Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find as it is right along route 78 north of annawan

Wait Entertainment: Short wait and we were there on a Sunday night which would be lighter anyway so no entertainment.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: I thought they were very good and stayed in character no matter what we said to them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think under heavy conditions they would be very well organized. For us it wasn't a problem

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up depending on your youngsters

Props / Special FX: I was surprised, they had some very nice props and the sets were actually better than some of the big shows.

Costumes / Make-up: Again pretty good. They matched the sets and added to the mood of the scene

Summary: This is a smaller show so don't expect Dungeon of doom or Dreamreapers. This is also the first year so look to see it get bigger.  
This was not the typical screamfest with overcaffinated kids popping out at ever corner. This was preformance art that is much harder to pull off. They do the scene that you expect from the bigger shows and do them well...Very nice Job guys and Girls

Reviewed by: kss1995   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, well lite parking and attraction

Wait Entertainment: minimal waiting

Length of Event: average

Actor Performance: Very well, best so far this season

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Very good, very realistic

Costumes / Make-up: Awesome

Summary: This was the best haunted house we went to this evening. Great scare factor, great effects and spooky interaction with patrons, will go back to have them scare the our children..and will go back next year..

Reviewed by: tmood   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very well lit up. can see clearly from road.

Wait Entertainment: not a long wait about 3 min.

Length of Event: 10-12 min.

Actor Performance: scary you cant see them coming

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: every room is a suprise

Appropriate Ages: +12

Props / Special FX: the music is so cool - props are cool and creepy

Costumes / Make-up: very creative and SCARY

Summary: It has alot of cool props that will blow your mind! The girl in the dungeon scares the crap out of you! You will be scared as soon as you enter. Well worth the trip and money. Good Job

Reviewed by: raehut90   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The view form the road was very easy to see. The sign was very lighted and big enough to read from far away.

Wait Entertainment: There was halloween music playing and the people taking the money were very friendly and talked with us.

Length of Event: We got right in to the haunt and we went in two at a time. After the first half of our group went in it took about 10 mins to get the next group in. going through the actual haunt took about 20 mins.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. They were very interacting with us as we walked through. The people would let you find your own way out and then would make it difficult to pass. I liked how they were all in your face and made it a challenge to get through the whole house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw another group while inside the haunted house. noone caught up and we never caught another group.

Appropriate Ages: It is deffinatly not for young children or for kids who get scared easily.

Props / Special FX: I liked how in one room you had to walk through a refridgerator. One door was like a cake and that was fun also.

Costumes / Make-up: All the ghouls were very realistic and scary. They would get in your face so you could see all the scary details in their face.

Summary: All in all, i felt like the haunt was worth going to. it was kind of pricey but i thought it was very scary and personal. If you dont like to have scary people in your face then dont go. i thought that them blocking the way was very fun and unlike any other local haunted house i've been to.

Reviewed by: redhead   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location is easy to find (they put a map on their flyer too) there was lights everywhere outside so it was really easy to find

Wait Entertainment: great music playing. some creepy looking people walking around.lol

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes (I notice some other reviews said it took like 10 min, i don't think that even possible)

Actor Performance: the actors were great! The guy in the room with the refrigerator was creepy, i don't think i ever want to eat "finger" food again. the lady in the cemetary gave me nightmares (thanks). and that poor poor girl in the chains, what a voice!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't wait overyly long to get in and every thing seemed to run smoothly. they had lots of seats available while we were waiting, and that couch was really squishy

Appropriate Ages: i wouldn't take any one younder than 12 to it. it's a little gory

Props / Special FX: the props were great, very realistic, the special effects just made it all the more erie

Costumes / Make-up: the actors wear masks for the most part so they were very cool looking, what makeup I did see was awesome

Summary: I would deffinately recomend this haunted house. I talked to the owner after we went through and he said this was his first year and he had a lot of idea's for next year too. i'll be back this year at least once to use my half off ticket and i will definately be back to see what he has next year. Great job guys!

Reviewed by: alcopone   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It needs a sign closer in to the town or on the other side, letting us know that the small turn-off is a mile away (or so).

Wait Entertainment: None, pretty boring wait with no one to entertain.

