Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Nightmares Basement of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jph1540   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was an easy place to find. If you find the casino you will find the attraction across the street.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was great. There were plenty of freaky people walking around in good costumes. They really did a great job keeping in character.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes about 45-60 minutes in line depending on what night you go.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was great. They never broke character. They made all the effort to scare you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. Never ran in to any other groups inside. The way they kept it to a maximum of 6 people to a group was good.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and over

Props / Special FX: Props were awsome. The special effects were awsome. Some of the mechanicle people looked real. The air cannons and the "tunnel" were awsome.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were good. It was really gruesome in some spots. Other spots it was just freaky. The make up was cool. It looked to close to real.

Summary: This is my second year coming to this one. I have to say that this year was a lot better than last year. This one gets better every year. It definateltymakes the top haunted house in illinois. I went on halloween and they go presented with the number one haunted house in the chicagoland area by haunted houses chicago. NICE JOB!!!

Reviewed by: treesaw726   (Event Visited: 10/30/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I tried going to this haunted house last weekend and got lost. By the time we found it, it was too late to go. Obviously this time around we had no problem finding it. It's literally right next to the casino. They do have a parking lot to the casino which you have to pay for, but I was lucky enough to get a spot right by the haunt, at a meter.

Wait Entertainment: There were actors, but they couldn't really scare us because there was no line. We just waited about 2 minutes to get let in.

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: I really enjoyed the actors. This was my first time here, and definitely was jumping and screaming. They all stayed in character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good. I went with just one other friend so ended up getting stuck with other people who were a little annoying, but there's not much you can do about that! Our group however, did not run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: The props were awesome!! I loved looking in the bloody bathtubs looking at "bloody bodys who have been cut up" Also, they pop air at you at random places which scared the crap out of me in addition to the actors. I really liked the basement effect as well. It even smelled like a musky basement which made the name of this haunt very appropriate. Also, I loved the fact that it was one of the darkest haunted houses ever!

Costumes / Make-up: AWESOME! My eyes were closed sometimes because I was getting scared, but the actors that I did look at had very realistic makeup.

Summary: This was my first time at this haunt and I had a blast! I also liked the mummys hanging from the ceiling and the effort from the actors. I will definitely be returning, maybe even tomorrow for Halloween. I would recommend this haunt to anyone. I drove a little over an hour to get here, and it was definitely worth it. I do wish there were more of a wait so I was able to experience the "line entertainment" but it was nice to get in and out. I am really excited to know that I have found another Haunted House that I really enjoy!

Reviewed by: skyesmommy   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find but worth the drive.

Wait Entertainment: Great!! They not only had people scaring you but people making you laugh your butts off!

Length of Event: About 20 minutes or so to walk through.

Actor Performance: FABULOUS! I don't know how they do it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Great.

Costumes / Make-up: Made actors look like REAL monsters!

Summary: Basement of the dead was one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to. I have never screamed so much! It was a good length and not just a quick walk through. It wasn't very easy to find since we weren't familiar with the area but it was worth the drive and the $13. Can't wait til next year!

Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have gone to Nightmares every year, but I don't think I would have an easy time finding it if it were my first time visiting. They do have a hearse parked out front (but between other cars on the street) and a red large windsock on top of the building. Keep your eyes open when you get near the casino.

Wait Entertainment: Always great! I was excited to see a new ghoul this year--the incredibly tall, incredibly realistic looking, walking zombie :) (my favorite!)

Length of Event: I'm guessing it took about 20-25 minutes--honestly the longest house I've been through in the last 5 years

Actor Performance: incredible! I can't say enough! They don't rely on the scream-in-your-face tactics that other houses do

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very well done. we couldn't hear or see those before or after us

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: you are constantly being disoriented by darkness, lighting, directional changes, etc.--and they use a theme throughout (look up the story of Al and Imus). I especially appreciated the theme, as compared to other houses using the usual mad scientist, the loony room, the clown room, etc. without tying them all together to make sense

Costumes / Make-up: great! especially the zombie I mentioned before

Summary: I have gone to this haunt every year they have been open, and they are by far my favorite! They are also sadly underrated, as a lot of people don't even know about Nightmares... They manage to startle a hard to startle patron--time after time :) 
If you have time to see only one haunt this year, I recommend this one over all others. 

