludge hammers ect.....

Costumes / Make-up: they wore masks and makeup and fit in with the scene they were in

Summary: This was one of the scariest haunted houses that i have been to.I recommend you to go it is very fun and scary. I loved it!!!!!!if anyone is scared at the beggining just remember THEY CANT TOUCH YOU!!!

Reviewed by: skydoo_07   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find, a big sign with flashing lights cant miss it

Wait Entertainment: really cool a corn maze with a huge jason guy at least 7 foot and a saw doll on a tricycle (an actual actor)and with movies on tv's

Length of Event: like 20 or 30 min

Actor Performance: perfect they are what made the haunted house,we visited the one in decator on the same night actors here were far better

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never saw another group, had a pace

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: were better than last year,had a sweet ceiling droping room, and a room with a real plane crashed in it

Costumes / Make-up: i couldnt tell they were real people, very well

Summary: It was all put together well favorite rooms were the glass room there was a chick hanging from the cieling,there was a guy like 9 ft. tall in the bridge room,but the cage room was the best room out of the whole haunted house. you have to go see this hh im going back at least 2 or 3 times.strongly sughgest you guys go.

Reviewed by: sims   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find!

Wait Entertainment: Wonderful! Very detailed and well thought out! Movies, corn maze and very good scares just while waiting!

Length of Event: around 20 mins.

Actor Performance: Wonderful! Very scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! We never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Awesome! the ceiling drop is amazing!

Costumes / Make-up: very detailed! Every actor was very much in character and very believable!

Summary: I would go though this haunted house again and again. I would also recommend it to everyone. I have been though haunted houses in Disney that weren't as good as this one! Go try it out and you will see exactly what I mean! Great Job Fear Factory!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: COFFIN   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. They have a big sign with flashing lights. 
It's really hard too miss

Wait Entertainment: Great. Best i've ever seen they had a corn maze to the door and tvs playing scary movies and some monsters outside. i saw a guy get out of line and go home because the jig-saw guy on the tricycle and a giant jason vorhees

Length of Event: About 30-45 min. there are so many rooms(like 50-60 rooms)

Actor Performance: incredible all the actors were great. they all knew what they were doing and knew how to scare. there was a room with scream masks crawling every where and the clowns were just amazing they were just strait phyco and the girl in the crib with the creepy baby gave the most blood curdling scream oh my god and the cage guy was insane he was hanging on the cage beating his head ( very dedicated to his job. and when he busted out i was terified. 
and the girl in the glass room was great, very scary. 
this haunted house has all the right actors in all the right places a+ 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good some haunted houses kinda rush you through but the fear factory has a good pace.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 13 or older

Props / Special FX: great who ever put those roomes together did a great job. there is so much detail. very convincing

Costumes / Make-up: costumes are awesome every room had just the right costume and character. make up was great, at the end theres a bunch of kids with there faces melting off

Summary: i strongly urge everyone to go. 
at least once I'll be going back 2-3 more times. this is literately the best haunted house ive ever been too. you have to see it for your self

Reviewed by: scarychick   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see the sign as clear as day there are also flashing lights near the sign

Wait Entertainment: The characters outside were very awesome

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: All the actors did great they made the HH

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good couldn't see other groups

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: They definitely made the HH

Costumes / Make-up: They wer all great and the make-up looked very real

Summary: I really loved this particular HH and I would suggest everybody should come and see it if they dare enter this HH is very intense very scary and I definitely would go through it again.

Reviewed by: KM613   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lots of flashy lights on a big sign.

Wait Entertainment: Huge Guy dressed as Jason.Small guy from saw on a tri-cycle.

Length of Event: 20-30min

Actor Performance: Realy good ...all stayed in there parts and jumped out at random times to scare you.I was laughing in this one room that had these scream masks and was realy dark when my g/f screamed do to the guy who was above us and the other guy who just poped out of the wall or something.Myers was decent.So were the clowns. The guy at the back door was annoying and sounded like an idiot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty easy and even paced with guides

Appropriate Ages: 11+

Props / Special FX: Alot of New and old stuff this year with a Real Airplane that looks to be crashed into the top of the building. And updates on there bridge room

Costumes / Make-up: Was Decent but needs work had more make up this year and less masks.But costumes were needed in some rooms like the kids in the back in street cloths that were all messed up but other then that it wasnt bad.

