Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: kimble1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ok

Wait Entertainment: None really

Length of Event: 20min

Actor Performance: Poor

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Bunche up alot not very good timing on their part

Appropriate Ages: any age not scary

Props / Special FX: Bad I was very diappointed

Costumes / Make-up: OK

Summary: I dont know who rated this a ten it had to be the people working it because the reviews were very misleading this is suppose to be for actual voters not the workers trying to make their selves look good and if they would stay off there cell phones and actually try and scare people they might get a better response I went to several HH and this was the worst the smaller towns did a better job with less resourcess I expected so much more I wont go back.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is good.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment is weak, not much here.

Length of Event: 15 minues average.

Actor Performance: Actors were very weak, mainly noticed young people working this event. Some characters were on cell phones and others cigarette breaks, breaking character was common and a very sad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Bottled up traffic in the event, all taking a great deal out of the overall enjoyment.

Appropriate Ages: 6+ No high "shockers" - not much put into fright here.

Props / Special FX: Average props throughout the attraction, no special effects at all.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes all work here, but nothing stand out. Mostly masks used by the people, no creative work here at all.

Summary: After reading some of the positive and negitive reviews I decided to attend this event on the last day. Overall the was very little crowd here so we moved through the event without too much trouble. Everything they had looked average but it worked and kept some interest in the haunted house. However note that this isn't a top rated haunted house and the votes above 7 are not correctly marked - employees or friends, too bad this happens! I think this attraction has possibilities and I hope they continue to work on it for next year.

Reviewed by: zombiedad   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: A guy with a chainsaw

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: POOR kids in masks yelling in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: didn't run into any one

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: some cool props

Costumes / Make-up: some good masks

Summary: This was not a scary house at all the reveiws don't match. I did see some wasted space and a lot of hazzards they need to think about the customer safety not just trying to scare them. Kids are not scary...

Reviewed by: haunthappy1   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: fair

Length of Event: average

Actor Performance: poor

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok

Appropriate Ages: any age not that scary

Props / Special FX: some good props would be better if used properly

Costumes / Make-up: some were cool some were a bit cheap

Summary: overal it was ok not great with two houses in town they should have stepped up their game a bit and monsters are not supose to talk on cell phones i seen one texting musthave been sending a message to their mummy

Reviewed by: mick07   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was good, easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: couple people in line with chainsaws, pretty entertaining

Length of Event: 15- 20 min

Actor Performance: only a few had kept charactor the whole time. overall not really that scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: horrible flow inside, we ran into the group in front of us, and the group behind us ran into us. so instead of three seperate groups we had one big group. ruined the whole scare experiance

Appropriate Ages: 8 up

Props / Special FX: liked the tunnel you have to crawl through

Costumes / Make-up: mostly masks, not reall that well done

Summary: overall experiance was very poor. There were alot of unsupervised children in line ahead of us. i would say they were 12 to 15 yoa. should not allow them in line without parents. also there were alot of children involved with working the house. a couple children can be very scary, but when 80% of the people working are children wearin jason masks, it is not scary at all.

Reviewed by: frightful1   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location- very easy to find

Wait Entertainment: a few actors in masks came out to scare the crowd

Length of Event: 20

Actor Performance: I didn't really get to see much of the performances b/c we meshed in to 3 other groups even though we started out in a group of 4- I am not trying to be negative here- I jsut was dissapointed b/c we didn't get to see the full potential of the actors- I will also say that they had a lot of kids- I don't think that portrays a fmaily atmosphere- kids are NOT scary!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor- as I said this really needs improvement- we kept getting bunched with other groups

Appropriate Ages: If they get the patron flow worked out I think this could be very scary! So 10+

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of great ideas! A really cool vortex and a few other really cool ones -

Costumes / Make-up: mostly masks- some really good ones

Summary: Overall I was really dissapointed, this keeps getting great reviews - If you work this event please please don't rate it- it is misleading! I don't think I will go back if they have it again- they have some really great stuff- but this close to Halloween I thought they would have the bugs worked out.

Reviewed by: headbanger   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location on Eldorado. Very easy to find - couldn't miss the hearses out front. Parking lot well lit.

Wait Entertainment: Long lines,but more than adequate entertainment to keep us busy. Several characters working the lines.

Length of Event: Approx. 20 min.

Actor Performance: Overall, pretty good. Being it's first year, there is always room for improvement. Could tell there were veteran monsters among the newer actors, but it was still good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OK for such a busy night. We saw a group that was so scared that they refused to move, which sort of backed things up. Actors did their job breaking up the bottlenecks, which was caused by the crowd, not by the failure of the haunted house.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Sound effects = thunder & lightning - were incredible. All rooms had different sounds. Nothing real high tech, just good old fashion scares and great vortex.

Costumes / Make-up: Good mix of masks and make-up.

Summary: This was the better of the two houses in Decatur. This house should make all other haunted houses in the area step up their game and then everybody will benefit. Family oriented atmosphere as I noticed some kids working in the house. Great house that can only get beter.

