Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: haunthappy1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find but a bit out of the way

Wait Entertainment: not bad average for this time of year

Length of Event: 15 -20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great i think they hired profesional killers they were in your face and they realy put the fear into you

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not bad it bottels up but don't they all

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up but please use your judgment

Props / Special FX: ok not realy there but they try

Costumes / Make-up: mostly masks some make up 
cool masks

Summary: the better of the two houses in town the cemetary and swap was cool and the actors stayed on task kudos to the one running the chain saw outside he had them getting their exersise

Reviewed by: headbanger   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find , by decaturs fairgrounds

Wait Entertainment: none seen, there was a group to one side may have been on break. paid no attention to us

Length of Event: 10 to 15 min

Actor Performance: fair ,some times early on scare nohin special

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into anybody but not a big line waiting either

Appropriate Ages: any , no real scare hear

Props / Special FX: nothing speacal ,areas looked incomplete have to say better than last year, probably do to compitition in area

Costumes / Make-up: these were not bad more costumes than makeup. justearly on scares then seamed like they didnt care after that

Summary: have traveled to many hh over the years, saw some good reveiws on this but was not even close to these reviews, beleive these were writen by people working this hh.what really made me upset when leaving i hear them telling , it may have been friends to give all the hh in area a bad reviews, people look at these and travel to check hhs out . I will not return to this hh if this is there attitude. the more hhs in a area draw more crowds to that area and benifit all hhs working hard to satisfy us all.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the fair grounds area, large utility shed. Nothing to set the mood here, standard fairgrounds surroundings. Very little marks, but not hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment is weak, some monsters sometimes move throughout outside area - smoke breaks and out of character.

Length of Event: 10 minutes average or less.

Actor Performance: Actors fair at best, break character throughout attraction. Some even talk to you as standard flow of attraction moves.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Lines move without problems, everything seamless and no problems noticed.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: No high impact props or special effects. The standard haunted house surroundings, nice work on bridge area.

Costumes / Make-up: All make-up and masks are acceptable, nothing stand-out here.

Summary: Went into this attraction because of the ratings on site, howver these fall far short. Ratings were done by staff and friends - this just don't rate up. The house is weak and the actors average at best. Surroundings are average with nothing to keep you grabbed into the action. The room with no exit is good and has possibilities, however the monster blew the trapped effect and little to keep the room interesting. The bridge and the skull man creature is the best. This attraction needs lots of work, as we drove off the monsters were outside on smoking break - just don't work.

Reviewed by: frightful1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little confusing- had 1 sign by the grounds but then nothing, once we got on the dirt road we found it okay but not due to sinage.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors in scary masks- pretty good

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, didn't see anyone else

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: not too many - I honestly can't think of 1 that stood out.

Costumes / Make-up: Really liked some of these! The guy at the entrance was great he didn't talk, just stared!

Summary: Overall this was a decent HH. I went to this one b/c of the big write up in the paper...but was a little disappointed. The potential was there but the delivery was just lacking that scare factor.

Reviewed by: HHHunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, if you know the area.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of spooks roaming around. One guy really got a couple of the girls in the group.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good- all stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any groups. Flow was nice.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up.

Props / Special FX: Good use of props and sound effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but did a great job.

Summary: This house was fun. We visited 2 houses that weekend in Decatur and this was the better of the 2. The monsters really stayed in character which was nice for a change. Well worth the money to visit this house and the reviews told the truth unlike a couple of others that we have experienced. Nice job and keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: lilfreddy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: At the Macon County Fairgrounds

Wait Entertainment: 1 person in a mask

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes depending on how fast or slow you go

Actor Performance: TOO MANY KIDS out of character. TOO much talking. Too many people with masks off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Fine didn't see any others.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up.

Props / Special FX: I don't want to spill the secret, but BOTH of the props were average.

Costumes / Make-up: Average masks

Summary: Jaycees has done this for along time. I would think they would be better by now. I went because I'm told this is the last year. I'm not crazy about it, at the same time I hate to lose any haunted house.

Reviewed by: fearfighter   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was a little tricky to find, but once we got on the dirt road found it ok.

Wait Entertainment: I have to give credit where credit is due.

Length of Event: 12 to 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors did pretty good for no more of them that here was, I will say that they had to be wore out from all the scene jumping.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not a problem.

Appropriate Ages: 4+

Props / Special FX: Cool bridge scene, and decent cemetary

Costumes / Make-up: masks

Summary: I dont like to bad mouth others and my mother always said if I cant say anything good to shut my face, these guys should get things going better for the j-cs name sake.

Reviewed by: zombiedad   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find loved the coffin shaped sign on the road.

Wait Entertainment: Great entertainment. guys with chainsaws plus characters coming in and out of the house.

Length of Event: 15 min depending on how long they wanted to keep you in there.

Actor Performance: Great eveyone stayed in character and tried to give you the best scare they could.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: smoooth got behind some scared people who didn't want to move but it was ok just went around them.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: cool props some good lighting and props.

Costumes / Make-up: cool masks and make-up, You can tell they tried to make the mask or make-up fit the room.

Summary: Good haunt. I ahve been going to the Jaycees HH since i was a kid and look forward to it evey year. Check this one out. Bring a can of ffod and get a dollar off the admission.

Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was good on 121 and as you came into the fair grounds

Wait Entertainment: Wolf men, demons, Coffin motorcyles, hearing the screams from inside all very good and entertaining

Length of Event: 15-20min depending on how much you run inside

Actor Performance: These guys are out for the maximum scare! Doing a great job knowing how to work their scare and timing was perfect. With at least 2 actors in each room you were never sure who was coming first.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Their timing is great. Never ran into anyone or saw anyone that was not a ghoul

Appropriate Ages: Not for small children-wait for their friendly ghost day

Props / Special FX: Rooms were well designed and decorated, real Coffin was cool, a few animated items but great use of everyday items turned scary

Costumes / Make-up: Awsome masks they really fit well and are totally real- make up was done well on a few actors as well

Summary: I have been to this house every year for the last 3 years and I think this is the best year they have had. You can tell they have worked really hard to get into peoples heads and they always give you the quality scare for your money. Watch out for those ghouls that follow you, never know when they might follow you home!