Summary: Went to 2 haunted houses this night one in Decatur and this one.This Haunt was by far better then the one in Decator.Alot of new rooms as well as old favs and the new un guided part down the slide was cool specially when you look up before you slide down to see a huge clown looking you in the eyes .I will be back on the 31st to see it they have made any changes like they did last year.But everyone should check this place out for it seems to be the one with the most time spent on the details as well as great actors in the central IL area.

Reviewed by: hillbilly77   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is located on Letchworth in Rantoul IL there are flashing lights are near the sign

Wait Entertainment: The entertainment is very good

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: The actors and actresses are very scary and very realistic it definitely scared me as I was going through

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very intense

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The props are very realistic and the music makes it very scary

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were great and the make-up seemed very real

Summary: All in All I would really encourage people to come and see this haunted house/factory if they want to be scared. It is very intense and I wouldn't bring in kids younger than 13 because they would be too scared and probably have nightmares. So everybody reading come and see this place if you want to be scared.

Reviewed by: mrbub   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find had GPS

Wait Entertainment: Poor to say the least, a little kid with a grade school costume.

Length of Event: 5-8 minutes

Actor Performance: very grade school like performance

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very fast, lead by a guide, did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7 years old

Props / Special FX: This is the only area that was decent

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up to much fog and to dark to really see.

Summary: It just was not a good haunt very predictable. The timing was not present. One actor really stunk. Not the scare ability body odor gross. I heard such good things but was very disapointed. A good haunted house for small kids not adults. And maybe priced a little lower.

Reviewed by: 13ghoast   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Its great and easy to find!!! it is right off 45 so you will see it and they have a billboard in paxton as you are leaving towards rantoul.

Wait Entertainment: the wait is crazy!! they got michele meyers playing which is an all time great movie and they got a corn maze which is killer cus ppl scare you when u r in there.

Length of Event: about 25 to 28 mins which is crzy cus it is way longer then last year and way better.

Actor Performance: i think the clowns are the best because i am so afraid of clowns and they get up in your face and they got good costumes too. they were awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i think that it is smart that they use ropes most of the way and then they make you walk the rest of the way after the slide. i think they have more fun walking by themselves.

Appropriate Ages: probably 12 and up cus it is crazy this year.

Props / Special FX: i love the sparks. they are one of the biggest scares and its not the props that make it. it is the actors. they are the ones that make the haunted house so good. they are killer this year and even though you do got such young actors i think that is what they should have cus they can scream realy loud and that is what makes more people scared when you are loud.

Costumes / Make-up: i think the costumes are awesome. they got make-up and makes which i think it is better when they mix it cus if people had all masks it would be dumb and the fear factory uses both. which i think it makes it more of a scare.

Summary: so as you can tell i loved it and i think they should be number one in the state and they are steller this year and they are killin it and i think the actors are the ones that make it and they are killin it to.

Reviewed by: crankymama   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, the directions on the website were great and you couldn't miss all the lights on the truck!

Wait Entertainment: They had Halloween playing on the TV's and you could actually hear the movie. There was also some people walking around in costume along with outside music and tiki torches; helped set the mood!

Length of Event: It took our group about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, we thought that by the time we got in that they would have lost their enthusiasm, but they were right on! They stayed in character until we were out of the room!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some people do not like the "rope", but our group thought that it gives you more time to enjoy the haunt instead of wondering where to go next. The guide walked very slow and we almost forgot that they were there!

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: A lot of time was obviously put into this! It was nice to see creativity and not feel like you were walking through Wal-Mart or Dallas and Co. Halloween isles.

Costumes / Make-up: Again very creative! Masks were used when needed and to me it is scarier when you can see the person and they look all messed up! Again a lot of time and effort!