Reviewed by: LoveHween   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Like many of the other posts note, it's right across from Long John Silvers on Eldorado

Wait Entertainment: Minimal. There was a man in a hooded sweatshirt with black netting covering his face who would stand next to people until they noticed him. There was a pretty creepy looking clown, but he just stood by the front of the line and didn't scare anyone.

Length of Event: 15 min wait, 10 min through the house

Actor Performance: Very poor. The actors were 80% kids under the age of 15 and many of them had their masks off when we entered a room. One kid put his mask on, said "rarrr," and took it back off before we left a room. Other actors just sounded really cheesy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fair. A group of kids before us kept running in and out of the house because they were "too scared" to go in. I think they held up the flow a lot.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Some of the rooms had potential, but I was pretty disappointed overall. For example, the clown room had a convertible car in it and the actors honked the horn. It didn't make much sense.

Costumes / Make-up: Very poor. The actors with masks were the scariest, but most of the actors had face paint on. The makeup consisted of neon (I'm talking bright yellow, orange, and pink) paint that glowed in the dark maybe was supposed to look like a skeleton...but it more closely resembled a lion. Not scary.

Summary: I'm a fairly hard person to truly scare, but it's easy to make me jump. My boyfriend and I went through the house alone and still weren't scared. For its first year, I'll give the Scream a break. Overall, I think most of the ratings are highly inaccurate. If you're looking for a family haunted house suitable for young children, this is perfect. Plus, it's for a good cause (supporting the Decatur Celebration). For an older crowd, though, it may leave you wanting more. If you're in town and looking for something cheap to do, I'd say go for it. Just don't plan on being terrified.

Reviewed by: fearfighter   (Event Visited: 10/22/08 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: We was attending a VIP party so there was no line to wait in, but there was a couple of characators roaming the parking lot, two creatures with chainsaws, and a reaper, wasnt too scary for me but they was creepy to many others.

Length of Event: around 15 to 20 minutes, but they had closed off some sort of a tunnel due to this being a costume party.

Actor Performance: Well I will say that I am not the guy to be scared, but I went in with 4 women who about tore my arms and clothes off in addition to blowing out my eardrums with screams, I think they did rather well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems went very smooth

Appropriate Ages: 12+ 

Props / Special FX: Even though the props were not the purchased ready to go type, I like what they had, there is some originality there along with some things that took some serious thinking, I was checking out the vortex and what simple but complicated design there.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes were good, lots of good masks with some in makeup.

Summary: I must say this wasnt the best haunt I have ever seen, but it is by far the best Decatur has seen for quite some time, There are alot of personalized features there, and I think the crew acted in a professional manner. I am looking forward to next year to see what these guys come up with.

Reviewed by: HHHunter   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: None that I saw. We waited in line for about 20 minutes and then decided to upgrade to the speed pass. Don't bother.

Length of Event: 25 minutes, most of the time was spent waiting in bottlenecks in the house.

Actor Performance: Some were good. A lot of talking to each other and to the patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The worst patron flow I have ever seen. There were groups running into other groups. At one point I asked a monster to hold the group back for a bit so that our group and the two groups in front of us could have a chance to move one. But to no avail did that happen.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up

Props / Special FX: Same in majority of the houses that just start out.

Costumes / Make-up: about half and half, nothing stood out.

Summary: The patron flow was what really ruined the house. The actors were just standing in the room when we went through. Apparently they had scared a group that was ahead of us and just really stood there because the scare was over. As I said before half the time in the house was waiting for the line to crawl through the tunnel and then waiting after the tunnel. At this point my group was ready to check out. As for the reviews? We came to the house becuse the reviews were so good. Don't trust them. I believe that the legitimate reviews are the ones that ranked it 5-8; but a 10? Just really unrealistic. If you travel to any haunted house you know that this is below average or just mediocre. Let the house be reviewed by patrons and not the workers. You might get their money this year but next year they will remember and tell others not to waste the drive or the money.

Reviewed by: slumbergirl   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, they had two hearses out front, and plenty of signs and a well lit parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: very high , they had a guy in black with real long finger nails , and a guy with a snake around his neck made it very scary and the sound coming from the building just made the hair stand up on your neck.

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: very good, very scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not bad slow sometime, but they kept you moving

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: very good, could tell that they put alot of thought and time into this

Costumes / Make-up: very scary, they were great,

Summary: This house was worth every penny and it was the best that I have been in for a long time, for this being their first year, I have one thing to say HATS OFF TO YOU GUYS this house should be on everyones list of house to go and see, everyone did such a great job, the scares were great , all you could hear was screams coming ahead of you, with out giving anything away just take my word don,t get to relax because all I can say, OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: parsano1   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was great the hearse made it visible street access great

Wait Entertainment: ten minute wait 
guy with the snake made waiting fun and creepy

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: great scary creative

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 7 and above depending on child

Props / Special FX: great lots of special effects

Costumes / Make-up: great believable clown exceptional

Summary: entrance with the lightening and thunder added to our fear 
monkeys freaked me out they came from every where 
mice were a good effect to the bug room 
great ending

Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find where to park but nice building and definatly scary area

Wait Entertainment: There were some wandering around but nothing scary

Length of Event: 15min wait 15 in house

Actor Performance: Not in character, not watching for timing and scarying just one person in the group and giving up on the rest

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: NO FLOW- I don't even know why they are bothering stagered entrance because once you get in you are all grouped up

Appropriate Ages: Not for small children

Props / Special FX: Some good effects and room design was good

Costumes / Make-up: Nice masks and make good

Summary: After reading some of the review we decided to give this a shot and now agree with the rest of the reviews. They design was good and the location great but they need to do some major work with their actors timing and talking issues. If I'm paying $8.00 I better get scared or at least have someone try instead of just saying sorry! Monsters don't TALK.