Reviewed by: SirLars1971   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow the signs and there you are easy to find right off of 121

Wait Entertainment: None but we didn't have to wait so tht might have something to do with it.

Length of Event: 20-25 mins depending on how fast or slow you move.

Actor Performance: Not bad some of the actors were early on the cue so it kind of killed the effect but there was some good points too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth as a new born baby's butt no problems at all

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: They ahd alot of actors in your face not to much animatronics. Some rooms were nice but others just looked thrown together.

Costumes / Make-up: There was some real nice masks and makeup

Summary: I think this is a decent house but they need toput a little more effort into some of the rooms. They did have a thunderstorm soundtrack that you could feel in your chest which I really liked. It is a Jaycee Hountd House and they are community based and do a lot of differant charities so check them out.

Reviewed by: truth   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: at the fair grounds ,easy for us to find.

Wait Entertainment: we got right in.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very good,the guy growling at us was great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into anybody.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: good job guys.

Costumes / Make-up: another good job,at least they kept thier masks on,something I could not say about another HH in Decatur.

Summary: I really liked it ,we went to two HHs last night in Decatur,this was the better one, we think.we went to this HH for the last 2 years and really didnt like it,this year is much better guys.

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good signs once you get close to the fairgrounds. Nothing in town telling you about this house.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, had a guy follow us around making a growling noise.

Length of Event: 10-15 min

Actor Performance: Everyone was in character even at the end when they came out of the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones there.

Appropriate Ages: 10

Props / Special FX: Great rooms just loved the bridge with the fog. A guy from another room scared me there.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks

Summary: If my husband wouldn't have contacted us about this house we would never have gone. I would say this was my favorite of the night, and we hit 4 that night. We made it just it time to be the last group to go through and they scared us at every turn. They even followed us out of the house and tried to take my sister out of the car. Stayed in character until we left. Great job guys, we will come back next year.

Reviewed by: blackrat454   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: AT the FGrounds

Wait Entertainment: OK

Length of Event: 10

Actor Performance: OK

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: OK

Appropriate Ages: 6

Props / Special FX: Unique cardboard

Costumes / Make-up: Masks

Summary: At the fairgrounds. A Few scenes. What else to say? Boo? Same old boring Jaycees. They need some new inspiration. I guess kudos to them for still running this year.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the old Fair Grounds in Decatur, not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: We were the last group to get there with no lines but we were met as we got out of the car by something you would see in your nightmares. This demon was great!

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors did really good in this category. Stayed in character the entire time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the last group to go through so could not really judge patron flow.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Some really cool scenes. Walking across the bridge was the best. Lots of dark turning hallways.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but a nice job on matching masks with the scenes in the house.

Summary: This house really surprised us. Out of the 4 houses that we visited that night this was the best. Cost is $6.00 per person and well worth it. As we entered the house the first thing that was yelled was "Fresh Meat!". That set the tone for the house. The actors really kept in character, which is something that we did not experience in the previous haunts that night. The actors even gave one of our members a terrifying show of relentless horror afterwards when they followed us to our car. If your down in the Decatur area, make sure to check this one out. You will not be sorry! Good job Jaycees!

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow the signs once you hit the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome monsters outside. They started at us as we drove up.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great job guys!! The level of performance they put out was top notch. The scares were well hidden. The Monster outside followed us in and would disappear, and then nailed our group over and over. We were the last group out, and our car was covered with relentless monsters, I felt like I was living a horror movie. One of the girls in the group wee'd a little.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: The rooms were wellm thought out and just plain creepy. Notable was the wooden bridge.

Costumes / Make-up: Seems like mostly masks, but all were scary and well done, make around the eyes adds to the appearance.

Summary: Congratulation guys, you rocked out a great Haunted House. We attended 4 that evening and this was the best.Of the two houses in Decatur, this is the one to attend. We are ex-haunters, and Kudos, you got us good!!

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Our navigator got us here quite easily.

Wait Entertainment: Since we were the only ones here, we had their full attention. The guy waiting when you pulled up was spectacular. Great costume and growling noises.

Length of Event: 15 mins or so.

Actor Performance: I can't say enough about this. These guys were out for the scare and worked it hard!! The guy from outside was ALL OVER in the house! I especially liked the noises the actors made. They were different. I also liked the way they stood in dark places and you stumbled or ran into them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the last ones there and the only ones so we had the place to ourselves. Couldn't have been better!

Appropriate Ages: HH are bad for very young children.

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of spec fx but I did like the rooms. Props were good. Could have done with the dinosaur. ??

Costumes / Make-up: Very good! Everything was appropriate. Sometimes you can get a sense of a person beneath a costume, but not here. I liked the costumes alot.

Summary: We had the full attention of the place, so it was intense. Get this, the "chicken" of our group led us through (with another of us so close behind, she looked like a backpack) and he danced out the door at the end because he made it all the way through first. He was so proud and BAM! A little girl jumped out from behind the door and scared him good!! Ok, so then since it was closing time, every actor came out the door after us. Now, you would think after a long night of scaring they wanted to go home. Noooo. They ALL followed us to the car, opened my door(and got help from others in the car who repeatedly rolled down my window and unlocked my door) and came at me through the windows...both sides. At one point two of them even started ROCKING the car. Amazing. The actors were outstanding at this haunt! And all for $6! Do not miss this one.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at