Summary: I have been to this haunt several times over the years. It is nice that the owners change it up, but still keep the old favorites! I would definetly recommend this haunted house!

Reviewed by: Saferwaters   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was actually quite easy to find...then again it also really helped that they had flashing blue lights around the sign so the whole FEAR FACTORY was quite visible. Also at the time it was very easy to find a place to park.

Wait Entertainment: Hahaha don't get me started on that. Through out the entire night someone dressed up as Billy (puppet off of SAW) was riding around on a little bike. How cool is that? Anyways he followed you around and he wouldn't say anything to me and my group of friends. He would just be there and then you turn around to talk to your friends and then you turn back around and he was closer. He kept doing that which really freaked my friends out. It did freak me out but I laughed through most of it. Then there was a tall guy standing out there which was pretty scary. All in all they got us pumped up for the inside of the haunted house.

Length of Event: it was about 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: This would definitely be a hard one to choose. All of the actors were great. There were people which I assume were on stilts, there was a freakin' ceiling crawler which was pretty rad, the clowns were absolutely wonderful (I'm terrified of clowns so the whole fact that one ran up the slide to get me was great...though I almost wet myself and didn't want to go down), the first room was amazing (how they got the prop in there is beyond me but it was really good. Definite props to the actor in there), the second room I thought would be boring since it was just this big room with no one in it...boy was I wrong...I nearly messed my pants up when the real scare happened, there was this one room where a guy with a cage on his head was coming after us and getting in the groups face which was neat. I could go on about every single room but then I would have to write a book about the haunted house and I'm sure people wouldn't want to read that lol. All in all every single room was great and I got the crap scared out of me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were guided through most of it...but I must say the guides did a pretty good job in not running into other groups. Sure we waited for forever in the haunted house before we started moving but it helped with the whole creepy effect. Plus I think that they were trying to distance themselves with the other groups and also I think they were waiting for our eyes to adjust which was nice.

Appropriate Ages: I personally think that this haunted house should be for 12+

Props / Special FX: the props and special effects were wonderful. There were things from sparks to air guns to acual axes and so on. But really it wasn't the props and special FX that really got me interested while walking through....it was more like the actors. Sure some of the actors are young, but they can scream and scare and that's all that really matters.

Costumes / Make-up: the make-up was great (props to whoever put the make-up on the actors). I like the fact that it was mstly make-up instead of masks. Sure there was some actors that wore masks, but the things that scared me the most were the ones that didn't. There's a room where this girl is kind of hanging on the ceiling and when I looked up I could tell that she wasn't wearing a mask and just with all the make-up it was really creepy. I would also give tons of props to the toxic room kids...You could tell from their screams that they were young jr. high kids but when they pop out of no where and scare you...you wouldn't really care...that's how good those little kids were :D.

Summary: all in all if you want the crap scared out of you, I would totally go to the Fear Factory. I went to a few haunted houses that night and The Fear Factory blew them out of the freakin' water. They were not kidding when they said " Be prepared to slide your way into a hellish nightmare of psychotic clowns, a haunted forest, and sinister surprises around every cob webbed corner!" The Fear Factory is just that good and everyone should at least go once this year. Heck I'm going again on Halloween night with a big group of friends.

Reviewed by: Marine17   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see the Fear Factory sign a mile a way with all the lights going off around it.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great i loved Jigsaw riding around on the tricycle. I also loved the big Vorhees guy. I swear he had to be at least 7 foot tall.

Length of Event: it was about 25 min. long.

Actor Performance: The actor Performance was great I loved the forest like always this year Micheal Myers was Great being on chains and very thing. But overall everyone did great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Flow was perfect you could see everything that was going on. I like the guides personaly so you cant run threw the HH and run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The Props and FX where amazing. Who would think of putting a crashed plane in a HH. Only one place The Fear Factory!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were good I liked the Vorhees and Jigsaw costumes the best.

Summary: All in all the Whole Haunted House was great just like every other year I go it just keeps getting better and better. 
This should be the #1 HH in Illinois!!

Reviewed by: simon   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Had a big sign and flashing lights!