Reviewed by: OldScreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to fin on Eldorado

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: I cannot really critque this area due to the fact I was at the tail of our group and didn't get to really see any of the performances. They need to wait until more of the group is in the rooms before jumping out. Well, at least the guy in the front got to see. I can say the gorilla was good. He did a good job with it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: The only thing that sttod out for me was the kitchen scene. It was done very well. Other than that, everything was ok.

Costumes / Make-up: Alot of the glow in the dark hockey masks. Again, I was in the back and most had retreated to their hiding spots before I got to them.

Summary: I have been to better. I have also been to worse. There were WAY too many kids working this event. KIDS ARE NOT SCARY!! I can understand volunteers are hard to find but I would rather see a well decorated room with no actors than a well decorated room with a 3 ft kid annoying me the entire time. I will give them credit though, the kids were the only ones that stayed out for the entire group. Guys, you have the possibility of being a great haunt. Take the time to scare (or attempt to scare) all the people in the group. They paid also. Maybe cut your group sizes down. Please, do us all a favor and quit misleading people by reviewing your own haunt. Most of the legitmate reviews are saying the same thing. Worthy of a good job but a 10? C'mon.

Reviewed by: tonybalony   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right on a main road through town, had signs out front and two hearses, cant miss it if you know about where it is.

Wait Entertainment: I am going to say we had to wait, but it wasnt bad because there was plenty of action going on, a skeleton guy with a chainsaw had some running clear out to the parking lot, and a tall thin clown was joining in too. A reaper looking guy was really creepy and smooth, he would end up behind folks without them knowing, it was halarious to watch some of this action.

Length of Event: 20 to 30 minutes

Actor Performance: I dont like those guys! I am not all that jumpy but they get me and my company pretty good seemed like when we was getting a break we got nailed again, and two little boys was acting out a fight then they turned on our group, yelling and coming at us, Im still snickering just thinking about them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we had a group come up behind us but we were moving rather slow, and they were moving a hundred miles per hour scared to death, so we let them pass us.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and over??

Props / Special FX: Some well detailed scenes, we would try to kind of look at the detailing but couldnt really because of the commotion, I dont want to give too many details but I really liked the light and sound show, alot of differnt themes and scenes from scarey movies, the animals are cool, and the ending was kind of mind boggling.

Costumes / Make-up: I think the ones I had time to see was really good.

Summary: Well I must admit I am new to Haunted Il. never heard of it until last week, but we do like to visit haunted houses and I was told about this site to look for prospects. 
The Scream of Decatur, I had no complains about, they were very busy at the time we was there, and some of the line was a little unruley, but their people got it under control quickly, I have no regrets over going there, or spending the amout I paid for six of us to go in. I know I dont get too jumpy but I was gotten quite a few times, and it seemed to be easy for them to do. I know this is the first year for this place after talking to a guard out side when we were leaving and I think this is a great haunted house. 
I read the reviews before I posted this one, and I can only say I was surprized to see what I read, I dont knopw what could of happened between the time those review givers went through this place and when we did, but I will say I dont agree.

Reviewed by: SirLars1971   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great location right on a main street, They had amnysigns and the 2 old herses out front which told you your in the right place

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: 25-30 Mins depending on your rate of travel

Actor Performance: Poor there was way to many kids as in 9, 10 , 11 year olds or even younger. It was not scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did go smoothly.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: Nothing really special the crawling tunnel was more annoying than scarythey could have just done away with that. And the slide was just too small for a normal adult in my opinion. I did like the Kitchen scene though it was well done.

Costumes / Make-up: Not many masks and even the make up could have been better. Again like I said too amny little kids doing the "scares" they needed more adult workers.

Summary: I felt for the price it was a bit to high for what you got to see. I wouldn't really recommend it because there wasn't much to it. Too much hype not enough action. I know it to help the Decatur Celebration but they really need to put more effort and thought into this and then they could end up with a better haunt.

Reviewed by: truth   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find,on the main drag.

Wait Entertainment: about 30 mins

Length of Event: maybe 15 mins

Actor Performance: very,very,very,poor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: also very poor.

Appropriate Ages: any....there is nothing to it.

Props / Special FX: in this area they did ok,nothing great.

Costumes / Make-up: ok I guess...when they kept thier masks on.