Reviewed by: 6demo6gorgon   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was not hard to find at all and there was a hearse with the Nightmares logo outside to catch your attention.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. There were a few actors roaming outside scaring people in line as well as a large TV screen playing The Devil's Rejects.

Length of Event: 17 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent! Almost all of the actors were very enthusiastic and intense and stayed in character the entire time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into another group. They had checkpoints to keep the groups separated.

Appropriate Ages: This attraction is very gory, violent, and intense and I would suggest not bringing anyone under 13.

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of high-end props and special effects, relying mostly on strobe lights and loud noises to attack your senses.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were excellent and fit the rooms they were in.

Summary: This haunt is by far the best I've attended all year. I enjoyed how the name really lives up to reality by actually having you descend into a basement. The scenes were all greatly detailed and the scare tactics used were top notch. They focused alot on distraction scares, which I don't see a lot of other haunts doing and can get even someone like me who has worked in haunted houses for 8 years to jump. This attraction was definitely worth the 13 dollar admission price. Great job guys keep up the good work!

Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow their directions on their website & look for the hearse

Wait Entertainment: VERY GOOD. A few creatures were really grossing out my husband! Despite the rain, there were at least 4 creatures roaming the waiting area

Length of Event: about 20 mins

Actor Performance: Extremely good. Everyone was in character & very good at frightening or starteling the groups.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They let 4 of us in. The couple in front of us were chickens and they ended up letting us go ahead. We never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Nice use of animatronics & live actors. Many times, the mixed use was very effective as you couldn't tell if a creature was real or fake. Got a good startle a few times. The random use of air cannons was very effective.

Costumes / Make-up: I have to say, this is the 4th haunt I've been to this season & I beleive their makeup was the best. Everyone had top notch makeup.

Summary: The overall feeling and dank smell of being in an actual basement helped lend to the creepy atmosphere. Excellent misdirection, use of pitch black rooms, black dividers between areas to make it even more dark, creepy hanging strings in the hallways, a flash of bright light to disorient you, outstanding makeup and prosthetics, Great props and use of animatronics. It is really hard to scare me because I used to work behind the scenes at a haunt. Several times, the "monsters" actually startled me enough for me to give out a yelp or scream! The best value at $13. DEFINITELY go see it!

Reviewed by: mness01   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location, right on the Fox river.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was really good/ scary. From the ware wolf creeping through the line to Uncle Ed(tall scary guy,) they kept you on your toes and your eyes open.

Length of Event: 1 hour. 45 minute wait 15 minute walk through.

Actor Performance: excellent, lots of actors inside the house. every corner you walk around there is someone to scare you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: medium speed. The groups are all split up and we had no problem bumping into anyone else except for the creepy actors.

Summary: I've been to a few haunted houses in my life and this one tops the charts, relatively inexpensive ($13). Well worth the money. I would recommend to anyone seeking a good scare.

Reviewed by: ronmon   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Kind of difficult due to its downtown aurora but not to bad.

Wait Entertainment: not bad, several characters dressed up, seemed to be standing around more than interacting with customers

Length of Event: 10 - 15 min

Actor Performance: excellent, overall best looking characters

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problem at all

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: definately outstanding

Costumes / Make-up: best I've seen. Make-up is so good it looked real

Summary: Very very good haunt I definately recommend this one for everyone. the character are more realistic no masks used which is a plus. By far best scenes and characters. Anyone will flinch in this one gauranteed. Check out my other reviews as well.