Length of Event: 5 minutes

Actor Performance: I only liked the older man from the south. He was the only actor that seemed to interact best with the crowd as they passed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The wait between groups was about 5 minutes. This was fine with the flow, but it must have been boring for the actors.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Not too much in this aspect. Some rooms were detailed to match a theme, but it was not "over the top" by any means.

Costumes / Make-up: So-so. They had the common stuff you see everywhere.

Summary: This is a fun 5 minute fling if you don't mind the $10 fee. In my opinion, it was really short. Too much effort was made to scare certain people in my group that would not get scared, which aggravated several us. Some actors would not give up. I will come back when they can extend the time through, or lower their prices.

Reviewed by: pyschoman   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Easy to find. RIght off 78 visible signs that are lit up.

Wait Entertainment: haunting music playing and a man outside scarying people.

Length of Event: about 12-15 min

Actor Performance: Awesome job. The chainsaws and clowns were scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Good lighting. some really cool affects. Awesome props.

Costumes / Make-up: Scary masks and some good makeup

Summary: I thought that it was a really good haunted house. I have been telling people about it and we will visit it again next year. They did an awesome job. The scare factor was excellent. It was definetly worth the drive and $10 was not bad at all either. If you get a chance this is one to check out.  

Reviewed by: landmvh   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to follow directions after calling Phone # on flyer. About a mile north of Annawan

Wait Entertainment: New this year so not much wait but im sure thats gonna change.

Length of Event: My girls and I could not find our way out so between 12-15 min.

Actor Performance: Acting was good, well rehearsed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into anyone. Only groups of up to 4 were allowed.

Appropriate Ages: My 11 yr old loved it.

Props / Special FX: An old woman chopping up a torso that was freaky!

Costumes / Make-up: Masks and Blood were terrific!

Summary: We loved it and will be going back. The ticket stubs gets us in for 1/2 price next time. I really loved the chainsaw guy who wanted me for dinner I escaped thru a secret door. awsome

Reviewed by: Akrissa   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Really easy to find. It's right on 78 and theres a couple big white signs right out front.

Wait Entertainment: None really. There were a couple ladies dressed as nurses waiting out front, but they didn't really acknowledge us at all.

Length of Event: About 15 min.

Actor Performance: The people inside were very good. The girl in the dark was very creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It went smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 12+

Props / Special FX: The scenes were all very well constructed.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: I enjoyed it. The part that was the scariest was a room with a girl crawling around on the floor and a man screaming at you to get out, but there seems to be no way out. There was also a clown room and a guy with a chainsaw that were pretty scary.

Reviewed by: cookielady   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. right on rt 78 outside of Annawan. Lights at entrance and all around the building and a spot light on front of building.parking is well lit and easy to get in and out of.

Wait Entertainment: Haunting music playing and a scary guy wandering around outside.

Length of Event: 12 to 15 minutes depending how long you stay in the rooms.

Actor Performance: Very scary and realistic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: moves along very good ,never ran into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: teenagers to adults

Props / Special FX: scary looking props in some rooms other rooms just awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: really ugly scary masks.

Summary: Over all the one of the best haunted houses I have been in.The scare factor is very good. Don't want to give anything away so you will have to come see it for yourself. Well worth the cost and the drive.

Reviewed by: cory74   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I thought it was easy to find. They had signs visible and lit up

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: @10 minutes

Actor Performance: Good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones at the time

Appropriate Ages: ANy

Props / Special FX: They were great

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: All in all they did a good job with it! The Refrigerator was an awsome idea! I only have a few suggestions that I will share later, want yall to be the first to hear them! :) It may be $10. and people complain bout the price but I dnt think its that bad! It was a good time!!!!

Reviewed by: blackash   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could have used a sign informing people that the place to turn was close.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 3min.

Actor Performance: The actors that spoke were good, but not scarry. Enjoyed the older gentleman with the grill.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into any groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The detail was pretty fair. Don't know that their was much in the way of special FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Average.

Summary: Dissapointed. I thought the older gentleman was funny and that is about it. I can't say musch else other than I was Dissapointed. Plus the fact that it was $10 for 3min.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at