Summary: Ok here we go.....with all the great reviews you would think WOW this will be good, WRONG....this is one of the worst HHs I have EVER been to,and to think with all the time and sponsers they had putting this thing together,what a shame,as far as the good reveiews go dont pay any attention to them, they are mostly the actors of this HH,they even asked us to make a good review on here,I hate to do bad reviews but I could not help myself this time,folks need to know about this before they spend thier hard earned money on it,the actors were always talking,taking thier masks off,patron flow was sloppy,I cant express how bad this show was ,even my kids didnt like it,well all I can say is dont waste your money,and if you did go see this show dont let it ruin your idea of going to other shows this year cause there are many ,many other ones that are great!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH, I also believe that folks that work at the HH should not be able to give reviews on the same HH,this is a VISITOR review board......

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get on Eldorado and go west til you see the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Umm...None that I remember.

Length of Event: 15 min. maybe little more.

Actor Performance: Horrible, out of character everytime we came into a room, talked alot, bad timing on scares. Just not a good bunch of actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Just as bad as the actor performance. We ran into people all the time. We would wait to let them go and then we would catch up to them. And we are slow walkers.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: I did like the crawl in the beginning but I had the hardest time getting up that last slope. I didn't understand the slide room. The loud music was great.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of masks and talking people.

Summary: They had rave review so we decided to take a trip down there to see what it was all about. They had a great location and a great building. It could have been so much better. I was very disappointed that I paid as much as I did. I have never gone to a Haunted House and been talked at so much. Really need to work on that part and the timing of the scares. You just can't scare the first person in the room and right as they walk in. Overall they charge to much to go through. Not worth the price.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find, just on Elderado in Decatur.

Wait Entertainment: One skinny chainsaw guy with a mask. We bought a "Fright" pass in Clinton but opted for an upgrade to a speedpass when we saw the line.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: This is an area where the house fell short. The actors did not remain in character through the house. From the time we enetered to the time we walked out the actors were talking. It was a let down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was the second area that bothered my group about the house. Patrons were too spaced close together. We ran into several groups and at one point there was 20 us together. We tried to let the group go in front of us and then then behind them appeared 2 other groups. More patron flow is needed in this house.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Some of the scenes were great. Scenes that stood out was the laboratory and the area with Micheal Myers. Lightening and thunder sound effect was great! Shook the entire place. Recorded chainsaw with in the house was a let down with a small leatherface. Not good! Nice tunnel but another bad area that led to patron flow.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good job in this area, about half masks and half make-up. Clown room was nice and crowded.

Summary: We choose to go down to Decatur after The Scream and Clinton went together on the Fright pass. Also the reviews led a little bit of interest to attend this attraction. What was said in the reviews about the scares we did just not see that night. Overall it was a let down. With actors not staying in character and bad patron flow. A group of 20 people together cannot be scared. Actors need to be trained to stop and hold groups where the bottlenecks are occurring. 5 rooms into the haunted house is where we were trying to brake up our large group. Hopefully better next year, just dont know if this will be added to our list of haunts.

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It would be easy to find if you knew the area. We didn't and drove around for a bit, but that was our navigators fault.

Wait Entertainment: Speed Pass. They take you in the back way, which I liked, but then it was just like any other place in America where you were being shown the way. People walking around and talking.

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: TOO MUCH TALKING!!!! OMG I have never been to a HH where the actors talked so much. They talked to us and to each other. And when they were talking to us, it wasn't to scare us. It was to give us information. If we asked a question (even a rhetorical one), we got an answer. As soon as we left a room, they would get together and talk. I would look back and I could see them getting together for a chat. I saw at least 3 actors without masks and quite a few others getting into place when we came through. I've worked a HH and these were the worst things you could do, in my opinion.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Terrible. We caught up to people. One group caught up to us repeatedly, we let them go around us and then another group caught up to us. At the top of the crawl we were held up (by yet another actor out of costume and talking to us and the other actors) with about 4 other groups. I could see no reason for this at all. I just didn't get it.

Appropriate Ages: HH are bad for the very young.

Props / Special FX: This is where the HH was the strongest. I loved the loud music and sounds. Sadly, even these weren't enough to cover the sounds of actors discussions when we left a room.

Costumes / Make-up: Also very good. The clowns were unique.

Summary: Very unprofessional atmosphere. In a HH, you need to dread going in and be scared OUT of the place. Neither happened. We were talked in and just pretty much walked out at the end. There was nothing there. That was disappointing. I cannot stress enough how much they need to tell their actors to stay in character and costume!!

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We got a little lost, but once back on track we found it no problem.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of monsters roaming the lines. Nothing memorable.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Horrible. Between all the chatting from the actors and lifting of the masks and poor timing by only scaring the first person in line I was very disappointd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into many groups front and back, the actors did not stay in character to help control the lines, they would just speak and tell us they were backed up.

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: The rooms were well done as well as the loud sounds. Upon arrival we thought it might be good due to the loud booming sounds coming from inside.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice combination of masks(when they left them on) and make up.

