Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: rawrrawrrawr   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location was fun... inside the oakton pool XD

Wait Entertainment: great! specially the dude with the big axe thing. he didn't get outta character once! :D

Length of Event: great length :D

Actor Performance: seriously good, cept for one clown at the end, he got outta character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the glow in the dark stuff was ammazing

Costumes / Make-up: average

Summary: We had a blast and were scared out of our minds XD 
the effects and scare factor were amazing compared to ones that i've been in before.  
GREAT JOB ALEKS!!! 
:D 

Reviewed by: lisalad   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Convenient location and lots of parking

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very Quick

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: very creative

Costumes / Make-up: excellent

Summary: Very well done - I would definitely go again. The actors were very convincing in appearance, voice and movement. The scenery was very creative and convincing. Special effects were very good - particularly the walkway through the spiral, which gave the sensation of spinning around.

Reviewed by: michelleyboo   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: skokie park district

Wait Entertainment: 30 mins to 40 mins.

Length of Event: 5-10 mins?

Actor Performance: one of them spoke when they were suppose to scare us...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: dark!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: super scary

Costumes / Make-up: veryy scaryyy!!

Summary: this was the most scariest haunted house i have been to in my whole life. every second something would pop up!! very scarryy!! there was a bridge and i fell and this guy in a costume start yelling "what are you doing on the floor!! gooooo!!!" but the people who went with us were very nice.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good! Off of a main road with a SCREAM SCENE in lights on the roof.

Wait Entertainment: Fantastic. 3 or 4 characters scaring mostly girls in line. Very effective!

Length of Event: 5-6 minutes. Very short! It's a small house so it would be difficult to lengthen it

Actor Performance: Fair. Mostly young kids trying to get a rise out of you. It's hard to take an 11 year old serious wearing bad makeup.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Didn't tun into another group!

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: Fair for what it is. The props are good if your scaring 8-10 year olds, but nothing compared to the bigger haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Fair. Nothing to brag about.

Summary: I always go here every year for a good laugh, and because the house is cheap money wise to get in. It's a park district haunt, so I don't expect much. That being said, while the effects, make up, and acting are mediocre to decent at best, at least there is thought put into each scene. Kudos to Skokie Scream Scene for having an imagination and charging a fraction of a price than some of these larger overrated haunts!

Reviewed by: CreepyCrawly   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, lots of signs

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors in costumes scaring people in line.

Length of Event: The lines were long, but the actual time in the house was pretty short (maybe 5 minutes at the most).

Actor Performance: The actors were startling, not really scary. Last year the acting was better, maybe there a bunch of new people? Last year, the actors seemed to get into it more, this year they just jump out and scream, and that's it. The timing in the beginning rooms is slow. Half the group walks through before the anything actually happens, so the beginning of the group misses it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us caught up to us, which made both groups combine into one big one.

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: Lots of strobe lights and black lights

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors have masks. They weren't really that scary because the bottom of the mask would hang out of their shirts, which made everything look really fake.

Summary: Overall, it's a fun house to go to. If you're looking for something really scary and gory, this is not the place. This seems more for younger kids and families. The wait is pretty long, and the tour is pretty short. There are more rooms than last year, and they are more elaborate. But, the acting isn't as good as last year.

Reviewed by: dEaD   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very east to see says scream scene on top of house in lights.

Wait Entertainment: Had some actors doing their thing.

Length of Event: about 10 minutes not to long but scary

Actor Performance: very impressive everyone stayed in character and the chainsaw guy split up half my group 3 of my friends just ran out the back and did not come back. (whimps)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: went pretty good the guides kind of rush you for how long the house is, but not bad.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: they had some cool props i liked the vortex

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: We had a good time (the ones who actually finished) the line was long but worth it they had the music to get you pumped up for the house and the actors walking around to keep you entertained. A little short but lots of scares. All in all it was a scary house and worth the money.

Reviewed by: PaulZScary   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ample parking, easy to find off of major road.

Wait Entertainment: Very fun

Length of Event: Goes by fast

Actor Performance: Amazing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Taken in individually in groups no more than 6, so very good flow, but tradeoff is a longer wait outside

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: Really good

Costumes / Make-up: Good

Summary: Scary haunted house, easy to find and park, $8, well attended and fun atmosphere, great actors and costumes, fun outside while you wait as you only go in in groups of 6 or less.

Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the Skokie water park. Be CAREFUL when driving in!! You have to go slow anyways, but there are curves with vegitation and twice 2 preteens jumped out from the bushes and scared me in thinking I might hit them since they were running all around the parking lot and entrance road way. I think that was my scarest part here.

Wait Entertainment: Spent an hour waiting in line. Was able to watch the 2 entertainers scare preteens which was kinda funny? I know this was a town event and thier 2nd time doing it but maybe they should offer a tent with activities for them.

Length of Event: 5 minutes LITERALLY. The whole time our ESCORT from the back kept yelling/telling us and in my ear since I was last (4 peoplein my group) to keep moving along that we were too slow.

Actor Performance: Unfortunately I couldnt tell an actors performance. Im sure there was some but again I was told to move along and even told to exactly what to watch out for.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was great since my group went alone and ESCORTED by one of the staff. Seems I am not old enough to go through it alone or my 2 teenage kids and thier friend.

Appropriate Ages: This would have been good or great if it wasnt for the preteens and younger kids hanging around the parking lot. So if better organized 13+

Props / Special FX: Unfortunately couldnt tell. I thought it was cool they had a spinning vortex.

Costumes / Make-up: Only a few costumes I thought was great. The mad giant clown outside, Micheal Myers end of HH tour, and the actors in the dark room with neon dots that you couldnt see.

Summary: The wait in line was im my opinion not worth the 5 minutes I spent going through this event. I cant even call it a HH(HauntedHouse) since I wasnt scared at all. Improvements: NO ESCORT please! maybe have people strategiclly located INSIDE to help with patron flow like other haunted houses. I was told by someone who works there they were doing this cause the younger kids would freeze up inside. Still maybe a matinee one for them. Like I said earlier I know I spent exactly 5 minutes going through and unfortunately had to look down the whole time since out escort was herding us along and yelling at us that we were too slow. I even had to yell back at her to chill out! I did 3 activites this evening, this being the second I feel bad I cant give it a better review. GL in working the kinks out and I may check you out in 2 years.

Reviewed by: deads   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to see, there were lights and signs

Wait Entertainment: pretty cool lots of actors walking the like and some loud metal music playing while waiting in line very cool.

Length of Event: about 10 to15 minutes long

Actor Performance: Very good all stayed in charactor and definitly scared very well. The chainsaw jason almost gave me a heartattack and the clowns really creeped out my wife.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good did not run into other groups and vise versa

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were very cool and i really liked the loud music

Costumes / Make-up: very original

Summary: The haunted house is so worth the price which is very low and it seemed a lot longer this year than last. The house is very cool and scary worth the price and trip. Would most definitly check it out.

Reviewed by: antiedoze   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was great.easy parking great location easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: the music was hard rock scary for the occation.the people were friendly

Length of Event: much longer than i thought

Actor Performance: great not to invasive scary played there parts well

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not to crowed the line went fast but not to many at once

Appropriate Ages: not for kids under 3 to scary

Props / Special FX: great some of the most amazing props and colors ive ever seen

Costumes / Make-up: wonderful some very unique costumes. the makeup was professional looking i was impressed

Summary: i have taken my kids to haunted houses for years and this was top rate it was well organized and creative. the monsters were scary and the setup was very frightening. it was long and full of suprizes around every corner we all had a great time and will return next week and do it all again we all had a scry time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at