Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ZombieDude   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The place was lite up very well in the waiting area. Found it pretty much right off the highway.

Wait Entertainment: Wassn't too bad since we went with the speed pass. Made it a short wait.

Length of Event: Only went thru the spook trail. I think it lasted 40-45 mintues. Had a great time, kind of lost track of the time.

Actor Performance: Everyone I seen was did a great job. Was really fooled by a zombie/undead guy that looked like he was cut in half. Thought it was a prop until he lunged out at me. I about peed myself. Another great one was in the house that had a guy walking a short wall inbetween two pop up props. He looked really good too. They was just so many great areas this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the crowd was good until we got around to a house on the trail. We almost wanted a speed pass there too. But once inside, it was worth the wait.

Appropriate Ages: Most of it seens good for all ages. The cemetery and the house would scare most young kids, but they need to get used to it too.

Props / Special FX: The last house on the trail had great props. Loved the werewolf plus many more things in there that would bring you back for the next year. The cemetery had some good props and the prop that wasn't really a prop. I bet it got many people of guard like it did to me. The old house on the trail had some very good props.

Costumes / Make-up: To much to list here. Just a over all great looking haunt.

Summary: To sum it all up. The cemetery with the zombie/undead was great. They did a great job and I felt like I was in a old cemetery. The old house on the trail was done well. Even thou we had to wait in the line to get into it, it was well worth the wait and they did a great job on it too. Then the last house on the trail was unreal with all the special FX that was going on in there. The spot where you could take you picture was a great idea in the area too. I will be sure to come back next year. I hope it is bigger and better cause I love a good scare.

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: NOt too many signs on the road telling us where to go unless you were there before.

Wait Entertainment: None that I could see.

Length of Event: 40 min for the woods and 10 for the house.

Actor Performance: The woods were great, loved the zombies and the guy with the flashlight.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Caught up to the people ahead of us at every house. Same goes for the people behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Didn't much care for the smoke house but did get a good scare when I touched someone that I didn't see.

Costumes / Make-up: Both

Summary: I liked this haunt alot better than last year. I didn't like the house with the striped lines and strobe light, only because I couldn't walk straight and kept bumping the walls. There is lots to see on this trail, even the cops will scare you. Great long walk in the woods with some really good scares. The house was ok, I did scream a few times, and the jungle look was cool. Did have problems with the ticket lady, she was rude and nasty. Both ladies in the ticket booth had no clue what the other was doing. One was charging one price and the other was charging a different. Just need to get on the same page in the ticket booth. But overall the haunted trail was great, just a very long wait to get to the front. So go early.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right off main highway with a large lighted sign pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any. Course we opted for the speed pass.

Length of Event: Trail- 40 min. and House 12-15 min.

Actor Performance: Great on the trail, everyone stayed in character. In the house we heard talking and even walked into a room where the actors were standing there without masks on and talking.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: On the trail you did see a few groups every once in a while; but there were checkpoints in the haunt that they seperated groups. In the house we ran into a few groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Trail: Loved the house this year- really added alot. Nice sounds. House lacked a lot this year as well as in the past. Animatronics in both house and on the trails.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job in this area a mixute of both! Nice job guys!

Summary: In all, I love the trail, it gets better each year! There are tons of scares jumping out of everywhere! It winds you around the woods and gives you that lost feeling. This is an event that guys seem to get better with each year.  
The house lacks actors and there is nothing scary about walking through tons of black plastic. I would add more actors in the house. Its just rather annoying. These guys always do a great job with the scares. My biggest concern was the ticket sellers. We could not hear them and they could not hear us. Plus they were selling tickets out of each window at a different price. After we pointed it out one seem to get mad at us and shove the ticket at us out the window. But overall- Great Job! This is a favorite of our group that travels around of ex-haunters.

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find by the large, lit up sign.  
 
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE TRAIL. NOT THE HAUNTED HOUSE. Read the summary for more.

Wait Entertainment: No scary people that I saw. Tons of people were there. So I entertained myself by staring at other people.

Length of Event: Trail - 40 mins or so. It was long!