Summary: Of the four houses we attended this was the worst. Don't bother with the speed pass, not worth it. We attended this house because of all the great reviews, when we left, it was obvious the participants of the house wrote most of them. Get it together Scream.

Reviewed by: lilfreddy   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find on Eldorado street. I saw torches from a block away.

Wait Entertainment: A psycho clown with a chainsaw, do I need say more. They had food also.

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Monsters everywhere. As soon as it seemed safe another would jump out. I couldn't catch my breath.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Plenty of time to look around.

Appropriate Ages: ???? How brave are you?

Props / Special FX: Lights, Sounds, Action, A lot of things you wouldn't expect.

Costumes / Make-up: Appropriate for the room. The clowns were the coolest along with the tall guy.

Summary: Well worth 8 dollars. What a fun night. Excitement from the time you pull in. It's about time Decatur has a haunted house like this. I hope they stay forever and get bigger each year. I will be back. USE THE BATHROOM BEFORE YOU ENTER!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: bigc29   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find with lights and signs.

Wait Entertainment: Very scary lady with lots of black hair. She looked like Elvira during a bad hair day.

Length of Event: 20 plus

Actor Performance: All GREAT. Kept me jumpin.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into one group that refused to go on.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: Horrifying lights and sound.

Costumes / Make-up: Good compromise of masks and makeup. All suited the scene.

Summary: All in my group had a great time. The wait outside was just as fun. (poor girl, cornered by monsters) The HH itself was huge and non stop action. What a great time. Watch out for the guy with the long hair and snake, he took my hotdog!

Reviewed by: brkstuff   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wasn't hard to find.Lots of signs and the hearse.

Wait Entertainment: anywhere from 2 to 4 people working the crowd at different times.

Length of Event: About 20 min.

Actor Performance: The actors were great!!!Keep up the good work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was alright but noticed some areas get backed up at times.

Appropriate Ages: No younger than 7

Props / Special FX: Dont have high money props but the actors and the sound effects make up for them.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes fit the scenes with alot of differtent charaters.

Summary: One of the best I've been to in a long time.Creatures popping out everywhere.The designers and the actors did a great job.Well worth the money.Cant wait to see what they can do next year.

Reviewed by: berg007   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The parking lot was well lit and made it very accessible.

Wait Entertainment: There were several people outside the location who were very creepy.

Length of Event: It took about 20 - 30 minutes to make it through the house.

Actor Performance: All of the actors really did a wonderful job with their performances. They really took time to make it an enjoyable experience.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patrons were inside the attraction very quickly but not quick enough to where they were running into each other. That allowed them to get the most out of each scene.

Props / Special FX: They were all very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done

Summary: I would highly recommend this event to anyone. The individuals who worked on this house really spent a lot of time and devoted a lot of effort and creativity to making this house well worth the trip to Decatur.

Reviewed by: ToyTiger   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find! There is a real hearse out by the road with a big sign on it. Sweet!

Wait Entertainment: That was awesome as well! There were people screaming and having the best time! I can say you'll never have to wait in line ALONE!

Length of Event: The house took about 15 or 20 minutes to go through but I'm telling you... it was the most intense 15 to 20 minutes of my life! It was awesome!

Actor Performance: They were all VERY good! Everything was coordinated and designed to the T.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I can honestly say that I only ran into one group but that's just because they were too horrified to move on into the next room however staff quickly got them going. They were right on top of it. The screeches of horror were endless!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 7 and up, depending on how brave your kids are.

Props / Special FX: AWESOME! I ended up going through 3 times and seen something that I missed each time. This is a must see and be sure to keep your eyes open... if you dare.

Costumes / Make-up: They were all very professional and very well put together. It was like each scene was built around the costume and everything fit perfectly!

Summary: I was hesitant because so many haunted houses are so cheesy anymore but once I got there I was surprisingly horrified and pleased... from the short wait outside to the first step I took in the door! This was very well worth the price. You'd think these guys have been in business forever instead of this being their first year! There's not a moment that I wasn't entertained and kept on my toes. This is by far the best haunted house I've ever been to and really hope they're open again next year!

Reviewed by: crank2u   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of Eldorado across from Long John Silver's. All the signs lead me straight to it.

Wait Entertainment: There were clowns outside with props scaring the crowd; some girls were trying desperately to get away.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. They fit in the scenes very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty good. Sometimes you would see kids that were too afraid to go through scenes, but the staff quickly resolved that.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on the child, 7 to 70.

Props / Special FX: Awesome. Many movies were depicted in this Haunted House. Almost every creature from the last 40 years was in there.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup fit the scenes accordingly, and were very well done.

Summary: It was very entertaining, and one of the best I've ever seen. I was on edge from the moment I was waiting to enter until the moment I exited. For the price, you really can't miss this one!

Reviewed by: babyboo   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off of Us 36. You can't miss the amazing Hearse out front!

Wait Entertainment: It was pretty intense. I'm not that fond of clowns, and let's just say that I had to run.

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: All of the actors stayed in character and were very convincing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I never saw a group in front of me until I got to the Monkey room, and they were piled on the floor. Members finally coaxed them to move on, and then we were fine.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on how mature you and your kids are, I would say it's okay for a brave 6 year old and up.