Reviewed by: myscarylife   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are not familiar with the area, get clear directions. As you get closer to the event, you will be able to see the Casino, and it is right across the street. Parking is very accessible.

Wait Entertainment: Good entertainment in line. I was watching a movie on the TV that was playing outside and one of the actors scared me, so they definitely did their job.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes to walk through

Actor Performance: Good - plenty of different scenes and actors around every corner, some even followed us down a ways as we walked past, which made it scarier.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good, they stopped us a couple of times from going forward so that we wouldn't run into the slower people in front of us and they only took in small groups which made it better.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Great - pretty gory and gross. Nice animated stuff and a lot of different scenes than what you would typically see. It was pretty dark in there so when the scenes were lit up, you could see them very well.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent from what I could see - everyone was decked out in their best attire!

Summary: Definitely a great haunted "house" - it technically is in a basement, you go down some stairs at the beginning, so it is authentic in that. They were really down to business with this one, and pulled out all the stops including music and sounds and props galore. From air being blown on my ankles and head, to things crawling on my feet, it was definitely a great time and a good scare.

Reviewed by: BIGGUY69   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was farley easy to get to here, besides parking i have no complaint.. their ticket prices are so cheap that i can afford the 2$ fee for the parking garage.

Wait Entertainment: Not bad at all, we saw this huge line at 11 and the group i was with didnt want to go but they moved the line pretty fast. Plus all the outdoor entertainment was great to watch!!

Length of Event: Around 20 to 30 min.

Actor Performance: Really good. Everything was so believable and so original! We went around the time they were closing and everyone had so much energy! Other haunted me and my buddies have gone to around that time it was weak, i love how every actor in the house had energy! It was great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didnt catch up to any other groups in the house at all.

Appropriate Ages: Its really graphic. Id say 14 or 15 and older.

Props / Special FX: GREAT so much detail, but i missed alot of it running through the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Great, everything was so realistic!

Summary: I've been to many of the other top haunts.. and this was the first time at this one. Personally this one blew the other haunts out of the water! I cant believe i never went here before, i jumped so many times where as the other haunts made me jump once, maybe twice. Ill be sure to tell all my friends about this haunt and ill be attending it more then once this year and all the years to come. No other haunted house is worth my time. 
 
Great job Basment of the dead

Reviewed by: Mikael   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find. right off route 31.

Wait Entertainment: good. lots of interaction.

Length of Event: about 15 to 20 minutes start to finish.

Actor Performance: very good. the actors were convincing and some were downright creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didn't run into any other groups. it was a slow night though.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: this is always my only major gripe. the entire place is blood blood guts blood. but people most people like blood i guess so it works.

Costumes / Make-up: very good. i would say a lack of variety but well done nonetheless. again too much blood for my taste.

Summary: i visit a lot of haunted houses and this one was very well done. one of the better haunts i frequent. my only gripe was the lack of variety in scenes and people. everything was saturated in blood. this probably works well for teenagers but not a slow looker like me. good haunt though! worth the drive.

Reviewed by: iada   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find just across from hollywood casio,with a wind dancer

Wait Entertainment: The best around,it is a show in it self.

Length of Event: about 20mins

Actor Performance: Nightmares always have the best actors around,I have been going for 4 years and there actors have always been the best around give it a #10

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never ran into another group,felt like I was in the basement all alone. it is the darkest haunt around.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and above

Props / Special FX: The best props you will ever see they are as good if not better than you will see on TV,alot of time was spent in this area,the detail is so real,be sure to look at them if your not running thru the basement.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup and masks were very realistic and went with the basement theme,also very real looking give it a 10. plus

Summary: If you want to get really scared this is the haunt to go to,it is the best around and I have gone to alot of haunts,and I have yet to find one as great as Nightmares and the price is cheap for what you get,they did changes again this year like they always do so you never know whats going to happen I hope Nightmares will be #1 this year and not the usual ones,they really deserve it and I am sure most patrons who have gone would agree.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at