Actor Performance: Terrific!! They had some great hiding places. Can't tell you how many scares got me and they were standing right in front of me and I never saw them. Actors did a really great job. Namely, the zombies. Tough job, but it worked!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Backed up at the houses. Didn't bother me a bit. Gave me time to catch my breath. I liked having time to look around the woods.

Appropriate Ages: Small children are a no-no in any haunted attraction that isn't specifically for small children.

Props / Special FX: Lots o props! Masterful set decoration and really authentic woods setting. I really believed I was walking through the woods! A very simple prop was the best in my opinion. I couldn't figure out how a cat could move that fast!

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent, wonderful, great!

Summary: The Haunted House portion was disappointing. The guy yelling about the cookie. Just stupid and annoying. Not scary or even funny. The trail is amazing! Go there. Ok, so now I am going to tell you a bit about the ticketing. There were four of us. We wanted speed passes for both events. We were charged three different prices. I still have no idea what the real charge should have been, but if it was $33 for both events, that is just too much. However, I do have a suggestion. Get the speed pass for the trail for $20 (because that line was LONG)and skip the haunted house portion. I think the ticket people could agree on that amount. The ticket people need to get their act together. 2 windows, 2 ticket people, 3 prices. What? And one was an angry ticket lady. Not my fault they can't figure it out.

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good signage delivers you to the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: a few monsters making the rounds..and lots of food!!

Length of Event: 10 minutes for the house. 40 minutes for the trail

Actor Performance: Fantastic actors on the trail, excellent hiding places. So many good ones, but have to give kudos to the zombies in the house on the trail with the little girl, look out when it goes dark!! The actors in the "Spook House" were talking, and caught one with the mask off walking around his room when we entered.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into groups waiting to get into the houses on the trail, but it works, you are stil out in the spooky woods. Not so much in the "spook house", we ran into groups inside.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Nice job on the trail, so many things to look at.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked great.

Summary: This event has two places. "Spook Hollow" and a "Spook House". "Spook Hollow" is a fantastic must see..took us 40 minutes to get through. We gave the "Spook House" a second chance this year and sorry we did. One note: AN EXTRA $20.00 for the speed pass is ridiculous. I am a fan of the speed pass and never mind the extra, but this is unreasonable considering the house is so weak. Do not miss "Spook Hollow". So far the best of the 15 haunts we have seen so far.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is great, high in the hills of the little town of Marquette Heights, surrounded be trees and woods. Nice location here and works great to set the mood as to what is to come.

Wait Entertainment: Some people working the crowd in creature masks and dress.

Length of Event: 40+ minutes on the trail with no dull moments. Haunted house was about 15 minutes or less, but nice.

Actor Performance: Actors all well done and stayed in character to the letter. It been some time since I saw performances go off the clean and without problem, NICE JOB.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Haunted trail flow was acceptable with most flow good, a few bottle up expected as you enter other houses and buildings along the trail. Haunted House moves along good with no bottle ups.

Appropriate Ages: Most events on the trail could jar some younger children, age depends of the childrens reaction to shock. Nothing above average in age for the haunted house, most kids could handle this.

Props / Special FX: Trail props and effects are very good, lots of animated electronic professional props which pop off as you walk through the woods. This attraction has more electronic "pop" props than any other haunted attraction I seen outside of Chicago or St. Louis. Not a lot of special effects used on the trail but its not needed here. The haunted house has fair props with no actual special effects to speak of.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes throughout this attraction are very well done and all detailes perfect. make-up and masks are all very high perfessional quality, nothing cheap here!

Summary: Were to start, the trail is the best overall trail I have seen in some time. The trail is nice and long (45 mintes plus) with 4 different houses on the trail. Each house event is very entertaining and very well done, highest quality possible. The trail is full of great supporting cast, no actors are short here. Everything went off exactly as designed and was a pure joy - might try again if I have time. Haunted house attraction is fair, but the main ticket here is the trail. 
Extra hay-rack ride at no cost, but no a fright attraction here - just a nice dark ride throughout the little town and around a large grass hilly area. A very nice and enjoyable night here.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at