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. It took a lot of creativity to do what they did.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes all fit into the scenes well, and the makeup looked professional.

Summary: I had a blast at the Haunted House. From the nail-biting wait outside to our escape at the end of the vortex, my family and I were impressed. These guys did a great job, and I can only hope that they have it next year!

Reviewed by: heroicme   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: in an old spooky warehouse right off of eldo. great location

Wait Entertainment: it was scary because the guys wouldnt leave me alone

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: they were all pretty awesome

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never saw a group in front of me

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: they had some pretty neat props

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and makeup all fit in well with the haunted house

Summary: i was pretty scared in the line waiting to get in and had to cover my eyes. my friends kept telling the spooks to scare me and i was almost in tears. just when you think your safe some random person pops up and scares the daylights out of you. definitely a must see

Reviewed by: rosieposie   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was very easy to find, and a perfect location for a haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: they occupied your time while you waited and had snacks to munch on, too.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors were very well trained and delivered in every scene of the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i never ran into anybody in there

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: these people did a spectacular job in putting together this haunted house. for their first year i don't know how they could exceed it for next year

Costumes / Make-up: very professional

Summary: This haunted house is a definite must-see. Each scene just built suspense for the next scene and by the time we got to the electric chair I was blown away. The actors timing in the chair was impeccable. It definitely messes with your mind. Nobody should miss out on this haunteed house!

Reviewed by: dannydoom   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great parking has lots of light, we felt secure and it was easy to get in and out

Wait Entertainment: There were three guys working the line, all did a great job, several staffers out there as well....crowded but under control

Length of Event: 25 minutes, waited about 40 to get in

Actor Performance: great, watch out for those kitchen girls...my daughter wanted to go in and then wasn't so sure, but she really did enjoy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great, did not see another group, just heard screaming

Appropriate Ages: a brave 7 year old

Props / Special FX: wow, we loved all of the sound, never been in a house with such great sound effects and lights and all

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: the girl outside volunteered to walk with my 15 year old daughter to make her feel safe, how nice. My daughter wasn't sure, but that girl told her she would go with us and she would be fine and guess what???We made it. I (Mom) loved every minute, it was awesome and we are going to have a girls slumber party this week and bring them all to the scream before we go home and watch Frankenstein. Great job to all Thanks

Reviewed by: dancedecatur   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: called and asked directions during the day, right across from Long John Silvers, can't miss it. We came from Bloomington turned off of 51 onto 36 and it was just about 5 blocks.

Wait Entertainment: Great, we were scared just listening to the rules and the sound effects, not to mention those cloans

Length of Event: took us 30 minutes in line and 30 minutes in the house

Actor Performance: fantastic

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, no run ins

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: fantastic...we were impressed

Costumes / Make-up: great, t shirts that staff wear are great as well. We will have to get one when we go back for round two.

Summary: Nothing but kudos for this haunt. Man they got my whole group more than a dozen times. That tunnel is awesome and the people were all considerate and helpful. Nicely run haunt from outside to inside. We were impressed...

Reviewed by: 131313   (Event Visited: 10/09/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Hurst that sits in front of the house makes you want to pull right in. It ireally gets your attention.

Wait Entertainment: The wait is histerical and scary. It gets you really excited about going in. makes you wonder what is inside. Also snaack to get while you wait is a big plus.

Length of Event: 20 minutes unless you are to scaerd to get past some of the scenes, Then it may be a few min longer.

Actor Performance: They were trained well !!!!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any group ahead of us, also no one was running us down

Appropriate Ages: 7 and above if the kids arent easily scared

Props / Special FX: Great whoever thought of all this has real good imaginetive skills

Costumes / Make-up: LOOK LIKE THEY WERE PROFESIONALLY DONE.

Summary: This is a must see event !!!! 
I really liked the entrance it was awesome. The electric chair looked real! I Jason mask scene was cool. you sure couldnt tell which one was real and also the entense of walking past them was great. The TALL guy really scares you and I thought the ending with the vortex maade an sasounishing ending. Dont MISS this one for sure.

Reviewed by: rsnyder315   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt is very visible from the road. They had a hearse sitting in front and a big banner on the side of a building.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great. They did a good job of scaring people. It was also funny to see people run away out of line and the spook to chase them.

Length of Event: It was a good length probably about 15 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: The actors were great. They were really into their jobs and showed great enthusiasm for scaring people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was ok. It started to get a little clogged up near the end, but we had a large group go before us. The bigger the group going the longer it takes them to go through the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: The website says for ages 6 and up. Maybe for a friendly show. I suggest no kids under at least 10 to 12.

Props / Special FX: The sets were good and detailed. The needed to clean up the ending a little. We were a little confused at the end as to where the exit was. The needed to block off and hind some things from view at the end.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up was excellent.

Summary: A very good haunt all together. I highly suggest trying to get to this one. I think that if they were to clean up the ending a little that it would be one of the best haunts in Illinois.

