Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Darkness (Herrin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: spicycat3   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Big signs with stobe lights out front. Great location, right off the main road.

Wait Entertainment: Good, monsters greeted us as we drove in.

Length of Event: Didn't really keep track of time, but would estimate between 15 & 20 min.

Actor Performance: Scared the pants off of our entire group. However a few didn't seem to be as into their role as the others.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent, never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: Hard to say, there are some startling scares. I would estimate 11 and older.

Props / Special FX: The props were top notch. The Dungeon itself was the best special effect. I felt like I was in a dungeon.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were great. It was hard to tell masks from make up.

Summary: There was a group of 8 of us and the general consensus among us was this place is awesome. Dungeon of Darkness...they aren't kidding! Some parts are very dark but very scary! Scary noises & actors come out of nowhere. We were screaming from the time we walked in until we were laughing & screaming on our way out. Not to mention some very cool suprises inside. Was definitly worth the drive. Be advised, this place is scary, I would not recommend this for children under 11 without a parent.

Reviewed by: mrscindy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was very easy to find. And well advertised

Wait Entertainment: Was scared as soon as we got out of car. They even went to one of my friends car and got here. we loved it.

Length of Event: very good. about 20 mins or morewe lost track of time trying to find way out

Actor Performance: Very good. the props were amazing and the actors were very good also

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: awesome. we went in group of 5 and 5 and did not run into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older. very very scary

Props / Special FX: props were the bomb. my husbands favorite part. i was little busy screaming to look too much. but it was great

Costumes / Make-up: were amazing. some you could not tell which were real or not.

Summary: It was a blast. the scariest one I have ever been in and we go to a lot. We took our teens and they loved it. One of our friends got so scared in line she could not go in. the dark room was the bomb, and the suprise in there got me good. We would recommend it and have and will again. And the price you can afford. Overall my whole group gives it a 10 for sure.

Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right on main drag.

Wait Entertainment: Absolutely none!

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Could have been better if we could have seen the actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: Any age.

Props / Special FX: The coolest prop is the alien at the entrance and the coolest special effect is the puking dummy when you first walk in. The rest is pitiful.

Costumes / Make-up: Can't make out costumes or make up.

Summary: We went here cause this place was rated excellent due to their affiliation with Las Vegas. We were very disappointed. They claim to open at 6pm we got there at 7 and had to wait til 7:30 cuz actors were not there yet. They were soliciting actors in the parking lot actually. Once inside things got worse. Way too many stobes. It's like the whole place is one big stobe light. And what isn't strobed is pitch black. There were like 6 actors in the whole place and all you cud see were shadows of them or glimpses when the strobes blinked. Enjoyed Chittyville more the week before and it wasnt much better read comment left there.

Reviewed by: devlinburges   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good it was right on the highway so that was cool

Wait Entertainment: good they got you in line and things like that i liked that but the wait was not long at all

Length of Event: it was a good time i realy did not keep track of time

Actor Performance: good they jumped out of nowhere you could not tell what was what

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good i liked the fact that people seemed helpless to find their way around

Appropriate Ages: per teen or older i would say

Props / Special FX: very good i liked seeing things that you just couldn't go get at chain-stores or wal-mart

Costumes / Make-up: good geat make up or mask or props i could not tell if some were masks or makeup

Summary: very good i was very impressed and will go again...very top noch stuff and the atomphere was good nothing looked "hoky" at all and the feeling of being lost and helpless was great...i was gad to have an event like this in souther illinois. i had a great time.

Reviewed by: scareme1   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome location. Right on the main road, 148!

Wait Entertainment: It scared my friend so bad she didn't want to go through. Characters were great!

Length of Event: about 25 min. We all were going slow. We're afraid of the dark.

Actor Performance: Great actors, scared me more than a dozen times! Seemed like they knew what they were doing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were slow in some places and fast in others, it depended on how much light there was to see, and there wasn't much!

Appropriate Ages: 10 years old and up

Props / Special FX: The coolest props I have ever seen. I loved the guy in the first room!

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was amazing. It looked so real. I couldn't tell if it was a mask, or if it was make-up.

Summary: I would highly recomend this attraction to anyone who wants to get more the the "chit" scared out of you. I hope they do this again next year. I will be their number one customer.

Reviewed by: wickedclownd   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: high visibility is righ of the main road (148) lights and signs

Wait Entertainment: there were actors in the line so you got a show before you even started

Length of Event: 20 mins i walked slowly to see every thing

Actor Performance: good they realy got me a few time it is dark and you dont know whats real or not

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good we all got lost and had to help each other that was fun in its self

Appropriate Ages: good for 11 years or so adults too

Props / Special FX: real good hollywood style props and animated props

Costumes / Make-up: scene appropriate good costumes and it was hard to tell real actors from props

Summary: i think it was very good...souther illinois needed a good event and with the haunted barn and the dunge of darkness i got a lot the dunge was fun and scary at the sametime i like that you have to find your own way that makes things scary because you truly fell lost and helpless i had a real good time and was crawing out of it in the end...stay in souther illinois for the dungen and the barn i will go again...

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at