Wait Entertainment: There was a person dressed up as Jason and another person dressed as Jigsaw. There was also a movie playing. It was slightly raining, so the fires in the trees made for a creepy set up!

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Kudos to casting!!! They had the right people in the right places, ie. doll room, Michael Myers. I'm not one for children in a haunted house, but the little girl in the doll room was GREAT! Would not have been as realistic with an adult!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into another group, felt like we were the only group in the house!

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend it you small children and even older children that scare easy. The line wa mostly high school aged people and above. I saw very few children.

Props / Special FX: I was expecting the bridge drop, etc. Like how you changed that up! Also liked the placement of the slide (a little hard on the behind :))! Overall the monsters were very believable.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, especially the guy with the gun. It looked like he had really been in a plane crash. My sister liked the guy with the glowing eyes, he looked like the guy by the chair.

Summary: We had a fun time and we will be sure to tell all of our co-workers and friends. The only thing I would suggest is the guy at the end with the horn would have been better if he was in a costume!

Reviewed by: handsdown   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find got directions from website, plus flashing lights showed the big sign "Fear Factory"

Wait Entertainment: O.K. had saw following you sometimes to the point of annoying you. The big Vorhees was good. It seemed promising.

Length of Event: around 19 minutes.

Actor Performance: Alot of unneccesary screaming by little kids. The adult seemed low on there haunt skills. In one room a lady I think just followed did not scream or yell.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided tour, they really need to upgrade and design the haunts that flow without the guide. A little of that was at the end when we did not had a guide. I thought maybe now it will be scarier. But the haunts did not rise up. To many kids!

Appropriate Ages: A very easy to scare for 8 year olds.

Props / Special FX: This is where it was better than O.K. the big tree area was cool. Other than that it seemed just put together.

Costumes / Make-up: To dark to see the actors face. Some where with make up, to much fog at times. The best part was the creepy guy with the glowing eyes.

Summary: Not that good of a haunt. The building on the outside says body shop not scary. The wait area was cool with TV's playing, big trees lining the walk way. The burn barrels was greatly needed. In the haunt, kids at the end were very annoying not scary just kept on yelling and banging on barrels. And the typical chainsaw in the position you always see it at all haunts. The room with the plane, come on really not scary. The one actor with the bullhorn yelling with no costume was the worst it did not fit. I have been to this one years previous and I believe they ("Haunt Masters") are getting bored. Overall the scare points could have been good scares, but just they just missed it. Maybe it will be better closer to Halloween.

Reviewed by: dude23   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find because of the cop car lights were flashing right by where the sign is.

Wait Entertainment: pretty cool caus we were watchin the movie Halloween.

Length of Event: 25 min

Actor Performance: not good at all. they would stand out in the open and try to scare you without making noise. Also, the actors were to young and short.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very slow because of the uncool guide.

Appropriate Ages: 4+

Props / Special FX: Nothin special.

Costumes / Make-up: Terrible. Half of them didn't have anything on except for clothes or fugitive outfits.

Summary: not the best. close to being the worst. i wouldn't recomend going to the fear factory unless you get scared very easily. definatly needs older actors. I could tell that some of the actors wern't even in junior high school yet.

Reviewed by: mksbk   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I already new where it was. On 45 N before the old tracks on east side.

Wait Entertainment: They are on you before you get out of the car. The wolf caught my 6th grader by suprise. Had no wait.

Length of Event: about 15-20 min.

Actor Performance: They really played their part.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Can't really comment, the groups are controlled by a guide and a rope. We never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: a brave 10 year old +

Props / Special FX: Great FX there were areas that you had to remind yourself where you were.

Costumes / Make-up: Most were awesome some could use improvement.

Summary: I went to this event last year with my then 8th grader. We had a great time and were startled numerous times. This year I took my wife and our 6th grader. I heard my wife actually utter "Holy XXXX" a couple of times. I was cracking up. The event was completely mixed up from last year and quite a few new rooms and surprises. They WILL separate you. My sixth grader was still looking behind him on the way back to the car and did not say more than 5 words on the way home. Thank You!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at