Reviewed by: smoor04s   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wonderful location, just off of Eldorado St. There were plenty of signs, a hearse, and a scarey figure standing on top of the hearse. You can't get much more visible than these guys.

Wait Entertainment: I was surprised by how quickly the line moved, and there was plenty of entertainment while waiting, it seemed like it was our turn in no time. They had two guys outside which provided tons of entertainment. The girls behind us were so scared that they were running all over the place and screaming. Everyone got quite a show.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes 
It seemed like there were so many scenes, and each of them were very different. I've been in haunted houses in the past that were long, but they didn't have enough people to make it work, so it ended up being boring. That wasn't the case here! They had PLENTY of workers, so every scene kept you on edge!

Actor Performance: The actors were AWESOME! The two guys outside really did a great job, and once you got inside, they were even better. Some of my favorites were: the girl in the electric chair (it looked like she was really getting fried), the lady chained to the wall (great special effects in that room), and the monkey (just when I thought I was safe, I wasn't).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The staff did a great job with flow. The group ahead of us had people who were too scared to keep going, and the group after us had girls that were trying to get through quickly because they were scared too. The staff quickly fixed the flow of the three groups, and all was well again.

Appropriate Ages: The approproate age depends on the child. My 11 year old didn't want to go through, while my 7 year old was totally ready!

Props / Special FX: EVERY scene in this haunted house had amazing props/special effects. Most of the time, these were things you never would have expected. These guys were very creative, and because of this, I was often taken out of my comfort zone. I'm scared of clowns, rodents, and tight spaces. They had all three. Also, every movie that has ever frightened me seemed to be included.

Costumes / Make-up: All of the costumes and make-up were appropriate for the scenes. They did a great job of making sure there were workers in all scenes, and these workers fit the room perfectly. It was the total package.

Summary: For the money, you can't beat this haunted house. It was insanely easy to find; there was entertainment all the way from the parking lot, to the line, through the house, and again in the parking lot; the scenes were creative and different, and our group was CONSTANTLY on their toes!

Reviewed by: powerhorse   (Event Visited: 10/09/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good. I could see it off of Eldorado. The hearse and signs helped alot too.

Wait Entertainment: good.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: VERY GOOD! They all looked like professionals.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Better than any other haunted house I have been to. I never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Good. Nothing looked cheesy.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. It all looked convincing.

Summary: I just absolutely LOVED that electric chair! At first I thought it was fake but then she really looked like she was getting fried. She started shaking and screaming and oh it was just great! The two way mirror was great also. And that vortex!! It made you feel like you were spinning and it was just a great feeling. KUDOS to everyone, this haunted house was the best I have EVER seen.

Reviewed by: nightowl_1   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility is very good with well lit parking area, the HH is kinda back off the road but you really cant miss the lites in the parking lot and old hearse with goul standing on top. Location is in a spooky warehouse.

Wait Entertainment: I seen many girls with their face buried in guys chest so they wouldnt have to see the things that slowly walked up from behind, and the tall skinny clown had some kids on the ground trying to keep away from him,and respectfully if patrons were too scared of them they would go on to others... very good work.

Length of Event: 15 to 25 minutes seems like

Actor Performance: Good timing, good scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The only time I seen anything of the group ahead of us was when a few of them was on the floor and wouldnt get up to pass a particular scene, it was a good time to watch.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on how a child reacts to being scared, I would say some kids at 6 years old, some kids at 40 years old.

Props / Special FX: There are alot of good scenes with some simular to horror flicks, but with a twist, most are pretty origional, and some are complex.

Costumes / Make-up: most of the costumes I seen were good, but who can just look at the costumes, The characators fit the scenes they were in.

Summary: I am impressed at this Haunted House, I visit as many as I can in the holloween season and I wasnt disapointed with anything here. The electricity flows as you listen to the sounds that await you before entrance, these sounds are well heard outside, to many in line it seemed to be nerve wrecking, the moment you go into the house you will be in for a eye, ear, and mind show. 
These folks did a pretty good job by putting together alot of differnt twist and unusual scenes. And it is not your ordinary walk through haunted house. A fun time for many, well worth the money.

Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This made everyone in the car upset! We spent over a hour trying to find it. NEED MORE SIGNS OR SOMETHING!

Wait Entertainment: Nothing... nothing at all.

Length of Event: 15 minutes if you count what we waited in line.

Actor Performance: Poor. We laughed at most of the actors that tried to scare us. It was really sad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.

Props / Special FX: Didn't really see anything.

Costumes / Make-up: Typical.

Summary: I will say I am bias due to looking for this place and wasting our gas for a hour. I had been to the celebration and it rocked. I was really looking forward to The Scream this year. It looked like someone just threw it all together last minute to try to squeeze money out of people. It wasn't like a big open space with a guy in a hockey mask, but it also wasn't much more than that either.

Reviewed by: blackrat454   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great visible location. Old hearse out front. Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: 3 actors working the line. You are not safe anywhere. Trust me.

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: Good performances. Some actors became part of the scenes. Dont want to give it away!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into others, though you could hear them screaming through the walls.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. Depends on how brave your kids are.

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of mega dollar props. However, lots of creative inginuity. You better look twice.

Costumes / Make-up: Appropriate and scene specific.

Summary: This is a great event. The community needed something new and exciting like this. I hope to see this haunted house return. I can't wait to see what else they have in store. Kudos to the crew.

Reviewed by: pietalent   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it is right on the main highway, Eldorado/US 36

Wait Entertainment: Lots of fun monsters scaring the crowd

Length of Event: it seemed like 20 minutes

Actor Performance: they were all great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great crowd controle

Appropriate Ages: not for children 7 and older wouuld be ok

Props / Special FX: Great effects and props

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were high quality

Summary: I will go at least on more time. They did a great job without the blood and guts. I also liked the fact they had food and t-shirts for purchase. They also sold me a Fright pass good for the Clinton, Illinois haunted house

Reviewed by: bozo   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, just behind Janes cleaners on eldorado.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, kept you on your feet,and kept you watching over your shoulder at all times.

Length of Event: 20 mins. or longer

Actor Performance: Very High

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, They kept the flow going never once did our group run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 yrs and over

Props / Special FX: Very good, very well put together.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and the make up was awesome, fits all scenes.

Summary: This haunted House is great, you get scared from the first second that you enter the house and your scared to death from beginning to end, all scenes were great, I was on my butt in the monkey scene. Just awesome, must see,worth every penny.

Reviewed by: esoom39   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good

Wait Entertainment: no wait

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: excellent

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great

Appropriate Ages: yes

Props / Special FX: awesome

Costumes / Make-up: great

Summary: The best haunted house we have ever been to. everyone who can go should go. The bridge at the exit of the house will leave you feeling dizzy for quite a while

Reviewed by: muddboss   (Event Visited: 10/02/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: located on Eldorado st makes it very easy to find,right behind Janes cleaners.

Wait Entertainment: they have a variety of fine actors in the lot entertaining the patrons,very good!!!!!!!!

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes long.

Actor Performance: the actors do an outstanding job,they manage to scare you when you least expect it,whitch makes you want to jump out of your shoes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good flow of people,they give plenty of time between tours so you will not see the group in front of you or behind you.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: very good effects.....my favorite is the funeral room,I really like the jacobs ladder,the vortex is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

Costumes / Make-up: these folks did a great job with costumes...I really liked the clown room.

Summary: I would have to say this atraction will be one of the best in IL this year if not the best,you out of towners need to come and check this out as well as intown folks,this is a must see if you like haunted houses.....Chuck F.

Reviewed by: Sondra   (Event Visited: 10/01/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Man, I have lived in Decatur my whole life and I never thought of going to a Haunted House on Eldorado...this old warehouse is perfect, I hope they get to stay there forever.

Wait Entertainment: One guy, but this was the dress rehersal night, great banner out front and cool sign in book, makes us want to get inside.

Length of Event: This baby is well worth the price, we kept going and going and just when you think it is over you are surprised again, very well done.

Actor Performance: good, a few scenes needed work...but overall we were Thrilled with a capitol T

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a little wait, but it was fine

Appropriate Ages: everyone in my group ages 6 to 58 enjoyed it.

Props / Special FX: Man when you hear what happens you wonder if you really want to get inside, but I am going back for more.

Summary: We will be first in line friday, I have to work this evening. Can't wait to see it going infull action, we just saw a practice run. Clown car is the cutist thing and don't look to long at the walls or they may be looking back at you. Don't want to give any secrets away. Must see, get there and go back

Reviewed by: kevin   (Event Visited: 10/01/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: fantastic, easy to find and great warehouse

Wait Entertainment: worked the crowd a little this was preview night, only few invited guests were there

Length of Event: unbelieveable, it goes on forever and some challenges along the way

Actor Performance: great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, we didn't even see another group until the end.

Appropriate Ages: my grandchidlren and I all loved it

Props / Special FX: All I will say is what an entrance and it just gets better.

Summary: This HH is already one of my favorites and we take the grandkids all over Illinois to houses for the fun and scare. This scare team did a great job building and scaring us. We were fortunate to get invited to preview night, but we will drive the 80 miles (round trip) Saturday to come back and pay. Wait till you see their t shirts...my whole family wants one.

Reviewed by: Strawberry   (Event Visited: 10/01/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great...what a place for a haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: Worked the line well and what a Sign in Book, even that podium was scary.

Length of Event: Fantastic, seemed like we walked a mile and over 20 scenes.

Actor Performance: Good, this was a pre show and I am sure the actors are all ready to open thursday.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, we heard an announcer state we were entering the house, must be how they controled the number inside

Appropriate Ages: My 8 year old wants to go again and us adults loved it.

Props / Special FX: WOW don't want to spoil the surprise, but walk in the door and WOW what effects.

Summary: This house is in it's first go around, it was impressive in size, scares and fun. I look for it to be one of the top five in Illinois this year. I am driving 60 miles to get my nephews and bring them here this weekend, they will love it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at